Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook

Thomas Nelson Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Review 1 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging words and thoughts

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Atwater, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. There were some very challenging thoughts especially in the first few chapters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

See sin for what it is and how to deal with it!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Favorite Sins, the title grabbed my attention because who really categorizes their sins by ‘favorite’ or ‘least favorite’. This book helps you to see sin for what it is and then gives small doable steps for how you can walk away from those ‘favorite sins’ that we just can’t help ourselves from doing.
‘Sin is basically stupid and repulsive. But when you are in its snare – few aren’t – you can’t see that’. Hunter explains that the core to any sin is disordered desires. He does an excellent job explaining this and the battle we all face of doing what we want vs. what we know we should do. Interestingly enough he doesn’t cover ‘the seven deadly sins’ but rather what we face as daily struggles today, such as anxiety, procrastination, overeating and social media to name a few. Hunter covers why we give in to temptation but also gives you the ‘how- to’ to change those desires.
I’ll admit it took me several months to read this book, not because I didn’t want to read it but because it caused me to evaluate each area of my life with a desire for real life change. Sin robs us from clarity and if we want to be more like Christ then we need clarity and focus in our lives, not distractions and temptations. Temptations do not come from God but from within ourselves, and we have choices to make.
This is not an easy read but well worth the effort if you’re looking to become more like Christ and work through the tough stuff in your life.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much to learn...

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
eliasfamily5
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a bit to get into this book. I will admit I have started it several times and never made it far. I pretty much had the first 4 pages memorized. This time I started on page 4 (ok bottom of page 3) and went on from there. To sit down and read about things you know in your head you are doing "wrong" is a bit tough. The author starts off talking about temptations and moves on covering many topics such as desires, and whether they are from God or not. Anxiety and worry, God tells us not to be anxious about anything (Phil 4:6) Procrastinating, kinda like I have done with this book. We all have "good" reasons to not have done what we know we should. He moves on to talk about,eating, media, laziness and so much more.
With all the topics he covers he explains with scripture how to deal with these different items. These different sins. He uses his own life experiences to help explain situations.
Once you start reading it is well written and helpful in so many ways. He lays it out nice and clear, in a way that you don't need to feel guilty for what you have been doing wrong but you feel hope that you can do better.
I found it a tough read but one that was well worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great (Partial) Resource

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
iainsmurray
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Our Favorite Sins (and how we can quit), written by Todd Hunter (Anglican Bishop/Pastor/Professor) provides valuable insight into the sins that are most often committed within the life of the believer. In addition to providing information on said “sins”, Hunter also sets out to give his readers tips on how these pitfalls can be avoided or beaten altogether.
Firstly, it must be said that the book seems to be very well researched and written. Hunter clearly has lots of experience in dealing with sin (both as a person in ministry and a human being, himself). There is a good flow to the topics and how they are presented, the chapters are easy to follow and the facts are laid out and plain for the reader to see and digest. In this sense, the book is a great success.
However, as I read the book, I couldn’t help but feel as though Mr. Hunter has taken a part of our faith and formed it into some kind of an equation; this is sin, these are specific types of sin, and this is how you quit it…It seems to me that there is more to it than that, and even though Hunter would agree, he spends very little time focusing on that fact.
In the end, I have to give this book partial marks. Todd Hunter, within Our Favorite Sins, creates a good, albeit partial resource
This book was sent to me by Booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book on everyday sins

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an age where the word "sin" is scarcely used, this book goes beyond the "other sins" that everyone else commits and hits some basic ones that most of us don't want to call a sin. Things such as:
Anxiety
Procrastination
overeating
too much media
Laziness
But not only do they point out these things, he also offers some ways to help you commit to quit, such as prayer, liturgy, planning ahead, evaluating what is working, and lots of encouragement.
While you might not be inclined to pick this up, because many don't want to be challenged on such sins that hit so close to home, this is actually a very encouraging upbeat book that will benefit any believer.
I received this book free of charge through Booksneeze, a division of Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
tfkr
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one that I believe any person trying to deal with sin and temptation should read. It provides the reader with a thoughtful reflection upon sin and what it reveals about oneself and their battle with sin.
One of the key things that Hunter points out is at issue within a person as they deal with sin and temptation is the idea and issue of disordered desires. He states “Beating temptation requires struggle because it always involved sorting out rightly ordered desires for good and godly things from our disordered desires for wrong things” (pg. 3). This is one of the things i think many people don’t realize about their struggle with sin. We think it is just something that we can stop, but behind each struggle of sin is a desire and we need to find ways to correctly and rightly fulfill those desires. Hunter points out that this is not an easy battle but something that does take work and energy.
So often we get beaten down in our spiritual journey because we think that it should be easier than it turns out to be. He walks through providing the reader with insight into this struggle and battle and gives hope to the reader that they will be able to deal with their temptation with God’s help and a right understanding of it.
The book provides both a theological and practical insight into this issue that affects all of mankind in one way or anther. This book is one that I think everyone should take a look at and glean some insight and application steps that they can apply to their own lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

