Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook

Thomas Nelson This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 1681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Review 1 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

well written

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The life they are a part of is filled with violence and anger and they need the Lord Jesus just like we all do... in a witness protection or the Mafia killed you, so how did her husband escape this? She had to have Faith or just be naive to have stuck out the marriage. Maybe my expectations were just to high considering the title of the book. They began seeing each other, dating, and would eventually marry. When she married him, she was young and naive and not really aware of the fact that he was involved in a Mafia family. This is a fascinating, easy read on how a leader in the Mob finds a Christian wife and is eventually chosen by God Almighty to enter a new life as a born-again Christian. t I really want to learn more about. To walk away from millions of dollars and a lifestyle that he had been in his who life to go straight is truly remarkable. I liked this book well enough, and to some people I would think it would be very interesting.
. I say this because most of the lessons being taught can be used in your life. These lessons are life lessons and will help you to live a better and more fulfilling life. The author relates the hardened,unvarnished stories of the most notorious underworld figures in their own words. He then cites the lessons from history that serve as reminders of Santayana's axiom regarding remembering the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

from the heart

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
afriend
Location:st louis, mo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good read, it gets very personal and describes how she felt whenever Mike was in jail. Nothing was held back, it was a little hard believing that she did not know of her husbands past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy, quick read

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I got the book. I thought it was going to be one of those "self-help" type book or some sort of a spiritual journey.
It was about an Italian film producer who met and fell in love with a young Mexican dancer. Cammy Franzes met Michael while she was rehearsing for a dance. At first she kept putting his off but finally decided it was time to go out with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Faith in Action

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a book that is very easy to read that talks about the life and marriage of Michael and Cammy Franzese. Michael is an anomaly in the sense that he was able to walk away from his life as a former Mob boss and live to tell about it. The book is about Cammy's experiences of being married to Michael and the stresses and challenges of being married to someone who spent a lot of time in prison and has faced death threats multiple times. Cammy does a great job of weaving her faith and perspective throughout the book.
The story was a quick read, and Cammy does a very good job of giving a woman's perspective on dealing with a challenging marriage. She interjects her beliefs and faith in Christ throughout the story very effectively. I have previously read books that Michael Franzese had written about his former life, which gave me a lot of valuable background knowledge. I think this book would lose some of it's impact if that information is missing for readers, but it was still a great book to encourage women who are in difficult relationships that there is nothing that is beyond the reaching of God's redemptive power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A difficult story to read

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
CKKIN
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a difficult book for me to review as it is an autobiography. How do you review someones own reflections on their life? The real difficult thing for me is that I disagree with the main theme of the book, and ultimately the life of the author.
Cammie Franzese was brought up in a poor family. Her father thought of herself as a revolutionary, and put 'the cause' before his family. He was an alcoholic and didn't provide basics like food for his children. Her mother however remained faithfully devoted to him firmly under the mantra of 'we make choices, and we have to deal with the consequences, so we always have to pray'. Her mother felt that it was her choice to marry this man therefore she must stick with him whatever that meant. Cammie wound up marrying a man who was a big player in the mafia, though he didn't reveal any aspect of his past to her before or during their marriage (she found out the details when she read his book). Cammie adopted her mother's mantra, even believing she heard God say to her "You reap what you sew, I allowed you to be together, but ultimately there are consequences for the choice you made." These consequences included raising her family alone as her husband was in jail for charges she didn't fully understand or ask about, and even finding herself briefly in jail due to her husband's actions.
There are many aspects of this book that made me very uncomfortable, but the main thing I saw over and over was the cycle that was perpetuated in this family. Cammie saw her mother committed to an abuse, though perhaps not physically abusive husband, and found herself in the same situation. There are many small tidbits of conversations Cammie writes about where her children are showing evidence of going towards a similar fate. They stand up for their father when their mother is frustrated with his temperament or possessiveness, and say simply 'that's who he is'. Though really, the point of the book seems to be to encourage people that they have to stick out marriages, or other situations, regardless of the dangers they present, because we have to live with our consequences. I think that's what the author wants us to come away with.
The tricky part of reviewing this for me is that on one hand I agree. Life is full of choices, and we are accountable for those choices. We do have to live with our consequences, both on earth and ultimately to God. But, at the same time I don't think this was the message Jesus brought. He taught about grace and forgiveness; He came to protected the abused, the poor and the powerless. I have a problem with any teaching that calls people to stay in a bad situation, simply because they got themselves into that bad situation. How Cammie didn't see the affect her mother's commitment to an unchanging, irresponsible man affected her and her siblings safety, and how staying with a similar kind of man will affect her own children, is something I don't understand. Of course, I have never encountered anything like this in my own life.
Overall the writing of the book is a bit clumsy; it felt more like a letter someone might write a friend letting them know about their life. The timeline jumps around quite a bit, and new individuals are quickly mentioned without background and never mentioned again. But, it is a biography and not meant to be a great piece of literature. Cammie's husband has his own full time ministry with book, as he is a Christian now, and after reading this I have no desire what so ever to read anything of his. I fear what this book would do in the hand of a victim of abuse. Most books I read I try to pass along to someone, but I don't know what to do with this. I know I will not read it again, and can't think of anyone who would be particularly interested in reading it. However it will say it got me thinking quite a bit, and chipping away for myself and my beliefs and where they lie with what Jesus taught.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Faith and the Mafia

