Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 2986%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
Review 1 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Need to read another one of their books first

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
port70rods
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have read several couple's devotionals and are always on the hunt for our next book. The author starts off and continues to refer to terminology that he defines in another book of his, "The Love and Respect Experience." It is frustrating and fruitless to read this devotional without having first read his other book. He consistently refers to this other book during the devotionals, so without it, the concepts in his devotional don't make sense.
The cycles he writes about are far more complicated than he writes about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book every married couple should read! Trust me when I say, this is the first couples devotional that I found that both male and female actually want to do together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed.

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this devotional from Booksneeze looking for a devotional I can share with my wife. I have mixed feelings about it.
Firstly I'm all for devoting ourselves to building our marriage. I like the fact that there are 52 chapters meaning we could approach one a week for a year and the content itself is friendly enough for a man.
But
Not having read the book Love and Respect before hand, there almost seems like an implied expectation to read it. Perhaps not surprisingly but it does make this one a little inaccessible. My second but is that while I can appreciate creating a devotional for marriage it's a little light on God stuff. If I am going to devote myself to anything God has to be in and of it all.
All told this leaves me a little disappointed, yet I will try it with my wife and see what value we can get out of it together in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Valuable devotion and time well spent

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ag1808
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: The Love and Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional That Wives Truly Love
By Emerson Eggerichs
As a wife that attends church without her husband, I was hesitant to begin a devotion that I would most likely be reading alone. Though there is always hope, I did end up reading this devotion alone. However, it was definitely worth reading. I have the Love and Respect book and journal by the Eggrich's so I knew it would be good and worthwhile whether both of us read it or not.
God has taught me so much about marriage and relationships through the pages of these books. I have been married for 19 years and even though my husband and I are not in the same place spiritually, God has continued to grow and strengthen our marriage through valuable and biblical teaching found here. Even if you think your clear on what love and respect means and how it relates to your marriage I would recommend this book. With everything that we have to do each day and all the distractions and frustrations in relationships, it is so important that we are intentional about refocusing on how to support and encourage each other. This devotion breaks down the "crazy cycle" that all of us find ourselves in and gives clear and helpful tools to stop the craziness and not only create but sustain a healthy and loving marriage!
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A must read!

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This devotional doesn't put a guilt trip on you for not reading everyday with your spouse but encourages you to strengthen your marriage through prayer and practical application based on Scripture. I just wanna say the cover of this book is so elegant. I'm learning to love him the way he needs me. If you struggle with your marriage, then read this. Save your marriage, read this. A must read for couples. This book should be read when you are NOT in a marriage emergency! If you are in a marriage crisis, read the book "Never Quit" instead...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent, but a little light

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What did I like about the book?
It is visibly pleasing. It is a soft-cover edition with a genuine imitation leather cover that makes it pleasing to look at, and a stylish addition to my bookshelf. It looks great lying next to my bed.
A lot of the philosophy resonated with me and my understanding of male/female dynamics. The essential point that men seek respect and women seek love is a true one I think, and is born out in Ephesians 5, and real life.
It encourages couples to find their own method of doing bible study and devotion, rather than feeling guilty that they don’t do it a certain way. There are 52 chapters, and we are told to do them in any order. We are also told that it is okay to read them separately and discuss them together later.
Where did I have a problem?
It is theologically light. Most of the content is presented as vague pop-psychology and theories with bible verses stretched to “support” the idea.
It portrays men and women as being very different, almost irredeemably different, and that we will never fully understand each other.
It refers far too much to the authors earlier works, and conferences, and teaching series, and publishes theories. I found it hard to read in the absence of having read his previous works, and he talks about theories and ideas as if we have all read them before and attended a course.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
I have heard such great anecdotal feedback regarding Eggerichs book, Love & Respect: The Love She Most Desires; The Respect He Desperately Needs, that I jumped at the chance to review this devotional.
This book is based on the foundation of the content contained within Love & Respect and is broken down into a 52-week devotional – 1 per week for an entire calendar year. As with most devotionals, the benefit that you derive from it is based on how much you put into it. While I’ve read some reviews of Love & Respect that complained that the content was too skewed toward a male perspective, my wife and I found that this devotional maintained a good balance in speaking to each of us.
Each of the chapters starts off with a Bible verse, a devotional thought from Eggerichs, an insight, a prayer, and a recommended action. We found it to be a very insightful, helpful and practical book and would recommend it to any couple looking for a devotional to share together.
And, if you are truly looking to maximize the impact, we recommend that you don’t just approach it as something to check off your weekly to-do list. Rather, really spend the time meditating on the Bible verse and studying around the context and parallel passages, spend time reading through the devotional thoughts individually prior to reading and sharing together, use the prayer as a guide but allow the Holy Spirit to lead and guide your words, and really make it a point to follow through on the action each week.
And, as with any devotional resource, don’t allow this to replace your regular time in God’s word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
earning how each of us loves was just what I needed. The author also believes that focusing intently on speaking the love languages will rekindle relationships where people don't even seem to like each other anymore. I was not disappointed. Even thought I will continue to highly recommend his original writing of Love and Respect and help me understand my spouse, or for inspiration. I never realized, however, how many little things I said and did that made him feel so belittled. It really is like learning to speak a different language.
This will change you view of how men and women respond to each other for ever.
This is one of the most important things most couples could learn. Our behaviors are self-reinforcing and good things to lead to more good things in a cycle. Likewise, bad things often lead to more bad things.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emerson knows what he is talking about.

