Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook

Thomas Nelson Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
27 out of 3284%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Review 1 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

informative read

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
susieq
Location:Clearwater, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was selected for my book club to read. It's informative and provides clear, honest perspective on why men are not in the church and how to reverse the trend in your own congregation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Worth the Read

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
John
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author, David Murrow is not clergy but lay, which makes for an interesting book as it is very pragmatic. However, he still grounds several of his larger ideas in the Bible, which I appreciated.
As I read this book, there were several ideas I initially disagreed with. At first I wanted to ignore them. After all I’m a guy and I’m in church, so they must not be accurate. But the more I read, the more I realized that was a bad impulse. I grew up in the church. Church is comfortable to me. And sometimes I think “But that’s how we’ve always done it” about things that aren’t sacred and could change. So I’m grateful to this book for opening my eyes to some of my blind spots.
Having church be accessible to men is a good thing, but I’m wary of making it the “silver bullet” that will turn a church around. Worship should be accessible to everyone, regardless of gender, age, race, or anything else. Worship is about God and God is not picky about who worships. So should we remove barriers to men? Absolutely. And we should remove barriers to women, kids, young people, old people, etc.
Bottom line: Do I think this book overstates its case? Maybe a bit. But Murrow has seen these ideas work. And so if he gets excited about the possibilities of church renewal, then I want to get excited right along with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Is there really a Gender Gap in the Church today?

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
‘Why Men Hate Going to Church’ by David Murrow takes an in depth look at this growing problem.
Several valid points are made throughout this book. According to several studies the majority of churches, especially smaller ones there is a definite gender gap in attendance. The women outnumber the men in almost every church.
In this book it states that churches today tend to cater to the women. Women lead most of your Sunday school classes, Children’s Church, and Nursery. They tend to be decorated on the flowery feminine side, reaching out to the women.
According to the book the number two excuse is it is for wimps. The number one excuse being there are too many hypocrites. These are only the top two excuses given, we as a church have to decide why men feel the way they do. Is there a reason they are being turned off from the church life?
This book also discusses the history of when men started pulling away from the church, and gives ideas that perhaps will draw them back in.
This was an interesting book, a lot of information and ideas. I agree with a lot of the info but I think we have to be careful or we will end up being an entertaining church, giving people what they want instead of what they need. They need to realize it is a personal thing between them and Jesus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pleasure to read.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very informative. I would encourage you to thoughtfully read what David Murrow's books. It makes lot of sense with regards to praying and hoping for loved ones to come to the lord. I would recommend this book to men who are seeking to honor God with their lives and are willing to accompany Him into battle. What a great book. Short and sweet and full of juice, know everyone who reads this book will see a bit of himself somewhere while reading it. I will be taking this with me to my next men group and i will make sure our group studies it.
We live in a time that more rules need to be broken if we are to reach an emerging generation for Christ. I recommend this book to pastors who need to lighten up a little and I recommend it to all men's ministry leaders.
his one has some discussion questions and some updated facts or stories that the original book does not have. I think their approach to the topic is great and I would recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

¿Por qué los hombres odian ir a la iglesia?

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lenin Almonte
Location:Dominican Republic
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Inicié este libro de David Murrow, con cierto grado de incredulidad en cuanto a su contenido. Es decir, no tenía más expectativa que la de observar el fenómeno sociológico-espiritual que produce la inasistencia o deserción masculina de las congregaciones estadounidenses, sin embargo, el fenómeno de las diferencias abrumadoras en la cantidad de mujeres con relación a la cantidad de hombres en las iglesias no es un fenómeno localista, es una tendencia occidental de gran peso.
Al parecer, cuando llega el domingo en la mañana la mayoría de hombres preferiría estar jugando u observando baseball o softball que escuchando un sermón. ¿Por qué?
Al finalizar de leer “Why men hate going to church” debo decir que su contenido no es sólo sociológico, sino que lanza un marcado reto a la iglesia actual que se encuentra en todo el mundo a cambiar el énfasis del evangelicalismo en una eclesiología desequilibrada y que no representa el mensaje que se predica.
Un libro harto recomendable para pastores, líderes de ministerios, líderes de grupos o para cualquier persona que esté interesado en leer un análisis serio sobre por qué la mayoría de hombres odian ir a la iglesia.
————————————————–
Recibí este libro como parte del programa para bloggers de BookSneeze®, Thomas Nelson ni el programa BookSneeze® requieren que yo de una revisión positiva, sino que de mi opinión aunque sea negativa.
————————————————–
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A thought-provoking look at church gender-gap

