Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Illusion

Howard Books Illusion

Magicians Dane and Mandy Collins are about to retire when a car accident claims Mandy's life. A grieving Dane goes to see a new magic act---and is shocked to find a 19-year-old version of his Mandy. When the two reunite, can they uncover the conspiracy behind their meeting, Mandy's supernatural magic, and who's following them? 576 pages, hardcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 3093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Illusion
Review 1 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ger

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fun read! It was like watching a modern day movie with all it's special effects!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shai
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
totally unexpected writing from Peretti but was such a great story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Story

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monika
Location:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With great expectation was I reading Franks new Book.
The story is nice and the action is fascinating. But I am still disappointed.
Where is God in all of this? Whay is here no live changing red thread in this book anymore?
Where is his spiritual fire he used to wave so supreme in his first books?
Now this is a good Story, but I did not get my spiritual food I expect from a Frank Peretti book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time Travel and Romance

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frank Peretti in his new book, "Illusion" published by Howard Books takes us into the lives of Dave and Mandy.
From the inside jacket flap: Dane and Mandy, a popular magic act for forty years, are tragically separated by a car wreck that claims Mandy’s life—or so everyone thinks. Even as Dane mourns and tries to rebuild his life without her, Mandy, supposedly dead, awakes in the present as the nineteen-year-old she was in 1970. Distraught and disoriented in what to her is the future, she is confined to a mental ward until she discovers a magical ability to pass invisibly through time and space to escape. Alone in a strange world, she uses her mysterious powers to eke out a living, performing magic on the streets and in a quaint coffee shop.
Hoping to discover an exciting new talent, Dane ventures into the coffee shop and is transfixed by the magic he sees, illusions that even he, a seasoned professional, cannot explain. But more than anything, he is emotionally devastated by this teenager who has never met him, doesn’t know him, is certainly not in love with him, but is in every respect identical to the young beauty he first met and married some forty years earlier.
They begin a furtive relationship as mentor and protégée, but even as Dane tries to sort out who she really is and she tries to understand why she is drawn to him, they are watched by secretive interests who not only possess the answers to Mandy’s powers and misplacement in time but also the roguish ability to decide what will become of her.
Frank Peretti has crafted a rich, rewarding story of love and life, loss and restoration, full of twists and mystery. Exceptionally well written, Illusion will soon prove another Peretti classic.
I am so excited to be reviewing a Frank Peretti work. I have been reading his books since the beginning with his classic, "This Present Darkness". Though this is the first time I have actually had the chance to write a review and I am starting out with a bang. This is a study of marriage and a love that, literally, transcends time. Dave and Mandy have been married for forty years when they have a terrible accident and Mandy dies--or does she? All of a sudden there is a teenage version of Mandy running around and she doesn't remember Dave. What would you do if the woman you loved turned up alive but in the body of a teenager who had no idea of who you were?
Frank Peretti has given us a terrific book in "Illusion". It is a romance, it is a time travel story and it will keep you guessing and flipping pages just to keep up with everything that is going on. In the Note from the Author Mr. Peretti tells us that this love story is based on the romance he has with his wife. Ah, that everyone would be blessed with a romance that would split time. If you are looking for a nice summer read that will show you what a marriage union-romance should be then "Illusion" is the book for you.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Howard Books for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a huge fan of Frank Peretti's, this was a difficult book to get through. I enjoyed some of the twists and turns, but a few left me scratching my head. Towards the end of the book, the story was completely engaging. Not my favorite, but highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting twists in the plot

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a very well written example of Peretti's work. While the subject matter may not appeal to all, the author approaches it in a way that keeps you reading for the next chapter, and the next, and so on. A "novel" idea for the plot of a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable but different

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a different kind of Peretti book: a love story. It still contained some very unique supernatural aspects, which are par for the course with him, but this book was written with a very different angle.
I enjoyed the story, and I loved the story of a couple's deep devotion to each other. Passionate and colorful, this is a story that will keep you guessing all the way to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peretti is a Seasoned and Skilled Craftsman!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike Schmieder
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently began reading fiction again after a very long hiatus. I picked up a couple of Ted Dekker's earlier pieces. Wow! I was rapt and could barely disengage myself from them until I turned the last page! Then a I picked up "Illusion". Long before turning its last page I was feeling the awe and wonder of Peretti’s “magic”. He is a brilliantly gifted and skilled story teller.
“Illusion” is a story that unfolds slowly, but then why must we always be in a hurry? The characters are compelling and captivating. The story line prods you to expand your thinking and wrap your noggin around some mind and time bending ideas. Not a bad thing for the attention challenged Twitterverse we live in. The story builds patiently and deliberately, but it doesn't drag. Peretti is in no hurry, he knows where he is going. He gives us time to fully explore the depths of love, grief, fear, confusion, and hope that only a really great piece of literature can.
I have read Mr. Peretti’s earlier works, “This Present…” and “Piercing…” as well as “Prophet”. They were excellent in their own right, and I mean excellent. But in “Illusion” we are shown the craftsmanship and skill of a master artisan working from a lifetime of experience. You know when a writer pens from his creativity and research and you know when it comes from his own heart and life. The best works have ample of both. “Illusion” is a novel that will leave you thinking, challenged, entertained and asking yourself one very important question…
When is his Peretti’s next book coming out!?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just not a good enough read.

