Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook

Thomas Nelson Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook

Written uniquely for kids by a kid, Heaven is For Real is now really for kids! Beautifully illustrated, this book features Colton talking about his experiences in the first person and commenting on things that children find important. Also included is a letter to parents to use as a guide to talk to your kids about heaven, Scripture, Q & A pages with answers from the Bible, and a prayer of salvation. Teach and comfort your kids with the knowledge that heaven is a real place! 32 pages, hardcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
65 out of 7093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Review 1 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love this book

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snapples
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a family, we enjoy this book tremendously. I have completed about 20 detailed church led or commercially published bible studies on a number of books of the bible and have not found this book to be confusing or inaccurate in anyway...there is scripture on the pages of this book that show accurate written and picture content. I first listened to the quite lengthy abridged audio story of the novel at the same time I was working on a commercially published study of the book of Revelation; I did not find any details to be inaccurate, but matched the bible well and complimented my study beautifully. This children's picture book and the audio story are our kids' favorites from their library. I recommend this book. I also learned my younger son's preschool class will receive a number of days learning about heaven and this book is used in the school for a segment of the teaching on heaven. It is so important that we be in the word of God to know Him and also test life against it to discern truth and direction. People need to be aware that their doubts mean something in the supernatural world...so quit doubting, read up, pray up, and believe and receive the grace, love, and provisions of an awesome God!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great children's book

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kerry
Location:Rural Rusk County, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colton's experiences are presented in a manner and level appropriate to preschool and early elementary children, with simple concepts, clear artwork, and a positive, encouraging message about our Savior's love for children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book has some things in it that just didn't "feel right" to me. My oldest daughter noticed some of them too. Before buying Heaven Is For Real Kids I would read the adult version. But I recommend praying before that and seeing what He would have you do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
shelly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the book for adults and wanted one for my son. I wasnt sure how the message would be made simple for children but it was. The book was great and beautiful pictures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Presents insights not found elsewhere

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joyous
Location:Baltimore
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this kids' version are profound insights about what to expect to see and do in heaven that are not found elsewhere. The adults' version provides believability. The kids' version provides comfort and certainty to adults as well as children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Crivitz, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice gift book, with great pictures!
Thanks!
I was happy with my entire order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful true story

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Goody
Location:ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful little book. The pictures are beautiful illustrations and of course, the story is true. I am giving our three year old grandson one for Christmas, our older granddaughters already have theirs, and we put one in our church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved this book

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
share
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great family story, very moving, also eye opening to the truth: that Heaven is for Real!! recommend everyone reads this book. beautiful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
cwong77
Location:MY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is like the 'summary' of what Colton's dad wrote for the adult version, and it's a nice story. It provides me not just the nice illustrations, but also the scriptures which clarify what Colton experienced during his tour to Heaven.
The Q&A session was good too, and it provides a deeper understanding for kids on Heaven and GOD. As someone new to Christ, I enjoyed reading both the children and adult books, as I am like a kid who just got to know GOD and Christ, and simple easy reading it's good. And with this kind of illustrated book, it's easier to get Princess engage with it too.
The book has a total of 20 pages, and I flipped through each pages with some wows and wahs.. the illustration of Jesus, GOD and the rest were really GOOD I would say. I can say this gives me the understanding better when I read the adult version. I am sure for someone Princess age (3 years old) will be able to appreciate the drawings and wordings!
One thing I most agree, the printing of words are LARGE which one can easily read it without much stress on the eyes. I am going to share this book with some of the church member and think all GOD's children should have at least understand this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The quality of the book is truly good.

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nitin
Location:Rajkot, India
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MY REVIEW of Heaven is for Real for Kids as told by Colton Burpo to his parents, Todd and Sonja Burpo.
I am very glad that booksneeze has given me an opportunity to write of this New York time’s No.1 best seller book. In this book, Colton Burpo acts as narrator of his own afterlife experience, explaining in a very childlike and simple way how wonderful and beautiful heaven is.
I have 2.5 yr old nephew in my house. I showed the book, I described the book, he really really liked the book. It was very easy for me because of the picture to describe the heaven, how colton visited heaven how was his experience. It’s a fun loving book for the children. This book should be used as a bed time story for the kids, they will really love it.
We the Indians always believe life after death which is said in Bhagwat Gita by Lord Krishna. But reading with the view of 4yr child is really awesome. Its a book that shows the love of Lord to us all, how our loved ones are waiting there in heaven for us and that death has no fear. It has been such a comfort to us all.
The description of Gate to heaven is really good, the streets are of gold and gates are made of pearl. I have read many books on life after death but I only doubt human spirits with animals, I have read that there are different heavens for humans and for animals.
Also it will be more interesting if you have read the adult version of this book, I have not read that book but eagerly waiting for read that version.
I recommend this book for family reading. Don’t just give it to your child and walk away. Allow the young reader to express any concerns or reactions that they have to the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Illistrations

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
AMECM
Location:Eagan, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We first borrowed this book from the library. My three little girls LOVED the book. We renewed it twice. Then I had to return it. They were SO excited when it arrived and I told them it was our own book! It has brought up many questions, and opened further dialog with them about heaven. I also love this book and the way everything is explained. I will be excited to go to heaven when it's my time because heaven sounds AMAZING!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This story documents a child's glimpse of Heaven.

