Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook

Thomas Nelson Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook

God has a lot to say on the topic of sex and marriage. He planned both and gave them to us to be enjoyed. In Real Marriage, Mark and Grace Driscoll share biblical truths on issues you may be facing. They discuss how to be your spouse's best friend, porn addiction, sexual assault, becoming an unselfish lover, and many sex questions you might be embarrassed to ask anyone. eBook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.153 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
51 out of 5986%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Review 1 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

going where many fear to go

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
pastordrew
Location:eldridge, ia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had fairly high expectations for this book and was very pleased with how even my expectations were exceeded. mark and grace go places that most marriage books fear to go. this is not a book about sex, contrary to all the rumors when this book came out. sure there's a bit of reference to it, but sex is only a facet of the marriage relationship. they do a good job addressing this issue. what's worth even more is how they deal with issues of friendship in the marriage, as well as hard topics of abuse. i've not read any marriage studies that addressed this last issue. very profound chapter that deals with all the junk that can remain in a person's life after they experience abuse. easy reading (except for the convicting parts!) and contains some nice stories/illustrations that help maintain interest and give insight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monika Vlckova
Location:Prague, Czech republic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this book.
The book is splitted to 3 parts, 2 of them are large and they are devoted to marriage and to sex. I really like that book is written by man and woman so there are displayed attitude of both partners. Also I appreciated honesty and openness of this married couple, when they admitted their mistakes in their marriage. I believe that practical illustration from life of real people can show us their point of view and understand what they wanted to say.
I also like their researches and very interesting survey into history, where they draw attitude of different churches about sex in marriage. At the end of second part, which is all about sex, I like very interestingly compiled questions, which authors very often got during a period. But it´s not just simple questions, there are 3 other accompanying questions, which authors answer. I will show you example, every reader can see answers on these questions - is it lawful, is it helpful and is it enslaving?
In the third part of the book we can see something like a guide, which can help us, if we need to improove our marriage, change our dirrection, change the way where marriage comes. It´s real plan, which use Mark and Grace for their marriage, but every reader can modify it. There are a lot of questions, which every couple can answer for themself and build new strategy for their future. At the end of the book are notes and index.
And my opinion? Book is helpful for thinking about our marriage, if everything is right and it can help, if we find out that we have problem. I think that everybody will find something, what show us our imperfection, but we can find answers and hope, that nothing is lost. I recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the books I finished read together with my husband before 2012 ended was Real Marriage, The Truth About Sex, Friendship and Life Together by Mark and Grace Driscoll. I have quite a handful of thoughts about this very controversial book. While I would love to tackle on each and every controversial detail, I am only limited to a number of words. Since as a Thomas Nelson book reviewer, we are not encouraged to be lengthy, and make the review too informative.
And despite the two issues that I do not exactly agree with in this book, I strongly believe that it is a good book filled with Biblical principles married and engaged couples can greatly benefit from. As we go shopping for decor for valentines day, this can go well as the perfect gift for one’s better half.
More on: http://www.marriageandbeyond.com/2013/01/15/book-review-real-marriage-by-mark-and-grace-driscoll/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transparent honesty

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While lots of things have changed my marriage for the better, only a very few have enacted dramatic changes. One was learning about personality types from the hilarious Florence Littauer. Another was Gary Chapman's The Five Love Languages.
This week I'm adding Real Marriage: The Truth about Sex, Friendship and Life Together by Mark and Grace Driscoll to the list of books that made a dramatic difference.
Mark Driscoll is the pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, Washington. He and his wife bravely opened their lives in order to help others. Within the book they deal with questions such as why friendship with your spouse should be of supreme importance, what disrespect looks like to a man, and who gets to decide if the husband is being loving enough.
They also deal with some culturally explosive topics head on, much of which has received a lot of media attention and put them under fire from both liberals and conservatives. They talk about pornography, sexual abuse, fantasizing about other people, what is and is not permissible in the bedroom. And it's all handled well, adding applicable research and appropriate first-hand testimonies.
Even better! The Driscolls have provided additional resources so that couples can use whatever means necessary to have conversations about the topics in the book. Is one or both of you not a reader? Not a problem! You have options.
First, Mars Hill Church has posted the sermons Pastor Mark did on this book. All eleven chapters are available through eleven different sermons on the church website by clicking here. You can watch the videos or download the podcasts. Much of the content of the book is covered in the sermons. I appreciated these very much because they allowed me to see Mark's heart as he spoke instead of just reading the words on a page and wondering how deeply he felt about the issues.
If one or both of you prefer a DVD-based study to do together, you'll want to check that resource out by clicking here. I do not have the DVD, but I have been told that if you want to do this particular study on DVD, you will also want to buy the book.
Despite the controversy surrounding this book, I feel it is an incredible addition to the toolkit to help and support your marriage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, pratical real information on marriage