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
yrmb
Location:Grande Prairie, AB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read it all, so I suppose it has enough in it to keep going. Quite strange and some didn't hold together for me. I guess I was expecting something similar to his old writings. Given the age of the players, I don't think it will really relate to contemporaries in age nor a younger population who will be looking for heros to relate to their age group. Be interesting to see what others think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great storyline

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Avid Christian Reader
Location:Bentonville, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I love Frank Peretti books. You get lost in his stories and next thing you know it's 3 or 4 am in the morning...and it's a weekday! His messages always points you to God and His mercies, forgiveness, and love. This one doesn't disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
zjake7
Location:mankato, mn.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very interesting, hard to put down, edge of seat kind of thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the wait - a fantastic read!

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 years is a long time to wait for a new book from an author. But in the case of Frank Peretti, I'll wait as long as necessary to be able to read what he writes!
Illusion is a masterpiece, a carefully crafted novel that grabbed me from the first page and held me spell-bound to the dramatic conclusion. I can confidently say that this is my favourite Frank Peretti book to date, a book that I not only found entertaining, but one that will long stay with me as I ponder the symbolism embedded in its pages. The characters simply breathe with life and mystery, Dane as he wonders how to go on living without the love of his life of 40 years by his side, and young Mandy as she tries to reconcile the fact that one moment she was in the 1970’s, and the next she is in the present day dressed in a hospital gown, wondering if she’s going crazy. I loved that both Dane and Mandy are magicians, and Peretti brilliantly combines their love of magic with the mysterious powers that Mandy discovers she has, power to manipulate objects to her whim. The plot unfolds layer by layer, revealing a unique premise that the book is built upon, plot concepts that I won’t fully explore here for fear of revealing too much, but that I can state are well-executed and will have you speeding through the pages. While the book may seem light on spiritual aspects on the surface, as you ponder the book you will realize that the book is a profound exploration of our souls and the reality that the person God created us to be exists outside of time and the external trappings of who we seem to be. The profound love shared between Dane and Mandy is a perfect picture of the love God has for us, a love that survives trials and tragedies, a love that surpasses our understanding and is so much more than we could imagine.
Be prepared to be entertained and held captive by Peretti’s latest work, which is sure to please fans of old and will no doubt capture a new generation of fans who will be eagerly awaiting Peretti’s next book. I know I will.
I award this book 5 out of 5 stars and my highest recommendation.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Howard Books, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Frank Peretti

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debs
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting for another Frank Peretti book for a long time. I always enjoy his storytelling ability. I really like this one that mixes in illusions in so many ways. I don't want to give away the story so I'll only say this; he uses this book to tell of his love for his wife.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the Wait

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I heard Frank Peretti finally had a new book out, I was thrilled. He has a way with words that are truly amazing. I picked this up from my library and was taken back-495 pages. I wondered if I could read such a long book. I not only read it, I devoured it in two sittings. I just could not put it down-always trying to figure what was going to happen next, where the author was going and how in the world will it end!.
Dane and Mandy are married for forty years and have been magicians by trade. Mandy is killed in a car wreck-or is she?. This is where the story line kicks up-Mandy awakens in the present and is nineteen just like she was in 1970. I am not telling more because you need to read it for yourself how the mystery continues. This was one superbly crafted story that showed love, loss and restoration. The ending was just perfect. Please pick up a copy and see for yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blew away my expectations

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mindxing
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I guess I didn't know what to expect when I received this book. It was sent to me by a publisher as a part of a "blogger review" program (and I was not obligated to write a positive review). Since I'm not a fan of Peretti's other books I wasn't sure that I would like this one. But I'm happy to say that I LOVED IT!
Peretti is certainly a great writer. He pulled me right into the story and the characters, especially Dane Collins. It is hard to describe this book without giving away the plot so I'll have to remain fairly vague. The story starts with the main character's wife of 40 years dying in a fiery car accident. As Dane tries to deal with his tragedy he meets a 19 year old who reminds him so much of his wife (Mandy) that he starts to become sucked into her life. We watch as the 60 year old man tries to deal with the struggle of creating a relationship with a woman who could be his grand daughter. But this story isn't about an old man/young woman relationship (not at all!). I have to stop here or I'll give away too much.
I strongly recommend this book to everyone who likes a good story. If you have not been a Peretti fan or have even been an anti-fan I challenge you to take a second look at this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peretti/ Amazing writer

