Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books An Uncommon Grace - eBook

Howard Books An Uncommon Grace - eBook

Gracie Connor, a military nurse formerly stationed in Afghanistan, hopes that moving to a farm in rural Ohio will help her recover from the ravages of war.

Levi Troyer finds his pacifist beliefs challenged when he discovers his stepfather has been killed and his mother wounded by unknown intruders. Gracie comes to the rescue, saves his mother's life, and becomes a friend of the family. Levi and Gracie are deeply attracted to one another, and Gracie finds herself falling in love, though she knows a relationship between them is forbidden.

Even before meeting Gracie, Levi had begun to question some of the teachings of his ultra-conservative Amish sect. He has considered leaving, but knows he will be banned forever from having contact with his younger siblings and widowed mother-who need him to survive. He is torn between his love for Gracie, and his responsibility to his family. Gracie is struggling with trying to figure out how to live her life without the man she has grown to love. Levi must confront the Bann he faces if he pursues Gracie. And a murderer must be caught. Will love and justice prevail?

Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Review 1 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Fiction is Branching Out!

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Historical fiction and Amish fiction are my go-to genres all day, every day. I love the history from one and the simplicity from the other. But ya know...sometimes, both can get a little bogged down with a sense of sameness, and I long for some variety. Well, thanks to Serena Miller's new book, I've gotten my taste of the Amish in a totally new way.
This book explores the life and culture of the Swartzentruber Amish--an ultra-conservative sect that many readers, including myself, have never heard of. It's obvious that the Amish in general are very strict in their lifestyle in order to keep them separate from the Englisch, but the Swartzentruber take it to a whole different level. They don't ride in cars unless it's an emergency, there are no phones anywhere, there's no indoor plumbing, and their home appliances and farm equipment are primitive beyond belief. Also, their views and opinions on the Bible and a Christian life seem different, too, almost to the point of making me pity them. It seems as though their primary focus is on good works, and that they only get assurance of heaven if they've done enough and lived a good life. Oh, if they only knew the truth.
With this unusual cultural backdrop, it did not take me long to become engrossed in Serena's story. I loved Grace's subtle methods of serving Levi and his family without being asked. I longed for Levi to recognize his district's flawed teachings, as well as the ability to escape those who would sabotage his reputation. And I hoped with all my heart that these two could find a way to be more than just friends. Partially because of these two characters, An Uncommon Grace was a very intriguing story that was both entertaining and satisfying.
For those who are fans of Amish mysteries by author Mindy Starns Clark, I can heartily recommend that you give Serena's latest book a try. It has the perfect combination of mystery and Amish culture, and if you're not careful, you may just learn a thing or two (I speak from experience here). :o) Serena has now written two books that I have loved from start to finish--one historical and one Amish--and it's safe to say that she'll be an author I'll read more from in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST read!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Miller has done it again! This book is unbelievably good! It is practically impossible to put down once you start. I'd recommend this book to anyone who has ties to the military, has ever been or is a teacher or principal, or loves to read about the Amish. One thing about Ms. Miller's writings that is consistent is her ability to provoke us to think about our own walk with God as we read these SO believable characters. Gracie & Levi are two of my favorite characters ever! You found yourself torn trying to help Levi & wanting him to discoveer for himself how things REALLY were! AWESOME BOOK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Tugging

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A engaging, heart tugging drama.
Ex-military nurse Grace Connor is hoping that a move to rural Ohio will help her achieve a simpler pace in her everyday life, and help her brother stay out of trouble.
Levi Troyer's life changed in a heartbeat, when he came home to find his step-father and mother gunned down by a gunman looking for money.
The following events cause Levi to question the rules that he has lived by his whole life. Can there be any future between a Schwartzentruber Amish man and an English nurse?
This story started out kinda sadly, and as things progressed I wasn't sure how Levi and Grace cvould ever work anything out, so this book definitely kept me guessing and reading. There was always something happening, and I just kept reading because I couldn't find a good stopping place and I always wanted to know what they were going to do next.
There was definitely alot of drama in this book, and Ms. Miller did a fabulous job of making me really come to care for the characters. This book was about the Schwartzentruber Amish, who are the most strict of the orders, so this book had a sort of different take on the Amish, but I learned tons!
I think that one of the things that I really liked about this book was how Levi and Grace interacted, and were very careful to guard their feelings to a certain extent, because of how it would be so hard for them to be able to make it work. So I admired their respect for each other.
Overall, this is a book that I would highly recommend. The story is dramatic and engaging, and there are parts that are sure to pierce your heart. I can't wait to see what Ms. Miller will write next!
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too bad the rating scale only goes to 5 stars!