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:Maryborough, Qld, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I find it a tad problematic to accept the literal message of this book – descriptions of Jesus, the animals, the games and the like - the spiritual message, that Heaven is for real, is of immense value. Heaven is for Real for Kids is the children’s edition of the original book, Heaven is for Real. This story documents a little boy’s experience of Heaven. Close to death after a medical emergency, Colton Burpo miraculously pulled through and, after his remarkable recovery, gradually disclosed an amazing account of a near-death experience where he encountered Jesus in Heaven. While it would be easy to dismiss this story as mere fantasy, the figment of a child’s imagination, or the product of his parents’ promptings, it is much more helpful to take it at face value and read it with an open mind. Don’t be distracted by details but allow yourself to be comforted and reassured by the truth of the message – Heaven is indeed for real!
This edition has been beautifully illustrated by Wilson Ong, albeit with pictorial portrayals remarkably reminiscent of some vintage Ellen G. White Bible story books. Nevertheless, the pictures certainly do transform it into an attractive little book to share with children of all ages.
This is a book that should generate much beneficial discussion about very important issues that children (and perhaps their parents) might not otherwise know how to broach. Illness, death and life after death are not easy topics to tackle. Here is the perfect opportunity to allow children to start to talk about those serious, scary – and sacred – subjects.
I recommend this book for family reading. Don’t just give it to your child and walk away. Allow the young reader to express any concerns or reactions that they have to the story. There is a brief question and answer section at the end of the book that may address some of the issues that children raise, but I understand that an associated “Conversation Kit” has also been published, I assume for use with the “adult version” of the book. Undoubtedly, this would be a very useful tool to facilitate the dialogue.
Whether or not the little ones take on the complex message of Heaven and life after death, there is one message that I pray that they will not miss, and that is that “Jesus really, really loves children!”.
A little book direct from the heart and experience of a little person! To be sure, “a little child will lead them”! (Isaiah 11:6).
Well done, Colton! You are God’s miracle and God’s messenger!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for young readers

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katlover
Location:Cinti, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 9 yr old grandson. He loves this book! He is asking questions that bring conversations that I hope he will remember. He was so excited to read about heaven being so wonderful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bernie
Location:Milton Freewater, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own "Heaven is for Real" have read it and wanted the child's version for my own collection. It is also amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pamela Sims
Location:Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Book for kids to help them understand where believing people go when they die
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very easy and pleasant read with insights that come to you long after the last page has been turned.
the book is simply written yet profoundly deep. In it, Murphey looks at the lives of Jesus' disciples, and writes about his own life with candor that will challenge the reader's theology on grace and acceptance. By the end of the book, the reader will see that, no matter the circumstances, God chases after each of us until we run back into his arms of love. This book is a must read for anyone who struggles with a performance-driven life, or for those who want to understand God in an infinitely deeper way.
Right away, one would think that Wiese just had a nightmare, but Wiese is convinced that he had an out-of-body experience where his soul literally descended into Hell. Wiese insists that this wasn't just a dream. This book will wake up the Dead. I know because I've left it to where anybody could read it and for those that did, their reading experience was similar. A great witnessing tool. I loved it from the very first page. It has a ring of truth. Most of the book is about what happened to Mr. Piper after his experience in heaven and during his long, painful recovery. I bought many copies and gave them to family and friends, urging them to read it as I believe it has the power to transform lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have for every child

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Wilson, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was wonderful!!! I tried to read parts of the adult version to my children, which was okay. But the childrens' version is excellent! It is easy for children to understand and the illustrations are awesome. This is a must have for your kids!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for younger children

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BlessedinMD
This book is easy for younger children to understand and the vivid pictures make it even more enjoyable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MTmom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book arrived in perfect condition. I ordered it, because my middle son has lots of questions about what heaven is like, and so far we are both enjoying this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great children's library addition!

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
spekrul
Location:Lillian, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this book for our children's ministry library. Our pastor's wife had read the grown-up version of it & highly recommended it for our kiddos. They love it and it addresses lots of questions younger children have.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.