Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook

Thomas Nelson Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Review 1 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
gks7
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very thought provoking, encouraging believers to examine hearts, minds and lives to weed out the dross and yearn for the eternal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changer!

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
tonia
Location:Bennet, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so good that I used a highlighter pen as my bookmark! It has spoken to my heart and mind and has really helped me see truth in what I am really striving for. Is it for God and all His peace or for worldly comfort and all it's unsettledness? A life changer! Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Rockwall, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book. This author is so easy to understand and follow, and so compelling in her story that I read cover-to-cover and was never bored or distracted, which is rare for me! I have been on a 2 year journey to come to grips with what a real Christ Follower really looks like...living in America, relatively well-to-do, "well-churched"... and of the many books I have read, this one brought that search more into focus for me than any other recent read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

t's a powerful book.

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Spring Lake
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a powerful book by Jennie Allen about giving herself to God fully.
It's the kind of book that makes you look around your own world and rethink what is important and what is really necessary.
I think we all reach points in our lives, multiple times in our lives, when we wonder if we are doing enough for God.
When that happens we need to do what Jennie did...
It all started with a simple prayer asking God to do something with her and her family, not just something, but ANYTHING.
I learned a few things from this book that I would love to share with you:
1st: "A.W. Tozer wrote, 'What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us'. NOTHING defines a soul more than what that soul believes about GOD. And no outward observer can know what is in the soul of a person". (pg 7)
2nd: "To risk is to willingly place your life in the hand of an unseen God and an unknown future, then to watch him come through. He tarts to get real when you live like that". (pg.9)
3rd: "His presence is the only place where invisible weight is lifted. The only place where hidden, broken spaces are mended. The only place where we are defined apart from our successes and failures". (pg 32)
4th: "There is no escaping it. He is God, and if our suffering brings him the most glory, let it be. Easy to preach, difficult to live". (pg 56)
5th: "Through our love, we display our God, especially to our spouses and those closest to us and through our radical submission to them, God moves". (pg 87)
6th: "There is always doubts. We doubt because God, while he gets louder, is still invisible, because of the people questioning your sanity and he difficulty of just following a wild invisible God into uncomfortable spaces. We doubt because of the risk, the cost, the abandonment of rights and comforts, the disapproval of people you really love, and then on top of it all, because you now officially picked a fight with the devil". (pg 155)
7th: "So do your everyday and your ordinary, Godliness is found and formed in those places". (pg 165)
Don't those points make you stop and think?
They did for me.
Jennie Allen has a knack for writing it in such a way that I felt I was sitting across from her at the coffee table and just hashing out thoughts and feelings.
Are you looking for a book that will motivate you to view your life differently?
A book that will help you put in perspective how our time here is but a moment and we must live it for HIM?
This is that book.
Even if you aren't fully able to ask God to do ANYTHING with your life, this might be the motivation to ask him to do SOMETHING....baby steps.
I received this book free. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Anything by Jennie Allen

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In ANYTHING: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul, Jennie Allen writes about abandoning our pursuit of the comfortable things in life that make us happy, and choosing to be fully committed to living the life God wants us to live. Somewhere along the way we have chosen to believe that the white picket fence American dream of the 50s is a portrait of a good Christian life: we do what society deems proper, along with a token acknowledgment that God has blessed us.
Jennie Allen writes, “I believe that like every generation before us, we have an opportunity to see God move in our midst . . . to surrender in such a way that we would turn the head and heart of God. He waits for surrendered lives, and he finds them, he floods them. I want to be a part of that.”
This is a well-written book that explores the fears, uncertainties, and joy of fully surrendering to God. Examples of her own life and the lives of others are liberally sprinkled in the pages to give this a personalized feel as though the reader is sharing thoughts, prayers, hopes, doubts, and dreams with a good friend. It not only gave me thoughts into my own life and my relationship with God, but inspired me to be more willing to step out in faith and fully trust God to lead me where He wants me to be and know that He is always there to catch me should I stumble along the way.
I received a copy of this book from Shelton Interactive. I was not required to give a good review and all opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Giving God Anything and Everything