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why Men Hate Going to Church, by David Murrow is a thought-provoking look at why Christian churches have a growing gender gap. Written to call the church back to men, Murrow examines how the church is designed to appeal to it’s largest women through it’s decor, rituals, language, music, and ministries.
I found the background information fascinating – how the church became so feminized throughout history, and the temporary effects of “Muscular Christianity” and the YMCA’s original influence.
Some of his claims about how men think seemed surprising to me, but as I read them to my husband he agreed with every one, and he wanted to continue discussing the rest of the book.
The last section of the book discusses things churches can do to be more appealing to men, with lots of practical advice given to help churches build a place where men want to come and worship. Murrow gives examples of churches that have successfully implemented efforts to attract men, which also led to increasing numbers of women and children attending as well!
I really am thankful for reading the book, for the ideas it’s giving us as we search for a church to call home. We’re both on the hunt for a “man-friendly” church, and hope we find one soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy several copies of the book

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Promise Keeper
Location:Michigan Thumb
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a profound book for any number of different reasons.
Where to begin? Yes, there really is a gender gap. Anyone with more than an ounce of integrity and/or a passing interest in the church HAS to read this book and to admit to the theses. I would suggest the book be required reading in Bible Colleges and Seminaries.
Bravo to David Murrow for this work. Startling levels of research support all three segments of the book. Sufficient to support the gifting of the book to any Pastor.
This is a profoundly interesting topic on any number of different levels. The Black church has an even great “gender gap”. I was curious to find out if any books had been written on this specific aspect of the topic. There is a book titled “Adam! Where Are You?” “Why Most Black Men Don’t Go to Church” written by Jawanza Kunjufu who acknowledges his pastor Jeremiah A. Wright Jr, who reflects the African essence of Christian manhood…. Yes, ‘the’ Rev Jeremiah A. Wright of the Trinity United Church of Christ, Chicago, IL. wrote the Foreword to the book.
“Islam is the world’s fastest-growing religion.”. “It’s also wildly popular with men who are publicly and unashamedly religious.” For all of the wrong reasons of course. Mr. Murrow has addressed this question in a terrific article which is available at:
http://churchformen.com/uncategorized/why-men-flock-to-islam/
The “Battle to Reengage Men” must be joined Read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of "Why Men Hate Going to Church"

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andre Rook
Location:Castro Valley, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Why Men Hate Going to Church,” by David Murrow, is a shocking scientific and statistically rich examination of the state of the modern church; that is, it’s dearth of men. Murrow presents an organized and convincing case for why men avoid church, albeit focusing more on mainstream and larger, liberal churches.
He begins by asking the reader to think of what characteristics are typically emphasized when thinking about Jesus – meek, mild, humble, caring and tender. Far less likely is Christ thought of as daring, powerful, aggressive, and rough. He then provides scathing statistics of church attendance, women nearly always far outweighing men (not so however in the Orthodox churches, interestingly enough). Most churches today cater to women in their emphases, structure, and leadership. One particularly cutting quote: “Why do so many effeminate and gay men attend church? Maybe because the church is one of the few institutions in society where there’s no pressure to act like a man” (32).
Most of all, this book is a wake-up call to men and women - a wake-up call with bucket of cold water and a punch in the gut. My thanks to Thomas Nelson for providing me with this complimentary review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read for Church Leaders