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I scooped up the book, This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage, by Cammy Franzese in hopes of answering some of my looming mafia questions (I have an odd obsession). Sadly, I can’t say I really have any answers - not that I really expected to glean them from this, or any book. I was enthralled with the story though.
Cammy was a young dancer who met Michael, the director for the movie she had a part in. She didn’t know his other profession and the two soon fell in love. The story unfolds with fancy dinners, expensive jewelry, the wedding all girls dream of, and naive bliss. The truth is unveiled, and soon, the man of Cammy’s dreams is a totally different man. He is a wanted mafia dude and suddenly, she is a broken and dismayed wife about to live the life she never dreamed of.
While I wish the book enlightened my mafia mania a little more, I was still quite satisfied with its reading. It was a story of a woman who made some choices – and then relied on God as she lived through them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Words of Wisdom

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Thing of Ours - How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage is possibly the least likely book to draw my attention. While I savour reading, I know very little about the mob and had never heard of Michael Franzese. Coming to this book without a desire to read all the ins-and-outs of the mob from the wife's perspective is possibly why I ended up enjoying it. Some reviewers have been disappointed but it seems that some of them were looking for more of the secrecy and thrill of living a hunted existence.
It's hard to comprehend that Cammy dated and married such a powerfully-connected and extremely wealthy man without taking a step back to examine where all the power and money came from. However, she was young, had come from a home where her father was lacking in many areas, and I'm sure all the glamour of the lifestyle she found herself in easily swept her along.
Cammy is continually reminding her readers that our choices shape what our lives become. That's the primary reason she stayed with her husband through his two 4-year prison stints. Sadly, her commitment to marriage isn't the norm in society today but what a breath of fresh air to read a story where a woman remained committed to her marriage when she could have walked out on Michael.
I was also encouraged by the words of wisdom Cammy shared about her mother's commitment to the Lord and how she exemplified that in her life and marriage. If you are struggling in your marriage and wonder what your purpose is, I recommend this book. It isn't a this-is-what-you-do manual, but it is a resource; two women who stayed with their husbands when the world told them they should leave.
Apparently, Michael Franzese was saved prior to his second incarceration but that wasn't made clear until later in Cammy's book. It can only add to Cammy's book to read Michael's history; I plan to look into his books soon too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the book The Thing of Ours

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book I originally was hesitant to get because I do not know if I was going to like it or not but when I found out it was a true story I ended up wanting it. And reading a fellow blogger's review on booksneeze.com helped me decide I wanted to read it.
This book is about how a girl falls in love with a man and he turns out to be working in the mob and ends up going to jail during her marriage and how she copes with taking care of the children and how she handles her man in jail. The book ends with both of them finding the word of GOD and Jesus and changed their life around. I really enjoyed the stories they put in the book and I read in about 3 days. Normally I read books faster but I got busy in life, lol.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants just a great book to curl up on the couch and read and just want a book to get into and take you away from life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Thing of Ours

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Thing of Ours is the story of Cammy Franzese and how her relationship with Michael Franzese began and the various struggles they endured throughout their life together. My husband has heard Michael speak at a church so I was already familiar with their story. She really got across the influence her mother had on her life. I appreciated the insight she gave and the faith and prayer life her mother displayed. I also thought the point she kept making about this was her choice and she must live with the consequences of her choice was a refreshing thought in a world where we often don't take responsibility and look for an easy way out. The legacy of her mother was truly inspiring and it really came across that it was the faithful prayers of her mother that allowed her to overcome. I will say that this book makes more sense if you are already familiar with Michael's story.
I received this book free from booksneeze in exchange for my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

CAN FAITH SAVE A MAFIA MARRIAGE?

