Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Spirit Fighter - eBook

Thomas Nelson Spirit Fighter - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1369%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Review 1 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 1 of a Great Series for Teens and Pre-Teens

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book begins with a bang and races from there. I actually got the third book first, but quickly realized that I needed to read books one and two to complete the story. The children learn that they are special kids destined to fight in the spiritual warfare battle of good against evil. What child (or any age for that matter) can resist that! The kids learn to put on their armor when they are called on to go into battle by going to school with others who also have special gifts. The book uses versus from the Bible to back up the story. This should be in every library that has a Harry Potter book, and gifted to every child that loves to read. I would much rather see kids consuming this than Harry Potter. I highly recommend this series for lovers of action and supernatural forces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on the Battle Between Percy and Jonah

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Angels have always been a fascinating topic for me. So, if you offer me a story that oozes with angelic history and legend - including mention of the Nephilim and spiritual warfare - and tell me I can share it with my boys, I'm in. And in I am. With Spirit Fighter, Jerel Law brings to life a tale of heroic pursuits, danger, intrigue, and a search for more than you might expect at first glance.
Brother and sister duo Jonah and Eliza learn that they're special. Moreso, that they are urgently needed to complete a mission for Elohim. Using talents and skills they're learning "on the job," the two head off on a rescue mission and discover themselves, each other, and the importance of faith. Central to their adventures - and offered up for the reader's benefit - is a lesson on the full armor of God, anchored in faith.
Many people will certainly call this a "Christian version of Percy Jackson," and, to be fair, there certainly appears to be a bit of overlap. But, I haven't read the Percy Jackson series, so I'll just acknowledge the similarities as I understand them and move on to how well this book was recieved by my boys (8 & 10). They were hanging on every word and already can't wait for book two. Fall can't come soon enough (though, I might have called it "Autumn" based on the content).
-from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Spirit Fighter

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Simka
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is about a seventh grader named Jonah Stone who thinks himself as a normal boy. He soon discovers that he and his siblings,Eliza and Jeremiah, are "quartelings"; people who are one-fourth angel. The siblings, with the help of their guide Henry, use their powers in a bid to stop the war of good against evil.
First of all, I would not compare this book to the Percy Jackson or Harry Potter series. I think they are totally different. I want not entirely impressed with this series, as I found it very predictive, and somewhat plain, though I'm not sure if that's because I'm out of the target audiences' age range. What I did like though was the the way the Jerel tied in the "biblical background". It was pretty interesting in that sense, and I think I learned a bit from that. Overall, I'd rate this as OK. I'd probably recommend this to my younger sibling.
*I received a free copy of this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will Share This Book

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Jonah Stone is here!
“What if Nephilim—the children of angels and men—still walked the earth? And their very presence put the entire world in danger? In Spirit Fighter, Jonah and Eliza Stone learn that their mother is a Nephilim and that they have special powers as quarter-angels. When their mom is kidnapped by fallen angels, they must use those powers to save her. Along the way, they discover that there is a very real and dangerous war going on between good and evil and that God has a big part for them to play in that war.”
My son loved the Percy Jackson series as well as the 39 Clues series. This book is equal in interest level as well as readability. There is some building up of the premise at the beginning, but the action is included even then; it keeps the reader’s interest throughout the entire book.
It is difficult for me to find good books for my children to read in the pre-teen and early teen years, but this is one that is worth it!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Cannot Recommend

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Spirit Fighter" is an action packed novel full of everything that would appeal to a tween male. The story moves along at a good pace, there's action and warfare and it involves a boy that is not totally perfect - just pretty much normal, or so one would think until the boy finds he has powers.
Sounds like a book every tween male would enjoy, but I personally wouldn't recommend it. It blurs the line between Biblical reality and fiction, as it uses scripture and fallen angels to do so. Although the main character, Jonah, uses his power for "good", Scripture says "Who can bring a clean thing out of an unclean? not one." (Job 14:4) If a child is the grandchild of a fallen angel, he won't be the prize he is made out to be in this story.
Christian children know that magic is not of God, yet in this story we see things that can be done that fall under that magical category. What makes a child decide that since the Bible has been quoted here, that maybe there are others things that aren't quite real in the Scripture? I would much rather hand a child a copy of "Harry Potter" or "The Lightning Thief" because he knows it's pretend and an adult can discuss that with him. Even C. S. Lewis did not mix up Scripture with his children's stories.
I received this book through the Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happily surprised!

