Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Dawn Comes Early - eBook

Thomas Nelson Dawn Comes Early - eBook

Disgraced dime novelist Kate Tenney fled the city that banned her latest novel for the emptiness of the desert. Answering an ad to be "heiress" to a vast cattle ranch in the Arizona Territory, Kate hopes ranching turns out to be as romantic as she portrayed it in her novels. But what awaits her is a life harder than the one she just left. There is no room for mistakes on a working cattle ranch, and Kate is ill-prepared for her new life. She quickly learns that dawn comes early. But she is tenacious.

Having been abandoned by a string of men, Kate has no intention of ever marrying. But she didn't expect to meet Luke Adams, either. Luke awakens feelings inside Kate she doesn't recognize, and his steady presence is a constant distraction. She has only written about love in the past, never known it herself. But her feelings for Luke stand in the way of all she has to gain if she is chosen as the heir. Perhaps God brought Kate to the barrenness of the desert to give new life to her jaded heart.

Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
24 out of 2692%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Review 1 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A slow, but good, book

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Last Chance Ranch was started by Eleanor Walker's mother with one steer and is now one of the largest ranches in the Cactus Patch, Arizona area. Eleanor has learned throughout her life not to trust men but now that she's in her sixties she needs to find someone to leave the ranch to. She does have some requirements though, it must be a woman and she must sign a contract agreeing to never marry.
There have been several women apply some left the ranch immediately, some a day or two and one even lasted two weeks, that is until Kate Tenney shows up in Cactus Patch in the middle of an attack by Cactus Joe. All the businesses are locked up, nobody in the streets, is this a ghost town? Where is the man that is supposed to pick her up and take her to Last Chance Ranch?
Kate was determined to own Last Chance Ranch, after all, like Miss Walker says, "nothing is permanent except for land" and "love isn't kind, men can't be trusted", this about sums up how Kate has felt her whole life. Kate has felt God abandoned her the day her dad left and she had to start taking care of her mother, if only Ruckus would quit throwing those Bible verses at her, not Bible verses like we know them, they are translated into his own words and they really make her think.
I think it was kind of a slow read but there was enough there to keep me interested in finishing the book. Sometimes it's nice to slow down a little bit and what better than a book to do it. There was some excitement at different times and that helped. All in all I am glad I read the book and am looking forward to reading the next one "Waiting for Morning". I have read several of Margaret's books and I do enjoy her writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great start to the series!

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was such a great book. The characters were fantastic. Miss Walker is something else. I really enjoyed her character and figuring out why she is the way she is. Kate Tenney strikes me as smart, independent, and stubborn. She thinks she has life figured out. Luke Adams is the strong, silent type. Their romance was sweet. The conversations they would have together made me laugh most times, and other times I would want to shake them both for their blindness!
The story progresses naturally. I like that the timeline is more than a week or a few days. Some authors try to cram a whole love story into a week, which isn't realistic at all. Instead, Kate and Luke converse over months and have plenty of time for feelings to develop Kate comes to Last Chance Ranch because she feels she has no where else to go. The name of the ranch is very fitting, in her case. She is at her lowest point when she comes to Cactus Patch and can't afford to lose. Luke is content to be the town smithy and live his simple life. So he is unprepared for the feelings Kate awakens in him. Can they both figure out their own hearts before it's too late?!
If there is one thing wrong with this book, it is this: I'm not sure whether or not Kate becomes a Christian. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but the progression for Kate doesn't seem realistic to me. I don't feel she was ministered to enough throughout the story to really come to an understanding with the Lord. Other than that, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good ol' fashion cowboy read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eager to Return to Last Chance Ranch!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Lately, my reading time has been "catch as catch can" with no continuity whatsoever, so to say I was very pleased that I picked up Dawn Comes Early would be a great understatement! This was my first experience with one of Margaret's books, and I already know I will be coming back for more. Her writing style was so different from other historical fiction authors in that, her characters were so entertaining and full of life and spunk, and frankly, just plain unique. I loved them! The storyline in itself was unusual because I was fully expecting a romance, but when the back cover said the heroine must be "prepared to stay single now and forevermore"...I knew the author had something up her sleeve. :o)
With one tiny exception of a lull around the 200-page mark, Dawn Comes Early provided me with a wonderful reading experience that will prompt me to recommend it to several friends. I'm anxious to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Determination...is it worth it?

