Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook

Thomas Nelson Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2692%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Review 1 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something I'm Sure Everyone Struggles With

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
daisykay3
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book addresses the issue of leading an empty, meaningless life by chasing after dreams and goals that will only leave us empty and unfulfilled. It was a good book and really hit home on some issues that were not even realized as being issues. To be honest, though, it seems like this topic is discussed regularly by many other authors. I guess that just reveals how much of an issue it is. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the read!

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
smile smile
Age:25-34
Gender:male
If we can be honest with ourselves, we will admit we have some things that we consciously and unconsciously idolize in our lives. Pete shows us some of the main things that people tend to base their lives on and hence idolize them. He also goes on to talk about how the promises that stem from these idols can be shallow or most often, just empty.We often base our identity on money, job, beauty etc and when it gets taken away from us, we are left with an empty feeling. That's a dangerous place to be as these material things do not have a solid foundation to stand on. Christ is the only solid rock and He never forsakes us - doesn't matter if we have money or no money, employed or unemployed and so on. God looks at us and says we are perfect in Him. We can feel that ONLY when we put our trust in Him and not on any other empty promises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Courtney
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've already read a book by Pete Wilson -- Plan B -- and thought it was a pretty solid read. Wilson's books have continuously challenged me to push my faith farther than ever before and Empty Promises kept that streak alive.
Before I began reading, I didn't think much would apply to me. I don't have any idols. I don't look for security in my successes. I don't rely on petty things to fulfill me. But, then -- I started reading. I have to admit that many of the chapters in this book were hard to get through. I sat on my living room couch reading the words on the page, cringing and thinking -- "Oh no. This is describing me." The questions Wilson posed throughout the chapters were hitting me hard, right between the eyes, and making me rethink what I focus on in my life to bring me happiness, joy, security, love, and belongingness.
That being said -- this is most definitely not a book that you want to -- or even can -- tackle in one or two sittings. I found reflecting on each chapter and possibly even re-reading some parts very helpful in trying to overcome the areas that are most difficult for me to change or to come to terms with. Therefore, I urge you -- don't rush through this book. Take the time to read the words; reflect; pray; and then read again. The things that you will learn will astonish you. The way your perspective shifts will change your life for the better.
I particularly loved the Bible verse that Wilson offered to his readers in his dedication --
Proverbs 24:16 -- "The godly may trip several times, but they will get up again." (NLT)
This verse encourages me by reminding me that we all fail at one time or another. However, the decision we make to get up and try again is what separates us from those who let their failures define them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited to hear that Pete Wilson wrote another book! After reading Plan B, I was so excited to read his new one, Empty Promises. I got the book and dove into it right away. I found this one a lot harder to read than Plan B. I stopped reading after a few chapters and put it down for months, (we moved during this time) and once we moved and I found the book again. I decided I'd give it another try, I did, and had the same problem, so hard to get into! I will get through it eventually, but just couldn't get through it, I don't know what it was. Just finding the beginning of the book long and drawn out. It might just be me, but I was a little disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No More Empty Promises

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Tabone
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Simply put, we are a people wired to worship. The question isn't, "Do we worship?" The question is, "Who (or what) do we worship?" Empty Promises is a book about finding the fullness of life in nothing other than the One True God Jesus Christ. When we chase after the things of this world that are lesser than God, we end up buying into the empty promises of these lesser things. Pastor Pete warns against things such as the addiction of needing approval, the issues of pursing power, and the addiction of the perfect image.
As Pastor Pete states it, “It’s impossible to worship the empty promises of this world and still make God your number one priority.” The end goal is to become more like the One we are suppose to worship, Jesus Christ. The more closely we keep our eye upon Him the more like him we will become. Pastor Pete challenges the readers to live more closely to the truth in order to move away from the empty promises of this world. In order to do that he challenges the reader to include several spiritual practices in their lives things such as, solitude, fasting, meditation on God’s word, and prayer. In doing so we move away from the empty promise into a soul satisfied life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read on the danger of empty promises