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karren
Location:Minford, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost NEVER read a book more than once, but I just finished Uncommon Grace AGAIN, and loved it all over again! The story is reallly good, but whn you add to that Ms. Miller's attention to detail in the word pictures and character development, this is great read! I would definitely recommend it to all of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Uncommon Grace

Date:April 30, 2012
Grace Connor and Levi Troyer had an attraction to one another soon after they first met. Grace moved to her Grandmother Elizabeth’s home in Holmes County, Ohio, after not reenlisting for another tour of duty. Levi lived with his parents and siblings on the farm next to Elizabeth’s.
Grace was an Englisher. She was a Nurse Practitioner and had served in Afghanistan with the elite Dustoff medical team. She helped Levi and his family several times with medical needs. Grace couldn’t believe that she was attracted to an Amish man who hardly even talked to her and when he did it was usually in disagreement.
Levi and his family belonged to the Swartzentrubers, the strictest and most conservative sect of the Amish. Levi had been questioning if the Swartzentruber way of life was for him. He only hoped that he followed the Ordnung good enough and worked hard enough to get into heaven. He was falling hard for Grace but knew that he could never be with her, since she was an Englisher.
The story began with Grace asking God to show her if she should reenlist. She got her answer when she received an email from her sister saying that Elizabeth had a heart attack. The story ends, once again, with Grace asking God if she should reenlist. Her grandmother had recovered and she couldn’t stay near Levi without wanting to be with him. Again, God faithfully gave her His answer. Read An Uncommon Grace to discover what that answer was.
I really liked this story. It reminds us that God puts people in our lives at just the right time and for a reason. It was interesting to learn about the Swartzentrubers, which I had never heard about. The attraction between Grace and Levi had me wanting them to be a couple. Levi was a kind, gentle man that was being held back by all the Swartzentrubers' rules. Grace was a giving person that truly cared about other’s needs before her own. Interwoven into the romance is the mystery of who fatally shot Levi’s stepfather and wounded his mother. This plot took a backseat to Grace and Levi’s developing relationship. Fans of romance will enjoy reading An Uncommon Grace.
I received this free ebook from NetGalley and Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster, for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I've read recently.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Jackson
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down till I was at the end of the book. Preordered another book by this author. My first copy came from our town library and I read it and then wanted a copy of my own so I could read it more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique Twist for Amish fiction

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Connor, a military nurse is debating whether to reenlist for another tour of duty when she gets an email from her seventeen year old sister Becky stating that she needs help with their grandmother Elizabeth back home in Ohio. Grace returns to her grandmothers farm, but finds that adjusting to regular life isn't so easy, but hopes a slower way of life will help. When their next door neighbor(who happens to be Amish) Levi Troyer shows up on their doorstep stating that there has been a shooting at his house Grace rushes to help, and while Levi's stepdad is dead, Grace is able to help save the life of Levi's mother an her unborn child. Levi and his family belong to the Swartzentruber sect one of the strictest there is, and Levi wonders about some of the rules his bishop dictates. A strong attraction to Grace has him evaluating his life even more but he knows if he follows his heart he will not only be lost to his family but will be destined for hell. Meanwhile Grace feels a deep attraction for Levi but knows it can never be. How can she continue to live on her grandmother's farm with him so close by? Will Grace and Levi follow their hearts or fight the attraction between them?
I can easily say this is one of the best Amish fiction novels I have ever read. Sure there is a bit of romance, but there is so many more layers to this story. First of all you have a shooting and murder take place within the first pages of the story. Second we get a very realistic look at the Swartzentruber way of life. Normally when I read an Amish novel the lifestyle is portrayed so idealistically that you feel as if they never have any problems, the lifestyle seems almost perfect. Not so with this story instead the author gives us an honest look at the harsh way of life this Amish Order lives. For most of the story my heart ached for Levi, I felt so sorry for him. The plot in this story moved along at a very brisk pace with plenty going on. There was a bit of mystery woven together with a bit of suspense to round out the story quite well.The author provided a few plot twists that made for a great ending. I for one couldn't put this story down, and because of this story found myself researching the Swartzentruber Amish. Overall a great Amish fiction story that wasn't your typical Amish fiction fare at all. I found the faith based messages woven into the story to be done very well, and actually loved the way that the author allowed Levi to describe his love for Grace, it was just wonderful! On a scale of one to five i would give this book a six because it's just that good!
I would say if your tired of reading the same old stories in Amish fiction then your going to want to read this one because the author provides a fresh, realistic perspective on the Amish storyline!
A complimentary e-copy of this book was provided by Netgalley for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching Story of Changing Lives with Thrilling My

