Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook

Thomas Nelson One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
1
26 out of 3379%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Review 1 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice book

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love seeing a public figure who isn't ashamed to show his Faith in God and not care how others view him for it. I enjoyed reading how he fought through not being the starting qb and I especially enjoyed the Bible verses at the beginning of each chapter.he points the reader to God's word for truth and healing. Knowing that our creative God uses all different places of beauty for us to see our Creator, she provides the reader with additional study through suggested music listening, art, meaningful quotes...
Still, this book is filled with beautiful poetry, and her life story will definitely inspire many. It would help explain a lot of what is going on early in this story because it doesn't make sense to me. I'm sure it is a good read with the foundation of the first book. I've tried and tried to read and decided to give up. I don't generally have this problem with a book and I feel kinda bad about it, but that's how it is for me.I've tried and tried to read and decided to give up. I don't generally have this problem with a book and I feel kinda bad about it, but that's how it is for me.you are looking for an easy read that will inspire and motivate you when you are at a crossroads in your life, then I highly recommended this book.he intense plot structure combined with the historical figures and discussions make this novel one that is hard to put down. The book could not have come at a better time for me to read, as I gained perspective. Amazing, inspirational, encouraging are just a few of the many words that could be used to describe this book. This is a book that I will read again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Engaging story

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadyG
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One Call Away
“When people approach me, they often start the conversation in the same way. ‘Are You Kurt Warner’s wife?’ These days, in answer, I hold out my hand and say, ‘My name is Brenda.’”
In this gritty account of the wife of the former NFL quarterback who led three teams to the Super Bowl, Brenda Warner captures that same spirit in writing. She extends a hand, and flashing a confident, authentic smile, invites us into the heart of who she is as a human being first, a celebrity second.
Prophetically, we learn that she was a charmer and a cheerleader, qualities that characterize her life today. But what could appear as a Cinderella syndrome is, in reality, a journey marked by tragedy and trauma. The God to whom she was introduced in the sixth grade, was the One who held her firmly throughout the ensuing years, and to Whom she would turn again and again. She is unabashedly candid about her fears and failures and just as quick to attribute her triumphs to his faithfulness.
The story of Brenda and Kurt’s romance is delightful, though a bit stormy. If you enjoy a little drama with a happy ending, this is for you.
Today the Warners operate their own foundation “…dedicated to impacting live by promoting Christian values, sharing experiences and providing opportunities to encourage everyone that all things are possible when people seek to put ‘first things first’.” With many facets to the organization, one of her favorite projects is furnishing empty houses which have been provided to individuals by partner organizations. Brenda remembers a day when she was in need of the same.
Contemporary autobiographies are not the type of book I am typically drawn to, and it did seem to lag a bit near the end. Nonetheless it was a pleasant read, [mostly] fast-paced and earthy with a 16-page section of full-color photos. My teenaged granddaughter read it, as did my 50-plus husband and both were captivated. I suspect you will be too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, fast read

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Brenda Warner takes us backstage into her life; her hard days as a wife and mom, and her triumphs. She relates her actions to her faith. It is refreshing to be a part of her vulnerability as she weaves her life experiences and her efforts to be the best she can be with her desire to please God.
This was a great read, moved along quickly, and was definitely hard to put down.
I was sometimes irritated at her glossing over of her lack of remorse for some of those things in her life that were regrettable. This came across to me as 'no big deal'. But it also reminds me that I need to be more aggressive in this area also. I definitely was turned off several times by her casualness toward her obedience to God. But, then again, I must take this to heart in my own life.
Good read, moved along quickly 5/5 stars.
Christian truths and application, 2/5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://booksneeze®.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
RUVIE
Location:Seattle,Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She is remarkable for all that she has gone through and still so strong in her faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspired

