Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook

Thomas Nelson Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook

Children will love Max Lucado's delightful character--a common caterpillar named Hermie! But Hermie doesn't like being common. He doesn't have stripes or fancy spots, and he doesn't think he's very special at all. But together with his friend, Wormie, they talk to God about their troubles, and children will see, through this extraordinary tale, that God has made each one of us unique and he wants us all to be like Jesus. This classic story has been revised for kids to read and enjoy all on their own as a Level 2 Reader. With fresh new art, and a story kids can read themselves, this classic story will find a whole new generation of kids who love Hermie and his garden friends! 48 pages, hardcover form Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
Review 1 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from Max Lucado

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jean
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado has a unique way with words, and his children's book Hermie A Common Caterpillar is no exception. With simple text and bright, watercolor illustrations, the story of Hermie unfolds.
Hermie wonders why he looks and feels so common. Whenever he asks God why, God simply answers, "I'm not finished with you yet." Then, one day, Hermie feels very tired. He gets into his cozy, leafy bed, and he sleeps. And while Hermie sleeps a transformation takes place. When he wakes up, Hermie discovers that God has done something grand. You can guess what it is. Every caterpillar that lives to adulthood knows the end of the story.
Parents, please share this book and its powerful message with your children. We are all special because God loves us, and He has a unique purpose for our lives. Whenever we slump into feeling ordinary, we know that we have hope because . . .God isn't finished with us yet!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hermie, a Common Caterpillar by Max Lucado

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
May
Location:South Carolina
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was elated when I was offered the chance to review the ebook Hermie, a Common Caterpillar by best-selling author Max Lucado. My children love to watch the Hermie DVDs, but this is the first of the books we have been able to read. I decided to read it aloud, but as a level two reader, it is a great book for a Reader in Training, roughly ages 5-8.
The story helps to remind children that they are special, that God has a plan for their life and that they can always talk to Him. It lays out these truths in a colorful, fun story of two caterpillar buddies who are sad because they see themselves as ordinary and everyone else as extraordinary. The author did a fantastic job of reiterating how even though Hermie and Wormie may seem ordinary to the onlooker, God sees them as special.
The illustrator, Daniel Howarth, did a stupendous job - focused art that looks like what I can only describe as beautifully done watercolors. My only very minor complaint was that some of the artwork was not on the same page that it was designed for - sometimes being a page after.
Overall, this piece of literature was a nice little read and sent my children into a flurry of coloring pictures of butterflies and discussions of what God might have planned for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for kids

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love the beautiful illustrations of the book. The story is simple and yet pass an important message to the children - that everyone is unique and special; that God has a plan for everyone of us. We should not compare ourselves with others, as my daughter likes to ask me lots of questions about comparing herself to this friend and that friend etc. Not only children, even we as adult we also will tend to compare with other people who we think are better than us. This is also a good story to teach us to be patience, as sometimes it is just not the right timing yet and we should not simply rush for it. We need to have more faith and trust in God.
I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God has a plan for us all!

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Are you a Max Lucado fan? Looking for a book that will help your child learn that being “common” is not so bad after all? Then Hermie, a Common Caterpillar by Max Lucado is a nice book to share with them!
I read this book to my 3-year-old son to get his feedback on it. He was drawn immediately to the book’s colorful illustrations. The story’s vocabulary and simple story line was easy for him to understand, and he even volunteered questions as we read through it. He told me that his favorite part was “when Hermie turned into a big, big butterfly”. I enjoyed the fact that my son was able to connect easily to the characters, as well as the lesson that we are all special because God loves us and has a plan and purpose for every one of us. My son also suggested that we get the other Hermie books, and I couldn’t agree more!
I definitely recommend this book to anyone with small children, or a Sunday school class! It has such a powerful and important message that all of us can relate to and share! And remember, God “isn’t done with with you yet!”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Common Caterpillar?

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautifully presented, book with colorful watercolor style illustrations. It is a Level 2 reader so the language has been chosen carefully and simply so early readers can manage it. The story is very cute about Hermie the common caterpiller who was wondering why God didn't give him pretty patterns or spots or designs like other insects and God just told him He hasn't finished with him yet... Then as expected Hermie became a beautiful butterfly.
I love this book, it even spoke to me, and My 5 yr old loved it so much
we went out and bought the DVD. Lucado is so articulate in his "adult"
books but he does the same with his children books, they are all
wonderful and have a timeless message for our future generation, and for
us as well! Now hurry up and add it to your cart! Trust me, the price
can't be beat for such a great story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Hermie, a common caterpillar
- Max Lucado
I was excited to get this book! I was even more excited to find out it was a level 2 reader! I supply teach and I am always looking for something different that I can take into the Christian schools where I teach and read or show the children.
Lucado has done it again! Hermie is a great story about a caterpillar that feels common and doesn’t realize God has big plans for him but only in God’s timing does He reveal those plans! Great story for children and adults to relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

your child will fall in love with Hermie

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you thinking about Christmas yet?? Well, Hermie the Worm would delight any youngster on Christmas morning and all year long. Hermie: A Common Caterpillar by Max Lucado is a excellent book. I totally fell in love with Hermie from day one of reviewing him. Your child will learn that being common isn't always a bad thing. We all are special in God's eyes. God is working on them and isn't finished with them. These themes are much needed to help any child gain a healthy self-esteem. The illustrations are beautiful too. I haven't come across a Max Lucado book that I haven't fell in love with yet. Just can't go wrong. I'm sold.
A copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

endearing, with an important message for kids

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hermie, A Common Caterpillar earns 5 stars! Author Max Lucado presents one of life's greatest lessons in a very simple, easy to understand, delightful way: all children at some time may compare themselves unfavorably with their companions. Lucado uses a wonderful example from the animal world to explain how each one is special in God's eyes, and how He is never finished with us.
Relatable characters Hermie and Wormie encounter a cast of endearing friends who help to illuminate Lucado's message of each individual's uniqueness. The colorful illustrations add to the appeal of this book that I highly recommend to parents and grandparents alike. What a gem of a story to share with our children or grandchildren! My granddaughter asked me to read Hermie repeatedly, so we will be looking forward to the expansion of this series for the younger audience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like Max Lucado very much

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eszter
Location:Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like Max Lucado very much and I like the caterpillar theme, too. This is my blog's motto and theme. I belive it is a great comparison: we feel so common, but God has a great plan for us here on Earth and after that in Heaven.
The book is easy to read. Every page has a nice picture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hermie A Common Caterpillar- fun read!

