Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books The Ultimate Conversation, eBook

Howard Books The Ultimate Conversation, eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
Review 1 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dr. Stanley's insights never disappoint!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Imblessed
Location:Roland, AR (close to Little Rock)
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple yet profound. Dr. Stanley has a way of making a much written about subject fresh with principles that can be appropriated immediately. This book would be great for both a new Christian and a mature one who has walked with the Lord many yearsl
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
roadrunner2013
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good book and specks to you. a touching book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Howard Ward
Location:Ponchatoula, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone wanting a more intimate prayer life with the Lord would definitely profit by reading this great book by Dr. Stanley! I've read a few books on prayer previously, but this one exceeds my expectations!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to understand

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and how easy to understand Dr. Stanley made the subject of prayer. His writing style is what makes this book a great study book on talking with the Lord. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked how the book gave practical steps to growing in your relationship with the Lord through prayer. I really liked how much he talked about how the Lord wants to talk with us. You will feel so loved and accepted by the Lord after reading this book. Your desire to pray will also grow immensely as you learn how easy it is to talk to the Lord and how much He wants you to talk with Him. I would recommend this book to anyone who desires a better prayer life or who needs to be reminded how important prayer is!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is more than I expected!

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
CJSTANLEY
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have learned that God not only "listens" to our prayers but "speaks" to us in response, to encourage us, and to direct our lives. Dr. Stanley's book is a wonderful, clarifying text to help us "listen" to our Lord!
Thank you Dr. Stanley!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not too good

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Best
Location:NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I usually love to read books by Charles Stanley, but this one was not a good one for me. Not what I expected. Maybe others would think differently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your prayers AREN'T just bouncing off the ceiling!

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So often our prayers can seem like one-sided conversation, a constant list of demands sent up to heaven with desperate appeal. In his book, The Ultimate Conversation, Dr. Stanley shows us that prayer is so much more, that it is an actual conversation with give and take, with us not only talking to God, but listening to him as well. The book is highly readable, well-laid out, and absolutely packed with truth based on scripture. I appreciated the chapter on "How God Uses Silence", and learning about God's purpose for silence, such as to get our attention, reveal our sin, or train us to hear his voice. I also loved the chapter entitled "Talking to God on Behalf of Others", a truly moving chapter that addresses those things we may spend years praying about, such as for someone's salvation or healing. I truly believe that there is nothing more important we can do then spend time praying on behalf of others, starting with our spouses, our children, those closest to us, and moving on to praying for the lost and the hurting in this world. I love how the author teaches us to pray for others "without getting in the way of what God desires to do in and through them", with a goal of true intimacy with our Creator.
I have learned much from Dr. Stanley's book, and also been challenged in my own prayer walk. I strongly recommend this well-written book about prayer, a book that will leave you craving more time spent on your knees with our amazing God. 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Howard books, for the purposes of this unbiased review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ultimate Conversation

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary M
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not disappointed, it's like he has that direct line to the Holy Father. This book is a good platform to set your Christain life to. It's full of Godly wisdom and real life time stories. It's an awesome book to pass on to family, friends or that person that's looking to get closer to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dr. Stanley's best book yet!

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a faithful reader/listener of Dr. Stanley's ministry for many years...and I have learned a LOT from his teaching! He is grounded in scripture, his books are easy to read, yet very deep...I've read books on prayer before...so when this one came out, I had to have a copy. I would read it with your Bible close at hand. He explains prayer so well and how we are to relate to the Lord, and His response(s) to our prayers...a book I would highly recommend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
crochetgal
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
always says what I need to hear One of the greatest authors ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great way to study the power of prayer!