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SuzB
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great. It is a true story/testimony of Brenda Warner who is the wife of football player Kurt Warner.
It tells of her struggles in life but getting through each one by the love and blessings of God.
I was getting a little frustrated at the beginning with her story going back and forward years, as I prefer a story to flow from beginning to end but it would connect and make sense.
I am inspired by this story and would recommend reading this to people who need a boost in their own faith in God.
I felt like I could relate in some of her circumstances and she has encouraged me to continue walking in my faith because God can do anything.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Life is full of the unexpected and faith can be the only way to overcome the incredible odds. This is the premise of Brenda’s book. Unfortunately, while she has her share of difficulties and certainly tragedies, there is a shrill tone to the book that makes it extremely difficult to empathize with her. For example, when she shares how hard it was to accommodate all the friends who wanted tickets to see her husband play football, or how difficult it was to say no to people’s requests for merchandise for charity events, it feels as though she has nothing but gripes – even though she probably has a point. It is hard for professional athletes, I imagine, and their families to go from being accessible to everyone to limiting that access for their safety and sanity.
I think the problem I had with the book is the constant “my life is so hard” perspective; although Brenda professes a faith that helps her through difficulties, she often focuses too much on the difficulties. As she describes how much they impacted her, it feels as though she’s saying “feel sorry for me, or else!” Since I know families who are raising special needs children, whose grace and faith in those circumstances are not about them, but about the ways in which God has truly provided, it is hard to reconcile their sacrifices and humility with Brenda’s “look at me” diatribe.
I don’t doubt that dealing with having to live with Mom and Dad with 2 kids, or having to go on public aid, or going back to school were easy things to manage, especially when one of the children has severe disability. Indeed, the story of her son is nothing short of miraculous. That he is able to engage with others when Brenda was told he would never walk or talk is amazing. The problem, and it’s a big one, is that the story of her struggle is told from the perspective of someone who was never at fault for anything, never needs to be repentant for any action, and who seems to categorize her challenges and struggles as somehow bigger than everyone else’s. That she may not legitimately feel that way is hoped, that her book makes her come across that way is then unfortunate.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
aleahhelton
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Call Away is an amazingly inspirational book written by Brenda Warner, wife to football pro Kurt Warner. This book chronicles her life of trial and tribulation, and how God used these things to strengthen her in the face of tragedy. Brenda has faced an accident that disabled her son, the death of her parents in a tornado, a crumbling marriage, and the pressures that NFL success has brought to her family, plus more. Brenda states in this book that she has felt she is always one call away from the next tragedy or hardship.
This is a great book, I could not put it down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

READ THIS BOOK! One Call Away ~ Brenda Warner

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the true story of Brenda Warner's life, all her struggle's with heartache, disappointments with life, and how she keeps her love for GOD no matter what she goes through.
When I started to read this book, I could not put it down! It is such a great read, it is real, a GOD glorifiying story. I never imagained what this book was going to contain, but once you start reading, you realize that her life is all of our stories wrapped into one life. I never thought this story would have all of this in it, she becomes a marine, makes her dream of marrying a marine and having children come true ... happy ever after right? Wrong! She ends up having to deal with a handicapped child, divorce, going on welfare, moving back home, going back to college, find new happiness, death, dealing with the media, and each time she picks up the phone her life is turned upside down. How does she keep going? It makes you wonder and it also keeps you reading to find out how she will survive. Brenda keeps going with her faith and her strong belief that GOD is always with her.
I recommend this book to everyone, **caution** you will not want to put this book down. GREAT INSPIRATIONAL READ!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Book

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Call Away Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith
By Brenda Warner with Jennifer Schuchmann
The title was interesting so I chose this book. I began to read the book with an open mind. I always begin my reads this way. I knew I was going to read an autobiography I just did not know how it would impact me. I was about to begin my reading when I received in the mail two tickets to the Women of Faith conference that was given to me by BookSneeze.com. I was excited to go I had just read a previous book from a Woman of Faith and I truly enjoyed the book. So I put the book a side and began to prepare for the conference. Little did I know attending the conference was going to be such a blessing and wonderful experience. The conference had several speakers and to my surprise Brenda Warner was a speaker. She shared a brief testimony about her life and I was hooked. I needed to know more about her. So I began to read her book, and I did not put it down. I cried, laughed, and even got a little annoyed, but it was a great testimony of her life. Brenda did not sugar coat her story. She revealed her life. She shared her ups and downs, her wrong choices and the right ones when she sought God. The book was an inspirational story. It reminds the reader that no matter what your ups and downs of life are. It is what makes us who we are. Just remember God is always with you. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. God Bless.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Inside Look for the Right Reasons

