Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook

Thomas Nelson How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Review 1 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book should really be considered an essay

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam Miller
Location:Cape Cod, MA
This is a short, hardback book which should really be considered an essay. It is less than 50 pages, including picture and large print. While I wouldn’t recommend that it’s well worth the retail price of $15, I do think that the message is well worth considering. Andrews is a Christian novelist with eloquent literacy, and though he takes the middle path to speak to a wide audience, his point is straight and narrow.
“How Do You Kill 11 Million People?” asks the question from a historical perspective of Hitler’s legacy and poses this tragedy as an important lesson for us to reflect upon and learn from today. The only way we won’t relive the negative examples of those who have gone before us is if we understand what lead to their demise. Andrews points out that although we may never live through a holocaust, we are acting very much like the German people who allowed Hitler’s regime to kill 11 million people.
I would recommend this book to those interested in understanding what we can learn from the mistakes of our recent history, although, the books Andrews references in his bibliography might be a more thorough resource.
Check out my book reviews every Wednesday at worthyofthegospel.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are you deceived?

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Christian Therapist
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy addresses the apathy of the American people as they (we) allow business as usual from the 545 governing people at the top or this nations pecking-order. Quite honestly, it has been troubling me for awhile as he eloquently says what I strongly believe. WE need to learn from History as what happened with the Nazis. America believes lies now like many nations before her. Our leaders need to legislate and govern out of honesty, integrity and absolute TRUTH than personal feelings and interests. This read has made me more aware of what is needed of me and what is before us as a nation. I recommend it highly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brief but makes you think

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
CourageousFather
Location:Oxford, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can fly thru this book if you want but I suggest you slow down and really think. Sure, you've heard some of this before but not in this way with such honesty. This book has got to make you think. I have pondered this book all week. I read it 4 days ago and the things Andy wrote are always coming up in my mind. You will be shocked by the historical record and then you have to admit that America is not immune. What are you willing to standby and allow to happen? Millions are dying to know. Buy it, read it, pass it on, and demand honesty!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Must Read!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
JMB2610
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Do You Kill 11 Million People? is a book that should be on your must read list. It is a short book and a rather easy read. Andy asks the question, "how do you kill 11 million people?" in reference to Nazi Germany. How did so many people lose their lives when such a short percentage of the population supported Hitler and his regime? The answer to this question is simple: lie to them. Hitler continually told lies to the people and the people believed him. The bigger the lie the more they believed. This is what is wrong with America today. We have politicians who are in power based on the lies they feed to the voters. They will tell us whatever we want to hear to get elected, yet we continually listen to these lies. Andy goes on to say discuss how power corrupts. Because power corrupts, humanity's need for those in power to be of high character increases as the importance of the position of leadership increases. This book is not one that is for or against Republicans or Democrats. He does not take a stand for or against any particular part of beliefs. His stand is against those in power who lie to the American people. It is time to stand up and question what our politicians tell us before it is too late like it was for those 11 million killed in Germany.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Lies - finding truth hidden by the lies

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidJ
Location:albany, ga
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy Andrews has delivered a punch so strong that no lie should be able to withstand it. I say "should" because when a lie is faced with the truth it's kind of like darkness with the light gets turned on... it leaves. This book is a must read for every kid, teenager & adult , period. There's no excuse for what has happened over the generations gone by and continues to happen to this day. As Andy points out, our politician should be held to the "truth" standard, well so should we all. I am afraid the reason most are reluctant to hold someone to the "truth" standard is because we don't want to be held to that same standard. Come on, folks, what's so wrong with the truth? Here's what's wrong with the truth, truth only gives power to the one who created the truth. How do we overcome the lies, we admit we are liars ourselves and then submit to the truth standard ourselves. When we do, the attitude that Andy talks about in this book will not be able to take root in our lives any more. We won't stand for the lies... we will stand for the truth. Way to go Mr. Andrews! You have hit the nail on the head! Powerful book that's a quick read. Send your representative a copy, send your governor a copy, send your president a copy! Ask your favorite talk show why they haven't featured this book on their show? Get the word out! Don't just sit by and do nothing with what you have read. The train is coming down the tracks. When you read the book, you'll understand ...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Read

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Recguy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book overall is a good read for many reasons. Reason one: the author makes you think as you read, allowing you to formulate your own opinions about the subject matter, rather than giving his personal opinion. The only time he gives his personal opinion is when he chooses Abraham Lincoln. (a wise choice.) This book is a quick read, full of intresteing questions facts, and points out the direction our nation is and the direction it could be headed. Great read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is Andy's most significant book to date!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
GLS47
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In today's culture that teaches that there is no truth, it is important for someone to stand up and declare that truth really does matter. Andy Andrews does just that in this book. He shows from history the terrible consequences when a nation doesn't care about it's leaders speaking the truth. Every citizen needs to read this book ASAP!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Must Read book of 2012

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
paperbackwriterMC
Location:Albany, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy's newest book is short and to the point, but it can and should have a lasting effect. At a time when people wonder if they can trust anyone in leadership, Andy has written what I believe to be a definitive work on why truth matters. This book should not be underrated because of it's length, every sentence is packed with truth that matters. Every word carries weight. The book is well researched, well written and 84 pages you can't afford to ignore.
This is not a typical Andy Andrews book, but it may be his best. He shoots straight. He pulls no punches. He is not a troublemaker, but he is a troubleshooter. We have a problem in this country. With a postmodern mentality, and a decline in morals, we have lost the truth. Truth has become relative. But, at the end of the day, relative truth can result in a society embracing or ignoring the killing of 11 million people. We can't afford to have that happen.
If you care about your future, and the future of your children and grandchildren, you will buy this book, read it and recommend it to everyone you know. I recently sent 300 copies out to people around the country. I was so convicted and convinced that this book matters, that I wanted to get it into the hands of every leader I knew as soon as possible.
Michael Catt
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.