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate Tenney may have signed up for more than she had in mind. It sounded so easy, just show up in a small western town, convince the ranch owner she would be the perfect person to inherit the spread and in a few months it would be hers. Things seem to get off to the wrong start when Kate disembarks the train and the town appears deserted. Boy was she wrong! Kate is faced with one challenge after another and her heart just seems to get in the way of her best laid plans.
A wonderful story to make you wonder... Persistence can pay off, but is it worth the price is the long run?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wanted to like it but...

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really looking forward to reading this book because I have enjoyed all of Margaret Brownley's previous books. But I was so disappointed with this one. First, Kate was not my idea of a good heroine. She kept harping about men leaving and used this as an excuse to constantly push Luke, the hero, away. Not that she had many opportunities to push. That was my second problem with this book. There was very, very little interaction between Kate and Luke. A few conversations were all you got up until nearly page 200. How they fell in love with each other was a mystery. Needless to say, the romance was neither good nor believable. I plan to keep reading Ms. Brownley's books though and hope the next in the series is better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Western with Humor

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Come meet a ranch full of fun, quirky characters at Last Chance Ranch!
Dawn Comes Early is the tale of a stubborn heroine, Kate, who is a struggling dime-novelist, whose latest book has been banned! When Kate reads an advertisement in the paper, seeking an heiress to inherit a ranch, she can't resist an opportunity to get out of the city. When Kate gets to the Arizona desert she finds out how it's really done out west.
Filled with many colorful characters, Dawn Comes Early was a fun read that contained many a laugh. I really appreciated the little snippets from Kate's novel that were inserted at the beginning of every few chapters, it must have been some book! My favorite character had to be Ruckus, he was a something of a cowboy theologian. Very fun, guy.
There's mystery, and humor, even the bad guy was a kind of funny character, looking back now in hindsight. I liked how Kate and Luke interacted well with each other and it wasn't unnatural or uncomfortable. And I came to admire Kate's determination to stick with her job even when things were tough. And how she encouraged Luke's brother to pursue his passion for writing.
Overall, this was a really fun book to read, and it progressed at a steady pace, I found the characters very likable and there were some definite laugh out loud moments! There were some times that I questioned the authenticity of some of the ranch practices and terms, but those were mostly things that I wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't grown up practically on a ranch. So overall a lovely book that I would highly recommend, especially to those who like westerns. Thanks!
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, A Western And A Romance

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Brownley, in her new book, “Dawn Comes Early” Book One in her Brides Of Last Chance Ranch series published by Thomas Nelson takes us to the Arizona Territory in 1895 and into the life of Kate Tenney.
From the back cover: Looking for a woman of good character and pleasant disposition willing to learn the ranching business in Arizona territory. Must be SINGLE and prepared to remain so now and forever more. Will be given ownership of ranch. -Eleanor Walker
Disgraced dime novelist Kate Tenney fled the city that banned her latest book for a fresh start at a cattle ranch in the Arizona Territory. She hopes ranching turns out to be as romantic as she portrayed it in her novels.
But what awaits her is a much harder life. There is no room for mistakes on a working cattle ranch in 1895, and Kate is ill-prepared for her new life. She quickly learns that dawn comes early . . . every day. But she is tenacious.
Having been abandoned by a string of men, Kate has no intention of ever marrying. But she didn’t expect to meet Luke Adams either. Luke awakens feelings inside Kate she doesn’t recognize, and his steady presence is a constant distraction. She has only written about love in the past, never known it herself. But her feelings for Luke stand in the way of all she has to gain if she is chosen as the heir.
Perhaps God brought Kate to the barrenness of the desert to give new life to her jaded heart.
No doubt about it I like Westerns. I grew up watching and reading a lot of them when I was younger and still watch and read them today. Margaret Brownley knows how to write a western. In her new book, “Dawn Comes Early” Ms. Brownley gives us a working cattle ranch, a kidnapping, a rescue attempt, cowboys, blacksmiths and an outlaw. On top of everything “Dawn Comes Early” is an incredible romance that is full of charm and humor. It asks the question would you trade your future of being married for stability and security? All of this is set against a historical backdrop that is fascinating to read. Margaret Brownley has done it again. I am so looking forward to book two in this series.
I also want to point out Ms. Brownley’s association with Heifer International, an organization that gives away livestock to change people’s lives. Ms. Brownley is working with Heifer International to purchase two heifers. If you are interested in helping her by making a donation please go to her website
If you missed the interview for “A Lady Like Sarah”, a different series from Margaret Brownley, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good romance in a western setting

