Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook

Thomas Nelson From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Review 1 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to do with Teens!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
daisykay3
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really interested in reading this book because I work with teen girls and it didn't let me down. I loved it and it was fun talking about some of the things with my girls. They were really receptive to it and were excited about it. The author did a great job looking at the heart of the matter and addressing those issues in a way that is not overwhelming. I would definitely recommend this book to youth groups to read for girls and to do it as a study together.
*** I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good message

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the author helps the teen girl see that serving God doesn't have to be Blah. actually it is a good message for anyone who is bored in their faith, not just teen girls.
a copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Take faith to the next level

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From Blah to Awe.
Doesn’t that title intrigue you? It drew me in immediately and I knew this was a book I needed to read. I mean, really, who doesn’t have a lull in their faith? A period when you just go through the motions? A time when you don’t feel very loved? A stage of life where you are bored?
I have – even in adulthood. You see, God desires for us to pursue him with reckless abandon - and sometimes that is hard work. We have to think. We have to go to the distance to understand our story within his. We have to take God out of the cute little box we hold him in if we want to experience him.
And that is exactly why I was drawn to this book. Jenna Lucado Bishop does a great job at reaching girls at an impressionable age and capturing their attention. She engages them in their story, plucks them from the grip of a lifeless faith, and guides them to explore the radical life God has for them.
This is a must read for any young teenage girl caught up in the blahs of faith, with the desire to explore…and experience more. What a great opportunity we, as women of faith, have to mentor the next generation!
Who will you invest in?
* I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought provoking book for teens

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith, by Jenna Lucado Bishop, is an inspirational book for teens. I originally thought this might be good for Emily, but, after reading it, think that she’s not quite old enough. It is really better for high school aged students or even adults.
The topic--shaking up a boring faith—is certainly one that many of us can relate to. We believe in God, but don’t always find him compelling or exciting. I think this is probably even more the case for young people who have grown up in the church and are in the process of making their parents’ faith their own.
The book opens with a riveting account of the author encountering young women caught up in s*x trafficking while on a mission trip to Guatemala …… (one reason why I’m not giving the book to Emily just yet).
Subsequent chapters address various reasons that Christians may find God boring, then addresses solutions for each. You may identify with some of these impediments to an living, exciting faith:
We are consumed by busyness, electronics and noise that fill our senses when we need to slow down to look and listen for God’s still small voice.
Passion for Jesus is hard. It can result in rejection by peers. Being “bored” is cool.
We think we already know it all.
We don’t spend time in the Word, which brings and alive, active, un-boring relationship with God.
We fail to pray.
Jenna Lucado Bishop writes in an engaging style, including personal stories and allegories that help to illustrate her points.
I think this is a great book for teens and young adults. It addresses a topic that I haven’t seen much in Christian literature. I reviewed the e-book version, but would recommend the print version because the book includes room for journaling and answering questions throughout the book.
I received a free e-book copy of From Blah to Awe from Thomas Nelson through their BookSneeze program. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How to Get Unbored with God

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an inspirational book for a teenage girl, I recommend "From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith" by Jenna Lucado Bishop. And, though it's written for teenagers, I have no problem recommending it for "older" young women, too. Bishop is a capable mentor for young women who long to grow deep faith.
In this book, Bishop answers the questions, “Why do I get bored with God?” and “Does God care if I am bored with Him?” She writes as if she is speaking directly to the reader, sharing the stories of other young women, her own experiences, and solid Bible truth. After introducing each topic, she moves into a section of the chapter called “Going Deeper.” She then sums everything up by answering the questions, “Why do we get bored with God?” (where she presents the reason from that particular chapter) and “Knowing this, how do we get unbored with God?” (where she presents the chapter specific answer). In the second part of the book, the summary questions are “Does God care if we are bored with Him?” and “Knowing this, how do we get unbored with God?” Scattered throughout the book are questions for the reader to reflect on and journal space for her answers.
I think Part 1 of the book can be summarized in a quote from Chapter 5:
“To have a zealous faith, we have to want it, choose it, and then have the discipline to maintain it.”
In a gentle, fun, and encouraging way, Bishop shows her readers how this is done. Then she moves into Part 2 where she helps readers understand that God loves them and wants an intimate relationship with them. Living a life that glorifies His name is far from boring when we know and walk with our loving Creator God.
Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly A Blessing