dealing with temptation

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
author Todd D. Hunter is an Anglican Bishop and the founding pastor of Holy Trinity Anglican Church. he is also an adjunct professor at several seminaries. his latest book is Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit & How You Can Quit.
the first comment i'd like to make is a superficial one: the book cover is great. i think the cover design is very clever and thought-provoking before you even read a single word in the book. very well done.
Our Favorite Sins deals with something we all face: temptation.
temptation is not the same as sin. being tempted is not a sin.
we seem to beat ourselves up about temptation, though. sometimes i think we see being temptated as sinful as giving in to said temptation.
Hunter writes with a pastors heart and scholars mind referencing the Bible and sharing stories. the book is also enhanced with research from the Barna Group.
Our Favorite Sins is well written and a treat to read.
i would reccomend this book to Christians of all stages on their walk with Christ. it may prevent some struggles for those who are starting a walk with Christ; and it may help those who have been Christians for years see something in a new light that is extremely helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good read

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
tdae1234
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book Review: Our Favorite Sins
This is a book for those desire to follow Jesus and are serious about personal holiness and dealins with sin. It’s chapters are based around a few widely practiced sins and offers insights into the backstory as well as steps toward victory. It is appropriate for adults who desire to live a life of holiness.
I enjoyed this book. I enjoyed reading the backstory on why certain sins develop. I enjoyed the fidelity to the Bible and the litany of ancient and future practices. I appreciate the 'turning from' and the 'turning to' strategy of dealing with sin. I think if there was a bit more emphasis on the 'turning to' side of things beyond simple litany, progress would be heightened even more. Overall, a worthile read.
I received this book from booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Our Favorite Sins The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit
By Todd Hunter
Published by Thomas Nelson
The Essential Guide for Beating Temptation
Falling for temptation isn’t inevitable. We don’t have to lose the fight. In fact, we can win if we understand the root of the problem and what Christians have done from the beginning to beat it. Our Favorite Sins shines a much-needed light in our lives’ dark corners and reveals the time-tested methods for getting victory over sin.
Are you tyrannized by your own desires?
If you are breathing, your answer is probably yes.
The question is: What are you going to do about it?
With more than thirty years of pastoral experience, Todd D. Hunter knows that most people—himself included—struggle every day with temptation. All too often, we fail and fall, and some of us are at our wit’s end, utterly defeated. What do we do to get a grip on the sin in our life and live like God wants?
There’s good news: despite all our failures and shameful “moments after,” there really is a way out, a way forward, and a way that draws us closer to the life that God desires for us.
In Our Favorite Sins, Hunter cracks open the problem of temptation and points to practical, Biblically based, time-tested solutions. First revealing the role played by our disordered desires, Hunter shows how different temptations trip us up and how we can resist and overcome them, even if we’ve fallen prey to them for decades. Victory starts with reordering our desires, and the church has given us the tools for the job. Hunter shows us how to use them and start beating the temptations that so often beat us.
Informed by exclusive research from the Barna Group, Our Favorite Sins offers a view that works for any believer wherever they are and no matter how big the battle they’re fighting.
I would recommend this book to readers of any faith, this is a great book to keep on your nightstand, and pick it up often and read. Also would be great as a gift for anyone.
I liked it .... easy read. The book centers on different forms of sin, such as laziness and procrastination. The chapters explain to us what the sin means, how it affects our lives, and how we can overcome it, but none of the words are incriminating. While reading, it is an easy transaction to put yourself into the book and realize how to better yourself.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Tool

