Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook

Thomas Nelson The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook

Wondering how to apply leadership principles if you're not the boss? Maxwell has answers! Debunking myths and clarifying challenges, the popular author asserts that you don't have to be the "main" person to impact your organization. You'll discover specific ways to influence peers and superiors-and become a more valuable team member.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Review 1 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical advice on improving influence

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maxwell has written a practical, eye opening book to help anyone lead from where he presently serves. Through identifying leadership myths and sharing challenges leaders face, Maxwell shows every leader how to influence those around him. He includes a section on leadership principles that are applicable to every leader, no matter where he serves in the corporation. I recommend anyone who wants to grow in leadership to pick up a copy and start influencing those around you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical advice on improving influence

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Maxwell has written a practical, eye opening book to help anyone lead from where he presently serves. Through identifying leadership myths and sharing challenges leaders face, Maxwell shows every leader how to influence those around him. He includes a section on leadership principles that are applicable to every leader, no matter where he serves in the corporation. I recommend anyone who wants to grow in leadership to pick up a copy and start influencing those around you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE 360-DEGREE LEADER BY JOHN C. MAXWELL

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tom Jamieson
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With more than thirty years of leadership experience under his belt, John Maxwell has written, most likely, his best work on the issue of leadership to date — The 360-Degree Leader.
In this volume, Maxwell addresses the question of how to lead when you’re not the one in charge. It is a challenging question, but Maxwell offers great insight along with the kind of practical advice for which he has come to be known.
A good example of this comes in “Lead-up Principle #2 — Lighten Your Leader’s Load.” Maxwell asserts that one way to develop your own leadership skills while in the middle of an organization is to ask your leader how you can lift the load. Maxwell goes on to state that the way you add value to your leader is to ask three questions:
“Can I say something you have said before to give you another voice?”
“Can I say something you would like to say but can’t, to give you a needed voice?”
“Can I say something you haven’t said yet to give you the first voice?”
Overall, I can say with confidence that I would definitely recommend this book and, in fact, I already have. We have a leadership development program where I work. I facilitate the module that covers public speaking. I recommended this book to the leader of the program and it is now the required text for this cohort.
This book is a must read for anyone who is interested in growing his or her ability to lead up, down, and across. By applying the practical principles found in these pages, one can increase his influence and makes himself into a more valuable team member.
To comply with regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission:
Disclosure of Material Connection:
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of theirBookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for a young leader

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever wondered what it takes to make a great leader? Ever felt trapped by your position (or complete lack thereof) within your company? John Maxwell's book on how to lead effectively from wherever God has placed you within your company is the perfect tool to equip you to become a better leader. Within this quick and fascinating work, John helps the reader understand that your position isn't what stops you from leading, it is your mindset. That a great leader, is the man/woman who embraces the job he/she has today, and works hard to better those around them, and the company as well.
I thought this book was very helpful for me, a young leader, who feels surrounded by older and wiser leaders. It helped me feel equipped to speak out in meetings, embrace ideas, and run in the areas where I may be gifted differently than those around me. The tools that John Maxwell gives throughout the book has helped me become a better leader, a better follower, and a more effective communicator.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New favorite for organizational team building

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
acgifford
Location:Coeur d'Alene, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I've recently had the privilege of reviewing The 360° Leader by John C. Maxwell, for BookSneeze. I love leadership books, but I especially love this one because it focuses on being a leader, whether or not you have a position.
The 360° Degree Leader is the first book I've read that talks to the one who is stuck "in the middle" or "at the bottom" so to speak. It gives direction to those with position of how to lead "down", but it also encourages those on the bottom on how to "lead up" and those in the middle to "lead down" and "lead across."
First of all, by purchasing The 360° Degree Leader, you are given the privilege of taking an online assessment regarding your own leadership skills, which will help you know which strategies you should work on the most.
Ever wished you were a leader, but felt you didn't have anyone to lead? Ever served under a poor leader and wondered if you should just quit?...or if you should go over their authority and "save the day"? This book is for you.
Ever felt that your character and leadership skills didn't matter because you weren't in an important place in the chain of command? Maxwell breathes life into those who serve in the middle, explaining how their influence is usually bigger than those at the top.
Maxwell challenges the reader to develop a character and lifestyle that causes you to be followed - not because of your position, but because of who you are and what you represent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have in your leadership library!

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New York Times Best-Selling Author John C. Maxwell has spent years of his life teaching Leadership. I have many of his books and have attended his conferences. When this book was available for reviewing I was very excited to see what he would be offering in the 360 Degree Leader!
The 360 Degree Leader shows you how to develop your influence anywhere in an organization. He teaches that you don't have to be at the top of an organization to lead. He speaks to the middle leader of an organization. In Section I he dispels 7 myths of leading from the middle of an organization. Section II covers 7 challenges the 360 degree leader faces. Section III covers the 9 principles the 360 Degree Leader practice to lead up. Section IV covers the principles the 360 Degree Leader practices to lead across. Section V covers The 7 Principle the 360 Degree Leader practices to lead down. Section VI covers the Value of the 360 Degree Leader which consists of 5 values.
Each section has a review to make sure you understand the principle covered. Also included is a Special Section that shows how to create an environment that Unleashes 360-Degree Leader, Notes, the 360 Degree Leader Workbook and notes about the author. The reader is also offered to take a free assessment of their 360 Degree Leadership skills.
If you are a leader in the middle who wants to be a better leader and wants to be a top leader in the future I recommend this book. For the top leader in an organization, this book could be useful to you. I feel this book can help you in any organization, especially business as well as your church. Enjoy!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone is a leader whether we know it or not. I once heard it said that, as leaders we all contribute something to those around us. Some of us contribute positively, some neutrally and some negatively. It's just a fact of life really.
That said, I am training to be a church leader so I come from a different slant to most. So I'm interested in leadership, I want to develop my own leaderships skills and I want to develop leadership in those I lead. When I read my first John Maxwell book it was everything I was expecting. This book follows on perfectly for me.
The idea is that wherever we are, particularly within an organisation we can be leaders and influence the people around us for the better is no doubt a new thought for many. Maxwell does another great job in offering guidance and skills for anyone wanting to develop themselves as leaders. He starts by destroying many of the myths like we have to be at the top to lead, or we need an official position or title to lead and ends with oodles of stuff that can help you lead from wherever you are!
Another great book from John Maxwell.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book on leadership

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read many John Maxwell books so I was very impressed by this book! it is very thorough and well laid out. In 360 Leader, John Maxwell writes about "Developing your influence from anywhere in the organization" and like I said: VERY THOROUGH.
He begins the book with some myths that many believe about leading, then goes into the challenges leaders face. Luckily he then goes into how to lead better in circumstances and the more practical applications of leadership. He wraps it all up with resources and the value and reasons why to be a 360 degree leader.
Wonderfully written with amazing insight and experience, this is a book I can see anyone finding value in, regardless of the organization or your role in it. I loved this book.
I was provided with a complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alfreda Brewer-opatz
I bought this book for my husband and I have enjoyed reading it also. It provides a lot of insight to being a leader right where you are and in all that you do. I would recommend this book to anyone already in a leadership position,aspiring leaders and if you have issues with those who are leading you. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The 360 Degree Leader: Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
howard wharton
This book is a must read if you are a leader in an organization in any capacity, especially if you're leading from the middle. This book is an instant classic, this is one of those books that will help any leader anywhere in the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.