Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook

Thomas Nelson God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Review 1 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
PegLovesJesus
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a truly anointed book. It is especially geared for someone who "feels" their brokenness. And needs to know God loves them in the midst of it. "It's okay not to feel okay." Then, Sheila challenges us to allow God to transform our brokenness into ministry. I taught a women's ABF using this book. Many deep bonds between broken women were forged in the class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

even if you don't feel so, read this!

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God Loves Broken People" by Sheila Walsh is a book that focuses on how we can turn our own brokenness into a closer walk with God. She evens states that this is so important to her that if there was only one book that you read of hers, then is should be this one. Of all the book that Sheila wrote i would say that this one... If you experienced pain and suffering in your life or are going through a dark time, I would definitely recommend this book. If you're looking for a quick read or an inspiring honest book this is for you! If you are struggling with brokenness in any for, grab this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hope Giving

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book addresses the issues of pain and suffering and helps people to cope with the challenges that come along with these difficult situations. Using real life stories that are personal to her and those she knows, she tackles some of the hard questions people ask when things seem to go wrong. She provides perspective, hope and encouragement to those encountering trouble. There is something for everyone to gain from this book.
I found the first half of the book to be a tough slog. She kept raising all these difficult questions, but didn't give any answers or solutions or really even much hope to the reader. I ended up putting it down for a few months, then tried picking it back up again. The second half of the book was much more encouraging and gave a really good perspective on dealing with challenging circumstances and ways to find healing while strengthening our faith at the same time. If you can get through the start, the end is worth it.
I am a member of booksneeze.com by Thomas Nelson Publishers. In exchange for writing a review, I received this book for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for the Broken

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a teenager when my mom came home after attending her first Women of Faith conference in Washington, DC. She was alive again---really alive. I remember her talking about this amazing speaker named Sheila Walsh who had the guts to stand on an arena stage and tell more than ten thousand women what it was like to be broken and be a Christian. Shocking, I know.
Most Christians at the time treated fellow believers struggling with depression as less-than Christians, outcasts, clearly those "of little faith." Churches posted catch phrases on their outdoor signs like, "too blessed to be stressed." We lived in a vast religious culture of playing pretend and then Sheila Walsh told people how God had brought her from a high profile job on the 700 club to a mental hospital. But He didn't leave her there. He scooped her up like a lost little lamb lovingly lifted by her Shepherd to safety, and healing, and freedom.
In this book, Sheila delivers a message of how God doesn't just use brokenness, but how it actually draws us closer to Him and makes us better ministers of compassion to others. She draws from her own life experiences, countless Scripture accounts, classic Christian literature, and the testimonies of others to remind us that Christ Himself chose suffering, chose to be broken, for us.
Even now, all these years after my mom first heard Sheila Walsh share her testimony at Women of Faith, we Christians continually contend with those among us who think being a Christian is a free pass to happiness and personal comfort. We think somehow attending church or saying we're a Christian means we'll get to live the American dream--perfect family, perfect job, perfect health . . . just perfect. It still takes guts to be the one reminding us of what Scripture actually says---that in this world we will have trouble, but we take heart because Jesus has overcome the world.
For anyone walking through a season of brokenness or encountering trials and pain, this book offers a powerful ministry of encouragement. The book also includes group study questions in the back, making this a good choice for a women's Bible study or small group, as well. After all, sometimes it's easy to feel totally alone when we're struggling and yet the truth is---most of us have been broken, are broken or will be broken. So, ultimately this is a message to share with others.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A broken person helping other broken people

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightatheart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They're Not' is basically one hundred and eighty pages of one broken person reaching out to other broken people with words of comfort, scripture, encouragement, insight, warning, and exhortation. Plus another forty-five pages of Bible study and three pages of notes.
Sheila gently brings healing truths for the wounds that the reader may have in his or her life. She does this through personal insight, scripture, and a constant call for the reader to join her in seeing things from God's perspective as shown in the scriptures.
Do we have pain? Yes. It is common to humanity. Pain and/or wounds that seem like they are going to take us out? Yes, even that kind of pain is common. Sheila takes an Introduction and thirteen chapters to show us how to overcome those things that can be overcome and accept those things that God has allowed.
She gives many examples throughout the book to better explain her points and they were all great. Nevertheless there are two examples that stand out the most for me. One being the Chinese woman looking for a mustard seed and what she found instead. The other one was the contrast between the baby Jesus and a baby prince of darkness.
The compassion she has for hurting people is clear throughout the book. Still she brings up concepts that aren't pleasant to embrace, but she works from a biblically solid base for what she says, and she bathes it all in God's fierce love and compassion. I definitely recommend this book to one and all.
Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a temporary digital copy of the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My book review on God Loves Broken People