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Connor is a military nurse in Afghanistan when she receives an email from her sister asking her to return home due to her grandmother's heart attack. She has only been home a few days when an Amish neighbor, Levi, appears at her doorstep asking for help for his mother, a shooting victim. This is the beginning a compelling story that clashes an Amish man with the English lifestyle, making him question the strictness of the Ordnung that even forbids efforts to protect themselves with safety measures. Grace runs up against the strict laws when she attempts to care for Leiv's family, her grandmother and her teenage sister. Grace and Levi are attracted to each other, but they choose to ignore the response because of their religious differences, but a fate throws them together with storms, accidents, and a heartless criminal.
This book grabbed me from the first chapter as Grace seeks God's will for her life, then attempts to help her neighbors without stepping on their beliefs. The frustration felt by Grace in what she sees as pointless law, along with Levi's questioning of that same law is easy to understand and feel. An Uncommon Grace does not set the Amish lifestyle up as the perfect ‘Godly’ lifestyle that many see it, but pulls out questions that apply to all Christians in all faiths. Grace and her family use scripture to back up their beliefs, while Levi uses the ordnung. This highly interesting book kept me up all night with the twists and turns. I would recommend this book for any Christian looking for a great read with many interesting plot twists that include thought provoking Christian ideals.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and Different

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a really great informative story. We begin in Afghanistan with Grace Connor, a Nurse Practitioner, and was beginning to wonder what the Military had to do with an Amish Story.
She has to return home when her Grandmother has a heart attack, and help Becky, her High School, Sister.
She no sooner returns when the neighbors, members of the Swartzentruber Amish, have been shot. She goes to give help, but the father is already gone, and the Mom has been hit and is in labor. What a sad and hard turn of events for the Troyer family.
Levi who is the oldest son, becomes infatuated with Grace, and she likewise. A relationship that is doomed! This sect of Amish is so strict that that Claire is forbidden to have a relationship with her sister Rose, who has joined the Old Order Amish. You will be amazed at the facts we think we know about the Amish, but are so differed with the Swartzentrubers.
I Loved how God's hand is in the lives of these people, his Children. How the "Light" comes on! Don't miss this different and riveting story! Excellent!!
I received this book from the Publisher Simon and Schuster, Inc., and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great story set in an Amish community

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is more then just another Amish story set in Ohio! You will find this book to have a murder as well as a romance. The murder is what sets the story into action and the romance is what carries it along.
Grace Connor has served in Afghanistan as a nurse but is happy when she is needed at home to help her Grandmother recover from surgery. Adjusting to life outside of war is not as easy as she thought it would be but getting to know neighbor Levi Troyer and his family, is helping her more then she realizes.
Levi’s life changes in one afternoon and starts taking him in a direction he never thought possible. Will he stay with the Swartzentruber Amish he has grown up with or will he follow his heart and learn to follow Christ on his own?
This book is great at explaining the different sect of the Amish. You can tell there was much research done and it does not hold the story back but actually helps you understand the characters better. The writing style was excellent and gave you very in-depth insight into the thoughts of the Amish.
The characters are well developed and the romance advances at a believable pace. I could not put this book down! I enjoyed the story lines, I liked the characters and I loved how the author concluded all the different plots. I gave this book 5/5 stars and would recommend it to anyone who loves to read Christian fiction!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exceptional Amish Fiction with a twist!