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
simplyraising8
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a love for reading relationship books. When my husband was overseas he even read some the Chaplin had given him. There is one main thing I look for in a marriage book before throwing any ideas from it toward my husband. Respect. Yes, such a small word, yet it means so much. It takes a quick glimpse to answer the question does the book encourage respect of God? This book does just that. If a book does not encourage a man to respect god than I have found they usually do not encourage a man to have respect for his wife in a way that I would want my husband to respect me. You will find that I will be reviewing quite a few marriage books that I like. I will say that none of them will work if you do not make an effort.
This particular book speaks of how a man needs respect from his wife and a woman needs love from her husband. I totally agree with this. Aside from love and respect, This book covers topics such as fighting fair, the crazy cycle, overcoming your past, money, and meeting your spouse’s needs. Another topic that is popular chapter in this book is “Her pink plus his blue equal’s gods purple” This speaks of the differences in men and women and says “together a wife and husband reflect the royal image of god on earth”. There are other topics as well and it is split into 52 weeks of devotionals. It starts with an intro on ways you can use the book. One suggestion is that you read separate from your spouse, take notes and at some point come together to read the devotional for the week and discuss your notes. There are also action items at the end of the chapters. This book encourages you to pray with your spouse and speaks about the dangers of praying at your spouse. This book is another great tool that has the ability to guide you to strengthen your marriage and most importantly the bond between you as a couple and god. There is a section on where to get help for your problems as well. There are also a few chapters that discuss some issues with the “private adult times” with husbands and wives and how they relate to affection. Here is an excerpt from the book. "For every disrespectful action by a wife, there can be an equal and Unloving reaction by her husband, and for every unloving action by a husband, there can be an equal and opposite disrespectful reaction by his wife. And the Crazy Cycle is on."Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through a review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have express in my reviews are my own. They are based on mine and/or my children's reactions to the book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful leather cover

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melinda Jenson
Location:Oregon, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this product would be enhanced if I had already read "Love and Respect". I like the format and so does my husband. You can use it in different ways on different schedules. Different from other devotional books we have used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Working on you marriage never ends!

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dutchy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This beautiful book is easy to read. The cover is very attractive, feels soft, almost human and the letter-size is easy to read. Each chapter talks about a different subject and I like that you do not have to read them in the order of the book itself, but can read the one that is current in your marital situation of the moment.
Take your daily situations and find it in the contents. 9 out of 10 times you will find it. Why wait until you reach that chapter.......
I do not consider this a "husband friendly" devotional. I consider it marriage friendly and it will be a personal choice to do this devotional, or any other devotional, together with your spouse.
I would have bought this book for sure if I did not have the importunity to review it.
It would be a great marriage or aniversary gift too, much better than the ever given salt and pepper shakers.
I recieved this book from Booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional for couples!