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
LarryKozlof
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a disclaimer and moment of transparency, I finished this book a few months ago but struggled doing a review of it. The truth is I wasn't sure what I thought of it, but in hopes of possibly persuading some to read the book, here's the review.
Empty promises began with the 'promise' of walking readers through the moment in their life when they encounter heartbreak because of the lies the world throws at them. Whether it be beauty, finance or even the most felt human need of being loved this book allows the reader to see into the empty promise and find that the only way to fulfill any promise is to see where God stands on it. We are also told that somewhere in the process of coming to God we find that there are idols we have placed in our lives that originate directly from the promise we are chasing after. Pete Wilson walks us through many of the promises and brings light to the path of freedom from the emptiness of the promises.
I really enjoyed reading this book but to be honest as I neared the end I felt as though the book should have ended a few chapters before it did. It may have been something as simple as not relating to the topic that the chapter covered or as in depth as the fact that the topic was briefly covered once already or could have been included in a previous chapter. The book was written with a great understanding of biblical truth and the ideas presented inside were interesting and conveyed in such a way that I wanted to read forward, even after feeling the book should have concluded in a previous chapter. The best thing about this book was it's ability to challenge the way I see the empty promises I encounter and how they can build idols into my life.
If you are looking for a book that handles real life issues with care and a refusal to dance around them, pick up Empty Promises, it has my recommendation.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

read it now!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Empty Promises-- how can you hate this book? Its direct it the heart, its written with love and talent, and full of insightful truth that can change the way you see life.
I was given the chance you to request and review this book. Thanks to booksneeze.com.
HOw can you trust God to your salvation and eternity, when you can trust God even to the smallest detail of your life, ...its IRONIC
Its keep falshing to my mind, I'm like, it strucks me right there. I can say that this one is really, really true to my life. I'm trusting God for my salvation but not small details of my life.
(Praise God for that revelation to me.) This book will change you from the life you could have God wants you to be.
if you struggle for approval, power, beauty and money like me... read this! If you want to make a change in you life, read this! Most people will do everything to have possessions, power, money... that promises fullfilment and in the end in just an empty promises.
Pete Wilson is one of my favorite author. I would recommended all his writings. I wont say everything about the book here, I promise your gonna like this book.
Empty Promises, You have to read this now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Really Challenged My Daily Walk

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You're Believing is just that. It brings to light those things that you focus on and make your god ... and you may not even realize it! The book walks you through various possible gods, achievement, power, money, beauty, etc. and helps you really focus on what those things may be doing to turn you away from the one true God.
Aside from the Bible, I can count on one hand the number of books that truly inspired me and made me think about my walk with God. This book is one of those. Examples were practical and helped you to easily see how these false gods may have made their way into your life. The section on beauty, in particular, really spoke to me. I was so excited that just when I started thinking "Okay, but what do I do about this?" the answer was given. The last quarter of the book is practical advice on how to move your focus back to Jesus and balance your life appropriately.
I would highly recommend this book to everyone.
Even those who feel that they do not struggle with the desires of this world. Empty Promises really opens your eyes and helps you to see that this really is an everyday struggle and we must stay focused to keep God as our priority.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Emptyness of Idolatry

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A preacher who tells the congregation that an idol is anything more important to us than God probably wouldn't shock (or enlighten) anyone. Most of us have heard this before . . . countless times . . . in many different ways . . . in Sunday morning sermons, small group lessons, radio preacher segments, and more.
So, we might shrug it off. Is anything more important to me than God? Nah. Not me. Yawn and start doodling on the back of the bulletin.
Pete Wilson, knowing our tendency to bored complacency on this issue, gives his own definition: "idolatry is when I look to something that does not have God's power to give me what only God has the authority and power to give" (p. 5). Ahh, now he has our attention.
Of course this isn't about statues of stone or bronze. Most likely, this is internal idolatry, a problem in our hearts. It doesn't have to be the idol of materialism (although it can be), or physical appearance (although that's possible, too). Wilson covers other potential idols that are more elusive and harder to identify, like power, religion and dreams.
He writes with vulnerability and a touch of humor, making it an easy and interesting read. He's also organized and challenging--including in each chapter some benchmarks to consider when deciding whether or not you struggle with this or that.
The most insightful moments of the book for me were actually quotes from commentaries and other classic and modern writers like C.S. Lewis, Timothy Keller, and John Piper. I don't mind this. It shows the breadth of Pete Wilson's reading and his ability to present truth in an organized and challenging way.
This wasn't a particularly life-changing book for me at the moment, but it has the potential to be so. I did, however, discover some fresh descriptions and explanations that I've been thinking about even after finishing the book. This is fitting since, as Wilson, says, "I don't think being mature Christians means getting to a place where we never deal with idolatry. Rather, maturity comes when we become aware that this is going to be a lifelong battle...and we make up our minds to engage in it on a daily basis (p. 196).
That makes the book worth a re-read whenever we're struck again by feelings of emptiness and dissatisfaction, if only for the reminder that some longing won't be fulfilled until heaven, but it is always fulfilled in Christ.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is inspirational, and I recommend it to everyone...
I wondered why God seemed to be ignoring my prayers for help. It changed my life, and I'm so glad I read it.I'll read this one again. And again. And again.
I believe it's a charge to us all. You'll need to read the book to understand the context, but he simply said:t gets old as nearly every in vogue author and speaker makes his or her bread and butter off of knocking the church.
This is the book you will keep after you've thrown all the others into the recycle bin or given them to the library. It really helps pull together everything and teach you want you need to know. Excellent book for beginners. I also bought it along with this book, It zeroes in on the important stuff without wading through a lot of theory and background.
This book alone can't make you talented or original. Pastors or ministry leaders ministering in contexts that are plagued by moralism should read this book to learn how to combat moral therapeutic deism. Regardless of whether you're a new or mature Christian, you need to read The Explicit Gospel to be reminded afresh of the beauty and glory of all Christ has done on your behalf.hese insights were very valuable and helpful in my own personal ministry. He ended the book with an explanation of how he has seen moralism at work in the church.hese insights were very valuable and helpful in my own personal ministry. He ended the book with an explanation of how he has seen moralism at work in the church.
The book goes on to explore all of the different areas where we are susceptible to contamination in our lives. Some areas were really eye-opening for me. t will step on your toes and force you to ask yourself some really tough questions, but in the end, if you let the truth of what God is telling you shine through...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Learning Experience

