Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Accidental Bride - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Accidental Bride - eBook

Shay Brandenberger is a survivor. She's lived through a crazy childhood, a failed marriage, and single parenthood-with her confidence intact.But not for long. Because when Shay participates in her town's Founder's Day wedding reenactment, she finds herself face-to-face with the one man who takes her breath away and leaves her weak in the knees: Travis McCoy.

Travis is back in town after years way on the rodeo circuit. His one regret in life is breaking Shay's heart when they were high-school sweethearts. He's determined to get it right this time. So when their Founder's Day "marriage" is accidentally made official, Travis seizes the day. Can Shay put aside her pride to let Travis help her, or will their accidental marriage be dissolved before it can begin?

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 4092%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Review 1 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God is So Patient

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is just like all the great historical romances where arranged marriages or marriages-of-convenience turn into the real thing over time, only it is set in modern America!
Travis is a dear, patient man who is so generous and so in love it almost hurts to watch him trying so hard to win the hurt-hardened heart of Shay. I so often wanted to grab Shay and Travis and give them a good shake and then sit them down and force them to TALK to one another. So much heartache over misunderstandings and lack of communication.
But eventually, love wins out and the ending is worth the agony of watching them hurt each other so much along the way. I loved the character of Miss Lucy, who may be old and scatty, but is also full of wisdom and prayer. We would all benefit from having a Miss Lucy in our lives.
All in all, it was a very enjoyable book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great New Characters

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Accidental Bride
Denise Hunter
Book Summary: When a wedding reenactment turns real, this cowgirl suddenly finds she’s an accidental bride. Shay Brandenberger is raising her daughter in Moose Creek, Montana on her childhood ranch, nestled against the Yellowstone River. Despite her hard work, she can’t seem to keep her head above water—and now the bank is threatening to foreclose. She prays for a miracle, but the answer she receives is anything but. Having agreed to play the bride in the Founders Day wedding reenactment, Shay is mortified to be greeted at the end of the aisle by none other than Travis McCoy, her high school sweetheart—the man who left her high and dry for fame and fortune on the Texas rodeo circuit. Then the unthinkable happens. Thanks to a well-meaning busy body and an absent minded preacher, the wedding reenactment results in a legal marriage. But before Shay can say annulment, Travis comes up with a crazy proposal. If she refuses his offer, she’ll lose her home. But if she accepts, she may lose her heart. Shay isn’t sure if the recent events are God’s will or just a preacher’s blunder. Will trusting her heart to the man who once shattered it be the worst mistake of her life? Or could their marriage be the best accident that ever happened?
Review: I liked the 2 main characters and thought they had good chemistry. I did think there were almost too many secondary characters at the start of the book and this made it a little more confusing at times to recall who was who. It did get easier to follow as the book continued. I enjoyed the main characters. Shay was tough and did a lot of manual labor and yet was still feminine. Travis was very masculine and yet very sensitive to Shay. It was believable and yet very enjoyable to see how things were going to be resolved. The marriage license that was old and yet still valid seemed unlikely, although it was easy to suspend belief when the story flowed so nicely and the main characters were enjoyable. It was worth the read and the fact that it was a in a series was not a deterrent it was a good stand alone story.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an Unusual Premise for a Romance Tale

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Accidental Bride
Denise Hunter ©2011
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-59554-802-3 (ppbk)
Shay Brandebgerger agrees to stand in as the bride in a re-enactment of Moose Creek’s early history. She doesn’t know elderly Miss Lucy has set up Travis McCoy, (who abandoned Shay at the altar fourteen years earlier), to be the re-enactment’s groom. And supposedly the pastor accidentally sends a real wedding license to be registered for Shay and Troy. Or was Miss Lucy behind that, also?
Troy discovers he and Shay are really married and asks for five months to prove his love to her. She’s been hurt so often and so deeply she often assumes wrong data so doesn’t trust Troy nor ask him about suspicious incidents.
Will their love for each other ever win out? Will Shay lose her ranch and livelihood? What will happen to Shay’s daughter, Olivia when Troy leaves? How will the author resolve seeming impossible situations?
The story has sweet moments and tense times, all adding to the allure of this well-written tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Premise!