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle “The Sins We Commit & How You Can Quit” tells us both what we do not want to talk about as well as what we have all given thought to often. It’s uncomfortable to think about the sins that we not only commit, but actually fail in regularly. Fortunately, since Mr. Hunter stirs up such subjects for us to face, he goes on to tackle what we should do to overcome these temptations that follow us all through our lives.
In launching into his subject, Mr. Hunter admits the battle that we all face with temptation. He never hides the fact that the battle has been as fierce in his own life as he knows it is for we readers. Quickly he establishes that our wrong desires, springing from pride, are deep inside us and are the ultimate problem in the sins we commit. He makes an understandable and strong case here. I was convinced.
He explains how well we rationalize our sins. His description is really uncanny as I know I have rationalized the way he describes. Then he describes the all too common situation of living years as a Christian and never quite getting victory. In that many of my failures are similar to what they were years ago, I too well know what he means. Add to that the fact that temptation is here to stay, and we are discussing one of the biggest issues of the Christian life.
In probing this issue for us he recognizes that what tempts me probably is not what tempts you. Based on those deep “disordered desires” He ties it together in a clear way the process of desire, rationalization, and then failure. We become creatures who live to feed our desires. We feel helpless and only fail more. He analyzes survey respondents on how they handled temptation and shows that if we even try at all, our pathetic responses are doomed from the beginning.
Then he takes us on an expose of the most common temptations of our times. There’s worry, procrastinating, over-indulgence, social media addiction (Let’s look out as I write on here as you read on here), and laziness. In chapters 9 and 10 he takes these common temptations and brings us back to his premise that our desires must be re-ordered though the power of Christ. It’s helpful stuff.
He has 2 chapters on Sacraments and the Lectionary that I found of little use. He’s an Anglican who uses these things though you would never know it outside these 2 chapters.
This is a great read that highlights the need of a transformational approach rather than the pitiful failing attempts we have used for years. This book can help us.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Comforting Book that May Change Your Life

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't let the title turn you off because this book is full of comfort and encouragement for beginning or older followers of Jesus Christ. Basing his writing on results of a Barna survey Todd Hunter discusses common sins faced by Christians (and non-believers, too.) He especially deals with anxiety, procrastination, over-eating, media addictions and laziness.
He shows that our innermost desires lead us into temptation if they are not given to God for control. The long-term result of giving in to temptation is disaster.
Hunter, an Anglican bishop, gives us beautiful, powerful prayers from ancient liturgies as one remedy for dealing with our disordered desires. He also discusses baptism, communion (he calls it Eucharist), Bible study, prayer and Christian fellowship. He suggests these disciplines as a means toward eventual victory over our desires that mess up our lives in ways we really don't want.
Clearly written and applicable, Our Favorite Sins could become your favorite book. The volume makes a helpful gift, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All who are thirsty...

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hamshaw
Location:Georgetown, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Our Favorite Sins”, Todd Hunter has done an excellent job of assessing the human condition. Through great research by the Barna Group, he pinpoints the sins that have become strongholds. Knowing deeply that what the heart desires, the will chooses, and the mind justifies, and the desperate condition of our hearts, Hunter pastorally leads the sinner to Christ. As with the woman at the well, offering true living drink that can quench the thirst. It is enriched by liturgical meditations, which he makes very evident are not ends in themselves, but act as tools for transformative communion with God. He goes on to encourage morning and evening prayer as a historical means of bringing our brokenness before God, allowing him to give us the desires of our hearts, rather than a means of self-righteousness. There is no legalism in this book, so as to pull yourself up by your own bootstraps. There is no room for self-righteousness. But at the same time, we are not left stuck in our sins. The grace of God is not only a justifying work that clears us from guilt, shame and the powers of death. It brings kingdom resurrection, sanctifying life that transforms the heart of the believer, giving them a new heart and helping them to crucify the flesh. He is certainly not legalistic, but neither does he lead us into license. Justification and Sanctification are not merged into one. There is freedom from the sin as well as the law, although this is not completed until Christ comes again. Todd Hunter has clearly been immersed in the writings of the spiritual greats. He gets it right by getting to the heart of the human problem, which is the problem of the human heart. He not only exposes sins, but walks us through how to come before God and allow him to change us in these areas. So many books are very good at pinpointing the problem, but are dreadful at walking through the solution. Todd Hunter is deeply scriptural, traditional, liturgical, historical and theological. This book is written in clear language that high school students can access, with a depth that leaves none out of its convicting scope. The strength of this book is in the way Hunter directs the reader away from self-centered desires and opens us their relationship with God in a way that is transformational. The real hope is in Christ. He doesn’t leave anyone thirsty, but is the one who can meet our deepest desires and needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book, well written resource