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pete Wilson is the founding and senior pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville, TN. This is the second church he has planted in the last seven years. His first church, Morgantown Community Church, was planted just weeks after graduating from college. Pete graduated from Western Kentucky University with a degree in communications and then attended seminary at Southern Seminary in Louisville, KY. Pete’s desire is to see churches become radically devoted to Christ, irrevocably committed to one another, and relentlessly dedicated to reaching those outside of God’s family. He wrote Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn’t Show Up the Way You Thought He Would?
I really loved the book. It refers to all the things that we live and some times by into beauty, religion, money, career, power and so many other things. It talks about placing these things first can only hurt us in the end. He also tells us what God desires for us. In the book the author makes an analogy he talks about taking his son to a amusement park and they ride the roller coaster all day. Well before they leave he tells his son we are going to ride in the front seat but we have to keep our hands up all through the ride. Well his son does it but he had his hands up and then hung on. Well when they get off the ride he asks his son why did he do that? Well his son said dad I felt I was not safe when I held my hands up so when I felt scared I held on to the bar. That is how we are we hold our hands up to God, but as a Christian we are telling God I do not feel safe, but I am trusting in you. There is so much more to learn in the book I really recommend you read for yourself. God Bless
I received this book for free from BookSneeze.com and I was in no way influenced to write this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Empty Promises Delivers

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you think you are beyond idolatry, you likely suffer from it worse. Pete Wilson presents a crystal clear mirror into your soul in his book Empty Promises. Wilson is able both to convict and inspire, to call you out and lift you up. He is able to open our eyes to our own idolatry without hiding his own. He is refreshingly candid about his own struggles, even as a pastor, showing he can truly empathize with us when we fall for the trappings of this world. He has a knack for putting spiritual truths into everyday language, using modern examples and drawing on the writings of both his contemporaries and the “classics.” Whether you worship money, beauty, or even suffer from the addiction of “public productivity,” you will find your sin among these pages – and your salvation: only Jesus. Idolatry begins when we look to anything other than God to do for us what only God can. We will struggle with it throughout our lives, such is our fallen nature, but Wilson reminds us of some of the weapons at our disposal to fight the good fight. Only when we are finally home will we TRULY be fulfilled. In the meantime, Wilson has provided an excellent resource to help put our paths into perspective: are we moving toward God or away from Him? Are we worshipping the gifts or the Giver of those gifts? Are we following empty promises or trusting in God’s promises? In short, what is your golden calf? How will you destroy it so as to worship the one true God?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not much new here to see