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The premise of the book is pretty simple: why men hate going to church and some stuff that churches could do to become man-friendly. It all sounds rather un-PC really. But he has a point. You just have to look around almost any church and you'll know he has a point. Christianity has become feminised, it appeals to women far more than it does to men. Yet it shouldn't be that way. Murrow makes a point that truly healthy churches have manly men.
So sure, you probably can't read this book without coming across something you don't really like, but don't let that put you off. This book is a must-read for anybody concerned with church leadership. It's not a call to radically change anything, just a call to be more man friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recently I have been thinking about Men and the Church. What does it mean to be manly and be a Christian? So when Why Men Hate Going to Church by David Murrow, came up for review I took a shot at it. I was excited to read this and I looked forward to seeing what this book could teach me. However I was not as excited as I finished the book which took me a long time as I really had to force myself to finish reading.
Mr. Murrow states that manly men who see God as the Lion of Judah will find church unappealing because the Lamb of God is the dominant image. He also talks about how many things in the church are feminized and that Men don’t want the image of “Jesus is my boyfriend.” While I agree most men don’t want the Jesus is my boyfriend image I also believe that everyone, men and women, need both the Lion of Judah and the Lamb of God. In large part we need them both because they are a part of God.
The main problem I have with this book is that it is not calling men to the church, but instead calling the church to men. The fact that he uses the terms manly man as the one who are out of the church is not only insinuating that the men in church are not manly but also prescribes to the worldly definition of what makes a man a man.
Overall, it was extremely hard to read through this book and took a lot longer than I would have liked it to take. I can’t recommend this book to the normal person, but there might be a few nuggets that a Pastor could pull out.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Why Men Hate Going to Church

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
mellie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When I opened David Murrow's book, Why Men Hate Going to Church, I had anticipated reading something that would broaden the discussion about gender roles in the church, present some nuance that would soften me to the plight of my male brothers, and illustrate that men, are, in fact, marginalized in significant ways within the Christian context. I've had a bit of an obsession of late with reading books, watching documentaries, and talking to people about the perspective of men about their jobs, parenting, and the ways that the healthcare system, and social systems in general, sometimes do not invite men in because of a particular sort of blindness to what engages men. I guess that I was also hoping for an analysis that would help me to better understand the men in my life who may not feel as at home on the pew, and as an extension of that, I was also looking for new ideas from the author around how sensitivity to the needs of men in a congregation could make churches more inviting.
Some of these areas were covered in great detail, and the self-reflection of the author regarding his own church experiences was telling. His analysis will compel you to think more deeply about the absence of men in churches, and what he perceives is attractive to men in other parts of the world who attach themselves to religious communities. I've learned that he thinks that men's greatest fear is powerlessness and that women's is loneliness. I've learned that he has some issues with women in ministry. I've learned that he thinks that the church has gone soft on Jesus' real message in favor of a more feminized version of it. I've learned that, from his perspective, men want to be heroes and that women want to be rescued. And I've learned that he sees this hero paradigm as being very aligned with the Gospel message.
I will freely admit; however, that a number of things about this book make me very uncomfortable. This discomfort comes, in large part, from the nagging sense that I had while reading this that Murrow is using a lot of anecdotal information; personal bias; references to extreme polarities in the discussion of gender and how it ought to look in the Christian context. Additionally, I had this nagging sense throughout the reading of this that his ideas have developed from an overly simplistic approach to the discussion of gender in the church and the world at large, and that looking broadly within Christianity at the historical reasons for how and why we are where we are might be more important.
He suggests that manly men, as he sees them, will be unlikely to find church appealing because their idea of God as the Lion of Judah can't be realized in a context where the Lamb of God is the dominant image. He also takes issue with the recent "romancing of Jesus" as well and suggests that we now have a situation where language is taken over by an erotic paradigm with Jesus as a lover and where worship is very focused on filling up the void in people related to the absence of good relationships in their lives. I agree with some of what he says, but I think that his ideas would be more fruitful in a dialogue where the topic of gender could be enlarged a bit more and where men and women could engage around what is happening as this book might come across to some as a typical patriarchal approach to the discourse.
Perhaps if I read his next book, I'll feel a bit less discomfort. I hope so. I would encourage readers of this book to see it as one sort of analysis that can inform how some men may feel about church, but not to see it as a gold standard or handbook for how to redesign church as I think that it does not broadly address the range of ways that men may define their realities and faith experiences. I would also recommend that the following books be read in conjunction with this, particularly if the readers are Evangelicals, as this book might otherwise create even more of an instantiation of very limited ways of seeing gender and thoughtful dialogue about this and other issues within the church: "Half the Church" by Carolyn Curtis James; "The Scandal of the Evangelical Mind" by Mark Knoll or "Letters to a Young Evangelical" by Tony Campolo. I think that there are many other great books that could be read in conjunction with this that might lead to a much more fruitful and productive discussion, but I definitely liked that this author made an attempt to do an analysis, and I respect his wading into a very sensitive area in an attempt to encourage greater awareness and discussion of a very current issue in many churches today.
BookSneeze
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why Men Hate Going to Church

