Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook

Thomas Nelson Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Review 1 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

you would love this for sure

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daily Gifts of Grace is a wonderful resource of devotionals from various authors from Women of Faith. I've been a Woman of faith fan, I mean they're really, really had a good sense of humor. Grab this! I really liked what I read, if your looking for something will inspire or something to start your year with... have this book. I would recommend it to anyone but, if you're looking for more substance in regard to living the Christian life. It's a daily devotional full of Godly wisdom. I highly recommended this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For daily reminders of God's grace don't miss this

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
karenkteachcambodia
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a delightful, hardcover, ribbon bookmark, and magnetic cover flap, this book of daily devotions for a whole year is sure to delight. Daily Gifts of Grace: devotions for each day of your year is a Women of Faith publication. Written by women, for women, this book provides daily reminders of the amazing gift of God's grace to us. Writers such as Luci Swindoll, Shiela Walsh, Kim Cash Tate, Marilyn Meberg, Patsy Clairmont, and Jenna Lucado offer personal insights into a wide variety of aspects of God’s grace. Each dated devotion has a focus verse and a brief (one page) comment that will inspire, challenge and encourage the readers on their daily walk of grace. The honesty of the writers is refreshing, and the simple clear presentation of the book makes it easy to read. With a whole year’s worth of readings I have only sampled a few as I write this review, but I know I’m going to enjoy the daily reminders of God’s grace throughout the coming school year. It would make a lovely Christmas gift for any lady, old or young, who desires to spend the year living in the grace of God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful book and great gift.

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
TiaB
Location:UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a daily dip-in kind of a book; I'm not sure what I was expecting but it's certainly much briefer than other bible notes I've used before. One verse, and a page written by one of several different women.
On the plus side, it's a beautiful book. It has a really satisfying magnetic snappetty snap fastening cover; very satisfying. It's very easy to read, and although each entry is dated, there is no sense of progression, meaning that if a few days get missed, you can dip back in wherever you are, rather than feeling obliged to catch up.
On the less positive side; it is very brief. There isn't a sense of continuity between readings, and I have struggled to find the relevance of the writing to the bible verse selected on occasion. It also seems to have been put together without much thought for the dates assigned to each reading; I'm not convinced for example that the suggestion to take a nice picnic out for a gentle walk was best placed in January!
Daily Gifts of Grace hasn't grabbed me as the other books I've reviewed here have. It will be useful; I did find it helpful in hospital when my concentration levels were minimal, and I do find pause for thought in most readings. But it does not have the meat I like to find in a daily devotional. Daily Droplets might be a better title; content worth musing on for a few minutes rather than something to chew on for a full day. I will keep dipping into it; and I can see that I will not be throwing it out at the end of the year. It will stay in my shelves for more five minute moments. But I wouldn't be ordering next year's as a sole set of Bible reading notes. That said, I might give it as a gift to someone I knew didn't have a lot of time, and did want plenty of encouragement.
Tia
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
SuzB
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so excited to own this devotion book! I love the way it is presented in a wallet like way. It has a magnetic flap that keeps it safely closed. It also has a ribbon marker.
Each daily devotion is written by a different author from the women of faith group such as:
Shiela Walsh
Jenny Lucado
Joni Eareckson Tada and others.
In the back of the devotion book there is a page of bios on each contributor.
I like that each day a thought that comes from a woman perspective and from daily real life experiences.
I also recommend this book would be a great gift for any woman including new Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Word of Faith "prosperity gospel" teachings