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Conner is serving as a nurse practitioner in Afghanistan as the war around her rages on. Struggling to determine whether or not she should reenlist again for two years, she prays to God to give her a definitive sign one way or another. Upon opening her email, she sees an email message telling her that she is needed to come home and that her grandmother Elizabeth has had a heart attack. Taking this as a definitive sign from God, she returns home to help her grandmother heal.
Levi Troyer was heading home from selling his baskets early one morning and was surprised to see that his house was unusually quiet for this time of day. When he called out and got no answer, and seeing laundry still sitting on the back porch and spilled water, he knew something was wrong. When he rushed to the porch, the pile of laundry was his step father who lay in a puddle of blood and was dead. Hurrying inside, he finds his mother, 8 months pregnant, shot but still alive. If only his family had a phone nearby, but since his family is part of the Swartzentruber Amish, they aren't allowed.
He grabs his horse and heads to his neighbors house and prays that the woman named Grace is at home. When she opens the door, Levi tells her what has happened and she immediately grabs her medical bag and drives over to his home. Barely alive, she calls for an ambulance and cares for his mother Claire until help arrives. Had it not been for Grace's quick thinking, his mother would have died along with his stepfather. Now it's up to Levi to care for his brothers and sister, while his mother and baby fight for their lives.
In the latest novel by Serena B. Miller, An Uncommon Grace, immerses the readers into the lives of a different order of Amish believers, the Swartzentruber, who are very strict in their lifestyles, besides no phone shanty's, no indoor plumbing, they aren't even allowed the safety features of a simple reflective triangle to attach to their buggy's so they can be seen by English drivers at night. This is a wonderful story that Serena draws her readers into from the first page. Not only is there a murder to be solved but also learning how an English woman and an Amish man can learn to be friends at least while romantic feelings slowly begin to develop.
You can't help but love the characters of Grace and Levi but also the setting of the story is so vivid in rich detail, as you read this, you can imagine the warmth of the hay in the sun, the rich deep smell of the earth as they garden and even the beauty of the afternoon thunderstorm. I received this book compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster for my honest review and LOVED it. I rate this novel a perfect 5 out of 5 stars and now I sit on pins and needles waiting for the next book to come out by Serena that will once more captivate the readers so much that they will not be able to put it down until they turn that final page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very enjoyable yet thought provoking

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't like books with an Amish theme but I'm glad I took a chance on this one. I really liked it!
Grace is a military nurse formally stationed in Afghanistan. She has just returned to rural Ohio to help care for her grandmother recovering from heart bypass surgery.
Her grandmother's farm is next to one owned by a member of the most conservative and isolated of all the Amish sects. The Swartzentruber Amish refuse indoor plumbing,education beyond the eighth grade (done within their own community), and the “decoration” of the reflective triangle on the back of their black buggies.
Grace gets thrust into the family when an intruder kills the Amish father and wounds the pregnant mother. Grace begins to have affection for the oldest brother, Levi, a strong young man, now head of the family. And he for her. But they live in separate worlds. If he were to follow his heart he would be shunned – even by his own mother and brothers.
When the murderer returns, many lives are placed in danger.
In this well crafted novel, I experienced the conflict those in this very conservative Amish sect might experience when confronted with a very different world. Levi is a man who wants to learn so much more than was offered in his limited education. He is nearly banned when it is discovered he was reading some old textbooks he had found discarded behind a used bookstore. He would like to see his mother have running water and be able to visit with her sister – forbidden because she is of a less conservative sect.
I also sensed the conflict in Grace's life. She is attracted to the simpler life of the Amish. The children are well behaved and generally seem content without TV and electronic devices. But she is also disturbed at the strict legalism. She nearly drives into the back of a black buggy at night and doesn't understand putting children's lives in danger for the sake of a rule.
I do like it when reading a novel is a learning experience, and reading this one was exactly that. I was introduced to another aspect of the Amish community and was given the opportunity to think about a life uncomplicated by the electronics of our culture. But I also thought about Christianity and legalism. The Swartzentruber sect may read the Bible only in the old German edition, a language many do not understand. The word of the elder in the community has the force of law and must be obeyed without question. I thought of churches in my city in the Pacific Northwest exhibiting similar behavior. I highly recommend this enjoyable yet thought provoking novel.
There are discussion question at the back of this book and it would make a very good choice for reading groups. There would be much to discuss, including what aspects of the Amish society could be incorporated into life.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Unique Amish Tale