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bruny Medina
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are the Married couple director in our church and have use the materials in this book. My favorite chapter was the "friendship" chapter and the reverse-engineering rhythms.
I believe is one of the best marriage books I've read, and I've read many of them. I think it hits the major topic that our society questions or have issues with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

book about marriage

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommy4five
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just read the book Real Marriage - The truth about sex, friendship & life together by Mark and Grace Driscoll.
I must say that I was hoping for this book to be a little different that all the other books about marriage I have read. I have heard that Mark can be a little on the outspoken side and that he had pushed the limits so to speak with this book.
I was disappointed. After reading over half the book I was still hoping that there would be something to set this book apart. Sadly, by the the time I reached the back cover I had not read that "something." I didn't find that this book said much different than all the other books out there on this topic.
It is nice that the book is written by the couple and you get the man and woman perspective to it. It is nice that they share their personal story so you can relate to them a little more.
The first half of the book is about Marriage. Grace talks about the respect things and Mark has a chapter that he wrote more for the men. They stress the Friendship aspect of marriage which they claim a lot of other books do not.
The second part of the book talks about Sex. Who created it. What it is and what it is not. All was good. In chapter 10 they claimed that were going to answer the questions that people were afraid to ask. They said if people can't find the answers from Christian leaders and pastors they will find the answers in the dark places they should not. I agree to that. But, it seemed all the questions they talked about were all the ones you will find in the other books on this topic. Nothing new there.
Chapter 11 is kinda of a little workbook to help you improve your marriage. There are lots of question for both spouses to answer. I found this section had some helpful tips.
I did find on a personal note that Mark Driscoll is okay with Christians drinking alcohol and beer was reference a few times in the book. This did not appeal to me.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

for couple, read this

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Each person has all the attributes of God, all the power of God, all the glory of God, yet they have mutually distinct roles within the Godhead. All of creation was intended to display God’s glory but nowhere is this remarkable aspect of God’s nature more clearly seen then in Christian marriage. The relationship between husband and wife is a picture of the Trinity where there is equality of honor (1 Peter 3:7), but distinction of function.
This book summarrizes 'em all. In our modern culture, we have lost the idea of commitment that transcends the vagrancies of our emotions. Christians today assume that life is to be lived on feelings, rather than on commitment to principles and ideals. And so, we suffer the highest divorce rate in history.Christian marriage by examining Ephesians 5:22-33. We focused particularly on the relationship between Christ and the church, having noted that these themes were present throughout the book of Ephesians. Recall that we highlighted four aspects of this relationship: a must read if you want to save your maariage or do something about good about your marriage. If you could start over, maybe you could make this marriage work. But given your spouse, given all that has happened in your marriage, there is no hope."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for marriage at any season.

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracie
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are mentors for engaged couples through our church. We feel like this book is very worthwhile for new couples and certainly for seasoned couple as well. We will reference many topics for our mentoring use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Marriage is Hard Work

