Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook

Thomas Nelson It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook

Kids are constantly being bombarded with "truths" about the Theory of Evolution-nip it in the bud with this Gold Medallion Book Award winner that offers solid, Biblical answers to some of the tough questions kids ask about evolution and our world. With fun facts and fun activities, this book will expose your children to Creationism and allow kids (and parents) to develop confidence in their faith, while explaining the beliefs of those who think that life came into existence without God. Recommended for ages 7-12. 192 pages, softcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Review 1 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good biblical handling of topics for young teens

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Location:Merrimack, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using these books in my middle school Sun. class. Each lesson is based on a Bible passage concerning a topic for growth. The chapters are not long and can easily be added to if desired - or used as discussion starters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
nebraskalisa
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent book. It is recommended for ages 7-12, but I enjoyed it as an adult and found it very useful to teach others about creation science. It provides many specific details about the wonders of creation that just aren't easily found and put together in such a logical and easy to understand manner anywhere else. I cannot emphasize how highly I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Homeschooling Librarian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book shows the truth of science and scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Biblical Resource

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacque
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book...from the title to the pictures to the way it was laid out! It is full of reasons why evolution can't work and why other theories fail and how the Bible can fill in some of those blanks. It is a great fit for the 9-12 year old who is questioning why their teacher teaches them one thing and they are learning something different in school. There are many Bible verses that are included to make the point on topic and most would be great memory verses. The end of the chapters have some great Just For Fun activities to do as a whole family...great family time! I wouldn't go much younger than 9 or 10 because it can be a little in depth in places. I did review this as an e-book..but am going to look for the physical copy to share with my kids!
If you have kids who are questioning or are just looking for more reinforcement of faith...pick this up!
I was given a copy of this book by BookSneeze for an honest review. No other compensation was given and I was not required to even like the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Science and Bible

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It couldn't just Happen
This book is targeted toward children and youth. The book answers questions about Science and Evolution.
To accomplish this, Richards presents 16 chapters focused on basic science issues related to studying the origins of the earth, life, and humanity. He dedicates the last 4 chapters of the book to explaining his view of the Bible and commending the Bible as the starting point for knowledge and study.
Some topics covered in the book are asteroids, dinosaurs, and fossils.
At the end of each chapter there is 5 just for fun things to do.
Book is well worded as well as the Author don't just say take my word for it but encourages you to dig deeper and look things up on your own.
Another great aspect of this book is it is full of scripture verses as well as Science.
I receive this book from Thomas Nelson for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chew Keng Sheng
Location:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an extremely informative, excellent book on apologetics - answering tough questions like
“Did Earth begin with a ‘Big Bang’ cosmic explosion?”
“Does science contradict the Bible?”
“What happened to dinosaurs?”
“Is there life on other planets?”
“Did we evolve from apes?”
“What makes my body work on its own?”
I am really really attracted to the uniqueness of this book to make the enormously complex issues like ones highlighted above into simple, comprehensible materials that can be digested at the level of a teenage kid.
Although originally intended for kids, I find this book to be informative for myself too. As a lecturer and as someone who deals with college students in CF, this book is an excellent book for me to carry along in my iPad wherever I go, because it contains an enormous wealth of scientific information, that adhere to the sovereignty and creativity of our Creator God. To those who are not so inclined to scientific arguments, the materials contained in this book may seem a bit daunting and mind-blowing, but to those who love science, including myself, this book is simply, simply amazing!
Highly recommended!
*********************
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this e-book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
**********************
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It Couldn't Just Happen

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation is a book that is geared for older children to answer questions about the creation of the world from a Christian perspective. Children today are bombarded with a lot information that may or may not be true about the creation of the world and in his book, Richards addresses questions and false information from a biblical view. Some of the questions he addresses are:
"Did Earth begin with a 'Big Bang' cosmic explosion?"
"Does science contradict the Bible?"
"What happened to dinosaurs?"
"Is there life on other planets?"
"Did we evolve from apes?"
"What makes my body work on its own?"
I enjoyed reading this book and getting a taste for issues to come with my own children. I think this book is geared more for upper elementary or middle school aged children. I was hoping this book might provide conversation starters for my own children, but I don't think they are quite ready for the content of this book, as some of the information is technical and a bit dry for younger readers. I received a complimentary copy of this book from booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was an okay attempt