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPIRIT FIGHTER by Jerel Law is a fantasy fiction book for young people mainly in their middle-school years. Maybe I shouldn't say fantasy because it is based on real truths from Scripture although some of the details are obviously of the author's imagination.
Jonah Stone finds out that he (and most of his family) are offspring of angels...per mentioned in Genesis 6:4...and discovers that he has some super-natural powers. When he and his sister obey orders to search for their kidnapped mother, they encounter many enemies in the unseen world around them but they use their special powers as well as Scripture to defeat them. How they succeed in their mission makes for interesting reading. Perhaps most adults will "be on the edge of their seat" as they read through this quick-read book but, for sure, the younger generation will! Law not only writes in an interesting way for this age group but it is good enough, i.e., not too childish, for the adults. Amazing talent, don't you think?
I was skeptical when I began this book thinking that I would not enjoy it since it was written for younger readers. But I read it, wanting to be able to recommend some good, Bible-based books with spiritual lessons to my grandchildren. Permit me to say that I was happily surprised with this story, especially since it was generously laced with Bible verses. This enabled me to give it a 4 (only because it won't be on my own personal best-reads list) but I am almost positive that my grands will give it a 5.
(I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fallen Angels, Kidnapping & Spiritual Warfare

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerel Law in his new book “Spirit Fighter” Book One in the Sons Of Angels, Jonah Stone series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Jonah Stone and his family.
From the back cover: Your mom always said you were an angel. What if she was right?.
Jonah Stone has always thought of himself as average, but in seventh grade he learns a fascinating family secret, and his world turns upside down. Jonah’s mom is a nephilim, the daughter of a human and a fallen angel, which makes Jonah one-quarter angel. When his mom is kidnapped by fallen angels, it’s up to Jonah and his sister Eliza to rescue her. Guided by prayer and a guardian angel, Jonah and Eliza embark on an epic adventure through the streets of New York and come to understand that God plans in ways they never could have imagined.
In the Bible the nephilim are what cause the tainting of the blood supply so that God has to cause the flood to wipe them away leaving only Noah and his family to begin again. Jerel Law has a fresh take on the nephilim when he asks what if they exist today and they had children? Mr. Law brings a wealth of experience to the table as he is a gifted communicator and pastor with seventeen years of full-time ministry experience. So he understands about spiritual warfare and communicates it very well in the pages of this book. Mr. Law wanted a way to encourage his children’s faith to come alive so he wrote this book filled with spiritual battles with Jonah and his sister fighting fallen angels for the return of their kidnapped mother. They are learning on the job and only God is going to see them through to the end. This is great fun, filled with truth told in a convincing manner. I recommend this book highly and am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Alternative to Harry Potter & Percy Jackson