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Molly
Location:Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like many of us I find it easy to look at people in high profile positions and think they have it made. Whether it is a politician, musician, actor, or professional athlete, I am prone to believe they don’t know what life is like for the rest of us. I confess that when it comes to highly paid athletes my bias is too often vocalized without thought to what their life is really like.
Then Brenda Warner walked into my life through the pages of her memoir, One Call Away. She tells her story with open honesty, revealing the good and the bad. Instead of hiding or glossing over her past, she instead reveals each struggle, each challenge, each pitfall with candor. Far from being simply a tell all book about her life, One Call Away is a story of faith grown through the trials and tragedies of life. It is a reminder for each of us that while we are living in the moment we are all, at one time or another, one call away from a life changing situation.
The question is what will we do when we come to that crossroad where life and faith intersect. Each time Brenda has chosen to keep going, to ‘press forward and survive’. In doing just that, she reveals a richness of life that goes far beyond any monetary gain. A richness forged through the valleys of adversity and the mountain of Grace.
I am thankful that Brenda had the courage to share her life story for it has given me a new perspective of the lives of the perceived rich and famous. By getting to know the real Brenda, I find that we do indeed share a lot in common as fellow travelers along the journey of life. She inspires me to share my story as well with those who I encounter. For it is in the sharing that we give encouragement and hope to others.
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (NIV)
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ENCOURAGING AND INSPIRING!

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not being a football fan I had never heard of Kurt or Brenda Warner. The title of this book is what drew me to it. Most of us can relate to old saying, “When it rains it pours”, when one bad thing after another happens. I have definitely experienced it and wanted to see how Ms. Warner faced her challenges.
Ms. Warner grew up in a very poor family where money was tight and extras few. The story she shared of her father working long hard hours yet coming home and being lovingly involved with his family touched my heart. Her childhood testimony shows that kids don’t have to have a lot of material things to be happy as some parents think today. It warmed my heart as I read of her family’s closeness and her parent’s deep love in spite of disagreements and stress.
I appreciate how she was open and honest about the affects of her wrong choices on her life. How the times she got ahead of God had a resounding affect on the rest of her life and her children’s life. She not only faced those with courage and faith but also the many heartaches she met that had nothing to do with her decisions.
She demonstrated a great lesson in accepting when God does not choose to answer our prayers in the way we would want, yet continuing to trust Him and submitting to the situation with faith
Until reading her book I never realized the scrutiny, criticism and problems the families of football players faced. It was a real eye opener. I see how it could exact a great toll on these families and marriages.
Ms. Warner was an inspiration to me to hang in there and be strong when life deals one blow after another. She was a testimony that we can all have the courage to go on and through our problems no matter difficult they are.
My one disappointment in the book was in the area of pre-marital sex and going to bars she never advocates that as a Christian these activities are not in keeping with biblical teaching
Overall I enjoyed this book and was greatly encouraged at her spirit of perseverance and faith. It made me feel not so alone when I am faced with one problem after another. I also realized that much of what I face is small compared to her troubles.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com www.BookSneeze.com, book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book has some encouraging information

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
JessicaTurner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book description states: Brenda’s life has taken twists and turns that are stranger than fiction. It always seemed as if she was just one phone call away from the next explosive change. Each time her plans fell apart, she had a choice: would she give up, or would she press forward and learn from the unexpected? One Call Away is the inspiring story of a woman who has prevailed through many of the circumstances that discourage women: tragedy, poverty, betrayal, and humiliation. But unlike most women, her life has been on display in the media.
Brenda’s faith and God’s strength enable her to face challenge after challenge: an accident that leaves her son blind and brain damaged, a crumbling marriage, a tornado that kills her parents, a new relationship with promising football player Kurt Warner, and the pressures his sudden success brings to their growing family.
Through food stamps and funerals, Super Bowls and serving others, Brenda’s strength is unwavering. Her determination to dream new dreams, willingness to learn from her mistakes, and commitment to giving back to her community make her a role model for women of all backgrounds.
Her dreams haven’t materialized as she had imagined, but Brenda has found that God has a much bigger plan for her. Conversational and candid, One Call Away invites readers facing their own difficulties to trust God and discover hope in the future.
It sounded like a wonderful read and I couldn't wait to download this book. Knowing that Brenda Warner has been sharing at the Women of Faith conferences had me really excited to read her book. The book is very conversational and I am really not a fan of conversational style writing. There were definitely some highlights and it was very encouraging to read about things God has done in her life. Overall, I was not thrilled with the book, though. I had a hard time making myself read it. I don't think I could recommend this book to friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reviewing ONE CALL AWAY