Date:April 5, 2012
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
[WARNING: Please read my review fully and carefully. This book is not what it seems.]
This is a very beautiful devotional book made with nice quality hard cover, with even a very pretty hardcover flap (like the kind on journals) that closes over the front cover with a magnet. This is the most beautiful book - from the outside. It's the kind of pretty book you want to buy for all your friends based on looks alone. But Chrisitians have been taught that the surface doesn't count - it's the inside that really counts. And you will want to read and understand my review carefully, when it comes to the inside.
Sadly, thats all this book is - pretty from the outside. I was surprised at how void of God and Jesus this devotional is. At first I thought it was mostly poetic, psychology, opinion and fluff. There are about 20 authors and they mix their writings up randomly. However, I read this book by each author, so I could get a feel for what each of them is saying - each woman's point of view. And that's when I realized the "theology" behind this book is much worse than simple poetic fluff. These women are teaching the "prosperity gospel" that turns God into a genie and us into users of God.
The most prolific writer in the book is Sheila Walsh. In her writings, Walsh tells us about God's promises but her words have no depth behind them. There is no life application. Her paragraphs are choppy and lose focus. It's almost like she had a few ideas and wrote them down but forgot to edit them to make them flow nicely. After reading her writings, I began noticing a pattern and felt her teachings were not biblical - she seems to make God into a genie that must grant us wishes because "God promised". This sounds like the "propsperity gospel" that some of those tv evangelists are misleading millions of people with.
Example: Walsh tells us that "God has promised to deliver us" but she fails to mention anything about when, how, why or God's will. Just a blanket promise that makes it seem like "God promises to ALWAYS deliver us no matter what". Well, clearly we all will die some day, so God's promise isn't the blanket promise Walsh portrays - we are't always delivered from death or even trials. Truth is, God doesn't promise to deliver us from trials or death. His promise is for salvation to believers only. Walsh only tells us that God promised so-and-so and she makes these promises into ALWAYS-NO-MATTER-WHAT promises, such as when she writes "grace and peace are our birthright."
Walsh's other writings are choppy and shallow with misapplied verses: "Do you ever feel like a nobody? Satan tempts us to be somebody. Mt 4:7 says "Don't tempt God." So don't fear. God has our best interests at heart. He will provide for us." I don't really see how Mt 4:7 is relevant to "wanting to get glory for yourself." And I don't really see how "God will take care of you" has anything to do with a solution for being egotistical and seeking your own glory. Most of Walsh's writings that aren't leading us to believe in false promises and turn God into a genie are instead like this one - choppy and with no clear point.
Luci Swindoll is another author I was interested to hear her thoughts, considering her relation to her famous father, Chuck Swindoll. But her writing was very shallow and had little to do with God and I was surprised to find that she also seems to be teaching the "prosperity gospel" as well. She writes about "planting seed-thoughts" - "seed faith" or "seed thoughts" are terms I've only heard scamming tv evangelists like the Mike Murdock use or Word of Faith false teachers like Oral Roberts use.
Luci Swindoll's other writings have nothing to do with God and revolve mostly around herself and her famous father, Chuck Swindoll. Instead of Jesus, she writes about her "elocution lessions", her not wanting get married or have children, her love of "figuring out how things work", her decorating her bedroom, building model airplanes, "bowing to pressure from friends and Mother" to date, a false engagement to a man she had no intent to marry, and "the greatest adventures of my life have come because I said yes to the unknown". Swindoll even writes about "I began memorizing Scripture and learning about the promises and blessings that were mine by simply putting my faith in Christ." Does Swindoll sound more interested in Jesus because of a personal reltionship with Him or interested in getting "promises and blessings WHICH ARE MINE"? Based on her own words, she's seeking to use God for his blessings, more than have a relationship with our Savior. She has made God her genie. This is "the prosperity gospel."
I absolutely would pass on this book. It is pretty on the outside but poison and self-centered on the inside. "The Women of Faith" are clearly wolves in sheeps clothing - their teachings are centered around themselves and what promises they can get from God. They are simply seeking to use God for their own selfish gain.
Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am giving my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eszter
Location:Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to open my devotional because it is very aesthetic. Each page has a daily devotion that starts with a Bible verse. Useful thoughts and life experiencesguide us readers.
I recommend it also as a gift for mother's day or any other occasion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
alannahp
Location:Cape Sable Island, NS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Description:
Women of Faith speakers share insight, advice, laughter, and maybe even a few tears in this daily devotional. Voices from fiction, recognizable names from Christian conferences, and well-known Christian writers also are included.
Daily Gifts of Grace is a daily devotional designed specifically for women, with a beautiful hardbound case and a magnetic closure. Readers will be pleased to open it for a devotion that will help them face the day or for an inspirational devotion to close the day.
Contributors include Joni Eareckson Tada, Lisa Whelchel, Jenna Lucado, Sheila Walsh, Kim Cash Tate, Patsy Clairmont, Natalie Grant, Lisa Harper, and others.
Review:
This devotional is amazing. I've been looking for a devotional to start, and this one was perfect. It's great to have it on my e-reader, so I can take it everywhere. It's a daily devotional full of Godly wisdom. You hear stories of God working in amazing ways through these women's lives. The short devotionals make it easy to do devotions whenever. Each one has a scripture at the top, and then are filled with encouraging thoughts and stories. This is an uplifting, wonderful daily devotional.
*Note: I received this book free for review through BookSneeze. I'm not required to write a positive review, only an honest one.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gifts of grace review