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breathtaking. People use that word to describe physical beauty, like a bride on her wedding day or the ocean view out their vacation home or the first time they touch their feet onto African ground and view the landscape. It's all so breathtaking.
Me, sure I'm a lover of physical beauty, but it's words that make me gasp for breath. I've had a few books that make me suck in air when I sit down to read and after a few minutes it feels like I haven't taken another breath. Dishes don't get done. Laundry remains in a pile. And then I look up. I've finished. I gasp for air.
Jennie Allen's book took my breath away. It's her writing, so raw and lovely, so rhythmic without being in-your-face poetic. But it's something more. It's because just over one year ago I told God that if I could have anything I wanted from Him, it'd be His glory. Just be glorified, Lord. And whatever you want me to do to glorify Your name, then I'd do it.
Jennie prayed that same prayer, but she used just one word: "Anything." She told God she'd do anything at all in obedience to Him and He took her up on her offer. He messed with what she'd always wanted out of life and stirred up a desire in her heart for Him before everything . . . and anything . . . else.
I found myself nodding my head with her pursuit of passion for God and the struggles, the difficult walk of obeying Him, because when He says, "Follow me," it's not always an easy jog to our destination. Sometimes it's an uphill hike or a marathon.
In some ways, this is just another book by an author challenging us to live radical lives because we're so crazy in love with Jesus. You've probably read books like this---Radical, Crazy Love, Go and Do, among others. I've read them. I've liked them. But Jennie Allen's book worked for me in a way the others didn't. She reminds us that sometimes this means moving to Africa to be missionaries, but sometimes it means moving close to your sick mother to care for her.
I've walked away from similar books disillusioned and frustrated sometimes because I want to be obedient to Christ and I don't live a materialistic, comfy, self-focused life. I desire to put Him first. I want to do anything, give anything to live that radically obedient walk . . .but then God didn't call me to full-time missions or urban ministry. So, it seemed so illusory. Makes for a great book, changes lives for others, never really changed mine.
Yet, Jennie Allen reminds us that we don't get to pick and choose what God desires for us and how He uses us. Sometimes the call He gives us seems small to others and insignificant in comparison to the ministry of those we see. We can't please everyone along the way either. The important thing is to do whatever He has said, big and small, simple and terribly risky, and do it because He said and that's enough.
This is not one of Jennie Allen's Bible studies, but it is a walk through two years of her life when she and her husband committed to doing anything God asked. It's fabulous for an individual read, maybe even a book club or small group looking for something different to read. For those who want more of a Bible Study structure, I encourage you to check out her other resources. I know I will.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is God King of your life?