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Real Marriage: The Truth about Sex, Friendship & Life Together was an interesting read. I hadn't heard to many favorable reviews by some of my colleagues so I was a bit skeptical. However, I found it surprisingly good. I was impressed by the openness of Mark and Grace's relationship. You can tell they are still working on things. I don't 100% buy into everything they shared, especially the manly approach to leading a marriage that Mark is very open about, but I agree there has to be someone stepping up and saying this is wrong or this is what we need to do. Our culture of manly leadership is very authoritative and not very servant like. Marriage is a special relationship that has been established by God between a man and a woman to best relate to our Creator. Our God humbled Himself to serve the least of these and likewise we should be willing to do the same for our spouses whether we are the husband or the wife.
I was blown away by the diversity of marriage and sexual counseling that Mark and Grace have encountered. I've been doing premarital counseling for years and haven't even come close to their experiences. It truly demonstrates the secular culture and ministry environment they are dealing with in the Seattle area.
I was most impressed however in the thoroughness of research and honesty concerning contraceptives. This is something I don't often approach with couples, but found myself convicted to share truths behind them. I know for myself even though my wife and I have been around the medical profession for years we hadn't even thought of some of the things highlighted. We've had three miscarriages in our seventeen years of marriage. We have come to believe as a result of the type of birth control we were using it help cause the baby to not be viable in the womb. I've come to realize more and more there is so much we don't understand that we are doing to our bodies simply because people have told us it is okay to do. I wonder what people use to tell each other back in the '30 or '40's concerning smoking? Many of the people who are telling us it is okay to use certain types of birth control are ones we should be able to trust such as doctors, friends, parents, and even pastors. This is an area of marriage where many couples must become better informed.
Because of this opportunity to review this book for Book Sneeze from Thomas Nelson Publishing, I feel like there is one more pastor who has been corrected and better informed. Real marriages are hard work! It is so much easier to just walk out and move onto another relationship. Yet the most satisfying marriages are real ones! They understand it is more than about "me". It is all about "us"! Mark and Grace, I believe, come to that point at the end of this book as they highlight the most important day of your marriage as the last day not the first. As they say, we need to reverse-engineer our lives and marriages. "The big idea is to anticipate life forward and live it backward (208)." This insight will revolutionize so many marriages if it really sinks in. Nobody ever seeks out to get a divorce on their wedding day. Yet for many it still happens. Examining our marriages from the last day till the present will cause you and me to make the adjustments necessary to get the outcome we desire no matter the situations or heartaches which will happen along the way. You are in this marriage together with your spouse. Consequently, you must work at it together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
dskerrrutherford
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent information; should be required reading for all premarital counseling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Didn't like this book!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ms73
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one book that I disliked very much. So much that I returned it to the bookstore. I think most people buy it looking for answers to what they can do in the marriage bed. This chapter didn't bother me as much as the parts that other reviewers have mentioned...the wife only submission, the shaming of the wife about her past and the ridiculous part about her cutting her hair and not caring about what he would think of it...when I read that she knew immediately by the way he looked at her that she had done wrong and burst into tears, it made me so angry. Really? The whole first part of the book just feels icky, again because if all the shame I see put on the wife for so many things... and the constant mentioning of HIS needs and failure to own much blame for their problems.
There are much better books out there...it wouldn't be hard to top this one.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful lessons for any relationship

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hwkygrl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a book like this as my husband and I have been dealing with many of these things in our marriage. It's nice knowing I'm not alone, there are things to try, and ways to communicate effectively to help us and not hurt us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks Great