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonah Stone is thirteen when he flunks the school basketball tryouts but notices something strange about the way he can kick a soccer ball. He tells his parents, who not only believe him but tell him a family secret – Jonah’s mother is one of the Nephilim, one of the half-human, half-angel beings referred to in Genesis, and Jonah and his siblings are quarterlings, which gives them special powers and the ability to see angels.
But then his mother goes missing, and it seems that others of the Nephilim have also disappeared. Together with his sister Eliza, Jacob must fight the forces of evil to rescue their mother and the other missing nephilim before the captives can be forced to work for the Destroyer. In their search, they learn to put on the armour of God (from Ephesians 6), to walk by faith and to trust in the name of the Lord.
Spirit Fighter is well written and fast paced. Many of the ideas are reminiscent of Frank Peretti's books, but with a strong youth focus and not so frightening. There are parallels between Spirit Fighter and some of the popular secular fiction available for this age group – the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson books spring to mind.
Jonah can see the fallen angels and feel the despair they exude, similar to Harry Potter and the dementors. Like Percy Jackson, Jacob is part-human and part-superbeing, which gives him extraordinary powers. The difference is that in Spirit Fighter, these elements are given has a sound basis in the Bible. (And, at the end of the day, this is fiction. But it will introduce children to the concept of the spiritual realm and the battle being fought).
An adult might find elements of Spirit Fighter simply too fantastic and criticise it for being too plot driven with insufficient focus on the development of the characters. While this might be true, I don't see that the target audience of middle school boys will be bothered. They just want to see the bad guys get wasted, and should therefore be well satisfied. Despite the presence of Eliza, I imagine Spirit Fighter will be more appealing to boys than girls, and will be enjoyed by fans of TV shows such as Bibleman and Angel Wars.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

christian kids fantasy

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
herdingcats
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a fantasy story for Christian kids. I think it is written to appeal to those parents who don't like the Harry Potter type books because they believe anything about witchcraft is evil and who don't like the Percy Jackson books because they are about the Greek (false)gods. In this book, instead of witchcraft or ancient gods and goddesses, we have kids who are one quarter angel. Their mother is a nephilim, daughter of a human mother and father who is a fallen angel. So, 12 year old Jonah and his younger sister Eliza are sent on a mission to rescue their mother when she is kidnapped by the fallen angels who have some sort of plot to destroy the world. With Henry, their guardian angel, and Elohim, the name they call God in this book,on their side, Jonah and his sister are guaranteed victory. The story is a well-written adventure although it is rather predictable. The kids, being one quarter angel, have superpowers given to them by Elohim. I am not sure if I am thrilled about God being a character in a book along with angels with superpowers fighting the bad guys. If that does not bother you though, then you will probably enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just so-so

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm torn with my review of this book. There were elements that I thought were great. It was engaging, exciting and kept my attention. However, there were parts that seemed a little over the top in explaining Scripture inside this novel. I am a big fan of fantasy and especially when it incorporates Scripture and Biblical stories but there's something about this one that I was not impressed with. It could be that it's the authors first book so the others will be better written but I'm not so sure. There are other fantasy stories based on Biblical truths out there that are much better. I will say the author did a good job of showing it was the character's faith and trust in God that gave them their "powers".
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Muddied Spiritual Water

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Writing this review is difficult. Reading Spirit Fighter was, at times, difficult.
The writing in Spirit Fighter is descriptive, engaging and fast-paced, but it’s the subject matter that I find disturbing. Having a Pentecostal background and having experienced some upsetting spiritual conflicts in the past, I was disturbed to see such a graphic book created for children (ages 9 and up). Perhaps I am over-sensitive, but I do not want my middle-school-aged children to have the severity of the spiritual realm brought so vividly to life. Do my children know there are angels and demons? Yes. Do they know they have God and his armour to protect them? Yes. Do I want them seeing demons behind every tree and possessing strangers on the subway? NO. I do not believe that this last statement is truly the case, but since Spirit Fighter describes it to be so, it would be hard for my kids to distinguish between reality and fantasy after reading the book.
This book is being touted as a replacement for Percy Jackson and The Kane Chronicles—a Christian fantasy alternative. With Jackson and Kane, the fantasy is clear and I have yet to meet a child who would confuse it for reality. Spirit Fighter takes a spiritual reality and muddies the water by having a child need to be one quarter angel to have power enough to defeat the enemy. The name of Jesus is all that anyone needs. Period.
I had high hopes for Spirit Fighter, but it will not be a book for my children or any other children that I know.
I give this book 2 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not something I wantmy children reading.