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ANYTHING
The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul
By Jennie Allen
Often our familiarity with the concept of God keeps us from the reality of God and Jesus. We bring them out for special occasions, like a holiday decoration that has become a tradition over the years. But how do we make God and Jesus a real and tangible part of our being and our life?
In Anything Jennie Allen takes us on a journey, a journey of turning over our lives to God. Until we give Him our anything we are incomplete. We will continue to live our lives trying to earn God's grace through works and outward shows, but grace cannot be earned. Jesus gave His anything to pay for my sin because He loved me. But to know God is a risk because He will reveal our true selves to us. God will sweep away all the pretense in our lives until realize we need Him.
Many obstacles keep us from a true relationship with God. We like, Adam and Eve, hide our nakedness behind leaves – leaves of religion, morality, and good works but God sees through our leaves and sees to our very soul. We are ashamed of our sin, but He already knows our faults and has already forgiven us.
We all desire approval, but instead of seeking after God's approval we turn to the world and make approval king of our lives to the exclusion of using our God-given gifts. We must let go of normal and embrace God and extraordinary that He is waiting to give us.
We must give Him everything and anything. Anything we hold back from God becomes an idol in our life. But when we trust God with everything He provides a stability that we cannot find in the things of this world. Following God is not a guarantee of an easy life, nor was it an easy life for the first disciples.
When we truly offer anything to God we are awakened to just how temporary this life and world are. We must let go and turn over control to God. We must to quit pretending our lives are perfect and worshiping this lie that we tell ourselves. When we surrender to God we are not consigning the rest of our life to bondage rather we are freeing ourselves to be who God created us to be.
Giving our anything to God sometimes keeps us right where we were before we placed our lives on the altar. When we've handed our life over we are more fulfilled in our lives and we are able to fulfill a need that was before us all along.
In giving His everything Jesus poured out His life to restore us, so how can we then refuse Him anything? We must be like Jesus. He loved me and He gave up for me. I, in turn, must give up for
Him. He will never leave me alone in my doubts and fears, I need only call out to Him and turn them over to Him. The difficulties of my life are an opportunity for me to grow and to rely on God.
Are you willing to give God anything or will you settle for the world? The choice is yours, are you willing to take the leap? Anything will help you take an honest look at your life. Is God king or have you allowed someone or something else to sit upon His throne? Anything will open the eyes of any reader and is perfect for either a personal or group study environment.
I received a copy of this title for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a GREAT read and well worth the tme.!!

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sands0113
Location:Richmond, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"ANYTHING" by Jennie Allen
Anything, a word that you probably hear or say everyday and yet what is it really. Jennie Allen answers that question like this, "Anything is a prayer of surrender that will spark something. A prayer that will move us to stop chasing things that just make us feel happy and start living a life that matters. A life that is...surrendered, reckless, courageous. If we truly know a God worthing giving anything for, everything changes." I started Jennie Allen's book, "Anything" with no expectations...honestly, I started it just so I could hurry and get the review done because I was behind and then I read the first few chapters. Suddenly, I had to reread everything...this was going to be incredible, I knew it. So, I restarted the book and I followed Jennie on her (and her husband, Zac's) journey to and from "Anything". This book is more than a book, it's Jennie's story and how a simple word changed her life. I got to follow along as Jennie wanted to be comfortable and happy and as she began to see that safe and comfortable aren't always what God has. I was with Jennie when she chose to pray "anything", and I got to watch as that simple prayer of surrender changed everything.
I love to read and when an author can put me in the journey, I fall very quickly. As I was reading Jennie's "Anything", I was engrossed in this journey and even more, I couldn't help but look at my own life and see parallels to some of her thoughts, feelings, struggles, and desires. I know that this book was incredible and now I have proof...most of the pages are full of highlights, underlines, stars, or notes that I just couldn't help but put in. This book was given to me at exactly the right time and I can't be more grateful than I am. Jennie Allen's "Anything" is an incredible read and an amazing story of how living a life FULLY surrendered can change not only your life but every person you touch as well. I recommend this book to anyone and if you can't find a copy, borrow mine (as long as you don't mind the marks.) Definitely a GREAT read and well worth the tme.!!
DISCLAIMER: I recieved a free copy of this book through the publisher's(Thomas Nelson Publishing) Booksneeze blogger review program, HOWEVER, I was NOT required to write a positive review. ALL thoughts and opinions are my own!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Experience life to the fullest and read this book!