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley is the first in her series "Brides of Last Chance Ranch" set on a cattle ranch in the Arizona territory. Kate Tenney, a unknown and frustrated novelist, decides to try her hand at ranching and answers a notice advertising for a ranch "heiress." If she can survive working for the current owner, the ranch will become hers, but the work is harder then she anticipated, and she wasn't looking to fall in love with a local man. In the end, she has to choose between becoming a land owner and a wife. While making that decision she learns much more about herself then she ever expected.
It took me a little bit to get into this story because it was more of a western then I had thought it would be, but once I got to know the characters and really was pulling for the character of Kate, I couldn't put it down. Brownley does a great job of describing the characters and surroundings and I really felt like I was working hard with Kate as she woke at the break of dawn to get to work. And I struggled with her as she makes a decision about her future. The ending actually surprised me but I realized it was the first in a series and I would love to read the next one!
I received this book from Book Sneeze in exchange for a truthful review and was not required to give it a positive one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
BamaKit
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in 1895, Eleanor Walker owns the last Chance Ranch in Arizona territory. She divorced her husband years ago and had no children with him, therefore she needs an heir. She is a strong believer in women's rights, but also believes women are better off staying unmarried - due to her own horrible marriage. So, her heir must be a single woman and plan to remain that way and she must really like ranching.
Kate Tenney has come to the Last Chance Ranch as her last resort. She has no other options. As a Boston "dime" novelist, she has had her latest book banned and her publisher has pretty much disowned her. Although she knows nothing about ranching, she learns quickly and believes that if she is given a chance, she can be the heir Eleanor is looking for. Kate has no problems with staying single either because she has a deep distrust of men due to a difficult childhood and abandonment issues.
Enter Luke Adams, the local blacksmith. Luke is great at his trade, but not so great with words. Kate reminds Luke of his former flame - bright and articulate. Luke immediately falls for Kate.
Luke and Kate's romance seems a little forced. They struggle with communication and their romance is based more on physical compatibility than anything else. Also, this new romance forces Kate to make a decision - give up the chance at the Ranch with Eleanor to work on this romance and give another woman the chance to become Eleanor's heir.
The Western aspects of the book is really good. The characters are well described and remind me of everything I love about Western books. Eleanor is a very strong character -- anything you can do, she can do better.
I loved how Margaret Brownley mixed Scripture into the book as well. It doesn't seem forced and flows very well.
Although the plot was a little predictable, I really enjoyed reading Dawn Comes Early and am looking forward to reading the rest of the series as well.
***Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dawn Comes Early