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Thing of Ours by Cammy Franzese is a story of God's grace in a turbulent marriage. Camille Garcia was a naive, twenty-year old dancer when she met and fell in love with Michael Franzese on the set of Knights of the City, which he produced. She had no idea the man she would soon marry had ties to the Mafia. During the first decade of their marriage, he would be incarcerated more than once, for a total of eight years. It was in the dark times of their marriage that she fully learned how God's grace can sustain.
While the author's many examples of God's faithfulness were uplifting, I felt that her message of total surrender to God's will was even stronger. She makes the excellent point (more than once) that so many of our trials are a direct result of our choices. It is when we fully surrender our life to God, that He is in control of our situation.
Because of the message of this book, I would have liked to have given 5 out 5 stars. Three things stand in my way, however. I found the writing style to be disjointed, with the narration jumping from one place or time to another with no explanation. Also, while the author speaks of grace and surrender, there is no real depth to the subject. If the reader is unfamiliar with the concepts, the book probably would not be clear enough to be understood. Lastly, I found the author's repeated claims to naivete to be a bit unbelievable. While I am not accusing her of knowing all of her fiance/husband's activities, it is difficult to believe that a 20-year old could have ignored all the warning signs. Therefore, 2 out of 5 stars is more in line.
Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson (January 3, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1595553657
ISBN-13: 978-1595553652
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hope for difficult marriages

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Young, naïve, and out on her own for the first time, Cammy Garcia meets the man who will become her husband – Michael Franzese. She doesn’t understand the criminal underpinnings of his life, and throughout their whirlwind romance she is merely amazed that he is interested in and loves her. As their lives go from a little crazy to in-depth nuts, Cammy learns to see that although she loves her husband very much, he is not a replacement for, nor can he be a higher priority than, God.
Through her mother’s influence and unwavering prayers, Cammy finds that she is able to trust the King of Kings more than she thought possible, but only by releasing Michael from his pedestal. Like her mother did, in her own marriage she made a choice to remain married through the ups and downs. By keeping her eyes on God, and trusting him, she was able to live a life that was positive, even though so many negative things were going on around her.
This book was heartfelt and honest. Cammy doesn’t hold back as she tells the story of the first years of her marriage, and how much she wanted the fairy tale she thought she had to be true. She tells unflinchingly of her own naiveté and spends a lot of thoughtful time discussing how it is she recognized that her control of her circumstances was fleeting, but not outside the control of God. Her tale is compassionate, and it offers hope to many wives who live with husbands that do not share their faith – God can redeem even those who seem irredeemable. And he does.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marri

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a very hard time putting this book down. I found Cammy’s faith to be very inspiring, and her patience through all that she went through her whole life made me really come to admire this woman.
This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage is about a small-town girl Cammy Franzese who didn't plan to marry one of the most powerful mob bosses in the country. She didn't expect to raise her children alone while her husband Michael served hard time. And she certainly didn't anticipate what would happen when he finally made the stunning decision to turn his back on "the life" and become a devout Christian. Cammy expresses the details of her painful and joyful journey, for instance how as a Christian, she met and married Michael when he was an
unbeliever and a high-profile mobster. The high life she lived in their first year of marriage when she had more money than she knew what to do with. What it was like being under law-enforcement scrutiny, dealing with death threats, harassment from the FBI, and having to move several times to protect their family. And how she stayed faithful to Michael and raised their children on her own while he was locked up for eight years.
You will find out why Cammy stayed in a marriage loaded with so much heartache and struggle. With painful honesty, she speaks about restoration, miracles, and the confidence we can have knowing God prepares us for the challenges and obstacles we will one day have to face.
I thought this book was a great and interesting read. I would recommend this book for those of us that have made poor relationship choices and would like to hear of a redemptive story that just may inspire you or someone you know.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Testimony of Faith