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
trustingGodalways
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My book review on God Loves Broken People: And Those Who Pretend They're Not by Sheila walsh
Summary:
The other side of brokenness
"If I could write only one book in my lifetime, I would ask God to make it this one, the very book you now hold in your hands. . . ."―Sheila Walsh
God loves broken people. And when weary, wounded men and women find a way to open their bruised hearts and somehow welcome Him into their personal darkness, they will find a love beyond anything they have ever known.
When the glass house Sheila had lived in for so many years came crashing to the ground, she began a new life outside the safety of those walls. No, it didn't feel good, nor safe―not at all. But it felt true. Sheila saw herself as a broken lamb limping after the Shepherd, not knowing where He was going, but knowing that wherever He went, she wanted to go with Him.
In twelve stirring, insightful, and deeply revealing chapters, Sheila Walsh shows how personal brokenness can open doors of intimacy with Jesus Christ that might never open in any other way.
It's not that God loves broken people more than those who imagine themselves to be whole―it's simply that they know they are loved. They dare to believe it . . . and through such trust, a new wholeness emerges from yesterday's broken pieces.-unknown
My review:
When I read God Loves Broken People (And Those Who Pretend They’re Not) by Sheila Walsh I really began to understand how God cares about all of us and that we all are broken at some point in our lives and that God loves us no matter what and He wants to fixes if we allow Him to and that we should not pretend not to be broken when we really are and how to fully trust the Lord on everything and let Him fix us even when we feel we are to broken and that God cannot fix us.
God can fix us 100% if we fully allow Him to I really related to a lot of what Sheila wrote in this book and realized I was still broken and that God is still working on fixing me and I need to let Him fully fix me so He can use me how he wants to and not be stubborn to fully trust Him.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmyLa324
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book by Shelia Walsh I have read. I found it up lifting and encouraging. The book talks about how we can come to God just as we are. That it doesn't matter who we are or what we have been through but that God will accept us and can use us just as we are. You never know how the struggles you face in your own life will help someone else. She tell lots of stories from her own life and the lives of others but always brings it back to be deeply rooted in scriptures. She has many of scripture verses interlaced in the chapters of her book.
In the very first chapter she speaks of how we must move on from the past. We can not spend our life staring in the rear view mirror but must keep our focus on the road ahead of us. God is continually doing new things in our lives, helping us to grow and preparing us for the future He has for us.
See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:19
She also spoke of "bummer lambs" . The abandoned or rejected lambs in a flock. These lambs she states are truly the most blessed because they are "personally and intimately cared for by the shepherd. They develop a relationship with the shepherd that other sheep can't even dream of".
There is also a Bible Study includeded at the end of the book. I am hoping to do it with our Bible Study group this fall.
I read this book in the mornings as part of my devotional time. The chapters were short and engaging. I was always eager to pick it up and read the next chapter. It was so encouraging to read stories of people that God used, that they did not have picture perfect lives. But God can and will use them to touch others all around them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Loves Me Even While Broken

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
MAnjel
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love Love Love Love this book!!!! Never have I ever read a book that brought me to tears with in the first 5 pages. I was one of those people who knew they were broken but didn't know the extent of it. This book is a great at showing that we all need Jesus and just how much God loves us. It doesn't beat you up with accusations or point out your imperfections. In fact she points out more of her own and then shows us the love of God in the mist of the brokeness. We are human, meaning we all sin and we all have some form of brokeness, even when we don't see it.
I also love that the books comes with a bible study of each chapter. The questions are deep thinkers, meant to get past the surface level answers and get the root of the issue. The best part is knowing at the end that God loves you and he's a expert fixer.
I can't wait to buy this for people that I love. Definitely 5 star worthy. Must Read!!!
www.saltthroughligt.wordpress
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
vondez
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I have almost finished reading it for the second time. I have bought it for a friend. It is very encouraging.
Thank you Shelia Walsh and cbd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Encouraging and Uplifting Read!

