Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Need You Now - eBook

Thomas Nelson Need You Now - eBook

Married life hasn't always been bliss for Brad and Darlene, but their strong faith has carried them through the difficult times. When Darlene takes a job outside the home for the first time in their marriage, the domestic tension rises. While working with special needs children at her new job, Darlene meets a little boy who steals her heart. His widowed father is paying her more attention to her than is probably appropriate. Problem is, she feels like someone is listening for the first time in a long time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 3093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need You Now - eBook
Review 1 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Will Probably Stick to Beth's Amish Novels

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I have been a fan of Beth Wiseman's books since the very beginning. Her Amish novels have this irresistible quality about them. I start one, and before I know it, three hours have passed and I've devoured one! Because she hasn't disappointed me yet, I've been anxious to see how she'll make the transition into the contemporary genre.
For the most part, I enjoyed it. The overall tone had some of the simplistic styling that I'm accustomed to reading in Beth's Amish novels. But to counteract that simplicity, the subject matter was complex and realistic. It was dramatic and relevant. There were questions posed that all of us have asked ourselves at one time or another. There were situations that the characters found themselves in that most of us hope to never relive. However, several story lines and POV's were used, and I think maybe one or two less might have helped to make the overall story tighter.
In my opinion, Beth has great strength with romantic story lines. That is one feature that I always enjoy from her Amish novels. I think, perhaps, if her future contemporary novels are more romantic in nature as opposed to strictly women's fiction, or maybe even a mix of both, I'll be more inclined to read them.
Without a doubt, though, I will continue to read her Amish novels. She has been one of my favorites for so long now that I mention her in the same sentence with Cindy Woodsmall as a must-read Amish fiction author. I'm glad to know that even with her new foray into the contemporary genre that Beth will continue to write Amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ednesday, 29 August 2012
Need You Now
by Beth Wiseman
Need You Now shows Brad and Darlene's marriage and what is missing. Darlene takes a job working with special needs children and meets a little boy she falls in love with. Unfortunately the little boy's father is a widower and is available to really listen to Darlene, filling a gap in her marriage. Darlene struggles with this attraction, while dealing with problems in her own marriage, problems with her kids, and even a problem with her neighbor.
Need You Now addresses many problems people face right now, in today's world. All the characters have problems. There is not one character that seems to have it all together and no problems. Most people will find something they can relate to in the story. I would recommend this for anyone that enjoys contemporary fiction.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/need-you-now.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Need You now is a contemporary story set in a small town in Texas. It deals with the struggles of Darlene Henderson and her family. The Henderson family has left the big city in hopes of raising their children in the safe environment of a small town.They learn throught the story that trouble isn't confined to the city and sometimes the "perfect" child is the one with the real problems.
Darlene Henderson is at a very vulnerable place in life. Her children don't need her as much as they use to. Her husband has a long commute and works long hours to provide for his family. She has moved to a new community and has left her old friends behind. She takes a job at a special need school to fill her days and bring in some extra money. At the school she becomes interested in the father of one of her students. Much of the story line deals with this attraction and the emotional affair she struggles with. Another main part of the plot dealt with Darlene's middle child, Grace. Grace struggles with the move, and begins a downward spiral into self destructive behavior. There is also a third plot dealing with a bitter neighbor.
Overall I enjoyed the book. It was a quick summer read with a good story and interesting, imperfect characters. I thought it dealt realistically with marrital problems and perfectionism. It was a good reminder to me that no child is perfect, and that the one child you think has it all together, may be the one who is falling apart. I think my complaint about the story is that it had too much going on. It seemed like I was reading a condensed version of a series. I would recommend this book to women who enjoy family dramas.
I receive this book for free from Book Sneeze for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Need You Now by Beth Wiseman