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elmertang
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation by: Lawrence Richards Let me first state that I am a scientist and have studied both evolution and creationism. I am also a Christian and have no problems with either creationism or evolution. I feel that they can coincide with each other, if you will have an open mind and not shut out the other side (in which I feel there should be no sides). This book was an interesting take on how the author feels that the universe was created. I did feel as if his audience a bit off. He is aiming a younger audience but I feel that it is bland like a textbook. I see his points about how God created the universe but I think that he missed the point when he was trying to disprove science. I did like the way that he tried to use scripture to try and explain his viewpoints. I also liked how he did not always try to "brainwash" the reader into just creationism. I does not totally try to condemn this book as being one that should not be read but caution that all books on this matter should be read with an open mind and study the facts for both sides. I have read better but I have also read much worse. I may be back to reread this book and analyze it more at a later time. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It Couldn't Just Happen

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It Couldn't Just Happen; Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation is a book designed to answer childrens' questions about the world from a Creationist point of view. While I love the concept of this book, I also found it to be a bit dry and wonder how it would keep the attention of a child. The facts and style of writing would definitely be geared for an older child; perhaps 5-7th grade. I was hoping that it would answer questions from younger children in a simple manner, but younger children would be bored by all the scientific talk in the book. However, for older children, it tackles the subjects of our universe, how life began, evolution vs. Evolution, and more. The truths in this book are valid and to the point. It would be useful to doubting tweens, teens, and adults.
I received a complimentary copy of the eBook "It Couldn't Just Happen; Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation" by Lawrence O. Richards through Thomas Nelson Publishing's Booksneeze blogging program in exchange for an honest review. I am not required to write a positive review, all opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, Author Lawrence Richards scientifically and biblically explains many of the wonders of the universe. The book is divided into 5 parts:
Part One: Earth in Our Universe
Part Two: How Life Began
Part Three: Evidence from Living Things
Part Four: Humanity in God’s Nature
Part Five: The Book That Didn’t Just Happen
Lawrence Richards has included scientific facts, Bible verses, and Fun Facts to make this book interesting to children and adults alike. I am sure that my family will be referring to this book many times to help answer questions that arise about our planet and it's creation.
----------------------------------------------
I received this complementary book from Thomas Nelson in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda McQuinn Carlblom
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I was very pleased with this book. It has beautiful pictures, fascinating facts and good Bible truths that shoot down the evolution theory. I also appreciated the activities it suggests for kids to do at the end of each chapter. Some are science experiments and others are easier things like star gazing. I originally bought this book to give my daughter who homeschools their 3 sons, but I also used it for a lesson in my elementary Sunday school class one week. Awesome material, visually pleasing, full of God's truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great eBook

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Couldn’t Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God’s Awesome Creation By Lawrence O. Richards
The title states the premise of the entire book, earth, and the universe did not just happen randomly by chance. Inside this book one will find not only strong scientific support of Biblical Creationism, one will also find an intelligent discussion of the theory of Evolution. While the scientific facts presented strongly support creation of the universe by an intelligent being (rather than chance evolution), the book does not only present one side of the story without providing a look at the opposing opinion in the matter.
I like the format of this book because it not only presents the case for Creation according to the Bible, but it also presents the views of the Evolutionist to compare. I think this is important in education. In order to teach our children to think, and discern they cannot be brought up in a vacuum with only one kind of thought presented to them or they will founder when they leave and are expected to respond to everything which they will find outside the nest.
This book is written at a level which would be accessible for an independent reader in about 6th grade, although it will work nicely as a read-aloud supplement to a science program for younger children. There are enough color illustrations to make the pages interesting to younger children. I am looking forward to using this book with my 3rd and 4th grade children this year in our homeschool.
I received a copy of this book for free from Booksneeze in return for an honest review of it.
<http://booksneeze.com/blogger/ebook/9781400317141>
For links, cover images, guides and more, also check out the reviewer resources for this book.
<http://booksneeze.com/blogger/resources/9781400317141>
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Science meets scripture- well done