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When high school sweethearts eloped, Travis McCoy left Shay Brandenberger on the courthouse steps in her wedding dress while he went to buy some rings at Kmart. Except he didn’t come back. Instead, he made his way to the pro rodeo circuit in Texas.
14 years later, Shay is the widowed mother of a 12-year-old daughter, Olivia. She lives on the Montana ranch her family has had for generations, but she’s about to lose it due to financial hardship. Meanwhile, she agrees to play the bride in Moose Creek’s Founders’ Day wedding reenactment and is beyond shocked when the enactment groom is none other than Travis McCoy. If she could slap him and turn heel, she would, but she’s enough of the talk of the town. Everyone remembers her return by bus in her wedding dress years back.
How could this become a legal marriage between Shay and Travis? I’ll leave you to read the book to find out. Travis has done well in rodeo, but he’s never forgotten Shay or forgiven himself for what he did to her. He’d have returned years ago except he heard she was married. Now, though, the rules have changed and he sets out to win back his accidental bride. . .before she can have the marriage annulled!
The premise of The Accidental Bride was the primary reason I downloaded this book. I’d never read anything by this author before, or really heard anything about her. I’m so glad I did. Shay is a major spitfire, but realistically, who wouldn’t be stinkin’ mad if this happened to them? I also loved seeing Travis’s regrets and his patience in winning Shay back. This book is highly recommended.
I received an e-copy of this novel for review from NetGalley. Opinions, as always, are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Romance

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shay Brandenberger’s life is difficult. She is a single mom, her ranch is close to default, and her relationship record is pitiful. A friend pushes her into participating in a wedding reenactment where the groom turns out to be the man who left her at the alter years ago. The situation turns serious when the reenactment turns out to be a legal marriage. Travis McCoy, the groom, returned specifically to attempt to reconnect with Shay, and decides to take advantage of the accidental marriage. They both seek God’s will in this series of events as it winds through their lives.
Although the premise is farfetched, the story is good clean fun. Both main characters wrestle with real life problems and well described characters. I particularly liked the couple seeking the Lord’s guidance and striving toward unity as they work through their personal feelings and problems. I rate this an above average romance.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light easy read, interesting

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
spud
Location:marquette,mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to most people who like an easy read, funny, interesting book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Western Romance

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Western Romance, filled with humor, heart.
How does one get accidentally married? Well, add the kind-hearted Miss Lucy, a forgetful minister, the good Lord's divine plan, and you've got an answer. In Shay and Travis's case, that is. Once high school sweethearts, Shay and Travis meet again after 14 years--at the alter. What begins as just a way to help out with the Founder's Day festivities, suddenly turns into a an accidental marriage. Can Shay and Travis find true love in the most unusual of circumstances? Will they be able to trust God to work all things out for good?
The Accidental Bride was a very enjoyable read, with well done characters who represented the modern west with an authentic-ness that "took" me there. I'll be honest this isn't the kind of book that I would typically read, but with the cowboys, and the ranch setting I couldn't resist! Laced with humor, and moments that will make you smile, The Accidental Bride is an all around fun read, that also has moments of depth.
Written with snappy dialogue, that makes the air fairly sizzle with each spark that is sent flying. And even though it is the second in a series it is a book that stands firmly on it's own.
Overall, I believe that I will certainly be picking up a book by Denise Hunter, again. The Accidental Bride sparkles as a fun novel, with depth that takes it to the next level. I had a blast reading this one.
I would recommend this book to lovers of contemporary romances, who savor the added bonus of a story set in ranching country.
Final Rating: 4.3 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley in return for an honest review. I was not required to give this book a positive review, but simply to state my honest opinion. Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shay Brandenberger was raising her daughter Olivia out in Montana on her childhood ranch. But even though she worked hard things were not going well and the bank was even threatening to foreclose on her home.
But when she agreed to play the bride in the Founder's Day wedding reenactment she was mortified to find out during the reenactment the groom was being played by Travis McCoy, who left her for the Texas rodeo circuit years ago and shattered her heart. But because of the mistakes of a couple people the reenactment accidentally resulted in a legal marriage!! Seeing him arrive in town was bad enough for her, but this was just unbelievable to Shay!! But before Shay could get a annulment Travis had a proposal that could really help her if she accepts it.
And she did since she needed help so badly, and so their journey began. I think this was such a cool idea for a story. Although there were some things I did not like in the story [some scenes were kind of overly romantic], but over all it was a good book!! And I really liked what Shay learned in the end of the book, it is a good thing to consider and got me to thinking. Shay had been through some hard times and had a big problem with what other people thought of her. It was a well written book, and you seem to really be able to tell how the people felt and thought in the story.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What is Happily Ever After?