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jonah Stone is a somewhat-below-average kid, struggling to keep his grades up and avoid getting picked on at school. His dream is to make the basketball team, but after the first day of tryouts, the coach pulls him aside and tells him rather bluntly that 'basketball's not your sport'. Devastated, Jonah walks out to the soccer field and asks God why he's not good at anything, and can't God please do something to help him? Out of frustration Jonah kicks a nearby soccer ball... and sends it flying hundreds of yards. When he gets home he tells his dad, who hands him a football, which he then throws hundreds of yards. He's able to do the same thing with a baseball.
That's when Jonah's parents decide that it's time to tell him the truth: he's not fully human. His mother is in fact a nephilim, the daughter of a human and a fallen angel, making Jonah one quarter angel. The nephilim in the Bible became famous, mighty warriors; the nephilim today apparently share the same superhuman abilities. Suddenly Jonah is a different person - from standing up to the bullies at school to embarking on a mission a few days later to rescue his mother after she is abducted by fallen angels.
I was extremely disturbed by the content of this book, mainly because it is intended for young children - the main character Jonah is thirteen. This is not something I would want my children reading, for several reasons.
Reason #1 - In Spirit Fighter, Jonah is something of a loser until his 'angel powers' kick in. Then suddenly he's the strongest, fastest kid around. If this is the kind of fiction we're giving our kids to read, how long will it be until a kid who has just flunked a math test or failed to make the football team starts thinking 'Man, if only I was part angel'?
Yes, the nephilim are real beings whose existence is recorded in the Bible, and they did become mighty warriors. Yes, fallen angels really did have offspring by human women. But on no level is this normal or okay, and we should not be 'normalizing' it by writing modern children's fiction about it. Why would we want our children even thinking about things like that, anyway? The Bible makes it clear that the days of the nephilim were dark days, when the thoughts of man's heart were only evil continually.
Reason #2 - I am not convinced that Jerel Law's portrayal of parenthood in this story is biblical. I'm a writer, so I do understand that the parents frequently have to be moved out of the way in order for the children to be able to have their big adventures; that being said, in Spirit Fighter, Jonah's mom is kidnapped and the task is apparently something that a fully human person can't do, so Jonah's dad is forced to sit at home against his wishes, doing nothing while Jonah and his sister are sent to rescue their mom with their angel powers. Seriously? That's pushing it, folks.
Reason #3 - I don't like the attitude the author takes towards spiritual warfare. Yes, I absolutely believe in a spiritual realm and spiritual battles being waged around us. I believe that humans are occasionally called to play active roles in these spiritual battles, and sometimes humans are even given glimpses into the spiritual realm. And I believe that God gives us whatever strength we need to do what He wants us to do. But Jerel Law's portrayal of this - Jonah's sister throwing up a 'force field' around them when they're in danger, an enemy with an opposing force field that saps her strength, a bow and arrows that just materialize when needed - is way too flippant, more like a video game than serious spiritual battle.
Kids do not need to be reading books that are going to make them think spiritual warfare is no big deal ("I'll just say a little prayer, throw up a force field, take down a demonic cougar with a shovel, and it'll all be good, right?"). I understand that this is fiction, but it is fiction written about real spiritual matters - matters that are not something to be toyed with or taken lightly. Yes, even faith as small as a mustard seed is enough to do wondrous things - but the spiritual war going on around us is not something we should be taking as lightly as it is taken in this book.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spirit Fighter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonah is just an ordinary thirteen year old kid. He likes basketball, video games, and hanging out with his friends. But, as in most great stories, his life completely changes one day. And he finds out that he isn't so 'ordinary' after all.
Jonah's mom is a nephilim, half human and half angel (Genesis 6:4). That makes him one quarter angel. With powers. That has to save the world.
Ok, I'm getting ahead of myself. I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their book review program, Booksneeze. In return, I read and review the book, giving them my honest review. I picked this book out for my son, who literally sped read through Percy Jackson's books. He loved them. So when I read the description of Spirit Fighter, I knew he would like it. Well, I hope he does; he hasn't read it yet.
Personally, I was impressed. I had a hard time setting this book down. Jerel Law does an excellent job telling a fictional story, but also bringing fact and scripture into it to keep it as real as possible.
I enjoyed this book immensely, and hope you will too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.