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Blah to Awe Shaking Up a Boring Faith
By Jenna Lucado Bishop
I was interested by the title From Blah to Awe. It was written by the daughter of my favorite author Max Lucado. Jenna Lucado Bishop has truly followed in her fathers footsteps. Jenna Lucado Bishop really touched on something that many Christians really do not like to fess up to. Being bored with Church, God and just with life itself. The book is written for young teens, but adults can truly be blessed by this book also. I really enjoyed the book. It made me take a good look at my attitude towards God. Young and old do get bored, but we need to not stay there. There was a part of the book that really touched my heart. She said God did not create us to be bored, He created us to be in a relationship with Him. She also spoke about the time God revealed Himself to Moses. Moses did not understand what he was asking from God, but God in all His glory before revealing Himself. He covered Moses so that he did not die by Gods glory. It reminded me of the God that loves me. How can I be bored living in the love of God. Thank you Jenna Lucado Bishop this book was truly a blessing to me, and I know that it will be a blessing to those who read it. I really recommend this book pick it up and stop feeling blah and begin feeling in Awe towards God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for anyone who wants to live abundantly

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an adult, and I'm teaching an adult Sunday School class on holiness. Much of what Jenna's book about having an exciting faith fits with the definitions of living a holiness life - but it is written for teenage girls. Insightful, funny, and interesting, Jenna reaches a deep level of theology, but writes for her audience with passion and vernacular that are sure to inspire her readers to live more Christlike lives, all in the interest of enjoying Christianity the way it was meant to be enjoyed.
Jenna intersperses stories of real young people who have experienced the full Christian life to make her point - that living a vibrant, abundant Christian life is possible - no matter how old or young you are. Jenna outlines several simple, yet deep ways that Christians can be blessed and vibrant in their faith, and she does it with a decent understanding of how complicated and pressured the lives of her young audience are. I was able to read the book without feeling as though there was some code I needed to know to get it - even though it is written for young people, it has truth that transcends age.
There is a beautiful parable that Jenna tells about her own testimony. It talks of the wonder of creation, the tragedy of sin, and the majesty of salvation. Throughout the book, she also has space for girls to journal about their experiences, and work on the disciplines that Jenna suggests as ways to enliven faith. Through inductive study of scripture, Jenna shares the beauty of salvation, and proposes that living the way God intended is a glorious way to live. Her passion is infectious, and the only problem I have is knowing which teenage girl I love to give it to. The way Jenna's heart is written into every page makes the story beat with an incredible energy. That energy is a reflection of God's heart, too, and this book can encourage any young woman to live so that her heart beats with His, too. That's the kind of literature I want to share.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!!!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ziggy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fresh perspective! This great book really helps you to go deeper into your relationship with God! I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Blah At All!