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angell
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love love love Sheila Walsh. I "discovered" her when I went to a Woman of Faith Conference 8 years ago.
This book is EXCELLENT! I love how she writes...it's as if she's sitting there talking to you over a cup of coffee. A very easy read I must say! We are not all perfect...many of us are broken and just trying to walk along like there is nothing wrong. Some of us need to be reminded...sometimes constantly...that God loves us and is there to heal us. Even her Introduction title is perfect..."It's Okay Not to be Okay." That just takes a weight off my shoulders! We Christians always seem to struggle with showing our weaknesses and areas we need help with. This book definitely helps with that. It's an encouraging and inspirational book and I highly recommend it! This is a book that will be a constant read in my home. What a blessing!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Resource for Support Groups

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nellie Dee
Location:Stone Lake, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
I breezed through this book because it was enjoyable and easy to read while at the same time I had to mark several places so I could go back to re-read and give further thought.
I appreciate how Sheila wrote from her heart and her own painful experiences. It is evidence of the truth she reveals in her book, that we are all broken, but some of us know it and admit it, that some of us embrace the brokenness and emerge a better person, and that by embracing the brokenness from heaven's perspective, we can find a place of comfort and solice.
Brokenness being the place where our lives fall apart, shattered by events or disasters. Instantly. One minute having the world at your fingers, the next minute, having nothing.
Sheila captures the "what we know for sure", which is the place where broken people find themselves. I had to smile because I've repeated those words numerous times from my own broken place. All we know for sure is "that Jesus loves me, this I know".
The author gave numerous examples of woundedness by including many stories of her own as well as those of friends or those found in her own reading and research. My favorite two examples are about communion. The first one was about a group of prisoners, who although in separate cells, communicated through morse code and discovered they could share communion. Even though they had nothing to share, they could still share nothing. The other communion story was the precious sharing of a saltine and ginger ale between Sheila and her mother-in-law during her mother's last days, and thus, her last earthly communion.
I loved the author's insights through scriptures. She has definitely done her own digging for nuggets of gold. She so freely shared her nuggets, but as with all gold digs, there's nothing as precious as your own find. Somehow, we can't appreciate or latch onto the truth, claiming it for our very own without picking up our own shovel.
The author includes a Bible Study with 13 lessons for just such a personal dig. It would be well worth the study to assess one's own progress, whether in an individual or group Bible or support group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God Loves Broken People by Sheila Walsh.

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God Loves Broken People by Sheila Walsh is a honest read on human brokenness and God’s love.
Shelia’s honest look at brokenness reveals her own brokenness in such a way that all of us can relate to it. We realize that we are all broken but God is the one who loves us just as we are
You feel as if you are sitting at Shelia’s kitchen table having a one-on-one conversation with your best friend about all hurts and hindrances in both your life and realizing that you can be honest with God in the same way. All we need to do is run to Jesus as fast as we can. .
We are broken in this life, but God loves through this life and into eternity.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Broken People Need God's Grace

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some books are fun to read. Some books an encouragement. Some books serve as a great reference. Sheila Walsh’s latest book is all three.
As I read, I thought I was reading something that I could have written. One of the themes of my ministry is that we are all broken people in need of God’s grace. Long ago, I learned to rephrase Thomas Harris’ classic popular “I’m OK - You’re OK”:
I’m not OK,
You’re not OK,
And that’s OK
It is a theme that Sheila Walsh also picks up in her first chapter. I found the lessons in the book both helpful and true. Written by a person that had to walk through tough times to finally understand what it means to experience the grace of God.
The book is composed of stories and truths. The stories are of those who have experienced brokenness in their lives. The truths are rooted in scripture - and are valid for us all.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Sneeze Book Review: "God Loves Broken People.