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, I liked this story. The plot was good and there was enough going on – enough action – to keep it moving. With the main character, Kate, I thought this plot was a very interesting way to get a young girl out to a ranch in the Wild West. Offering to make someone your heiress would have people coming out of the woodwork, and, of course, most of those young women would know nothing about a ranch. I have said in other reviews that I like ‘fish-out-of-water’ stories, and this one was pretty good in that respect.
There were a lot of characters in this novel. It was fairly easy to keep them all sorted out, but I sometimes thought there was too much attention given to the minor characters’ stories. The one with Luke’s Aunt Bessie and Uncle Sam was amusing at first but got pretty ridiculous towards the end.
My favorite character in this novel was Ruckus. I loved his simple faith and his knowledge of Scripture. But even though many of the characters exhibited strong faith in God like Ruckus did, I was a bit confused as to when the main character, Kate, demonstrated this same faith. At the end, she seemed to be a believer, but I’m not sure when this change actually took place. I felt as if I missed something. I was also confused as to why Luke, who seemed to have faith in God, would even consider making his feelings known to Kate and going after her when he knew she did not claim faith in God. I thought that was out of character, and, again, I felt as if I had missed something along the way.
One of the best parts of this book was the quotes from Kate’s novel at the beginning of each chapter that related to what was going on. I liked having a little teaser at the start of each chapter to get my mind focused on what was going to be happening. I also liked that the main character of this novel was a published author. Sometimes when Kate was describing her writing and her experiences as an author, I felt as if the author was putting her own thoughts down on the page. I enjoyed how Kate was able to ‘handle’ Cactus Joe (the bad guy) by writing a book about him!
There were a few things in this novel that seemed as if they weren’t completely wrapped up, but the stories will be continuing in the other Brides of Last Chance Ranch books to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Entertaining Read

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is my first experience with Margaret Brownley's work and I liked it!
Kate Tenney is a fiction writer. She writes dime novels. Her latest novel was banned in Boston and she's convinced she will never get published again, so she went looking for something else to do with her life. When she reads an advertisement in a newspaper from a ranch owner looking for an heir, she decides to give it a try. If she's going to be the heir, she must sign documents that states that she must remain single for the rest of her life. All the men in Kate's life have abandoned her, so she has no desire to marry.
On the day of her arrival in Cactus Patch, a local outlaw is in town. Cactus Joe gives Kate a good scare and she ends up on the local blacksmith's working table.
Luke, the blacksmith, takes Kate to the Last Chance Ranch. He's telling her that there were other young women trying to become Mrs. Walker's heir. They all didn't last long.
When Kate meets the lady boss of the ranch, she's determined to proof that she's suitable for the position of heir.
Altough Kate hardly knows anything about ranching, Mrs. Walker decides to give her a chance. Kate must proof herself the next four months.
Luke has developed romantic feelings for Kate. And Kate notices his glances. She's telling herself that no man can be trusted, so she must get Luke out of her head and think about the Ranch only.
Some time later Kate is kidnapped and Luke is determined to find her. But then a sand storm hits...
Will Luke find Kate? Can he convince Kate of his love? Will Kate ever learn to trust a man again?
Luke's aunt Bessie has read Kate's banned novel and gets some hilarious ideas from it. Sometimes I had to laugh out loud!
In this book I've met some very nice characters. Margaret Brownley has a bright voice and therefor this book was a pleasure to read.
*Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for my review copy.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawn Comes Early, by Margaret Brownley, is the first book in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series. It is refreshing and fun to read! As I had not read any of Ms. Brownley's previous stories, I was not sure what to expect, but I found that I enjoyed this book very much.
Kate Tenney comes to Arizona hoping to become heiress to the Last Chance Ranch. The situation is difficult from the beginning, when she is held hostage by a criminal only moments after stepping off the train. Then arriving at the ranch to find that she must actually learn how to do all of the work, as well as finding that she can never marry if she wants the ranch, make her more determined than ever to succeed. After all, she has been criticized for her latest book in Boston and isn't sure if writing will provide a living at all anymore. Things get complicated as she and blacksmith Luke Adams continue to fight a growing attraction for each other. When Kate is kidnapped, Luke is beside himself wondering if he will ever see her again.
I found the characters in this story endearing. They were lovable and comical all wrapped up in one! Aunt Bessie keeps you laughing with her satin underwear and matchmaking attempts. Cactus Joe becomes quite a "formidable" criminal when all he wants from Kate is a story about his life. And Ruckus keeps all of them in line with his western slang and appropriate Bible verses for every situation.
This is a wonderful book, one I would highly recommend!
Kara
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical romance with a "western" flavour