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Not your typical Amish story! An Uncommon Grace by Serena B. Miller is such a unique and great book set in the most conservative of all Amish sects, the Swartzentruber's. Right there that made for an interesting story, but tie in some great and love able Englisch characters, a murder and a sense to protect your family and now you have an unforgettable story.
This is Serena's third book, but the first I have read and I loved every page of it and know I will be reading more from Serena in the future. She crafted a great story and threw in multiple twists that I was not expecting. I loved the murder part of the story because I had no idea who had done it till the end! I can't forget about Grace, I loved her! Her spirit, her hard work, wanting to do what is right even when its hard and so much more. Great job Serena! Final rating 4.5 stars!
*I received this book through Howard books for the purpose of this review, and honest opinion was all that was requested. Thank you Howard!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An absorbing, action-packed drama

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only a few pages into Serena B. Miller's latest book, I already knew I was in for a late night, having been gripped by the shocking beginning. Soon, I was absorbed in the lives of the beautifully developed characters and speeding my way through this action-packed drama. This book has it all - an unknown murderer, the mystery of the Amish ways, forbidden love. My favourite character is Grace with her courage, her admirable skills as a nurse, and the humurous moments that entangled her as she experienced the clash between two very different cultures (such as with the way she dressed or acted). The relationship that developed between Grace and Levi was enjoyable to watch unfold, with humour and unexpected love and poignant moments abounding. I especially loved Grace's interactions with her grandmother, Elizabeth, a woman who had me laughing one moment and then the next appreciating her spirituality and intimate relationship with God. I found the book to be filled with deep nuggests of wisdom, not only from Grace's grandmother, but also moments such as where Grace contemplates that "nothing really matters in life except the people who love you and those you loved. That and enjoying the gift of God's creation while serving Him to the best of one's ability". That, indeed, is wisdom to live by.
As you read this book, be ready to be entertained, inspired, and thankful anew for God's amazing, freely given grace. Although this is the first book by Serena Miller that I have read, it certainly will not be the last. I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbaised review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Uncommon Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wunderbar!

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serena Miller takes the reader from the hot, dusty, war torn Afghanistan desert; laden with military helicopters and Taliban mines, to beautiful Holmes County, Ohio, where the scent of apple blossoms, honeysuckle, and homemade pies permeate the air!
Grace Connor, a military nurse in Afghanistan, is summoned to her grandmother's farm in Ohio, by her seventeen yr. old sister, Becky, to help her convalesce after heart surgery. Grace has never seen a more beautiful, peaceful place in the whole world, that is until tragedy strikes her grandma's kind Amish neighbors. Levi Troyer's pregnant mother is wounded and his stepfather murdered by an unknown intruder, and as Grace steps in to help, a forbidden attraction develops between the two of them.
Levi, a member of the strictest Amish sect, the Swartzentrubers, where no indoor plumbing is allowed, no orange reflector lights on the back of their buggies, and no books or phones are allowed, has begun to question their teachings. His thirst for knowledge must go unfulfilled, as also his attraction for Grace, for to disobey the orders of the Bishop will cause him to be shunned by his people. When thrust together with the bishop's vengeful, but beautiful daughter, Zillah, Levi's rejection of her causes false accusations to rise against him, and he is put under the ban.
Will the truth come out, and will Levi be exonerated, or will he be forced to marry Zillah? Will Grace reenlist and go back to Afganistan, knowing that nothing can ever come of her feelings for Levi? And who is stealing antiques out of her grandma's garage and why?...and how is her sister, Becky, involved? Is the murderer still in town putting all of their lives in jeopardy, or has he moved on?
I literally had a hard time putting this one down! Serena Miller has fast become one of my favorite authors of Christian fiction. Her excellent use of imagery and endearing characters drew me in and I loved the homey atmosphere of Holmes County, OH. With an element of suspense and a unique, unpredictable Amish storyline, I literally did not see how ANYTHING was going to work out...even when I was 80% into the book! Serena threw in her wonderful sense of humor that I so loved in her first book, and if you want to read about the billy goat prancing around wearing an old woman's underwear on his horns, you will have to order the book! :) Wunderbar (wonderful) job, Serena Miller!
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.