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
donnakbyers
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been married for 27 years, and those who have been married for this long can attest to the Love & Respect principle. I simply wish I had known about it years ago, as I feel like this would have greatly helped our marriage. When I discovered that there was a correlating devotional for couples, I was ecstatic. While we have never been a couple that really does devotionals together, I thought that this would be a great starting ground to begin one. What we truly liked about this devotional was that it was not too long, didn't you require to do it on a specific day x number of times a week, and related well to both sexes.
When our devotional arrived in the mail, I was surprised that it was bound in a beautiful leather covering! In my opinion, it made the devotional all the more special. (I also plan on using this book to give to future brides and grooms as a wedding present because it is so nicely put together).
For the devotional, there are 52 lessons that you can go through at your own pace, but this would work ideally to go through them once a week. To be honest, my husband and I probably go through 1-2 a week some weeks, and none the next. It all depends upon our schedule.
Each devotional contains a section based upon the love and respect principle, followed by an action for the couple to do together and a prayer. At the back, there is also a discussion section with questions pertaining to each particular devotion if that is something that you would like to do together.
I recommend this book to couples looking to encourage and strengthen their marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great follow up to Love and Respect

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
tinybee
Location:Evergreen, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Love and Respect Experience is a companion for Eggerichs' original book entitled Love and Respect. Although, I was delighted to know that these books can be used alone. This book is a tool to help delve deeper into your marital relationship. It uses the accurate principles from the original book, and helps you apply them to your own life through a weekly devotional. The book is set up with 52 devotions, one for each week of the year. Each one is a few pages of insightful reading, coupled with a petition to pray and a call to action. If you want to go even further, you can bring in Appendix A-D, for tools like discussion questions and further understanding on why couples devotions are invaluable. Eggerichs also spells out different ways couples can approach this book, which makes it possible for any couple, no matter the schedule, to fit it in weekly. Husbands really love this book, because it's weekly, not a daily commitment. The books offers something they can "do" all week in action (since they are doers by nature). Women love it, because they are still getting that intimate time with their spouses. After all...we are simple creatures.
Eggerichs hit a home run with this publication. It's really the whole package for any married couple - whether you are going through a season of abundance or drought. His principles are truly timeless and boil down to...respecting your husband makes him love you deeper....deeply loving your wife makes her respect you. It truly is a cycle in which we'd all like to be on. This book stays true to life and it's circumstances. I'm excited to continue this devotional, at my husband's side.
(I received this book free from BookSneeze.com as part of their blogging program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.")
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her pink + his blue = God's Purple

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
trusthimto
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just picking this book up, you know it was designed for a man. The gorgeous two-toned leather-soft cover screams "PICK-ME-UP!" and "Read me!" Each of the 52 devotionals are the perfect length -- short! Definitely great for your non-avid, force me to read a book guy or simply for the busy couple. Each chapter begins with a bible verse, a short story, followed by a prayer and action points, the action points includes the page reference to check out the related discussion questions at the end of the book.
Chapter 11 shares an insight, I haven't been able to forget, "Her pink + his blue = God's Purple." You'll have to get the book to hear the whole story. While I may not be married yet. I do seek to be prepared once I am, the above equation is something I'll remember. This book would make a great present to any new couple.
Want to know more about the whole Love & Respect Experience, check out the author's blog: http://emersonandsarah.blogspot.com/ or check out the Love & Respect Website: http://loveandrespect.com/
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for marriage, not for devotional

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Love & Respect Experience
by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs
This book is a devotional with the claim "A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love." Dr. Eggerichs uses the information in his book Love and Respect and puts it in devotional form for men and women. He states at the beginning of the book that though this book has 52 chapters, it can be read in whatever time frame works best for the couple, not necessarily once a week. He also recommends that men and women read it separately, but discuss it together. At the back of the book there are discussion questions for each chapter.
I have read Love and Respect and find that this devotional highlights the information from the book. There is one to two verses at the beginning of the chapter and then a concept from the book that is tied to the verse. While this is a great review of the book and a quick reminder of ways to work on your marriage, I would not use this as a devotional. I personally want to go a little deeper into the Bible when I read a devotional. I would recommend this book for those ooking to revie marriage concepts.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=9780849948176
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The Love & Respect Experience is one of a kind. It has 52 short devotionals. Couples can read them together and discuss, using the handy discussion questions at the back of the book. Or, couples can read them on their own and then come together for discussion. That may even be a question a night while snuggled up on the couch or some quick thoughts before drifting off to sleep. This book has options!
Dr. Emerson Eggerichs does a fantastic job at appealing to both the husband and the wife – which is tough to do. The book is structured to meet the needs of busy couples. And, most importantly, it will allow individuals to grow in their relationship with God and with their spouse. The topics in this book are real, everyday topics that we struggle with – dealing with differences of opinion, appreciating your spouse, sorting through feelings, honesty, forgiveness, the power of words, and, of course, love and respect. There is no fluff. The purpose of the book is simple – to connect you to Christ and strengthen your marriage.
This is a must read for couples! 2011 is coming to an end. Why not start out 2012 with 52 devotions to lift you up and inspire your marriage? I wish you many blessings as you strive for love and respect – a two-way street!
Disclosure: I received this book free through BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review – just an honest one. The thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good not great