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
s2grace
Location:North Webster, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have enjoyed Max Lucado’s “Hermie, a common caterpiller” on DVD many times at our House. This series of children’s stories is cute, relevant, and has messages that are meaningful. In this book, Hermie and his friend Wormie, wonder why God make them so common. They compare themselves with other bugs they see and want to be like them. They don’t understand God’s plan and ask him why he made them as he did. God continues to patiently speak to them and let them know they are loved and that he has a special plan for their lives.
This is a cute book with colorful pictures. They draw your attention in. While I don’t think being “common” is a problem our kids will have to deal with, the idea of wanting to be like others, or have whatever someone else has will be something they will most certainly deal with. It’s a challenge to make sure our kids know that they have been made exactly how God wants them to be and that they are a continuous work in progress. This book is a good stepping stone for discussion.
It’s written as a level two reader and while the words are most certainly readable, in my opinion, I do think that it is a bit long and when reading it, the child’s attention may not last but I still think that it’s a great book with a great message for kids!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I can read it myself!

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hermie, a common caterpillar
By Max Lucado
Illustrated by Daniel Howarth
Hermie the caterpillar has quite a following. He has his own website and a whole line of DVDs and books that children love. Parents also love them for their morals and teachings about God. Hermie’s adventures and talks with God are a wonderful springboard for encouraging children to develop their own relationship with Him. Now children can read about Hermie all by themselves with the new readers. These books are retellings of the original favorites that have been revised for the younger reader.
Hermie a common caterpillar is a level two reader. The familiar story of how Hermie and his friend Wormie find out that they are special in God’s eyes is presented in a simply worded story that will capture your child’s attention and make him want to read. But don’t worry—this is NOT Dick and Jane level reading. While simplified, the vocabulary is broad enough to create an engaging story that children will go to again and again. The book is bright and colorful with fully illustrated pages that keep the interest level high. This is a quality story book for the young reader that will encourage him to practice his reading skills.
I received this complimentary copy from the Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hermie, a Common Caterpillar

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hermie is just a common caterpillar. He has no spots and no stripes. He’s not special in anyway, except that he talks to God. His friend Wormie does too. And when they started feeling jealous that they aren’t all pretty like the other caterpillars, God tells them that He isn’t finished with them yet…
But Hermie still feels bad. He sees an ant carrying a load bigger than he is and he’s jealous because he isn’t strong. He sees a snail and he’s jealous because the snail has a house. But God still says He’s not finished with Hermie yet.
God has a special surprise for Hermie.
HERMIE A COMMON CATEPILLAR uses simple sentences, basic vocabulary words, and beautiful illustrations to bring across a lesson that God made everyone special—even those who don’t seem to have anything outstanding about them. And this is a perfect level two reader for those children just learning to read on their own.
My two daughters loved this book—both my nine year old (an avid reader) and her six year old sister (who is learning to read). This book is sure to appeal to kindergarteners and first graders, and even older (or younger) children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The ordinary becomes extraordinary

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane Kinney
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Hermie! I just wish my children were younger so I could enjoy him even more. In books and in DVDs, Hermie reminds children that they are God's special creation. Max Lucado's books for young children are as delightful and inspiring as his books for adults.
Hermie and his friend Wormie are just ordinary caterpillars who discover that with God, they are not so ordinary. God tells them, "Don't worry. I love you both just the way you are, but I'm not finished with you yet." God will make the ordinary extraordinary. This is a great truth for God's children young and old.
This book is a republished book from 2002; however, in republishing the story, this book is now an easy reader so children can read this book on their own. I can see children reading and rereading this book developing their literacy skills.
Thomas Nelson has provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for my review which I freely give.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hermie, a Common Caterpillar - eBook
This review is fromHermie: A Common Caterpillar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rewritten for Level 2 Readers

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Max Lucado’s newly revised version of "Hermie, a Common Caterpillar." It’s been rewritten as a Level 2 Reader for children who are learning to read for themselves, using simple and familiar words and lots of repetition. As children work their way through this story, they’ll learn to read while learning God loves them just the way they are, and He isn’t finished with them yet!
Hermie and his friend, Wormie, are common caterpillars. No spots, stripes or distinctive markings for them. When they see other caterpillars, they talk to God about their commonness. He assures them He loves them just the way they are and isn’t finished with them yet. They are content for a while, then they see a strong ant and talk to God again. He reassures them of His love once more. This repeats with a snail’s house and a ladybug’s spots. The pictures tell part of the story that words don’t showing Hermie and Wormie trying to wiggle into shells like a snail and painting spots all over themselves.
In the end, God has a big surprise for Hermie which gives hope to Wormie. God loves them just the way they are, and He isn’t finished with them yet!
Thomas Nelson publishers sent me a complimentary eCopy of this book for my review. I’m happy to recommend it, though I’m partial to the hold-able version with pages to turn, for children learning to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.