Date:April 15, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Shelia Walsh's books, but this book is my favorite book of the ones she has written. The book is titled "God Loves Broken People (And Those Who Pretend They're Not) and Shelia said that if she could only write one book in her lifetime this book would be it. I think in so many ways it is because this book represents her life story the best.
The book is broken up into thirteen chapters and includes a bible study for each chapter. I love that because this book is not one that you simply read, but one that you can actually work through, and one that encourages you to read Scriptures from the Bible. As with many of the books I have read this one would be a wonderful one to do with a small group of women (men too, although I think women would relate to this book a bit better).
One quote from the book cover states, "Shelia Walsh shows how personal brokenness can open doors of intimacy with Jesus Christ that might never open in any other way." In my opinion that pretty much sums up the whole book. Shelia shares much of her own personal journey with brokenness in this book, but she also share the stories of many others who have walked the lonely painful road of brokenness as well. However, Shelia doesn't end with just the broken stories of their lives, but with how God has used the brokenness of their lives to draw them into a deeper relationship with Himself. Suffering and utter brokenness if one allows it to will usher him/her into an intimacy with Jesus that is not experienced in the happy and joyful times of life.
I feel of all the books that I have read of Shelia's that in this one she really challenges Christians to let go of ideas about how the Christian life should be one of no trials and pure happiness, but that we should instead embrace suffering and brokenness because that is what Jesus did for us. Purely because of that fact I think this book is wonderful.
This book will definitely be an encouragement to those who have lived through immense suffering or are currently in a season of suffering and brokenness. For those who are currently in a "happy" time of their lives I believe this book can be a reminder that brokenness and suffering will come to us all one day and this book may help to prepare us to have a correct response and view of suffering. This book is definitely a five star book and I would recommend it to others.
I received this book complimentary from Book Sneeze (Thomas Nelson) and in turn I am writing this review. Thanks Book Sneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Scripture is Truth

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
LyonsLady
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God Loves Broken People
(And those who pretend they're not)
Written by Sheila Walsh
In the early 80's when i first received the gift of salvation through Christ Jesus, one of the first things i did was change the music i listened to and Sheila Walsh was one of my favorites...Also a few years ago i was blessed to be able to go to a Woman of Faith conference and Sheila was one of the speakers. So when i saw this book written by Sheila Walsh and also the title caught my eye, i was excited to be able to read it to write this review.
In the first chapter, Sheila shares this wonderful story about a stepping stone that her son Christian made for her on one of her birthdays. He had ordered the kit and when he received it was very disappointed because the box was filled with broken pieces of mosaic. Then his dad told him "he could use these pieces to create a one of a kind stepping stone for his mom" Christian then was determined to do just that and to use every piece in the kit. Since that time this stepping stone was placed in a very special space where Sheila now sits on her patio in the mornings and can see it every morning to see this wonderful gift her son gave her made with his own hands.
One morning her son came out to sit with her and then asked "Mom, do you think someone broke the pieces on purpose, or do you think they just gathered up broken things and use them in the kits?" Sheila answered " i imagine they collected the broken ones."
This question stayed with her for a long time. She then takes this simple question and compares it to the broken pieces in our own lives. ... She asks God, "Father,do You orchestrate the breaking of our lives,or just invite us to bring all the pieces to You?" Then she questioned to her self "does it matter? Would we relate to God differently depending on His answers? It's one thing to love God when we think of Him as the One who binds up our brokenness. But what if He is the One who allows, even participates , in the breaking?
All Jesus did , all of His life was to hold onto the promises and truths of Gods Word, the Bible. Sheila says, "I want you to know that for the rest of this book ."
Her goal for us to learn from her book is to train our eyes on two crucial things:
#1 is an ancient path and good way which is nothing other than the Word of God, the Bible.
Jeremiah 6:16 "Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein."
#2 is the one new, not looking back ,but instead reaching for the fresh future God is at work preparing for us.
Isaiah 43:19 "Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert."
She shares many stories and incidences from her life and from others lives, all in the desire to show us --- of the Hope we have in Christ Jesus no matter how broken we are !!! And as i have always said...she continues with this "but remember as you read that not one of these stories can do for you what the Word of God can do. And that is why she intends to root everything she shares in the Scriptures.
It may be hard, but it will be worth it !
At the back of the book is a Bible Study for each chapter and to me this always helps us all to dig deeper and then it becomes more personal.
Its okay for us all to be broken, the key is not to stay that way... No matter what we have done or what we have been through there is a way out and that is to read Gods Word and trust Him in what He says in it.
I would recommend this book to anyone..man,woman,teenager,those who follow Christ Jesus and those who do not.It helps you see mainly through Scripture ,which is truth, that if you take God at His Word you really cannot go wrong...
Pray before you read any book and just Ask God to help you understand what you are reading and ask God to help you apply it to your life,if it is according to His Word....I PRAY we all do this daily...
Sheila as before, God has used you to bless my with more of HIM. I pray Yahweh will continue to guide you and engulf you with His love,peace and joy. I also pray His Word from Numbers 6:24-26" The LORD bless thee, and keep thee: The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace."
May HE alone be Glorified through us all who are called His children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God Loves Broken People