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
karenkteachcambodia
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley.
This book is the first book in The Brides of Last Chance Ranch series, and I’m already looking forward to reading the next one when it comes out in January 2013.
Kate Tenney, a dime novelist whose most recent book was banned by The Watch and Ward Society in Boston, decides that a total change of scene is necessary. Answering an advertisement by Eleanor Walker, a divorced, widowed ranch owner, Kate heads into the desert of the Arizona Territory. With just four months to prove she can become a dedicated ranch owner, Kate is thrown into a life of physical labour beyond her wildest dream. Will Kate last the distance? Will she be able to sign the contract that requires her to promise never to marry? Or will the local smithy Luke Adams capture her heart.
This well written novel kept me turning the pages until I finished that last one. The characters were well developed and realistic. The plot had a depth which showed a thorough understanding of life in the late 19th Century, and has enough twists and turns to keep the reader engrossed. If you are looking for a book with deep spiritual insights and challenges, then this book is not for you, but if you enjoy seeing God working in everyday life, and quietly changing the lives of those involved, then you will enjoy it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lady Rancher Seeks Heiress

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is 1895 and 29-year-old author Kate Tenney has arrived in the tiny town of Cactus Patch, Arizona, having left her home city of Boston after one of her dime novels was banned for indecency. She has answered an advertisement seeking professional woman to be ‘heiress’ to the Last Chance Ranch, owned by Eleanor Walker. Kate has a lot of baggage in her past, including being abandoned by her father, neglected by her mother, and an upbringing that ignored God and taught her to trust no man.
When the train arrives in the small town, not only is there no one around to meet her, but the entire town appears abandoned. Actually, they are hiding, because Cactus Joe, their local outlaw, has come to town to cause some trouble, and Kate soon finds herself in the middle of it, before being rescued by handsome blacksmith Luke Adams. We also meet Luke's aunts, a pair of offbeat (if naïve) matchmakers, intent on seeing Luke happily settled, and providing an amusing sub-plot.
Kate soon settles in to her new home, although she finds ranch life somewhat different from how she described it in her novels. But she is determined to prove herself, and has no issue with remaining single as Miss Walker demands. To her embarrassment, she finds that not only has most of the town has read her book but some of them want her to read it to them, some want her to write for them, and some are treating it as a how-to manual to experience toe-curling kisses in their own marriages. There is a level of irony here – a romance novel about a writer who has promised never to marry, and who doesn’t trust men, yet one who used to write 'passionate' dime novels.
The best part about Dawn Comes Early was the characters. Each had their own distinct style of speech, to the point where I could almost hear their voices. My favourite was Ruckus, an older ranch hand who befriended Kate and taught her all about ranching, and gave her a glimpse of a God that perhaps might actually care. While this is a Christian novel, the Christian content is very low-key and not at all preachy.
Overall, this was a fun romance with the unique and interesting premise of a heroine promising not to marry. The one lack was around the development of the relationship between Kate and Luke. They simply didn't spend enough time together to make it believable for me. This is the first in a new series, with the following books no doubt introducing more potential heiresses for the Last Chance Ranch.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and BookSneeze® for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Laugh Out Loud Fun Read !!!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Tenney has a passion for writing dime novels. Not only has she had one her novels rejected but it has been banned. She might as well been banned herself by the way everyone was treating her since they found out about her book. So she decides to answer an advertisement in the newspaper.
Looking for a woman of good character and pleasant disposition willing to learn the ranching business in Arizona territory. Must be SINGLE and prepared to remain so now and forever more. Will be given ownership of ranch. --Eleanor Walker
Kate packs up and heads out to Arizona Territory in hopes of becoming the heiress of Last Chance Ranch. When she becomes a land owner of a cattle ranch everyone that looked down on her will see she is as good or better than them.
When Kate steps off the train in Cactus Patch the town looks deserted and there is not anyone there to take her to the ranch. She drags her trunk closer into town and is accosted by a bandit Cactus Joe. He had a gun and he was shooting at everything. She is knocked unconscious and when she comes to she was being doused with water by a very handsome man that she mistook for Brandon the hero in her novel. But it was the towns handsome blacksmith, Luke Adams. He let her know that he was very concerned about her injuries and volunteered to give her a ride out to the Last Chance Ranch. He felt a responsibility towards her and found her very attractive.
When she arrived at the ranch she found that as a stipulation of becoming the heiress she would have to learn the ranching business from the bottom up, literally. Her first assignment was to muck out thirty stalls. Then she had to learn how to ride a horse western style. Which was pretty hard because she kept falling off the horse. Once she was able to keep her seat she was to learn how to rope and then be able to rope a calf. She also had to help in birthing calves. She worked from sun up to sundown sometimes longer. Her mentor was a ranch hand by the name of Ruckus and he had a bible verse for just about every time he talked to someone. But Kate had stopped trusting God when she was very young. She felt as if God had abandoned her as a child.
Luke visited the ranch and she had to run errands for the ranch into town which included to the blacksmiths. Kate and Luke realized they had a hankering for each other. But Kate's mother had drilled into her head that men could not be trusted. Besides she had vowed to Eleanor the ranch owner that she would remain single or forfeit the ranch.
The character Ruckus was a sower and sowed seeds of faith, hope and trust in Kate. Will she trust in God and grow in faith? Will she hope for more than land?
This was a fun book with many metaphors from the ranch hands. Which they call tall tales.
There were many colorful characters like Cactus Joe, Aunt Lula-Belle, Aunt Bessie and let's not forget the ranch hands.
I Highly recommend this book.
I rated this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure:
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Booksneeze for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dawn...and Fun...Comes Early