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a believer, then I am sure you understand that prayer is a part of a Christian's life. That there is a power to prayer and it's a direct line of communication for us to God. Yet so many of us wonder just how to pray or if our prayers are even worth it. Often times we find ourselves resorting to prayer as a last ditch effort when everything else fails and hardly believe that anything will change when we do. So how can you be assured that God hears our prayers, how can we tell if God is speaking to us, how do we know if our prayers fall in line with God's will instead of it being simply a wish list or to do list for God to act in our lives?
In the latest book by senior pastor of First Baptist Church in Atlanta and best selling author, Charles F. Stanley, he begins to answer these questions and such much more in The Ultimate Conversation: Talking with God Through Prayer. In this book, Charles Stanley answers the questions that all of us as believers have often wondered along with great stories from the Bible and scripture to encourage us in just what our prayer lives should be and what we should be doing on a daily basis. Topics include why you can trust God's character, how the Holy Spirit helps you pray, how to win your battles on your knees, how to pray for others and God's ultimate goal in speaking with you. You can help but be encouraged through this book as I found myself in desperate need of prayer when this book arrived. Just in the first chapter alone, I was immediately comforted.
At the conclusion of each chapter it closes with a prayer guiding the reader in the next step in working toward learning more about the will of God and in using prayer. This will definitely help you grow deeper in your relationship with God and enable you to understand just how simple and powerful adding to prayer to your daily walk will change not only your life, but even the lives of those around you that not only request your prayers but in some cases never ask. Lives can be changed in the most simple response to anything in a Christian's life. We need to make this a first response to our lives in all situations instead of a last minute desperate plea. See how your own life can be profoundly impacted today by picking up a copy of The Ultimate Conversation today!
I received The Ultimate Conversation compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review and think this is a MUST HAVE for any believer. There is so much knowledge to work this into a Bible Study for a personal or even a small group Bible Study to grow in your personal faith with Jesus Christ today! I rate this resource a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to see the growth and changes in my own personal walk with Jesus.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great prayer resource

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first glance, Charles F. Stanley’s newest book, “The Ultimate Conversation,” could be just another book about prayer. Even the back cover suggests it is a guide to help you communicate better with your Heavenly Father. That’s what I was expecting.
At a time when people are experiencing unrest, chaos and uncertainty and desperately searching for answers, Dr. Stanley tackles the subject of the hows and whys of prayer, a subject he has written about before in his books, “Handle With Prayer” and “How to Listen to God.” As good as those books have been in the topic of prayer, “The Ultimate Conversation” is possibly Dr. Stanley’s best book so far.
This all-in-one guide about intimacy with Christ, discerning God’s voice, praying for others, winning your battles and finding your purpose is full of simple steps that will guide you into an intimate relationship with the Father above and beyond what you have experienced before. This book will take time to read if you want to truly benefit from the guidelines set forth. If you truly desire a relationship with God beyond a superficial experience, read, underline, study and implement the suggestions Dr. Stanley makes. Study the Scripture and start your prayer time in expectation.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Ultimate Conversation, eBook
This review is fromThe Ultimate Conversation.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good encouragement for intimacy with God

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God wants to have a conversation with you. He wants you to know Him. Intimacy with Him is His first priority for your life. (38) Stanley writes about prayer, “Its purpose is to strengthen and deepen your intimacy with Him.” (6)
Stanley reminds us that our perception of God is crucial to our prayer life. He helps us see who God is through Scripture, using the example of Nehemiah. “Nehemiah's story shows us that you and I have the greatest effect when we have an ongoing conversation with the Father and humbly submit to His direction.” (55)
He assures us that God is speaking to us today. It may be a whisper or the internal prompting of the Holy Spirit. We must remember that God has His own timing but He will reveal His plans to us.
Stanley reminds us how important it is to learn to hear God's voice. “God speaks to you and me through every situation, but hearing Him is dependent upon our anticipating and paying attention to His instruction.” (76)
Stanley uses Jesus' life and teaching as examples of intimacy, showing that interaction with God does not have to be challenging or confusing. Our conversation is centered on God.
We don't pray to get things from God. “The most important things to the Father are strengthening our bond with Him and enjoying profoundly satisfying and transformational fellowship.” (132) That's why we pray.
Stanley includes other teachings, such as dealing with childhood experiences, the work of the Holy Spirit in our lives, how God uses silence, overcoming obstacles, praying for others, and praying for our heart's desire.
What an encouraging book on prayer. There is much here for the new Christian and the seasoned one as well.
Sometimes we forget how much the Father desires conversation with us. Stanley has done well in reminding us how important the intimate relationship with the Father is.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.