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Todd Hunter is the founding pastor of Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Costa Mesa, CA. and the author of Our Favorite Sins. Todd is also the founding director of Churches for the Sake of Others, the West Coast church planting initiative for The Anglican Mission in the Americas. Todd also foundedThree is Enough, a small group movement that enables spiritual formation in one’s everyday life. Dr. Hunter is an adjunct professor of evangelism and contemporary culture at George Fox University, Fuller Seminary, Western Seminary, Vanguard University and Wheaton College.
1 Peter 2:11 (CEB) Dear friends, since you are immigrants and strangers in the world, I urge that you avoid worldly desires that wage war against your lives.
At first, the title is a little misleading, the book isn’t really about your worst sins, or even the ones that you knowingly struggle with, rather these sins are more subtle. ”The sin that results from desire and temptation is like a major earthquake in deep ocean waters. We think we can hide it because it’s underwater, but this strategy never works.”
Hunter spends several chapters addressing the top five temptations according to Barna.
1. Worry
2. Procrastination
3. Eating
4. Media
5. Laziness
So right away, just note that this book centers more on temptation, the struggle and the tools to do with temptation. Hunter heavily drops scripture where it’s needed for support and does not shy away from using biblical examples. Hunter has been a Bishop for over 30 years and certainly has the authority to speak on this topic and his writing voice is easy to listen to.
Matthew 6:24 (CEB) No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be loyal to the one and have contempt for the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.
Because of Hunter’s Anglican background his solution to temptation centers on the Ancient and Fruitful practices that include the disciplines of silence, abstention and solitude. Hunter suggests retraining your temptations to seek the Kingdom first by observing liturgical prayer and the daily office, the sacraments of Baptism and Communion.
So while this book may not directly address your sins, I think it adds volume to the discussion to how we deal with temptation. Highly recommended. I received this book from Booksneeze for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting take on sin

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
How many of us have had an experience where we know we need to do one thing, but end up foolishly doing exactly the opposite? Or similarly, not done the right thing at the right time?
This book provides an analysis of why all people behave in this way.
In short, the author claims that disordered desire leads us to poor behavior. If we reorient our desires appropriately, it becomes more natural to do the right thing.
This conclusion is based upon the findings of a comprehensive survey by the Barna Group, well-known for its high-quality surveys on a variety of current topics in the church.
Most surprisingly, about 50% of respondents say that they really don’t know why they sometimes give in to temptation and do the wrong thing.
Although I really enjoyed reading this book and found its conclusions valuable, it did not feel like a coherent whole. The author starts with some relevant passages from the Bible and personal stories, transitions into the details of the Barna study, and then abruptly shifts to his experiences with liturgy as an Anglican bishop.
But other than this one flaw in structure, I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning more about how to respond to our natural tendency to do the wrong thing, even when we know that we ought to do the right thing.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was "Okay"

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To be honest here, I was a bit disappointed with this book. By all means it was well written and a lot of what the author had to say was quite good advice. But I had hoped that the book would be a little deeper than it was, and that it would have been willing to go into the more serious/addictive sins. He did deal with some prevalent sins, (anxiety, procrastination, overeating, {improper} internet usage, and {improper} social media usage) but to me, these are the easier to discuss ones, but not the ones that are really bringing down and getting a stronghold in a lot of Christian lives. He did deal with everyday type sins, which is very important as well, but I feel he had {and missed} a great opportunity to deal with the more secret kinds as well. As a Pastor's wife, I'm generally on the lookout for books that are willing to go into those uncharted territories, that are willing to open discussions about those hidden, addictive sins that many are just not willing to speak about. (and I do acknowledge that the author touched every lightly on these subjects) So on that level I was pretty disappointed, by the title of the book and the description, I had thought that this would be a book that had a chance to be a great tool for those stuck in sin, and that disappointingly was not the case.
However, what the author does address was very well spoken about and he used a lot of good common sense suggestions and encouraging and appropriate Scripture. So while it wasn't the book I was hoping it would be, it was still quite a good book. Its one I'll keep on the bookshelf and most likely use once in a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Under-delivered