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawn Comes Early
What books am I not usually drawn to? Historical fiction. Westerns. Romance.
What is Dawn Comes Early? Historical fiction. Western. Romance.
So, why would I give it 4.5 stars out of 5?
Margaret Brownley does a splendid job of making me gasp and laugh aloud, something difficult to do without a sound track and special effects.
I very much like Brownley’s three-dimensional characters who are susceptible to human foibles. They’re sympathetic and “real.”
Despite what I said about the books I don’t usually read, it is evident that the author has done her homework. The facts she includes are obviously well researched, and I appreciate that.
I’m a visual learner and love it when I can see the story unfold before my eyes. This is definitely true of Dawn Comes Early.
Not only do I see the story; I can hear, smell, and taste it as well. I love the sensory input that transports me from my living room to the Old West.
From a simple, hardworking blacksmith to his brother who can’t hold down a job…from a lawman with very little ambition to a criminal seeking to make a name for himself…from a single-minded ranch owner to a young woman seeking security…Dawn Comes Early includes them all plus a lot more besides.
Whether you love a good western romance – or not, I strongly suggest getting hold of this book.
I received a free copy from booksneeze.com in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunday, March 11, 2012
Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley
Thomas Nelson recently sent me a new novel by Margaret Brownley. Dawn Comes Early takes place on Last Chance Ranch in Arizona Territory in 1895. Kate Tenney is a dime novelist from Boston who has had her latest book banned and is looking for a place to start over when she responds to an want ad in the newspaper. Eleanor Walker has no family and is looking for a single girl to become her heiress. Kate quickly learns that ranching is hard labor, but is determined to meet every challenge head on. She has no family and mistrusts men because of her father's desertion when she was young. Luke Adams is the town blacksmith who rescues Kate after more than one mishap, but feels inferior to Kate because she is an educated woman. Plus, a relationship with Luke would stand in the way of Kate's ownership of the ranch because remaining single is one of Eleanor's requirements. Kate has to learn to trust her heart and realize that God never leaves us nor forsakes us. I enjoyed this novel because it had alot of action in it. Kate is a fiesty character that doesn't give up!
Posted by basketballorange301 at 12:07 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story, Easy to Read