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ONE CALL AWAY by Brenda Warner, is a real eye-opener on her life struggles, compounded in part because of being in the media and public. No different from the rest of us as far as troubles go, BUT they are multiplied when viewed by millions because your husband is famous.
I was fascinated by Brenda's life story. She starts the book from the very beginning with the struggles of being poor, and the things she needed to face at such an early age. She frankly shares her mistakes, her reasoning's on why she does or doesn't do some things, and the subsequent consequences.
The book has photographs from most stages of her life, and only touches a small amount on her famous husband, football QB, Kurt Warner. She weaves in how her faith kept her strong in trials. She tells how her husband's faith and unconditional love for her and her children helped her to grow, as they added to the family and faced new trials caused by relocations, increased income, publicity and health issues.
Readers will be challenged with issues of pre-marital sex, child abuse, divorce, infidelity, poverty, wealth, choosing friends, religion vs faith, trust, forgiveness and the list goes on and on. In other words, this is a 'real' life story.
My main hesitation with promoting this book is that it never suggests to the reader that pre-marital sex is wrong. If a questioning or rebellious teenager [or older] were to read it, they would think there is nothing wrong with pre-marital sex because "she" did it [actually planned to do it] and got away with it because she was on the pill. Which, I also questioned... why was she on the pill? If she believed it was wrong... my only thought was a fear of rape but that was only 'my' thought, it was not suggested in the book. In essence, her YOUNGER husband had more morals than she did.
This book was provided to me free from BOOKSNEEZE for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging Read

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Creative Mommy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was encouraged reading Brenda Warner’s book, One Call Away. She has been through so much in her life including an injured child, divorce, extreme poverty, sudden death of close loved ones and being thrown in the media spotlight with her husband’s successful career. While reading the book there were many times I thought I was reading an incredibly, well-written fiction book. It kept my attention and was hard to put down when I had to change a diaper or make dinner. I would think, how could all of these things happen to one person? As she tells her story, her emotions and thoughts are honest and real. Her book is inspiring to others because she did not give up, even when it felt as though everything around her was threatening to destroy her. Her faith in God is real and evident and He has given her the strength to forward through each of the trials. It was exciting to read at the end of the book how she has used her success to be a blessing to others in the midst of their trials.
I was given this book from Book Sneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book - easy to read

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H
Location:Bath, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“One Call Away” by Brenda Warner is the memoir Brenda Warner herself. Her story is a quite a remarkable story of strength, faith and love. When I read her book, it made me stop and really think about how lucky I am to have a wonderful husband, and 3 amazing, healthy kids. Brenda’s story was inspiring, and the book contained many valuable lessons.
Brenda had a life full of many hardships and challenges. She lived through everything bad that you can imagine. She had a son who had a terrible accident changing his life forever, a shocking revelation leading to a divorce, a time of poverty, and a terrible loss because of a natural disaster. However, she had her family to support her. And when her parents passed away, she had Kurt, who later became her husband, to help her get past her hardships. Brenda remained a strong woman, because after all, she was a marine. She worked through her issues, instead of turning from them. She, like any other human being, made several mistakes, and learned from them.
Through her book, I realized that God is truly great, and we can always turn to Him because he really cares. Overall, this was a very good book, and I would definitely recommended it to any of my friends, men or women, because it shows that through good and bad, we can (and should) always put our faith in God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartbreaking & Hilarious, a wonderful read!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the privilege of attending Women of Faith Conference in Dallas a few weeks ago, and Brenda Warner was one of the speakers. I knew nothing about her before the conference, and only vaguely knew the name Kurt Warner (yeah, I don't follow football.) Throughout her time with us there, she told us bits and pieces of her story, her testimony. And it was touching. I knew I wanted to know more, so I was thankful for the opportunity to review her book, One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith. I can't even begin to tell you how many times I cried while reading this book... what Brenda went through, and did, in fact, face with "unshakable faith" is astounding. Her first born sustained a head injury resulting in brain damage. The doctors didn't expect him to ever be able to sit up by himself. Her first husband confessed he was having an affair, causing Brenda to leave him when she was 8-months pregnant with their second child. Both of Brenda's parents were suddenly killed in a tornado. What's truly amazing is that Brenda never once seemed to doubt God's presence or love. And while her story is far from over, right now... she has a loving husband, 7 healthy kids and the opportunity to touch lives for Jesus. Happily ever after? Pretty much.
I really enjoyed Brenda's willingness to be honest, even when it didn't paint her in the best light. She gets real and that makes it a refreshing read. Her story is mixed with devastation, hilarity and profound insight - a wonderfully, intriguing, true-life fairy-tale. It is so breathtaking to see how God works in people's lives, and God is certainly working in and through Brenda and Kurt's lives. I am glad that they are outspoken and willing to share it! This is a wonderful book, and I hardly wanted to put it down. But I will warn you, have tissues within reach!
I received this book for review from BookSneeze, but the opinions stated above are my own, true words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring Book