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
hyunhee17
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why Men Hate Going to Church by David Murrow.. Every time I go to church I am curious, the priest is curious why is it there are fewer men compare to women. Are they too busy that they don't have time going to church? Do they still have work during Sunday? But after reading Why Men Hate Going to Church, everything is answered.. try reading it!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great word on men's issues today!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobbyM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why Men Hate Going To Church by David Murrow
In this book, an updated and edited version of David Murrow’s 2005 original, the author addresses the issue of why men are missing in our churches, especially the Evangelical church. He contrasts the “tone” of churches and how they take on more feminine traits than male traits. While men use terms like “boring”, and “irrelevant” when describing their distaste for church, Murrow offers more detailed examples of how churches, and even Christ Himself, are depicted with mostly feminine traits, and that this leads men to find other outlets for their more natural tendencies toward competition, strength, and even conflict.
I find Murrow’s views very enlightening. Moreover, they align with much of my personal discoveries about men (including me!) that indicate men are in pursuit of many “masculine” things because of their fear of being labeled as too effeminate, or not “manly” enough. In fact, Murrow’s views are another example of how the “absence” of men from many of our most important institutions (church, school, and the home, for instance) is actually promoting an increase in the “feminizing” of our culture.
I also found the book an easy read overall. For those who like proof, Murrow provides significant data to back up his assertions concerning men and the church. For those who are concerned with adequate Biblical grounding, Murrow cites the Bible multiple times as he describes the conflict we’ve created in the church between Jesus the “Lamb” and Jesus the “Lion”.
I recommend this book to anyone researching the issue of men and the church, or who are pursuing further understanding of how to reach more men in this generation for the Kingdom.
Disclosure Note: I obtained “Why Men Hate Going To Church” from Thomas Nelson publishing via their “Booksneeze” program which offers bloggers and other reviewers books for free in exchange for a published review. I was not required to write a positive review in exchange for the book, and the views expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why are Men Leaving the Church?

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jim C
Location:Washington, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHY MEN HATE GOING TO CHURCH
This book was released several years ago under the same name, but it has been re-released and has been revised extensively. I read the original book shortly after it was released and really enjoyed it, but the new book has a lot of new information and truthfully, I find it a much more interesting and easier read.
The book is divided into 3 parts starting with asking, “Where are the Men?” Men have left the church in record numbers as they feel that church is for women, wimps and wusses. Brad Stine addresses this in his video “WUSSIFICATION". Ironically, or not, Brad holds the 4th spot on the opening page of Murrow’s book. In WMHGTC, Murrow addresses how decisions are made in a feminine way, saying that men cannot lead like men, instead they must be careful, sentimental and thrifty, making every decision a consensus. Decisions take months or years to make, and if someone gets their feelings hurt we don’t move forward. Murrow also makes comparisons between the Lion of Judah and the Lamb of God. Jesus was a kind and gentle person, but he was not afraid to speak His mind and not only “rock the boat”, He tipped over a few as well.
The second part is called “Church Culture vs. Man Culture”. This section addresses some of the fears that men face regarding church. Examples include holding hands, especially with other men (or worse yet a man they don’t even know), reading out loud (this is a huge fear for many guys) singing praise and worship songs, (your love is extravagant, your friendship, it is intimate) guys don’t talk to guys like this and so they are uncomfortable singing about this to Jesus. Men have a rep to uphold and singing intimate lyrics to Jesus doesn’t cut it. Ladies, you say your husband isn’t romantic enough with you, why would you expect him to say/sing romantic things to another man, Jesus?
The third part is called “Calling the Church Back to the Men”. Notice that is not call the men back to the church. Men have not changed all that much over the years; the church on the other hand continues to lean toward the ladies in the church. Ladies need to be in church as much as the guys, but guys are less likely to attend an event, or church, that is feminized. Ladies on the other hand will most likely not have an issue with attending a church that men are excited to attend and feel comfortable in. This chapter gives thoughts and ideas on how to re-engage men in church and get them excited about church, reading their Bibles and being involved in church life.
It is difficult for me to put all my thoughts into a few words when David Murrow has done such a great job of writing this book. I highly recommend this book and others that he has written, such as “The Map”, “How Women Help Men Find God” and other resources that can be found on his website: www.churchformen.com. “Why Men Hate Going to Church” is a must read for men and women alike whether you are a pastor, a lay leader or a casual church attendee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book with great ideas