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BrandtBookTree
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOOK DESCRIPTION
Disgraced dime novelist Kate Tenney fled the city that banned her latest novel for the emptiness of the desert. Answering an ad to be “heiress” to a vast cattle ranch in the Arizona Territory, Kate hopes ranching turns out to be as romantic as she portrayed it in her novels.
But what awaits her is a life harder than the one she just left. There is no room for mistakes on a working cattle ranch, and Kate is ill-prepared for her new life. She quickly learns that dawn comes early. But she is tenacious.
Having been abandoned by a string of men, Kate has no intention of ever marrying. But she didn’t expect to meet Luke Adams, either. Luke awakens feelings inside Kate she doesn’t recognize, and his steady presence is a constant distraction. She has only written about love in the past, never known it herself. But her feelings for Luke stand in the way of all she has to gain if she is chosen as the heir.
Perhaps God brought Kate to the barrenness of the desert to give new life to her jaded heart.
MY THOUGHTS
While I did find this a "typical" Christian romance novel I was excited to see the author show how God can place people into our lives for us to trust on and depend on. Kate - the main character in the story - has trusted only herself and feels like she doesn't need to depend on anyone. However through a series of events, Luke and Eleanor break down Kate's walls and show her that it is okay to depend on others.
At the end of the story I was a little disappointed that the author left some strings un-tied. Although that would make it really easy for a second novel to tie it all up.
I also found the story really easy to get into and to become involved in the characters lives sharing their joys and burdens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just a Good, Fun Read!

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dime novelist Kate Tenney has just had her most recent book banned in Boston. Her publisher wants nothing more to do with her. With no family and no career, Kate is ready for a fresh start. An ad for an heiress seems like the perfect lead.
But Kate is barely off the train in Cactus Patch, Arizona when she’s taken hostage by an outlaw with a gun who shoots a hole in her trunk. Is she ready for this new life? Kate is determined to be.
Convinced that all men are unfaithful, but land lasts forever, Kate takes on ranch owner Eleanor Walker’s challenge to learn all she can about ranching in just four months. If she succeeds—and agrees to never, ever, ever, ever marry—the ranch, along with the security she craves, will be hers.
There’s just one little problem: a single blacksmith named Luke.
I really got a kick out of this book. It’s a fun story full of great characters (Ruckus, the banker, Aunts Bessie and Lulabelle)—and Margaret Brownley promises more! I’ll be watching for the sequel in January 2013. Read "Dawn Comes Early," and you can watch for it with me.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. I wouldn’t have wanted to miss this read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dawn Comes Early - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Western read

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Looking for a woman of good character
and pleasant disposition willing to learn
the ranching business in Arizona territory.
Must be SINGLE and prepared to remain
so now and forever more.
Will be given ownership of ranch.”
Kate Tenney has been on her own for years, trying to get an education and then make a living for herself writing dime novels in 1865 Boston. Her latest effort is banned for “immoral content” and while wondering what to do next, she happens across the ad for a ranch heiress in Arizona. Considering the fact that Kate has no use for men, the stipulation for staying single does not bother her in the least. But when Kate arrives in Arizona, fate (or is it God?) has other plans. Luke Adams, the local blacksmith, is nothing like any man she has ever known—including the fictional heroes in her novels. Kate finds herself not only struggling to learn how to run a ranch but also desperately trying to guard her heart from the handsome cowboy who could destroy all of her well laid plans.
I just simply love a good western so I jumped at the chance to read Dawn Comes Early by Margaret Brownley. The picture on the cover caught my interest immediately—a beautiful young woman in a cowboy hat with a handsome cowboy in the background who resembles Adam Cartwright—how could you go wrong? I was not disappointed. The story line proved very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed Kate’s adventures on the ranch. There were so many great characters in this book, from Luke’s two match making aunts to the outlaw Cactus Joe, and the many ranch hands and towns-folk in between. The twists and turns of the plot were interesting and kept me turning the pages while the ending was completely satisfying—all without any “immoral content”! I will definitely be on the lookout for the next installment of The Brides of Last Chance Ranch.
Note: The background information for Heifer International is a wonderful addition to this book. It is nice to see an author not only write a truly good story but to also promote a worthy organization that helps people as well.
I received this complimentary copy from the Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>