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received "Daily Gifts of Grace" by Women of Faith, an e-book, from http://www.booksneeze.com/ for free. This book is a 365 day devotional. Each day has a verse, message, and prayer from a different woman involved with Women of Faith. I don't have a lot of experience with Women of Faith, so there were plenty of names I didn't recognize, but also several that I did. I would imagine that some of the names would be familiar even if one never read christian work for instance Lisa Welchel, otherwise known as Blair. Yes, that Blair. The one with the "briiiiliant ideas."
I really like this devotional. I do devotions on a daily basis to keep my faith in order, so to speak. I have before when reviewing a devotional, read the whole thing and then reviewed it; but I found that that missed the point. With this one I read the daily for 2 weeks so that I got a feel for how it would go. I really liked it, especially getting a different author everyday. (well almost, there are some repeats, it is 365 days, ya know). But I find in some devotionals, I get tired of one person's opinion all the time. This was refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This devotional is by far one of the best. I have been using it daily since the beginning of the year and it feels like each devotional is written just for me, just for that specific day. The author's of the devotionals make you laugh and cry and most importantly turn to the foot of the cross on a daily basis.
This is a devotional that would be great for young adults right through to older women. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to begin 2012

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daily Gifts of Grace Devotions for Each Day of Your Year
By Women of Faith
Published by Thomas Nelson
Love this Devotional Book. What a wonderful book to begin reading in 2012. I normally do not like devotionals, but this one is like no other daily devotional. As you read each day it is like having coffee with a close girlfriend while sharing the Word of God. Every scripture and ever meditation is something you can apply to your day. I love Women of Faith and I truly enjoy listening to the speakers, and reading their books. I love how you can pick a topic and begin your day with that. The reader does not have to read from beginning to end, but if they want to they can. I love how the days are compiled by a mixture of women young and old. Patsy Clairmont, Lisa Whelchel, and Sandi Patty are some of the women who shared their day with you. I really enjoyed this book and I know that you will too.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was a great devotional

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
whiteoleander00
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review of women of faith’s devotional titled: Daily Gifts of Grace devotions for each day of the year
Synopsis: “Women of Faith speakers share insight, advice, laughter, and maybe even a few tears in this daily devotional. Voices from fiction, recognizable names from Christian conferences, and well-known Christian writers also are included.
Daily Gifts of Grace is a daily devotional designed specifically for women, with a beautiful hardbound case and a magnetic closure. Readers will be pleased to open it for a devotion that will help them face the day or for an inspirational devotion to close the day.
Contributors include Joni Eareckson Tada, Lisa Whelchel, Jenna Lucado, Sheila Walsh, Kim Cash Tate, Patsy Clairmont, Natalie Grant, Lisa Harper, and others.”`women of faith
“are you looking for somebody who really understands your joys and sorrows? You'll be in good company when you open this daily devotional. Joni Eareckson Tada, Lisa Whelchel, Jenna Lucado, Sheila Walsh, Patsy Clairmont, Natalie Grant, Lisa Harper, and others offer a year's worth of insights and reflections to light your spiritual path. 384 pages, hardcover with magnetic closure from Nelson.”-unknown
My review:
I find this devotional very uplifting and encouraging and it makes me smile when I read some of the scriptures because of God’s love and encouragement that I get from it also when I read what the women have personally gone through I can sort of relate to each of the things they went through and it makes me think that I need to stop being so critical of myself and let God do what He is going to do and it is about Him and not me and that helping others is more important and telling them about Jesus while praying for others is very important as well and that I also need to trust God more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a way to start the year~