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyives
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Love & Respect Experience is a beautiful fake leather bound book in a devotional format and designed to appeal to men and women. Bible verses from many different translations, including paraphrases, are used to supply a number of verses. The majority of the verses are from the book of Proverbs. The rest are almost all from Ecclesiastes and Psalms.
I enjoyed reading this book and feel that it is helpful to those open to being helped. It is a light and easy read, as there are only about 50+ chapters in this devotional, instead of a 365 day devotional. Most of the subjects are uplifting and positive and feel-good. Women will enjoy this book as it deals with being kind and loving towards each other. Although it would be nice if men read this book too, I'm not sure many will. Perhaps the brown leather cover will appeal to them. If men read this, it will also help to encourage them to love their wives properly and serve their wives. I liked the positive spin on this book and the encouraging message. I did not find this book to be offensive or "thou shall not..." and legalistic. It was refreshing.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased review. I am giving my honest review, as positive reviews are not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Inspirational Read For Couples

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
smilingallthetime2009
Location:Cookeville, tn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you read the devotional book The Love and Respect Have you ever read The Love and Respect Experience by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs? If you are looking for a devotional that will strengthen your marriage, and draw you closer to God’s plan, then this book is for you. There are fifty two inspirational devotional thoughts that give new meaning and insight into the top struggles and conflicts that can occur in marriage. This book gives opportunity for you and your spouse to read and reflect on the inspirational thoughts. There is a discussion guide in the back that can be used for further discussion and growth. The book is beautifully leather bound and great for a wedding or anniversary gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoughtful and Relevant

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kudos to Dr. Eggerichs for creating a ‘simple’, low-key approach to a couples’ devotional. What you will not find in the pages of The love & Respect Experience: activities to complete together, lengthy study questions, or the presence of any ‘bare my soul’ conversation starters.
The beauty of The Love & Respect devotional for couples is its simplicity: one devotional per week. That’s it. One. A scripture passage opens each devotional, a short prayer closes each, along with a simple action step advising how to incorporate weekly topics into marital life.
The Love and Respect Experience is a thinking man’s devotional. Devotionals are short (most are 2 ½ pages), relevant, and contemplative. It is clear thoughtful consideration went into selecting the weekly topics. Each devotional is intended to provide insight into how to work through common marital stressors; help each partner identify the ‘stuff’ we bring to the table in our marriage; highlight ways in which men and women behave and/or think differently; and emphasize an appreciation for the differences between genders and spouses.
One an aesthetic note, the book’s binding is visually appealing. Dual-tones of suede and leather offer a warm invitation to pick it up and settle in. Don't worry if you haven’t read Dr. Eggerichs previous work, Love and Respect: The Love She Most Desires; The Respect He Desperately Needs. This devotional includes an appendix to clarify terms and concepts discussed in the earlier work. For those wishing to dig deeper, study questions are provided at the end of the book, as well as resources for marriages experiencing strain or need of assistance from a professional.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Love & Respect Experience: A Husband-Friendly Devotional that Wives Truly Love - eBook
This review is fromThe Love & Respect Experience.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great "experience"

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the book The Love and Respect Experience by Emerson Eggerichs to be a great way to connect with your spouse. With a subtitle like “A Husband-Friendly Devotional That Wives Truly Love", I wondered how he would set up the reading differently. He explains at the onset that the instructions are the key point that make this a husband friendly book, so I would not skip over these to get straight to the devotions at all.
The author has set the book up in such a way as to make it work to do the devotionals in a variety of ways. Maybe you would rather do the reading and questions separately and discuss it together later, or work on the devotional as a couple. Each chapter has a Bible verse, writing, insight, action and prayer.
If you have never read Love and Respect I think you can still get a lot out of this book and the devotions it offers. I did find the structure to be a bit disjointed as the discussion questions are in a section at the end of the book.
Overall I think that Dr. Emerson Eggerichs does a good job of making a friendly devotional book to help you connect with your spouse and God.
Disclosure Note: Thomas Nelson has been gracious enough to give me a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>