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia L
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Todd Hunter outlines different types of sins that people seem likely to commit. He delves into the why's and how's and then looks at how those sins can be stopped &/or prevented.
Let me start with what I like (because, in truth, I really wanted to like this book)... I love the graphic cover design. The bold simple title and bright colors are eye-catching. I also like how the book was organized according to different types of sins. Out of all of the chapters, the one I read with most interest was Chapter 9: Modern and Futile, which dissects "modern and futile" ways many people think and deal with temptation. If this were a gossip magazine, the title for that chapter might instead read "7 myths about temptation".
What didn't I like? Well, it's not necessarily that I didn't like this, that or the other thing. It's more that I felt the book under-delivered as a whole. Perhaps I expected too much or perhaps the author's writing style just didn't mesh well with my reading style. Either way, it didn't resonate with me as much as I had anticipated.
*I received a copy of this book to read and review from BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Revolutionary Framework

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe every Christian should find time to read “Our Favorite Sins”. Mr. Hunter has created a revolutionary framework to explain how our Disordered Desires lead us to Temptation and from Temptation into sin. Todd looks mainly to the Letters of James and core teachings of Jesus to develop his framework. His reasoning is sound and I believe his interpretation of the scripture is accurate, and his assertions through this interpretation are enlightening.
This book took me longer to read then then the 250 pages suggested because each page is chalked full of key insights and essential concepts. I often found myself reading and re-reading a page so I could fully digest all these valuable points. For this book I highly recommend readers have a highlighter handy.
This book is called “Our Favorite Sins” because Mr. Hunter is addressing the sins we commit every day, usually without knowing we are sinning. (There is a name and solution for this but you have to read the book yourself to find out). That isn’t to say that our little sins: “gossip”, ”laziness”, ”worry”, and “doubt” are any less important or less soul destroying, but where murder or robbery smack most Christians even most Americans as heinous acts, we sometimes tell ourselves that a little gossip isn’t such a bad thing no one gets hurt. After reading this little book you will have a totally different, life changing view of your favorite little sin…
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I had the chance to read the book Our Favorite Sins- The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit by Todd Hunter though a program from Booksneeze that offers free books to bloggers in return for honest review, whether positive or negative.
We all have our "thing" we secretly deal with.
You know- that attitude, emotion, addiction, or just plain habitual sin that we love but hate at the same time... and try to hide from everyone around us. I too, am guilty of this, which explains why I was a such a skeptic when I saw this book on the lineup. I have read more than one book before that promised victory. That promised I could be changed if I did the right things in the right order and just tried- and yet, left me neither exasperated and unable to commit, or just worse off than I was when I started.
This book was not like that.
It gave you honest information, about honest things and made you feel like whatever you're trying to let go of was worth fighting for. It showed you that you weren't alone in your struggle- regardless of how the devil tries to convince you other wise. It gives you statistical data about what types of people struggle with certain kinds of temptation and what coping mechanisms (sometimes the right one, sometimes not) they choose in order to deal with it.
I am also really big on inspirational quotes, and this book had a lot of good ones.
More than anything, though, this book doesn't make you feel like a failure, and encourage rings on literally every page.
It is one of those books you want to just have to have.
I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Our Favorite Sins: The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Favorite Sins The Sins We Commit and How You Can Quit By: Todd D. Hunter
Bishop Todd Hunter is the founding pastor of Holy Trinity Anglican Church in Costa Mesa, CA. Author of Christianity Beyond Belief , Giving Church A Second Chance , The Outsider Interviews, The Accidental Anglican and coming soon a book on temptation titled Our Favorite Sins. Todd is also the founding director of Churches for the Sake of Others, the West Coast church planting initiative for The Anglican Mission in the Americas. Todd also founded Three is Enough, a small group movement that enables spiritual formation in one’s everyday life.
I had the privilege to read Our Favorite Sins and it was quite interesting. It was slow in the beginning but as you read further into the book you begin to find parts of the book interesting. Some parts are obvious but when I read chapter 7 I really liked it. The title of chapter 7 is called Media Mary I really related to the chapter. The reason was that I had just cut off the cable, because I found myself just wasting time, and he addresses these kinds of sins. The rest of the book was just as good. Sin is in all our lives, but how we deal with them is what Todd Hunter addresses. I would recommend that you pick up this book. You might not put it down. God Bless
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.