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shearon Piper
Location:NAPLES FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Frank Peretti's books. So imaginative. His characters always great, whether they be the good, the bad, the ugly. But, in Illusion...all I can say is WOW! I so enjoyed the story, it included love, mystery, and wonder. And God's grace, bringing order and restoration to lives that have been upset and destroyed by the enemy. And that is real truth, grace and restoration,
guided by God's loving hand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the wait is over and he is back!

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is it all an Illusion?
That is the big question in Frank Peretti's latest novel. The 7 year wait is over and he does not disappoint.
Illusion is a triple threat full of Science Fiction, Romance, and Thriller! The wait was worth it Illusion was a great book. It starts of at a slow steady pace and picks up as you read further into it.
I will say the faith side of the book was a little more subtle and you might miss some of it. The plot was real interesting in the fact that she wakes up in a 17 year old's body and finds out she has this magical power. Read as 2 lost souls find each other and see what becomes of them. I enjoyed the time traveling take the book took. This book is full of twist and turns and magic, that will make you remember Frank Peretti's older novels.
Thank You Howard Books and Julie Busteed from Handlebar Marketing for sending me a complimentary copy of Illusion to review and giveaway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great read

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
vicki
Location:Spring Branch, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book, and I am a big fan of Peretti. He has a way of bringing images to life and of reminding us that there is much more to life than what we see with our eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Masterpiece!

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the way Frank Peretti writes. When you read his books it's as if you are watching a movie. You can envision all the characters and feel everything he writes. He really has a gift which convinces as well as transports you. I didn't want to put the book down.
Illusion is an amazing love story with a touch of science fiction. It made my heart race and kept me on the edge of my seat anticipating what would happen next. This is definitely my kind of book; full of intrigue and suspense.
Initially, I wasn't sure what to expect from Frank Peretti's new book, Illusion. As it is quite different from other books he has written, such as my favorites, This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness, which had an overt Christian theme.
But, as Frank Peretti wrote in his note, there is Christian "symbolism and thematic elements" in Illusion. He goes on to explain, "I suppose this tale is a fictional tribute to love as God made it, and by that, an illustration of how beautiful the love between ourselves and our Lord can be." I thought that was beautiful.
I believe Illusion is a literary masterpiece and Frank Peretti is a genius. This book should be made into a movie, with all the special effects. Illusion is entertaining and does not disappoint. It goes without saying that I highly recommend this book to everyone.
In conclusion, I am hosting a book give away and the winner will be selected at random. Please comment below by April 9th and win a free copy of Illusion.
I want to personally thank Howard Books and Julie Busteed from Handlebar Marketing for sending me a complimentary copy of Illusion to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Illusion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A different Peretti read

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's been a long time since I read a book by Mrr. Peretti, and I understand it's been seven years since he released one. When "Illusion" was offered to me for the purpose of a review, I was pleased to be in the advance reader group of reviewers.
As I began reading "Illusion," I realized that this book was different from what I have come to expect from Mr. Peretti. First, it deals with the entertainment, "Vegas," industry and specifically that of magicians or illusionists. The main characters in the book are Dane Collins and his wife of 40 years, Mandy. Dane and Mandy were a professional team of magicians for 40 years, too. When the story begins, Mandy has just recently died in a terrible car accident. Some weeks pass and a young "Mandy" appears on the doorstep of Dane Collins. She doesn't know who she is, but Dane recognizes her as a younger version of his deceased wife. It begins to get creepier and creepier from here on in.
Mandy is terrific at "slight of hand," magic, and illusions. She even begins to personally levitate and causes objects to spontaneously appear and levitate. At this point you wonder where Mr. Peretti is going with this. Is it science fiction, is it time travel, is it demon possession? What is happening, and where is it leading?
The book takes you on a confusing, convoluted journey for nearly 500 pages. I think Mr. Peretti's writing is good and he held my interest. However, I was disappointed in that there was no victory over evil, no Christian teachings, no indication that this was Christian fiction. This seems to be more of a "cross-over" fiction. Clean, but not strongly Christian oriented. There were, though, references to church, God, etc. Also, this book is somewhat an allegory. You'll need to read it to determine in your mind the allegory.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided an Advance Reader Copy of "Illusion" by the publisher Howard Books and Handlebar Marketing for the purpose of an honest review. The giveaway prize of a copy is also provided by the publisher.
Originally posted on my personal blog: http://ChatWithVera.blogspot.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>