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phileo
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not one to shy away from a chance at spiritual growth, I was intrigued by Pete Wilson's latest book, entitled, "Empty Promises". Wilson tackles a dozen topics that lead us astray from God, such as money, sex, beauty, work, power, approval, and (gasp) religion/church.
By itself, none of these things are new to a mature Christian. Personally speaking, I've read all of this before, wrapped up in a hundred different ways of how we abandon God in favor of some sorted idol or endeavor that distracts us from God. I will tell you that this book does deliver some insight I had never thought of how Pete Wilson undresses it. The chapters on power and approval are a seemingly new twist on vanity and greed that speak to the heart of a Christian who otherwise might never see these things as bad necessarily. And as with any other spiritual growth book, you take from it the few things that God is speaking to you about through the author and apply them to your life.
What distracted me from this book was the seemingly repeated nature of the points Wilson was trying to make. After awhile of reading the same thing over and over again you find yourself wanting to tell Wilson, "Yeah, ok, I get it, can we stop beating the dead horse here?" From a personal perspective, I've "been there and done that" in hundreds of other books just like this. Is there something new to be found for you in the pages of "Empty Promises"? Perhaps a preview of the first chapter online would be a way to peel back a layer into the mind of Pete Wilson, and see if this is for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book! Very well-done.

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bree
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extremely excited to read Pete Wilson’s book, “Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You're Believing .” I've been a fan of his, every since I came across him, on Twitter. I had high expectations, for the book; and I'm glad to say, "Empty Promises" did not disappoint.
In the book, Pete Wilson talks about discovering the joy and freedom that comes with seeking God, with and in your whole life. It's about learning how to replace - not just give up - all the empty promises, in life. By turning to God, instead of idolizing all of life's empty promises, you be set free.
If you're anything like me, you find yourself often making promises, to yourself. Promises like, "I'm going to start eating healthier," or "I'm going to start exercising," or even, "I'm going to go to church more regularly," only to break them. Then, once you break them, you feel so low and disappointed in yourself for not being able to stick to it. You feel empty... lost. "Empty Promises" pointed out that the reason I feel this emptiness, was that I was pinning all my self-worth achieving success - instead of pinning it on how God sees me.
There is so much more I want to say, about this book. But, I really think it's something best experienced first-hand. So, if you tired of turning to the empty promises of riches, beauty, success - and are ready to turn it all over to God - go out and get this book! Right now!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for soul-diagnosis

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
I must admit I came into reading this book with great expectations after reading Pete Wilson’s first book (Plan B) and loving it.
Empty Promises is the kind of book that you can’t read in one day or in a few hours. It is a book that contains so many good stuff that you can’t just read it and finish with it. It challenges you to closely examine and diagnose the possible empty promises that you’ve fallen for.
Pete Wilson tackles the problem of idolatry very precisely and accurately in this book. Even though in nowadays many of us might think that idolatry is not an issue anymore, Wilson points out the opposite. I love the fact that he gives a lot of Scripture references and examples of people in the Bible who struggled with one of the empty promises he talks about. What I also loved is that he isn’t shy about offering personal examples of his own struggles and short comings, which I believe makes us - the readers - feel more comfortable and safe and also sincere when diagnosing our own lives.
It is a great book and a valuable one. The author doesn’t conclude with some easy steps that will help you overcome the empty promises that you have fallen for, but he points out so beautifully to the One who can and desires to satisfy us completely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Look at an Old, Old Problem, with Some Answe

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Empty Promises
The Truth about You, You Desires and the Lies You’re Believing
Pete Wilson ©2012
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-0-8499-4651-4 (trade paper)
205 pp. plus notes
We’re created with certain desires but don’t always follow these longings for their intended purpose. We humans easily allow a subtle misdirection in seeking the satisfaction these desires were meant to offer. The author, a pastor; writes about times that even he was waylaid by the seduction of unfulfilling ways.
These out of whack desires include an addiction to approval, seeking achievements that won’t satisfy, living for money, power, beauty, our own dreams for the future and even some religious behaviors. The enemy of our souls whispers lies about these God-given and good aspects of humanity. He easily detracts us into chasing warped ways to feel good about our lives.
Pastor Wilson shows how to recognize traps from the devil and then offers several effective spiritual disciplines to help us follow the true purpose of our desires—to bring us to God. He urges us to believe that God is always with us, always loving us and always willing to give strength and mercy and goodness to us. God will meet the desires He planted with in us in the right way, as only He can do.
This book says what many other authors have written, but presents excellent information with a new approach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read Book