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anything is a thought-provoking, convicting read, written with refreshing honesty and vulnerability. I always enjoy reading books on faith that are written by someone who has struggled with the questions and doubts we have all faced in our life. Jennie Allen writes in a manner that connects with the reader, a manner that shows she has "been there", has lived life in the trenches and wrestled with the craziness of life. She shares from the wealth of her experience in a way that made me examine my own choices and actions without feeling judged by her. The book is chock-full of wisdom that I am walking away with. I loved when she writes "Joy comes from giving yourself entirely and unreservedly to God. Like ripping a Band-Aid off, giving in, yielding everything, and dying to this life and all we think we want in it - something about that sets you free". What an amazing adventure to live sold out for God, to risk everything and pray the prayer of "anything". I'm so thankful the author was willing to share her story with a generation of people seeking to get rid of their "plastic god" and to serve a God who is real and alive and wanting to move in our midst today.
I highly recommend this engaging and compelling read, and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Written and Inspiring!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennie Allen is a new author for me. She not only has written, "anything", but has created and penned two studies. Stuck and Chase. Studies that I would love to do!!
I opened the pages of this inspirational book and was floored by it's beauty. It's profound. It's lasting. It's powerful and yet gentle. From beginning to end it simply empowered my heart to know Christ more.
Are we willing to give up anything for God? In giving up are we losing the battle or are we gaining the victory? Oh friends, this beautifully written book shows us how to gain the victory by giving anything and everything to Christ.
"Anyone can get to heaven-no matter how messy his or her life. And by this same token, anyone can be kept out-regardless of all his or her fancy goodness."
"Our story began long before we prayed. The night we uttered the words was just a step in the process of surrender. But it was an important step. God wants to be invited in to lead our lives, for your heart to truly stand before God and say, "You have me. Do anything with me." That is a bold, beautiful move. Continuing to mean it daily as his will unfolds will prove even more powerful. Ask him to show you where he wants you to pour out your life and gifts and resources."
I could go on and on sharing my favorites of this book. Jennie pours herself into this book and shares her own life with us so that we can see perfection is not what we are after. It's simply a relationship with Christ. Surrendering to him allows growth in us as the Spirit moves.
I would say, this book would be a great read for a Sunday School class, a gathering of women to share, or just simply you and God. I devoured every page and am praying, anything for You, God. Anything.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mandy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book!!! It opened my eyes to see how I had been holding back in an area of my life where I didn't want to. If you believe in God but aren't seeing Him move in powerful ways in your life, please consider reading this book. It's a wonderful story of the author's willingness to hand over the reigns of her life to God. Many of us have faith and even a relationship with God, but reading this challenged me to give Him everything, and let Him do ANYTHING He wants with my life. My life couldn't be more richer as a result of this simple but difficult act of faith. He is an adventurous, loving, exciting, deep, personal God who is pleased when His children trust Him with anything and everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshingly different

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not a typical "Christian Living" book. I'd say it's more like reading the journal of a good friend, except without the guilt. You find this friend on a journey to knowing more of God in the most personal of ways. In reading it, you close the book and envy that relationship she has and think, "Now what about me? Am I willing to let God have anything?" It's challenging, inspiring and convicting. Watch out, it might just mess with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A transparent book with a fresh perspective!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
jessica
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A transparent book with a fresh perspective! Anything is a journey of reckless abandonment. Jennie invites you into her life and shares the deepest parts of her soul as she surrenders every piece of her life to the calling of Christ. Anything gave me a new perspective of my life and revealed places in my heart I had not given God control. I laughed and cried alongside Jennie's stories and was taken to a place of complete surrender with the days I have left to live.
Jennie's writing style reminds me of Donald Millers with a calling and passion to live for Jesus like Francis Chan or David Platt - but she specifically speaks to our generation of women. Her energy is contagious! A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging Book!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sucked into this book immediately, it is easy to read thanks to the author's conversational and intimate style. I loved all the personal stories and it became a real page turner for me. Even though I've been a Christian for a while I found myself drawn closer to God as I wrestled with the questions and challenges that the book brings up. It's definitely a great book to read either individually or as a group, I would have loved to have discussed each chapter with some girlfriends. Either way, it truly was a life-changing book for me, I find myself desiring to know God more and truly figure out what I have put ahead of God in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Anything: The Prayer That Unlocked My God and My Soul - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read!!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Austin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
You will love Jennie's raw and fresh approach in this book. God used her to stir in my heart a passion for glorifying Him...whatever that may be. Jennie's vulnerability is contagious and led me to a place of opening up the tight grip of my hands...holding everything up to God and saying "All I have is yours". You will be blessed through the pages of this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.