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is the second in the Big Sky Romance series. It could be read as stand alone but would be a much better if you read A Cowboy's Touch book one in this series.
Shay Brandenberger and her childhood sweetheart, Travis McCoy have eloped to get married in her happily ever after. But Travis forgets something very important and leaves her waiting on the court house steps. She waits and waits and Travis never comes back. Leaving her dreams of happily ever after and her heart shattered. From this day she makes all the wrong choices. And ends up married, then abandoned again, but this time with a child. Then low and behold Travis shows back up in town.
This is a wonderful story of love and the pain of letting go of past hurt and the will and strength from God to be able to forgive, trust and hope. The author created a strong since of pride in Shay that only God could penetrate. There is a great lesson in humbling oneself displayed in the love and patience Travis has for God's will in this relationship.
The only happily ever after I look forward to in my life is God's will.
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5.
Discloser:
I got a copy of this book from Netgalley it was a personal choice. I was in no way compensated for this review. This is review is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brimming with Romance and Healing

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Shay Brandenberger is asked to play the bride for the town's Founders Day reenactment, she reluctantly agrees--after all, the town might talk since she's the one person who's been jilted at the altar and divorced. Her mortification increases when the man standing at the end of the aisle is none other than Travis Mccoy--her high school sweetheart and the man who left her high and dry for the Texas rodeo. Then the unthinkable happens. Thanks to a nostalgic-thinking busybody and an absentminded preacher, the reenactment becomes a real, legal marriage.
Shay wants an immediate annulment, but Travis has other ideas. He wants a second chance with Shay. Travis knows Shay is on the verge of losing her family farm through a bank foreclosure. He proposes to take care of Shay and her daughter as long as she's willing to give their marriage a try. With few options available, Shay agrees to his proposal. Will trusting Travis again be the worst mistake of her life? Or could their marriage be the best accident that ever happened?
I absolutely loved The Accidental Bride! I've read almost all of Denise Hunter's books--and I honestly believe this is her best work yet.
When I first read the premise of this story, I couldn't help but wonder how someone gets married by accident. I even thought a wedding reenactment seemed a bit far-fetched for such a scenario. Yet Denise Hunter pulls this plot off with some incredible brilliance--and I have to say I found it amazing she could work a modern day marriage of convenience story into such a wonderful novel.
Denise Hunter pens a heart-throbbing romance that will captivate you from the first page. She offers readers a relate-able cast of characters who harbor regrets from past mistakes. At the same time, she offers readers a glimpse of how God can take the hurt from the past and turn it into something beautiful.
Of course at the end of it all, we learn to never underestimate God's plans for us--or His sense of humor.
The Accidental Bride is filled with excellent prose, witty dialogue, ironic humor, entertaining characters, and lots of cowboy swank. I definitely recommend this novel.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A gorgeous story!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle V
Location:Waco, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter is a spectacular story of love, loss, forgiveness, and redemption.
Shay is a struggling single mom. Her only concern is her daughter, Olivia, and trying to hold onto their ranch which has been in her family for generations. When Shay agrees to be a part of the annual Founder’s Day Ceremony, her friend, Miss Lucy, sets her up for the surprise of her life. But, everything goes all wrong. Or does it? This just might be the answer to everything for Shay.
This is book two is her Big Sky Romance series. If you have read A Cowboy’s Touch, then you will recognize some of the characters in this one. You won’t be lost if you have not read it first. It is an excellent series, and both books are outstanding and well worth your time, though!
I very, very highly recommend this book! A few days ago I mentioned A Cowboy’s Touch as one of my favorite books in 2011, and The Accidental Bride will definitely be a favorite for 2012! Denise Hunter has been a favorite author of mine for quite some time. I have read and adored all of her books. She always manages to grab me right by the heart in each and every one of her stories. One of my favorite things about her stories is her characters. They are flawed human beings just like the rest of us which makes it so much easier for me to relate to them. When I put down one of her books, her characters stay with me. I always look forward to anything that Denise Hunter writes and I have yet to be disappointed! And, I actually don’t read a lot of romance. But, don’t be fooled by that. She tackles the tough stuff in her stories and her characters face hard, real-life problems that I can relate to. If you haven’t read any of her books yet, then I hope you will check them out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really Enjoyed this book!