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sid Frost
Location:Georgetown, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Brad and Darlene Henderson and their three teenaged children, Chad, Grace, and Ansley. After Chad, their oldest, experiences alcohol and possibly drug problems in high school, the family moves from Houston to the small rural town of Round Top, Texas. Brad, a CPA bucking for partner, continues his job in Houston and the long commute keeps him away from the family more than before. Brad and Darlene are both strong Christians and are raising their children to be also. Darlene ministers to a neighbor who has been bitter with God for years because of the death of her child. The neighbor, Layla, turns out to be a former movie star. Darlene had not recognized her, but Brad did from watching old movies. As time goes on, Darlene and Layla become friends and, eventually, Darlene learns that she helped Layla restore her faith in God.
As I was reading the book I thought of the saying, "wherever you go, there you are", because moving to the small town didn't solve the problems. If anything, they were made worse. Brad is away more because of the long drive and having to work extra hours to become partner. Darlene takes a job partly because the children are more independent and they are in a safer environment.
The reader gets to hear the story from the viewpoints of Darlene, Brad, Chad, and Grace, as well as a few people outside the family. This gives the reader insights about the children sometimes before the parents. This increased the suspense and made me want to read on to find out what happens next.
As in real life, events in the story affected different people in different ways. Sometimes a problem causes one person to turn closer to God for love and support. The same problem might cause another person to reject and blame God. Our strong faithful Christians in this story didn't always react the way we expected. But that's the way it is in the real world. How strong is your faith?
I loved the book and the characters. I laughed with them and cried for them. I even wanted to fuss at them at times. This is the first book I've read by Beth Wiseman, but I'll be looking for more. She has a great talent for making the story interesting from the first page to the last. There's no filler. All meat.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received an advance review copy of this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just okay

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When big-city life threatens the safety of one of their children, Brad and Darlene Henderson move with their three teenagers from Houston to the tiny town of Round Top, Texas.
Adjusting to small-town life is difficult for the kids, especially fifteen-year-old Grace who is coping in a dangerous way.
Married life hasn’t always been bliss, but their strong faith has carried Brad and Darlene through the difficult times. When Darlene takes a job outside the home for the first time in their marriage, the domestic tension rises.
While working with special needs children at her new job, the widowed father of one of the students starts paying more attention to Darlene than is appropriate. Problem is, she feels like someone is listening to her for the first time in a long time.
If Darlene ever needed God . . . it’s now.
Experience a family’s triumph over lies, betrayal, and loss while still clinging to the One who matters most.
This is the first book of Beth Wiseman’s that I have read. I understand she writes very popular Amish fiction. I thought this book was just okay. I feel that the characters lacked a certain depth. The only interesting character was the next door neighbor, Layla. I probably would not recommend this book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A moving story of family

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A heart-touching, emotionally moving story of family.
I've read every single one of Beth Wiseman's Amish stories and have not been able to put them down, this contemporary novel is no different. From the very beginning we are introduced to a typical American family, every member is complex, and has their own hidden struggles.
I think the character that touched my heart most was Grace, because I have known people who struggled with the same things she struggled with. And I totally agree, great friends can really be God's way of reaching out in tough situations.
I really liked the character of Skylar though, she was a great girl who had her battles in the past, but came out stronger. She was probably my favorite character. I also really liked the character of Layla, because she is so much more than first meets the eye. That's one of the reasons I love Beth Wiseman's books so much, all of her characters are so well developed. I feel like I know alot about them just upon first meeting them, yet I want to find out more at the same time! And I really liked how the author used the role reversals between Layla and Darlene.
Overall, Need You Now though different in sub-genre, is another winner from Beth Wiseman. Emotionally driven, with moments that made me smile and others that broke my heart, Need You Now is a thoroughly satisfying literary journey from beginning to end.
I received this book from the publisher through B&amp;B Media and FIRST Wild Card Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanne Rinker
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually read Beth's books about the Amish. This book was of different subject matter. I did enjoy reading it however. She is another of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging yet uplifting