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you bored with church?
Do you feel like your prayers are hitting the ceiling?
Is your Bible gathering dust?
Does “blah” describe your faith?
In her latest book, Jenna Lucado Bishop tackles these questions and more, revealing how to shake up a boring faith and go From Blah to Awe!
The book’s first part answers the question, “Why Do I Get Bored with God?”
I had experienced boredom in my faith more than once, but I didn’t really know why. Writing in a way that is relevant to teen girls, Jenna uncovers a new reason in each chapter. Not realizing our need for God, trying to “style” Him to fit our ideas, following our physical senses instead of spiritual, being comfy in boredom’s security, and hoarding God’s love are just a handful of the reasons behind blah faith.
The second part of the book answers the question “Does God Care If I’m Bored with Him?” It sounds like a simple question, but Jenna drew out some very poignant insights in response!
Each chapter is capped off with a summary. The reviews were great for helping me absorb the focus of each section. The journal areas scattered throughout the book also solidified what I was learning.
Although I disagreed with the book’s doctrinal bits, they were easy to sort through. Other than that, there was nothing “blah” in From Blah to Awe. It hit me right where I live and challenged me to seriously shake up my faith. I give it 4 out of 5 stars!
I received this book for free in exchange for my review though the Book Sneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth your time to read!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
joyives
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually enjoyed this book by Jenna Lucado Bishop more than any book from her famous father, Max Lucado. Even though this book is not really deep and it's super girlie and written for girls, it is honest, open and real. It shows Christians where their shortcomings are and doesn't pretend we are all perfect. Jenna writes from such a refreshing point of view - I was very pleasantly suprised. I think all teens, boys and girls, and even adults should benefit from this book. We are so used to hiding from our sins and shortcomings and ignoring the nasty jealous, bitter, greedy, selfish feelings inside us. This book challenges readers to an honest self-examination. Jenna points out her own ugly selfish side and this allows readers to be honest with themselves and take a peek into our own ugly hidden closets. Jenna then encourages readers to turn to God for help and to realize that our love of these sinful habits are the things that keep us apart from God.
Sadly I think most Christians will say "that's a girly book" but I think most Christians could benefit from this honest look at our sinfulness. We aren't just Blah about God for no reason. We are Blah about God because we are so selfish and into ourselves. If we could recognize how gross our sin was, we could fall at God's feet and repent and turn our lives over to Christ. This book is a great look and an honest challenge to all readers, not just teenage girls.
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased review. I am giving my honest review, as positive reviews are not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of real life topics.

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Coldwater, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Blah to Alive by Jenna Lucado Bishop is a book for tween and teen girls to push them deeper into the Word. Disclaimer: there are some pretty adult topics such as drugs and prostitution. So please read it first and decide whether your daughter is ready for some of the topics. I loved the book because the author didn't shy away from taboo topics. Topics that most teen girls will have either been exposed to through the media or real life. Jenna explains them in a way that show how Jesus would like us to respond.
The chapters are pretty short and can be used as a devotional or read cover to cover. The book covers many topics ranging from being bored with God to living radically for Christ. There are many short stories that the reader can identify with, that gives a practical application for their lives. Each chapter includes a challenge, a prayer and journal writing. Throughout the book scripture is used to back up the principles. I was impressed with the wide range and depth of each topic. It was an enjoyable book to read with my daughter.
I was given this book by Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From Blah To Awe: Shaking Up A Boring Faith, written Jenna Lucado Bishop, is a book written to teenage girls with the goal of shaking up their faith and encouraging them into a deeper service for God.
The honesty of Jenna within this book is appreciated. Her heart, as well as the heart of all others, is not pure, but she openly admits to this fact. For the sake of her readers, she admits that she has a judgmental and self-motivated heart.
She admits that she feels, at times, that she is the only one who knows how to drive and is not afraid to share this information. She shares how jealousy encourages her bad responses to situations and people. But within these admissions of failure, Jenna opens up an avenue for girls to see who they really are and what they need to become.
While the book is written for pre-teen and teen girls, there might be a few stories that could be considered a bit to mature for those that fall into the pre-teen category. Thus it might be beneficial for a parent or guardian to read the book first.
The book, for me, started out a little slow, but it does eventually grab the attention of the readers and make them think about their relationship with God. Thus it is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Tweens and Teens