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
ValH
Location:Pennsylvania
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although I have not read the entire book yet,(this is why I rated average for meets expectations. Perhaps that will change once I've read the book) the portions I did read were very helpful and interesting and the topics are very extensive for those seeking guidance in marriage. This as well as any guide book should be taken as just that a guide and not an answer to it all. I did find some of the information in the book questionable so I would suggest that each reader take what you can and compare the advice in the book with what the word of God says.
Overall, based upon what I've read thus far, I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Reformed Reader
Location:Louisville
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review
Real Marriage:
The Truth about Sex, Friendship, and Life Together
In Mark and Grace Driscoll’s Real Marriage the authors look into the rearview mirror at their relationship. The Driscoll’s examine both successes and failures that they have experienced within their marriage. The book has both times of intimacy and steamy moments. This book does not seek out to show you how they have done all things right, but gives a testimony of how they often got it completely wrong. The Driscolls begin by bringing up that even though they recognize that they did many things wrong in the past, does not mean that they are still doing them right now. Their knowledge of their shortcomings is not a knowledge of perfect progression. The Driscolls give testimony to the fact that believers are always learning. There will never be a point when a believer can fully say that he has arrived.
The book is getting most of its attention because of its discussion of on sex which takes up the entire second section of the book. Although the book is receiving most of its attention because of sexuality, I believe its best part lies in its discussion on friendship within the confines of marriage. The Driscolls see friendship as something which they neglected early on in marriage. They also see a neglect of friendship as a key component to America’s marital problems. The Driscoll demonstrate the importance of friendship in saying, “All the talk about spending time and doing life together, making memories, being a good listener, growing old and taking care of each other, being honest, having the long view of things, repenting and forgiving can be summed up in one word—friendship.” This concept of friendship does not come easy. The Driscolls show the difficult of friendship in saying, “Marital friendship requires both the husband and wife to be willing to invest what it takes to be a good friend.” The Driscolls devote a chapter to discussing several key aspects to deep and lasting friendship within marriage. Friendship requires devotion, intimacy, and a focus upon the sanctification of the partner.
Another section of the book which I appreciated was Driscolls discussion on Masculinity and Femininity in the chapters “Men and Marriage” and “The Respectful Wife.” Both chapters address flaws within their marital roles which they noticed throughout the progression of their marriage. Mark writes openly with men, confronting them where they may be mistreating or neglecting their wives. Mark demonstrates how an unchecked complementarian position leads to chauvinism. In the “Respectful Wife” chapter the authors discuss how respect is key aspect to aid the husband in leading his wife.
I thoroughly enjoyed the Driscolls’ book. I am thankful that the book is getting a great deal of media attention. I think the media attention is unwarranted because it only focuses on a small aspect of the book. I would not recommend this book to young children. The reason I say this is because the Driscolls speak openly about oral sex, anal sex, ect. In a culture which has sex as its God, the Driscolls offer a biblical counterpart. Sex is meant to glorify God, through our experiencing joy with our spouses. I think this book is going to be a valuable tool in reviving marriage. I am glad someone has written so openly on a topic which is often taboo for pastor to speak. I think there are several reasons for this taboo, but these issues should not be neglected, but addressed from the biblical worldview.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A - put it all out there- honest marriage book.

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
LadySpooner
Location:Kamloops, BC CANADA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have both read 'Real Marriage'. Both of us found the book to be helpful. It brought up issues, ideas and concepts that have led to deep discussions and brought us closer together. I found the books' teaching on the roles of Men and Women to be biblical and the teaching on friendship within marriage and sexual intimacy to be thorough and practical. If a couple found themselves 'stuck' in any one of these areas, I believe this book could be a great tool to help them get unstuck. And I would HIGHLY recommend this book as a gift for an engaged or newly married couple.
Mark and Grace share from their OWN experience and give guidance with scriptural teachings to help couples avoid pitfalls of selfishness that would deplete the unity and oneness in the marriage over time. Pitfalls that they themselves have fallen into. I commend the Driscoll's for writing, what I found, to be an excellent, well researched, vulnerable and honest book on marriage. The word 'REAL' truly fits in the title.
HOWEVER!!!
One should be aware that Mark and Grace Driscoll hold to a 'complementarian' view of male and female roles as opposed to an 'egalitarian' view. Complementarian meaning that God made men and women equal in the sight of God but gave them different, distinct, and contrasting roles as male and female that work well together and display God's glory and character in a form of two different notes that together create a harmony. For the most part, complementarians believe that men should be the main provider, decision maker and spiritual head in the home and women should be primarily homeward oriented, the nurturers and deeply involved in the raising of their children. This makes her role important but different than her husband although not lesser.
Alternatively Egalitarians believe that there is no distinction limits or boundaries on male and female roles in the home, church or the world (work place). Men and women's roles are completely interchangeable and any assignment of gender roles is a form of oppression.
This book is a good summation of the scriptural evidence in support for complementarianism but if you find yourself more in line with Egalitarian thinking, most reviews I've read on this book, seem to show it as a huge hang up for getting anything out of this book.
I do hope you give it a try. If you don't agree with EVERYTHING the Driscoll's have to say, remember it's partly based on advice out of their OWN marriage and not meant to prove you need to be exactly like them. The friendship chapter ALONE in this book makes it worth the purchase. I hope this book helps heal your marriage or make your good marriage even better.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chrissy
Location:Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's a very real look at life with a spouse. I loved how the authors were very open and honest about their struggles and pasts and how it affects the present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Biblical & Authentic Look at Marriage