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“It couldn’t just happen, knowing the truth about God’s awesome creation” by Lawrence O Richards is a great non-fiction book that you definitely want to get into with your kids. If you want your kids to be versed on a scientific approach to seeing God’s hand on this world and how yes, even science points to the hand of a creator, then I would recommend you buying this book. The book marries scripture to science in an interesting and fun way for the reader. After reading about the universe and what it’s made of -planets, stars, quasars, etc. and their relation to the earth makes Psalm 19 come alive-”The heavens declare the glory of God”.
This book is broken down into 5 parts- the first part is “Earth in our universe” and the uniqueness of our planet in the scheme of things to section 2 and “How life began” and how there is more scientific evidence that points to creation than against it. The 3rd section deals with “Evidence from Living Things” and addresses amazing facts about animals that Evolution simply cannot explain. Section 4 is Humanity in God’s Nature- and debunking the whole Neanderthal people “animal like chain of human evolution” aka cavemen situation. And finally the last portion called “The Book that just didn’t happen” dealing with the Bible and how it is a “revelation”-“that it tells us things about God we couldn’t discover without God telling us.” (pg 169) It also links in the science of archeology and how it has shown Bible claims to be true over and over again.
This is a great book to go through with your children and will give them a good working base knowledge in helping to know that science can be on God’s side. I also really appreciated how the author always included at the end of the chapters a fun activity to illustrate his point. It was labeled a “Just for fun section” and it would ask questions to make you think or give you hands on activity like go look at a map to look at how many mountain ranges you could find, etc. And the best thing of all is that parents, you might even learn a thing or two in the process.
I was graciously provided a digital copy of this book through the Booksneeze program in exchange for a review. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It Couldn’t Just Happen, by Lawrence O. Richards, is a children’s book about creation as opposed to evolution. Since children are continually exposed to the theory of evolution in public schools and in the media, it is important to have a resource such as this that discusses the creation model and presents evidence of it.
The book, not at all what I expected, is presented in a textbook fashion and clearly uses a vocabulary appropriate for older children. It is divided into five major parts: Earth in Our Universe, How Life Began, Evidence from Living Things, Humanity in God’s Nature, and The Book that Didn’t Just Happen. Each part includes several chapters, each with a “Just for Fun” section that presents ideas for further discussion or exploration.
I appreciated the wealth of information in this book, as well as the incredible photographs included. I was especially glad to see the last section, which discusses how we can be sure that the Bible and Jesus are trustworthy, included. Also, the index at the end could be especially helpful if one were looking for information on a particular topic.
I found the book a little slow in the beginning, but easier to read further in. In addition, I found that some of the evidence was more of a circumstantial nature than provable fact. One must be carefully evaluate the evidence for him or herself and form an individual opinion.
Nevertheless, it was a marvelous book, a great addition to any library.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How it DID happen!

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It couldn't Just Happen By Lawrence Richards is a book packed full of knowledge. This includes Biblical answers to tough questions that your kids will ask you. Like "Did we evolve from apes?" or "What happened to the dinosaurs?" There are a lot of fun facts in here along with fun activities at the end of each chapter. As a parent/ adult, I found this book just as fascinating. It was exciting to know that I was going to have a tool that I can utalize when my kids get to that age.
One thing I really like about this book is it's not written in text book language. It is very easy to understand and encourages you to explore on your own. I also like that even though the core is about science, there is still a lot of Bible verses involved. Oh, what our schools are missing these days. It makes me confident as a parent when these sorts of resources make it so easy to help explain things.
I receive this book free from Thomas Nelson in return for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could it - Just Happen?

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids are daily exposed to the theory of evolution by the media and public schools. It's not safe to assume that your kids will reject that theory. It's up to us as parents and Christian leaders to make sure our children know the truth about the creation of the world. With thousands of evidences to prove He created and sustains the universe, It Couldn't Just Happen will fascinate kids with fun activities and examples of God's marvelous works.
It Couldn't Just Happen is a little book packed with lots of information proving Creation of the Bible over the theory of evolution. Richards starts with the Creation event itself and follows with amazing facts about the human body, animal and plant life, fossil records, weather events, and nature's impossible-to-ignore reflection of its Creator. Throughout, he uses Scripture proofs and without hesitation says the Bible is the inspired, inerrant Word of God, and that there is no room for doubting its validity when it comes to Creation, historical Adam and Eve, and the proof of God's handiwork in humans and nature.
A few cool additions the author adds:
1. At the end of each "chapter" there are 5 exercises you can do with your children to enhance each topic.
2. The inclusion of verses from the Bible throughout the book are great. People want to separate science and religion, but these verses tie them together quite nicely.
3. It is definitely a evangelistic tool. The last section of the book dives into what the Bible says about all the topics, what Jesus taught, and some great comparisons between our modern day knowledge and the past wisdom.
The illustrations and pictures are beautiful and breathtaking, and I think it's a great tool for parents to have.... after all, there will come a day when your children will have questions, and it's probably a good thing to have a little back up :)
At the end of each chapter, there are great discussion questions. These aren't questions that have a right or wrong answer but are thought provoking questions that aim to challenge the reader & get them thinking. The incredibly awesome people at Thomas Nelson blessed me with this book in exchange for a thoughtful and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good homeschooling resource for Creation science