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Modern Day Disciple
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I confess I chose this book because it was aimed at Tweens and Teens and I was hoping my daughter would show some interest. Although she said she did not want to read it at this time I realized I still needed to; I set about the task hesitantly. I thought really, what is Max Lucado's daughter going to be able to share with me, coming from what I assumed was a pretty cushy Christian start in life. I mean really, if you get to choose a Dad and you are an aspiring Christian writer then I think Max Lucado would be a pretty convenient Dad to have. However, I was pleasantly surprised with Jenna's down to earth style, complete with rebellion, confession and her authenticity in sharing her own struggles with coming to terms with dreaded complacent Christianity and faith "blahs". I also liked the glimpses she shared of her very real, faithful parents planting seeds of faith by living out their own lives of faith.
Sharing some of her own personal stories and the real life stories of other Christians who have experienced the Savior in a unique life-changing way, whether by tragedy or revelation, Jenna gets to the heart of the problem of our boredom with God. Ultimately it is us. She does not come off preachy, and one of the stories had actually me in tears. She is honest about her own complacency and writes in a way that has that "over coffee" feel to it. As if you are talking with your best girlfriend who you know you can be honest with without holding back.
I think you will like this book and find it useful and encouraging if you fall into one of the following categories:
A. You are a Christian girl or woman
B. You are looking for inspiration for your faith
C. You are bored or uninterested in all things Christian
D. All of the above
Seriously, although this is an easy read it is not without thought provoking challenge and It does not feel like condemnation being heaped on your lack of zeal for spiritual things. Jenna definitely provides a few sparks to spur the flames of faith. She comes along side the reader and encourages them to dig deeper, and question themselves on why they are bored with God and gives suggestions on how to get un-bored .
I would recommend this for tween girls, small group book discussions and moms of tweens.
I think it is never a bad thing to shake up our faith. Bored or not.
Who knows, maybe my girl will eventually come around.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From Blah to Awe

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And once again life imitates art...well, sort of.
This past weekend sixteen of us from my church went to Lansing, Michigan for the Music Matters conference.
Because of the excellent sessions - and our brainstorming times afterward - we came back refreshed and renewed and ready to worship God in mind, soul, and spirit.
The services on Sunday were such a blessing. Was it because something had changed externally or was it because I had changed? Both!
I have gone to church quite faithfully throughout my adult life, but I can honestly say I've never woken up on Sunday and been filled with so much joy and expectation. Plus, when I noticed that it was 7:00 p.m., I was disappointed that the evening service was almost over. I've felt that way maybe three times in my life.
It wasn't simply an emotional response, a high so to speak. It was something much deeper, much more real.
And that's what Jenna Lucado Bishop - the daughter of my favourite non-fiction author, Max Lucado - writes about in From Blah to Awe.
The book is written with a teen girl audience in mind, but I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to anyone, girls and women especially, who finds their faith has grown dry.
The author covers such topics as feeling blah (as the title suggests); identifying the ugly areas in our hearts; how our flesh (our selfish desires) gets in the way; identifying those things that occupy our thoughts; our need to be accepted by those around us, a need that often overshadows our need to be accepted by God...
I especially appreciate the contemporary retelling of a handful of Bible stories. Like her father, Bishop makes them come alive while remaining true to the biblical text.
I also like the stories of young women who are making a difference in the world and the space included in the book for journaling the reader's thoughts and answers to the questions the author presents. The To Sum It Up section at the end of each chapter is also extremely handy.
As I've said before, I highly value honesty, and Bishop exhibits this clearly. She shares the truth about her own heart and her own relationships, about the times she has felt blah about her faith and her God.
As readers put into practice the suggestions in the book and as we seek to worship God in mind, soul, and body, we will go from blah to awe.
I would highly recommend From Blah to Awe and appreciate booksneeze.com for the free e-copy in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for From Blah to Awe: Shaking Up a Boring Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book For Moms and Daughters to Read Together~

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is written by Max Lucado' s daughter~ Jenna. It is written to teen girls to help them keep their faith alive and exciting.
While I love the idea of this book ~ I do want to say it starts out with some adult conversation~ such as prostitution and drugs. I recommend parental involvement for that reason.
I remember being a teenage girl trying to follow Jesus. The world calls for attention and the bright lights are always shining to grab our attention. In this book Jenna introduces several girls with real teenage issues that every teenage girl can relate to. She gets really honest and shares her own struggles as she was trying to make her faith her own. Jenna challenges the reader to not keep God in a box or create our own idea of what God is~ but instead through the Bible she shows who the God of the Bible really is and why it is so important to give Him your life.
She challenges the reader to explore a more radical relationship with Jesus. The book encourages that through Bible reading and praying ~one will find more than Bible stories but also the solutions to all of life's problems and a guide book for this life we live.
I give this book 4 stars and think it a great book for mom and daughters to read together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.