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title of this book, This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marraige, immediately got me interested. I expected details to emerge about Cammy Franzese's husband's dealings in the mafia (images of my favorite mafia movie emerged). However, Franzese wrote very little of her husband's part in organized crime, but instead focused on her faith.
The author spoke of how she met her future husband and how she was encouraged by her mother to pray about their relationship. As a young woman giddy with love, she took her time in developing the relationship with Michael Franzese, whom she knew as a movie executive.
As Michael's past came to haunt him (them) early in their marriage, Cammy sough refuge through her faith in God, with the encouragement of her mother. She describe how she was basically acting as a single mom for the first part of her marriage, raising children, running a household, and visiting her husband in prisons across the country. Each step of the way, are stories of how God intervened in her life to take care of her and the lessons she learned about faith, forgiveness, and living with choices.
Although I was slightly disappointed about the lack of "mafia info," I was greatly awed by this book. It is a testimony to women everywhere to depend on God to see you through the rough times in marriage.
I received a coy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fascinating story but hard to follow

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stand by your man is the theme that runs so strongly through the book This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage. This book published by Thomas Nelson is the story of a small town girl who goes out in the world to become a dancer. While she is working on a movie, she meets the executive producer and falls in love, never really knowing what this man’s life was all about.
Cammy Franzese is portrayed as a very young, naïve girl who is pursued by a charismatic man that everyone loves. She keeps her distance for a long time but finally begins to get to know him and eventually they marry. It isn’t long after their marriage that Michael is arrested and Cammy begins to find out what sort of life her husband has lead. The rest of the story is about how Cammy sticks by his side through two separate prison terms; while she is raising their children on her own. The story is written from Cammy’s perspective and her love for her spouse shines through every decision she makes. The influence of her mother’s faith in her life is evident as Cammy often shares about how her mother helped her through so much of the horror of those days and years.
The story really is a fascinating one and is inspiring to see how a woman could stick with her husband because she knew she had made the choice to marry him and there was no going back. I did have a hard time following the order of events in her life as the story seems to flip back and forth between incidents too frequently. I was looking for more information on how she really relied on God during those hard times but it seemed like her mother was her source of strength most often. It felt more like I was reading a journal than a retelling of a story which was a little disappointing.
But all in all, it was a good story on how God can take any life and use it for good and for His glory. The theme of being committed to your spouse runs strongly through the book as does God’s astounding grace. I received this book through the Booksneeze program and am under no obligation to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

God makes things right for His purposes.

Date:December 21, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Perhaps the most stunning aspect of this book is that it captures the truth that God shows up in the messiest situations. In This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage, Cammy Franzese discusses the trials and tribulations of her marriage to Michael Franzese, a member of a notorious crime organization. Incorporating her childhood experiences with a loving, yet negligent father and devout, Christian mother, in addition with the obstacles that are attached to raising children with an incarcerated father, Franzese allows readers to see how the God of Jesus Christ shows up to make things right for His purposes.
Though the Franzese discusses the difficulties of being married to a member of the mob, her most stunning contribution through This Thing is her belief in a God that places everything in motion. Describing her Christian mother that often tolerated her father's alcoholic antics, Franzese learned patience in the midst of trials, a skill she exercises throughout the book. Moreover, when her husband Michael was in prison, Cammy describes her dependence on prayer and faith, which helped enhance her relationship with Jesus Christ.
Though Franzese states that though her husband Michael now works in Christian ministry, offering his testimony to those that will hear, she does not shy away from the fact that her family still struggles because of Michael's past decisions. Despite a strained, yet healing parent-child relationship between Michael and their son Michael Jr., Franzese states that life is better and fuller because of Jesus Christ and His undying love. Overall, the message in This Thing is more than marriages and crime, it is about a God that many, many years ago, appeared in a manger to make the broken things whole.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for This Thing of Ours: How Faith Saved My Mafia Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OK, not perfect

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Libbi Hartwig
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For better or for worse. The phrase that is recited daily by couples, yet is rarely followed through. With divorce becoming the easy way out, it is rare for a family with multiple problems to not split up. This book is the story of Camille Franzese's marriage to a member of a massive mafia {just had to alliterate that :) } Shortly into her marriage, her husband was impounded, for four years. Finally, he is released from prison. And then re-impounded. For another four years. Although being imprisoned is difficult, raising a family without a husband is just as, if not harder to manage. Through it all, Cammy never once had an affair, or pondered divorcing her mob boss husband.
This book dissapointed me. I actually loved it until the last chapter. In fact, it was the last chapter that ruined it for me. I loved the message of really sticking by your husband "for better or worse," no matter what. I genuinely liked the story. But the last chapter killed the rest of the book. I'll spare you the details, but it really made me pretty miserable. I was planning on giving this book to my grandma for Christmas, but the end pretty much ruined that. So, I will say to you, the book is 5 stars until page 174. Skip the rest, and it is a good book!
Sincerely,
Libbi H.
This book was given to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.