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
brian72676
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book is great to have a well known pastor like Mark come out and talk about the ups and downs of his marriage and then talk truthfully and authentically with the world about sexual intimacy and the friendship that needs to be there in marriage is a breath of fresh air. Both my wife and I went through hard times and stuff similar to Mark and his wife and we have seen God do amazing things in our lives, this book helped shine a light on areas for us to grow and things that were healthy in a our marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good primer, but nothing ground breaking

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pastor Mark Driscoll is the founding pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, Washington and is one of the world’s most-downloaded and quoted pastors. He was also named one of the “25 Most Influential Pastors of the Past 25 Years” by Preaching magazine, and his sermons are consistently #1 on iTunes each week.
I was given his book, “Real Marriage” by his publisher for a fair and honest review and to be perfectly “honest”… I originally thought I was going to hate it. As a Pastor myself, I don’t always agree with Mark’s doctrine – especially when it comes to women. I feel Mark’s belief’s about women don’t truly reflect what the bible teaches thematically and so I felt that his book on marriage would carry that same message.
But I didn’t hate the book.
Mark and his wife, Grace are writing a book about how the marriage partnership works. And all through the book, Mark emphasis that both the husband and the wife are equal partners, but with different roles, “like the left and right hand,” Mark states. “Although one is dominant.” I liked that example and it helps explain the relationship.
Mark and Grace take turns writing chapters and explaining topics and their voices are certainly easy to listen to. I think the material covered was great, the quotes and study that make this book a good read are well researched and there is a lot in this book for a couple with questions, or even as a reference book for marriage counseling.
The only issue I have is with the underlying message of the book. Mark and Grace also share about their own marriage and often tell their own stories. Grace’s story comes across as being “the sinner” of the relationship. She “cheated on him” before they were married, she was sexually hesitant during their marriage and she had a history of abuse…
But Mark’s story is squeaky clean. There is a great chapter on porn addiction, but Mark says it was never an issue for him. And while the book never deemphasizes the husband or the wife, it certainly makes a strong argument for the wife being a sexual servant. The book strongly emphasis the role of the wife as being the one who “strips” for her husband, or who wears revealing clothing to get him in the mood. In fact the one time where I thought Mark might actually confess sin for being distant and moody with his wife, it turns out it was actually her fault for withholding.
I think the book Real Marriage is a summary of Mark’s hours of marriage counseling, his sermon series on Song of Solomon and his various talks and tours. Content wise, I think there is valuable content here. But as far as the testimony, I would have appreciated a more transparent voice from Mark or a less transparent voice from his wife.
If the book tries to make a case for equality, it doesn’t support it through the author’s own marriage.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Marriage

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together
Pastor Mark Driscoll and his wife Grace have distilled the advice from numerous different relationship experts, as well as decades of their own married experience, and presented them in a down-to-earth format for anyone entering a marriage or already within one. Their frank discussion addresses many of the “taboo” subjects of marriage in a conversational style that is easy to follow. Particularly helpful are the plentiful Scriptural references interspersed throughout to support their assertions. Their tag-team approach makes this book equally useful for men or women, though ideally it would be a joint effort to improve one’s relationship and would be read by the couple together. They even include an example exercise they themselves utilized to get the ball rolling in the right direction. I’m not convinced there were any startlingly new revelations but they certainly provide a single resource that could replace a plethora of other advice books. They are biblical, authentic, and sincere in their hope to help other couples avoid some of the pitfalls of their own relationship which they graciously and candidly share.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, and Life Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thank you, CBD!!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mr and Mrs Martinez
Location:Staten Island, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will definitely begin the much needed conversations within and between couples!! My wife and I are spending time together with the book, and we have laughed, cried, and most importantly, grown from our experience with it. Thank you, Pastor Mark and "Functional Pastor" Grace :).
The book came to us smoothly and without trouble. Perfect condition, and right on time. Thank you, Christianbook.com!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.