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy Shelia's books, and this one included. This is a different format then Shelia's regular writing. This book includes everyday situations of depression, death, heartbreak, health conditions and many more... from the people in everyday life story's. Covering difficult times that people go through in life, each story is backed with a bible verse and biblical examples of why GOD loves people so much and why when bad things happen they are the blessing of GOD.
I enjoyed this book, it was a not in your face book, it was a way of looking at sad and uncontrollable situations the way GOD intends them to.
I would recommend this book to others, espically those that are going through a very difficult time.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Wisdom: God Loves Broken People

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoyfulKeeping
Location:Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sheila, from the bottom of my broken heart, I thank you for this book. I’m pretty sure if one could earn a doctorate in brokenness, I would have one. I love the conversational style of this book interwoven with real life stories. Sheila shares her personal pains and those who have risen from the deepest darkest places.
“Can our brokenness be a blessing?” she asks.
A blessing is something I never would have called my traumas, but I can see how God takes this brokenness and turns it into a seed which will grow. Sheila talks about how some Christian brothers and sisters were so shockingly cruel, unsupportive, and judgmental about her depression – well to many of us, we would have run screaming from anything associated with Jesus or Christianity. When my marriage was falling apart due to abuse from my spouse, a prominent southern Baptist pastor, along with the church body turned their backs – on me, the victim. Yes, I wanted to run away, but God had other plans. It showed me the Christian I didn’t want to become.
“What if brokenness is a divine gift, a mystery we can fully understand and truly appreciate only in eternity?”
When I was sexually attacked at 12, I was broken. When my parents divorced at 13 and I left home at 15 I discovered a cold dangerous world. When you live place to place, sleep on a floor or walk the streets at night hoping you stay invisible to the world, when you’ll do just about anything for a hot meal because you haven’t eaten in days– you are broken. When I found myself pregnant at 17, alone and completely out of money, resources and sitting in a motel room (paid for with my last dollars) facing check-out time thumbing through the phonebook for the nearest crisis pregnancy center, I was broken. Fastforward to 19 years later when I walked in to find my beautiful daughter dead from sleep apnea, I was absolutely, completely, broken to the core. At each of these (and much more) I could not see what I had done that was so awful to be punished this way. It has taken time, and writers like Sheila, to help me see beyond my pain.
Just as Sheila describes wanting to crawl into bed and not get up. Just like the story of Naomi wanting to be called Mara, I was bitter, I was angry. But God has turned each trauma, each heartache into stepping stones for where He is leading me and people with the same heartaches have reached out to me.
What Sheila doesn’t know is that I have been working, painfully, on writing my story because people say I’m strong, because people say I should share why on earth I still believe in God and my fear, what has held me back was that I would be judged. That my Christian brothers and sisters would judge my life and miss the beauty God has created from my pain. Her book has inspired me to move forward.
Even if you are not ‘broken’ you know someone who is. Read this book, it could change your life, your way of thinking and help someone who is broken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great reminder of God's promises