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shay Brandenberger has lived in Moose Creek all of her life, and small town life has its ups and downs, when Shay was younger she found herself thrust into the rumor mill because of the actions of Travis McCoy, the man she thought she loved, believing to have moved on she married another man who soon sent her life tumbling into another spout of gossip. Now years later Travis McCoy is back, and with a weird turn of events Shay finds herself married to the man who broke her heart, but he makes her an offer that will possibly save her farm, and keep her and her daughter under a roof. Unable to say no Shay takes his offer and has a few hard lessons to learn along the way when she is injured and must rely on Travis, who broke her heart so many years ago.
Denise Hunter’s Big Sky Romances weave a tale of love and forgiveness and how much although you try to deny yourself feelings because of past hurts, at some point they will return. One of the themes throughout the book is to realize if you are trying to please God or man, and how that also will affect how we feel and the choices we will make based on how others respond.
This book was provided complimentary by Thomas Nelson Publishing through the NetGalley program in return for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
flag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A modern romance

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just supposed to be a reenactment but the wedding turns out to be legal and the bride is in for a change of heart. The Accidental Bride, by Denise Hunter, is a book about second chances and learning to trust both others and your self.
Shay Brandenberger lives in Moose Creek, Montana and is struggling to make all her bills. She is a single Mom and is barely making enough money from her farm to keep food on the table for her daughter. She prays for help and it comes in the form of her high school sweetheart Travis McCoy. The memory of him leaving her alone on their supposed wedding day to chase after his dream of being a rodeo star is hard to forget. Travis, on the other hand, is ready for a second chance and a life with Shay and her daughter. Will their surprise marriage be annulled? Will Shay accept Travis’s monetary help to save her farm? Will they grow closer or further apart as time goes by? This is definitely an emotional story of two hearts finding each other again.
This is not like other Christian fiction romances I have read. There is mention of prayers and going to church but it is not a preachy book. The characters are very human and you can feel the tension and connection between them. The author is excellent at describing their emotions and makes the reactions to events in the story believable. I really enjoyed this book and finished it in one sitting because I wanted to know what would happen next!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those expecting spoilers - sorry to disappoint but I don't go there. *G*
LOVED IT doesn’t actually cover how much I enjoyed this book. The characters readily draw you right into their lives. Shay’s fear as a result of harsh life experience is so easy for me to identify with. I think we’ve all been there – letting a painful past dictate the direction of our decisions/choices today because we won’t let go of the past and let God direct our present and future without our “help”. Such a wonderful story to illustrate an incredibly important theme that runs through so many of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A cute love story!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've never read a Big Sky Romance novel by Denise Hunter, you are truly missing out. Denise writes her characters so well, you can't help but feel as though they are truly real people. In her latest, The Accidental Bride, Shay Brandenberger has experienced a life time of pain. First, her childhood love, left her standing at the altar when fear got the best of him and he simply headed west. Promising herself to never fall for another man again, Shay did the unthinkable and fell hard again.
Maybe as a way to prove to herself and the town of Moose Creek, Montana, that she wasn't hopeless failure after all, she married Garrett, against her common sense. Now the mother of a new daughter, Olivia, Shay realizes that she never loved Garret and that he doesn't fit into her ideal dream of a cowboy running a busy family ranch, now in her care. Divorced and a single mom, Shay vows to commit her life to simply raising her daughter as best as she can, and try to find a way to keep Yellowstone River, her family ranch from being foreclosed on by the bank.
When she volunteer's to play the part of the bride in a wedding reenactment in a Founder's Day ceremony, she is hoping to finally put all the past behind her. Only when she arrives at the altar, Shay is more than surprised and shocked to see the man she almost married, Travis McCoy is the groom. Can she pull her emotions together to get through the ceremony or will she once again be the talk of the town?
I received The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and B and B Media for my honest review and LOVED IT! Once again, Denise captivated my heart and emotions as I truly felt for both Shay and Travis in their relationship. Trying to find a way to deal with their feelings and the pain of getting hurt, they both decide to trust God to handle things and the gossip and rumors that any small town is bound to have. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars in my book and can't wait to pick up all the Big Sky Romances!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter