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
nirrad
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading the updated version, and I enjoyed it better than the first, a lot of new info, and ideas to try. Would love to try to do a study on this as well. thanks for the update.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
tonimer
Location:Meridian, Id
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this theory interesting. I did agree with some of the premise the author put forth about why men dislike church. I was encouraged that he offered some solutions but found that it took a lot of reading and bashing before reaching the remedies. I think it takes a rather cynical look at men and assumes they are rather shallow. I know many men who do not have to have a testosterone filled church in order to attend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay, a slow start.

Date:December 10, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Church is boring."
"It's irrelevant."
"It's full of hypocrites."
Theses phrases line the back of David Murrow's book Why Men Hate Going to Church. Beginning the books with an example of a denomination gathering where over 7,000 women, but an embarrassingly low amount of men attended. Tackling the problem of the male relationship to Christianity, Murrow attempts to "call the church back to men."
It may have been because I am a woman, but I found the book be a slow starter. Regardless, the book cited valuable Barna research which shows how much more involved in church than men (100% more likely to be involved in discipleship!). This alone opened my eyes to how few men are actually involved in an institution that is filled with women. Though more men fill the pulpits than women, men are less likely to be found in the pews. Despite my being a woman while reading this book, I did find that it is well supported by personal examples and statistics.
PS - Booksneeze gave me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why Men Hate Going To Church

Date:December 8, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why men hate going to church is a necessary book for all. This is an easy read. The chapters are short so if you don’t have to set aside large amounts of time aside to read the book. I like how David uses humor to get his point across.
You will find three parts to this book:
1. Where Are The Men?
2. Church Culture vs. Men Culture
3. Calling The Church Back To Men
Have women taken over the church and made men feel uncomfortable? Do we feminize our men? Does a lack of men in the church, stifle church growth? Can we do something to bring men back to church? “Why Men Hate Going To Church” will answer these questions and more. This will make for a great group study. Every Pastor should read this book. I am thrilled to give this book a five star rating.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why Men Hate Going To Church, by David Murrow is a book center around a growing problem within the church: the lack of a male presence. Within this book, which is a revised edition, David Murrow focuses on the possible reasons for the lack of a male presence within the church today, but more importantly he offers possible steps that the local church can utilize to rectify this situation.
Being a pastor myself, this issue has not escaped my attention, but the magnitude, for me, was unimaginable. Most people would look at this as a problem confined to and within the small to medium size congregations, but it has become a wide spread epidemic.
Murrow makes a persuasive argument that most men are conditioned to avoid church, because the church has grown to a point where it tailors the majority of its existence towards women. While this, as already stated, is a persuasive agreement, I wonder if it is entirely the reason. Could it be the result of something deeper?
Murrow offers suggestions that he feels, if implemented by the church, will lead to a reversal of this problem. While some might carry the church in a positive direction, some ultimately serve to remove some common analytical pictures that have been formulated within scripture and carried on through church history. Thus it is for each to read and consider for themselves.
All in all, this book is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Why Men Hate Going to Church - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book that all Men's Ministry leaders should read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>