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must start off by saying I'm not a big person on biography/autobiography/memoir type of books. But I decided to go ahead and give One Call Away by Brenda Warner a shot, mainly due to being an Iowan and big Kurt Warner fan. In this book Brenda talks about her relationships starting out when she was young and how those relationships evolved. She then went into her military experience, marriage, divorce and remarriage. She had some major ups and some major downs. The book was set up in a very easy flowing chronological time frame.
I really enjoyed that she seemed human in the book. I remember some of the rumors she talked about when Kurt played with the Rams. She has had many troubles that others have went through. I had a hard time putting this book down. I also enjoyed following her growth in faith. I would have liked to see a little bit more of a connection to Bible verses that gets her through some tough times, but, once again, not an issue with the book. I would 100% recommend this book to others.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I amire this woman!

Date:September 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be honest. I knew Kurt Warner played football, I knew he was popular, and I knew he and his wife started First Things First. That's where my knowledge of the Warner family ended. I did not know they had seven kids. I did not know that Brenda was a Marine. I did not know that she almost lost her firstborn baby. In fact, I learned a lot about this woman.
I didn't really expect to enjoy this book because I just figured it would be another one of those typical memoirs. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was different from the rest. It was encouraging to hear her be blatantly honest about her feelings, to hear her talk about her financial difficulties, and to hear about a painful experience that happened in her marriage.
I found that I could relate to her in some ways, but I have great respect for this woman who is Kurt's helper and who is a mom of seven. I admire her honesty and her compassion.
_________________
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <[...]> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <[...]> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Read

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: One Call Away – Brenda Warner
‘One Call Away’ is the inspiring story of Brenda Warner’s life. A life filled with an enormous amount of sadness - poverty, tragedy and betrayal. Some life changing heartache seems to always be lurking in the next phone call, spanning from her childhood all the way to motherhood. This in some ways, is a ‘from rags to riches’ story as the author has come from living on food stamps to now enjoying all the pleasures and ease that money can buy. Secure in her faith that continuously gives her strength to pick herself up and go on, no matter how difficult the road, she ultimately becomes a stronger person. Today, Mrs. Brenda Warner and her husband and former football star, Kurt Warner are generously giving back, while raising their seven children: Through their First Things First Foundation, they’re sharing their financial blessings with others who are less fortunate, along with being involved in a variety of other organizations, such as Habitat for Humanity.
For the most part, I enjoyed Brenda Warner’s superb, honest storytelling. I was saddened how much she had to endure, and amazed that she came through it all stronger and more confident in who she is. However, I was also disappointed and couldn’t help being a little perplexed and wondered how the same faith that sustained her through a long string of heartbreaking events, couldn’t provide her with courage to steer clear from things she obviously knew were against biblical teachings. To the point, where it sometimes seemed she was waffling between being a Christian and a non-Christian, depending on the relationship she was in at the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One Call Away: Answering Life's Challenges with Unshakable Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Couldn't put it down!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical when I first received this book, as it is not my typical reading preference (I'm not a sports fanatic) . I was pleasantly surprised when I began. I literally couldn't put this book down. I loved the story contained within the pages of this book. It was so easy to get caught up in the book, and then I would pause and recall that this is someone's REAL life! The emotions that Brenda writes about from her own life drew me in and kept me awake until late hours of the night reading. Brenda seems so real and personable. I enjoyed reading about her family growing up, the trials and triumphs she faced as a marine, a wife, a mother, a nurse, and a wife to a professional football player. The examples shared of how she struggled with being in the spotlight along with , or because of her husband, where great reminders of how we as Christians are also judged by others just because of who we "belong" to.
This book reminds us that we should faithfully answer the call, even when it may be difficult.
I want to close with a quote from this book that I hope all readers will remember and ponder.
"God was - and is - bigger than all of my questions. And he is with me, even when the questions remain."
I would highly recommend this book to anyone that asks. There is something for everyone on the pages of this fantastic book.
Disclaimer: I received the book mentioned above for review purposes. No other compensation was received. All views expressed are my own honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>