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tonia
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title Lawrence O. Richards chose for this book explains the purpose of it's writing – it couldn't just happen; earth didn't just pop onto the scene and slowly evolve to sustain life as we know it today. Through a look at many facets of life on earth – from the earth itself, its place in the solar system, various creatures, and our own human bodies, Richards refutes various components of the Theory of Evolution. The book is obviously written from a creationist point-of-view. With chapters full of gorgeous photographs, Richards shares various facts about earth and the things it contains and how those facts prove that things couldn't just happen – there was a master plan and a creator behind everything – from the largest planet to the smallest cell.
While the book is marketed as a children's book, I believe it's better suited for 6th grade and above. It could easily be used in a homeschool setting, with easy-to-read sections, colorful photos, and follow-up activities at the end of each chapter. I liked the writing style and think it would make a nice supplement to a science program. I enjoyed reading it and look forward to using this resource in the future with my daughter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book far exceeded my expectations.

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
stace
Location:Arkansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading It Couldn't Just Happen, by Lawrence O. Richards. It's an intriguing work that describes how Creationism varies from Evolutionism. Although written and marketed as a children's book, I feel it best fits the middle-school and older bracket. As an adult, I even found it strengthened my faith and brought to light facts that I wasn't aware of.
Dr. Richards, who is a retired seminary professor and has written 250 books, has an amazing writing style that captivated me from page 1. He used scripture throughout to illustrate carefully researched scientific information. The book reads much like a textbook, with photographs, charts and discussion questions. It covers a wide array of topics, such as: the universe, geology, scientific theory, dinosaurs, the human body, and much more. Dr. Richards wraps up the book by making it clear why we can trust scripture about not only creation, but also what it tells us about Christ. It Couldn't Just Happen would be a perfect addition to a homeschooler's curriculum or a way for a public school student to inform his/her teachers and classmates of the truth of our beginnings.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Education for All Ages

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
SCMOM08
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up in a Christian home, went to a Christian school, and attended church every Sunday. But I still had my occasional doubts about the world and wondered if just maybe some of the science theories were true. Especially when I became old enough to work and began interacting more with people who do not believe the Biblical creation story. I'm not a mom, so when I found this book by Lawrence Richards entitled, “It Couldn't Just Happen” it brought back a lot of my old thoughts. I grabbed it in hopes of learning how to better share the truth with my nieces and nephews, but found that I learned a lot more than even I knew! Richards does a wonderful job of explaining other scientific theories without demeaning them or their originators. The author walks us through scientific FACTS that actually prove the Bible story true. I found the chapter about the intricate details of the human body the most interesting. The vast universe is impressive enough, but God put great details into us as well. Richards also gives specific Bible verses that help the reader remember how we know God created the world and it's not just a crazy belief someone made up. I am very excited to pass this book along to my family members and hope it will help them as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Creationist Perspective

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daryl Neipp
Location:Avon Lake, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is written from the creationist perspective and geared toward children eight years old and up. Richards is an established author of over 100 books and he has a remarkable grasp on what language would best fit this age group. While many books in this category bash opposing viewpoints and simply compare and contrast perspectives, this book does not go down the road of taking cheap shots at evolution. It does provide an appropriate description of evolution but is respectful in tone. The best chapters of the book explore the wonders of nature and the intricacies of the human body. It is with this evidence the author moves to demonstrate how this points to a designer and creator. This book isn’t likely to persuade an evolutionist but it does provide very useful information for the child who is attempting to understand the creationist perspective.
In an attempt to provide full disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.