Date:January 17, 2012
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter was my first book of 2012 and what a way to start! I was a little skeptical about how the whole accidental wedding plot was going to come off. Denise admits that she took a few liberties to make it possible, but I thought she pulled it off well. It was a bit of a stretch, but I was okay with it. It's fiction after all, people!
I really liked Travis. I felt like he got a bad rap from Shay throughout much of the book, but I could see how hard he was trying! At the same time, though, I could see how badly Shay had been hurt . . . time after time. I was torn the entire time trying to decide who to pull for. :)
Denise also did a great job weaving in elements of faith. It wasn't too over-the-top but Shay faced an honest struggle with not worrying so much about what everyone else thinks. I think that's something we all deal with from time-to-time.
Being the second book in the Big Sky series, I also liked catching up with old friends from the first book A Cowboy's Touch. You certainly don't have to read the first one to keep up, but I'm sure that you'll want to!
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed The Accidental Bride . . . even better than the first one in the series! It's a light-hearted, fun read. Definitely add this to your TBR list!
I received a free copy from Thomas Nelson via The B&B Media Group and FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Budding Violinist
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you read a book titled The Accidental Bride: A Big Sky Romance? This new book by Denise Hunter profiles a young woman who has been shunned in love and who has yet to forgive the man who left her at the altar. Many years later as the widowed mother of a young girl, she crosses paths again with her former lover. If that isn't bad enough, some well-meaning neighbors interfere with some town plans and accidentally serve as witnesses in an actual wedding ceremony!!
In the annals of Christian fiction, this book isn't particularly Christian. It doesn't deal with deep religious issues or long spiritual quests. The pastor is not a key figure and neither is some moral or biblical passage. Yet, it is a clean, well-written book about a hilarious subject matter. It's true that this would never happen in real life, but The Accidental Bride is sure to keep you captivating by its turning and twisting plot and the end cannot be but satisfying.
Disclaimer: I received a free review copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

unbelievable plot line

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shay Brandenberger has been disappointed in love, twice. Fourteen years ago she was left on the courthouse steps. The boy she had played with as a child, fallen in love with as a teen, and planned to marry right out of high school, Travis McCoy, had run out on her right before the wedding.
Years later she married someone else. They had a wonderful child, Olivia. But then he had left her and a few years later, had died.
Aged 32, Shay was a native of Moose Creek, Montana, and was trying to keep her family farm going. But she was behind on the mortgage payments and the power company had threatened to turn off her electricity.
Then Travis walks back into her life. He's back in Moose Creek after being on the rodeo circuit. He's made enough money to last him a lifetime. He's back to care for his parent's farm while they are on a mission trip. He has never lost his love for Shay. He knew it was wrong to leave her, even as he ran away from the wedding. But he was so young and the rodeo was calling.
Shay knows deep down she still loves Travis. He was her first love and she has never been able to let that go. But the hurt from his abandonment runs just as deep.
Then life for the both of them gets even more complicated as the Founder's Day celebration occurs. They separately agree to play the bride and groom at a reenactment. Then Travis gets the news that the “fake” wedding certificate he and Shay signed was, in fact, the real certificate from fourteen years ago.
The sparks fly as Travis wants to make the wedding work while Shay is just as determined to make him leave.
This is a unique plot. I've never seen anything like it. A bride left at the altar, so to speak. And then the marriage planned fourteen years ago happens, without the knowledge of those involved.
This was a pretty good read but I did have a few problems with the story line.  Hunter does admit in the afterward that marriage licenses are not valid for fourteen years, as she has in her book. So she stretched the believability of the plot there.
Also, Shay's farm has a mortgage even though it has been in her family for three generations. The farm should have been paid off by now. But being behind on the mortgage is essential to the plot.
Also, Shay has the same problem over and over again. I got a bit bored with the repetition. There doesn't seem to be any growth in that area.
Also, Hunter writes of passion and some of the scene have a bit more passion than usual for a Christian romance. On occasion I felt a little uncomfortable with what I was reading.
The Christianity of the characters is well portrayed – a much appreciated aspect of the novel.
This is certainly not the best Christian romance I've read lately.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Appealing Plot about Second Chances