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The latest book release by Sheila Walsh is one that will speak to many people. God Loves Broken People (And Those Who Pretend They're Not) is not a book designed to make all of your problems evaporate with a sprinkling of Scripture, or buzz words to make you feel good about yourself. Nor, does it make any guarantees that all of your brokenness can be placed firmly in the past. However, it is filled with stories of others who have faced sorrow and insecurities and assures the reader that God can be trusted and does love us.
"It’s not that God loves broken people more than those who imagine themselves to be whole―it’s simply that they know they are loved. They dare to believe it . . . and through such trust, a new wholeness emerges from yesterday’s broken pieces." ~ from the book jacket. From personal experience, I know that it often feels during the times of bleakness that God simply doesn't love you. The reminders that His promises are for all of us who seek Him and that He longs for a relationship with His people are a great reassurance. Sometimes what we know in our head, can be overpowered by what we are feeling. Logic can flee when sorrow invades, so that is the times we need to cling to what we know to be true.
This wasn't the most profound book I have ever read, but it did provide glimmers of light and hope to those going through a time of darkness. Sometimes, the lighter fare is easier to absorb and several of the anecdotes did speak to me, and cause me to think from a slightly different angle. The Bible studies that go along with the chapters are good for both self-evaluation or for a discussion group. Just the reminder that God may allow part of my life to be broken, but is able to use those broken pieces for a much greater purpose was reason enough for me to be glad I read this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll admit, I wanted to read this book because when I read the title the first thought that went through my head was "oh yeah? Prove it!" Welp, she did folks!!! In the introduction Sheila Walsh talks about how if she could have only chosen one book to write it would have been this one. Now having read it, I would say that it's in my top 20 must read list, but I am still glad we have other books by Walsh :)
What I most appreciate about Walsh as an author is her consistent willingness to be truthful about her life, struggles and growth as a Christian. Not only does Walsh truly "practice what she preaches" but she gives the reader a valuable resource in this book with all the Bible verses quoted about suffering and all the other authors Walsh resources. Another part of this book that I most appreciated is that unlike other Christians I have encountered who seems to have cookie cutter responses such as "all things work for God's glory!" Walsh gives the reader permission to have emotion surrounding a hard situation and then practical, biblical based discussion points on how to move forward with the emotion.
One point Walsh continually brings up is the blessing of experiencing brokenness, the opportunity to grow closer to God through it, and the blessing you can be to others through it.
I would highly suggest reading this book, 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Loves Broken People: How Our Loving Father Makes Us Whole - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read on brokenness

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LarryKozlof
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In “God Loves Broken People” Sheila Walsh sets out to provide a landscape by which any person who has even the slightest amount of hurt and pain (brokenness), regardless the form, can see that God is not upset with them because of the pain, but he is ready and willing to use them because of the pain.
The idea of being broken, and the stigma and taboo that often comes along with it, is so often either pushed aside or made little notice of in Christian circles. Sheila Walsh describes from her first words through the entirety of the book the importance of recognizing your own brokenness and seeing that God both loves you fiercely, and hopes that you will see the value of what you are experiencing. When many authors would take the introduction space of a book to introduce the topic, Sheila introduces herself and the reason for writing this book, personalizing the theme and allowing the reader to see that not being Okay, is Okay. I believe this was vital to the concept and readability of the book.
Though I understood before reading that much of the discussion throughout would be focused on and from a female perspective, I was intrigued to see how the topic would be handled for a male reader. My answer came quickly, and somewhat surprisingly, as I felt drawn deeper into the writing as pages turned and because of the way in which Sheila approached this topic I was encouraged to get deeper into the Word myself as she highlighted passages and used them as source material.
The knowledge that is passed on to the reader through all 13 chapters, though I found it humorous when the jacket of the book mentioned 12, kept me engaged, entertained and wanting to learn more. If there is anything negative within the pages it would be the need for more external examples of brokenness, perhaps having some friends share a story from their perspective, and less that centered on the author herself. However, that being said, this is a wonderful book and a great read. I highly recommend that you pick it and walk through the teaching, apply it and see where it takes you with God, even if you are a person who pretends to not be broken.
God loves broken people is a fabulous read, that may drag at moments, but is redeemed by the wonderful truth that God does not over look your pain. I believe this book should be on the shelf of professional counselors and ministers alike, after all, everyone has a little sense of brokenness within them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>