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is this not the cutest little book? It is hardback and has a cover that closes. When it arrived in the mail I was so excited. It came just in time for the new year and it is going to be my daily devotion book for 2012.
Each day brings its own challenges~ endless reasons to worry, stress, feelings of guilt and struggles. We could easily give into worry by reading the morning news or feel overwhelmed with our never ending to-do list. But I just refuse to start the year off defeated or discouraged.
When we allow God to work through our day to day struggles~ and we all have them~ God can turn them into platforms for growth and blessing. I need my fear to turn to confidence~ my despair to hope and that only comes from a daily gift of grace. Oh ~ how we all need some grace.
This devotion is written by the Woman of Faith team. I have already started today and had to read through more than just January 1st. I love to peek at the end of the book~ so bad I know. I love~ love~ love this devotional. It rates 5 stars in my book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful, Inspiring Book!

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Ontario, CAN
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This beautiful devotional, Daily Gifts of Grace, arrived in my mail box last week. I’ve been enjoying the verses and writers thoughts each day.
Two of the many authors who contributed to this book are Joni Eareckson Tada and Natalie Grant, both who have inspired me with their words before and will continue to in this book.
The very first devotion I read was titled Posting Path Lighters. Posting Path Lighters was on Dueteronomy 6:6-9, which talks about holding the words of God in the bible close to our heart. One of the ways we can do this is by writing them on our walls. The author gave practical ways of where she writes and posts them so that they are daily on her mind. This is just one of the many devotions that practically show how to apply scripture to our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely book!

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions For Each Day of Your Year is a 366 day devotional book with selections written by Women of Faith Speakers and other well-known Christian writers. It is published by Thomas Nelson.
The book has a lovely hardbound cover with a magnetic closure and ribbon bookmark. Even the inside of the cover and the pages are lovely, making me feel happy when I open it!
Each page includes a focus Bible verse and an inspirational message by a different author. The devotional selections I have read thus far, by authors such as Sheila Walsh, Patsy Clairmont, and Marilyn Meburg, have all been gripping and applicable to my life each day, giving me encouragement and nuggets to “chew on” throughout the day. I will confess that I’m reading 2 or 3 selections each day because they are just that good! I already know that this book will be a treasure in my life throughout the next year!
The book isn’t serious Bible study—I am doing that separately, but is great for picking up for a few minutes of inspiration and prayer focus.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a free review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional for the New Year!

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
krentzmom5
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received Daily Gifts of Grace devotions for each day of your year to review. My first impression of the book is how pretty the cover is. Now I know a cover doesn't make for a great book but it sure is nice to have a pretty cover when you will be using the book for the year. There are devotions for every day of the year written by the ladies from Women of Faith. Contributors include Joni Eareckson Tada, Lisa Whelchel, Jenna Lucado, Sheila Walsh, Kim Cash Tate, Patsy Clairmont, Natalie Grant, Lisa Harper, and others.
I have had the pleasure of going to several Women of Faith conferences and have always been encouraged and inspired so I couldn't wait to start this devotional.
The devotions begin each day with a Bible verse and then a devotion from one of the writers. The devotions are a page long and are coming from the women's personal experiences. I cannot wait to make my way through this devotional. I have read several and have been encouraged and blessed.I another great thing about the book is you can start at any day and be able to enjoy the book.If you are looking for a new devotional for the New Year I would recommend Daily Gifts of Grace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Daily Gifts of Grace: Devotions for Each Day of Your Year - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Daily Gifts of Grace

Date:December 26, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little book, whether you need a gift to give a friend or a bit of encouragemnent to start your day.
The pages of this book are filled with words of wisdom from many well-known Christian women.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.