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Denise Hunter's latest release and a follow-up to A Cowboy's Touch in her A Big Sky Romance series certainly has an attention-grabbing title. After all, how can two people really get married accidentally? Hunter acknowledges that these circumstances are a bit contrived and highly unlikely. Yet, for both the author and readers it is hard to resist such a storyline because it offers the potential for further blunders and moments of tension as the consequences of such an arrangement unfold.
Because I read A Cowboy's Touch, I was looking forward to re-visiting Moose Creek, Montana and characters from the first series. Shay and her daughter Olivia made appearances in the first book, and I was looking forward to reading Shay's story since she was portrayed as a hard-working and loving single parent, experiencing her share of challenges. In The Accidental Bride, readers will continue to see that Shay is independent and strong-willed. These character traits are born out of past experiences and hardships, which include financial insecurity, being left at the altar by her high school sweetheart, and later being deserted by her husband. There is no doubt that she carries layers of hurt, disappointment, and betrayal beneath her guarded front.
The one person who threatens to break through these barriers is Travis McCoy, Shay's accidental groom and the man who jilted her. I initially thought that I would not like Travis; but because Hunter switches viewpoints, we are able to see both of their perspectives. There is no doubt that situations in the past were not handled well, but I found myself liking Travis better than Shay, which really surprised me. I was actually irritated by Shay and her stubborn streak, especially during the second half of the novel. While I understand the feelings that motivated her decisions, I grew tired of her willfulness. Finally, when there was a resolution in sight, the novel drew to a close a bit too quickly for me, considering the obstacles that were encountered throughout the story.
Denise Hunter continues to be an author who crafts well-written, modern romances. The Accidental Bride began on a promising note, but I just could not always sympathize with Shay. This lack of connection to a main character caused the story to be one of my least favorites of Hunter's. Despite this setback, I still look forward to a possible upcoming third book in A Big Sky Romance series.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Accidental Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Love Story: The Accidental Bride by Denise

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some author's write stories that grip you, some write stories that scare you and some write sweet romances. Denise Hunter, author of The Accidental Bride and A Cowboy's Touch from the Big Sky Romance series, falls into the latter category. When you read a book by Ms. Hunter you're bound to be swept away by a light-hearted romance, simply put her books are good readin!'
In The Accidental Bride we are once again in Moose Creek, Montana and some characters from A Cowboy's Touch make cameo appearances. Shay Brandenberger was left at the altar by Travis McCoy here high school sweetheart. Years later, at the request of a friend Shay agrees to participate in the reenactment of a Founder's Day wedding without knowing who the "groom" is. Thanks to the minister performing the ceremony Shay gets married to the last man she'd ever want--her ex fiance. Modern day cowboys and independent heroines butt heads and make for some sizzling chemistry.
While I don't quite understand how Shay and Travis ended up officially married since they never technically said vows to each other this story is just so romantic! I'm such a sucker for the knight in shining armor and that's just what Travis is. It may not be the most believable story, in fact some things didn't make a whole lot of sense to me but I liked it anyway. Denise definitely writes heroes you wish you could meet and frustratingly stubborn heroines who you'd sometimes like to slap but they are what make her stories. If you're looking for a book to read on a lazy Sunday afternoon this is it.
4.5 out of 5 stars
*I received my complimentary review copy from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest opinion of the book.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>