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lead Me to The Truth
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, Empty Promises has to be hands down the best book I've read, that involves all aspects of live... in a Biblical way. Pete Wilson spoke to me right away in this book... as imagine it speaks to a lot of people quite quickly. He shares how in his own life he's struggled with worshiping idols. We all do at times. We tend to worship idols because of the fact that we were born to worship. God created us to have a desire for worship. It all goes wrong when we forget to worship God, first, and start worshiping something else... which is then called an idol.
In worshiping anything, besides God, we tend to think that these things will fill us up... but they do not... so they become our empty promises. Things like acceptance, achievement, power, beauty, fame, fortune, and... yes... even religion can become an empty promise. I love the part of the book where Pete talks about... "you are what you worship." This is so true and so simple.
This book helped me to realize that I was looking for acceptance that only my Heavenly Father could give. I was expecting imperfect people to fill that void of nonacceptance with the love I thought I needed. Humans will fail me. God will never let me down.
Lastly, I wanted to share about the empty promise of religion, that this book speaks on. I would say that this was my favorite chapter. Pete states, on page 112, that even in the early church, "religion always adds" constraints or rules to salvation.
His examples: (Page 112)
Jesus + being immersed in water = salvation
Jesus + doing Communion a certain way = salvation
Jesus + voting Republican (or Democrat) = salvation
Jesus + church membership = salvation
Get the point? "Religion not only complicates things; it also divides people." (Wilson, Pg. 113) It puts rules on what gets people into Heaven and what does not. It makes people who've made mistakes feel that they are unworthy of salvation. And that's not why Jesus came to this Earth.
If you've not read this book... let me strongly suggest that you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Empty Promises by Pete Wilson

Date:May 7, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever been smacked in the face? Did it get your attention? Well, that is exactly what Empty Promises by Pete Wilson will do. A much needed eye opener for compromising Christians. We have systematically become a society of idol worshipers. We worship money, ourselves, relationships, our children, things, power, approval, and yes, even our religion! Pete Wilson explains how these idols ultimately take the place of God in our lives and how we become dependent on them. The validation we seek through earthly people and stuff leaves us longing for something more – something we can only receive from God himself. Serving our church, doing good deeds, or exhausting ourselves for our family, will not fill the void. If you are seeking peace from constant striving, Empty Promises will help lead you to sweet freedom. It reminds us that we need to step back and depend on God for validation. By following Pete Wilson’s tips, you will be better equipped to deal with rejection, broken promises, and failures. We have lost ourselves in worshiping God’s gifts, instead of realizing that God is the gift. Do you find yourself broken, face down in a puddle of tears, and finally ready to surrender? Are you ready to your idols with God’s love and mercy? You will not know what love and mercy is until all of your idols come crashing down. There is a God, and we are not Him! The Hebrew word for “be still” literally means to “let go”, so let go of empty promises and know that only He is God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Empty Promises is a great book

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to read Pete Wilson's newest book Empty Promises, because I really enjoyed Plan B, his release a few years ago.
Empty Promises is all about idolatry and even if you don't think you struggle with idolatry, you probably do! It sneaks in there so subtly. Pete Wilson discusses several things that can be idols in one's life: achievement, power, approval, money, beauty, chasing a dream etc.
It is a very honest, practical book with lots of illustrations from Pete's own life and the folks he counsels and are his friends. I found myself often seeing my own flaws and issues and realized that I have made things, even good things, idols in my life when Jesus should hold that place.
I think this is a book that nearly everyone would enjoy. The writing style is candid and easy to read and he offers much hope and grace and a way out of this quest for "empty promises." I am confident this book will help many reflect and realize that the things they pursue to make them happy or content or liked or successful will only leave them feeling empty.
On page 22 Pete Wilson writes: " Jesus is continually inviting people to give up their idols and follow him. Jesus, and Jesus alone, is worthy of our whole devotion. He alone has the authority to forgive all of our sins. He alone has the wisdom to guide our whole lives. He alone leaves us invigorated rather than exhausted, at peace rather than anxious. He alone has the power to fill the gnawing inner emptiness we all experience and bring purpose to each and every day that he sees fit to grant us as a gift."
Amen.
I received this book through Booksneeze Blogging program from the publisher. I was not required to give a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You've Believed - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pete Wilson Maintains High Quality of Writing

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul ThinkingOutLoud
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Empty Promises is about our various attempts to pursue happiness and satisfaction in life by chasing after and striving for the material things or marks of status that we think will help us attain that personal fulfillment; and affirms that the peace, joy, contentment and completeness we are looking for can only be found in knowing Jesus Christ.
The book excels because of the honest transparency of the author, the high value placed on scripture, the detailed working in of applicable stories and analogies, and the fact the theme of the book is embedded in every page.
I think this book will really resonate with readers, and especially those who read Pete's blog daily or have watched his messages at crosspoint.tv
(Review copy supplied by Thomas Nelson, Inc.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>