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: CONTEMPORARY/WOMEN’S FICTION
PUBLISHER: THOMAS NELSON
PUBLICATION DATE: APRIL 10, 2012
RATING: 4 OUT OF 5 – GOOD
PROS: Approaches difficult issues respectfully and realistically; relatable characters
CONS: Some storylines and characters could have been developed further; one character took an unpleasant turn
For Darlene Henderson, life in Round Top, Texas feels much more safe and secure than it did in Houston. Her teenage son has been removed from the rough crowd he was spending time with in the city, and she and her husband are making plans to renovate their old farm house. Darlene’s so comfortable with her family life that she’s given up being a stay-at-home mum and started working at a school for disabled children. So she’s entirely unprepared when a series of catastrophes hit her family. Her seemingly perfect teenage daughter is revealed to have been self-harming for quite some time, a secret her brother was keeping from their parents. No one understands the enormity of what Grace has been going through, least of all Darlene. Her husband, Brad, is determined to sweep this situation under the carpet and deal with it without any outside help that might damage the reputation of their family. Brad’s reaction stuns Darlene, and his insinuations that Grace wouldn’t have been so destructive if Darlene spent more time at home drives an unexpected wedge between them. To complicate matters further, the father of a child at her school is starting to pay Darlene a lot of attention, at a time when she most needs someone to lean on. Darlene is struggling to stay strong and make decisions about Grace without the support of her husband, and needs all the help she can get to stay away from the open arms of another man.
Having recently become a fan of Beth Wiseman’s Amish fiction, I couldn’t help but be intrigued when I heard that she was releasing a contemporary novel, and a non-romantic one at that. Contemporary women’s fiction is a genre that is slightly lacking in the Christian market. There are some writers who approach this genre very well, but I’ve yet to encounter anyone who can rival Barbara Delinsky or Diane Chamberlain in their complex plots and family dynamics. While Beth’s debut into this market didn’t excite the same reactions in me that Barbara’s most recent instalments have, I will admit that it was incredibly compelling. I devoured it in two days straight, and I honestly think I need to go back and reread the last few chapters as I was struggling to keep my eyes open at the end, but determined not to go to sleep until I’d finished the book!
I didn’t have any major expectations for Need You Now, as I imagined it would be very different from Beth’s Amish fiction. But she has lived up to her trademark of complex, realistic characters with believable struggles, even in a contemporary setting. I was even more impressed by the way that she approached her teenage protagonists. Some brilliant authors have let me down in their portrayal of teenagers – notably, Jodi Picoult’s The Pact, which I repeatedly wanted to throw across to the room when I read it as a sixteen-year-old – but Beth does not join their ranks. While I never suffered to the extent that Grace did, I did struggle with unexplained feelings of depression throughout my teen years, which has now been diagnosed as Seasonal Affective Disorder. Even now, I can’t put my emotions from this stage of my life into words. Somehow, Beth has managed to explain how overwhelmingly confusing teenage depression can be, making Grace an incredibly relatable teenage character. Grace’s older brother, Chad, was equally realistic, although I felt that Beth could have developed his character a little more. There are hints that Chad is possibly going to head down the wrong route, like he did in Houston, and although he makes some positive choices towards the end of the novel, his character never had the depth that Grace’s did. Likewise, I did mostly enjoy the storyline about their neighbour, Layla, but she sometimes felt a bit caricatured. Her relationship with Darlene was very touching, but I think the fact that this novel attempted to focus on so many different characters meant that some of them – particularly Layla and Chad – were a little neglected and didn’t seem quite as fleshed out as Darlene and Grace.
Some readers may find it difficult to read about the struggles Darlene and Brad’s relationship faces, and the temptations that Dave presents her with. Need You Now illustrates how dangerous a seemingly innocent relationship can become when it starts to provide that which your marriage cannot. I will admit that I got a bit annoyed at Darlene towards the end of the novel. She overhears a phone conversation with her husband and makes several assumptions, but takes a long time to confront him about it. I know that this is probably the way that many women would react, but I’m not that kind of woman. But although I couldn’t relate to Darlene in this particular incident, I will say that for the majority of the situations she found herself in, I could emphasise with her. I do wish that Dave’s character had taken a different turn. He was painted so sympathetically at the start of the novel – a widower with a challenging daughter who just wanted to find love again – but I felt he almost became somewhat of a villain, and Darlene the victim. Of course he was wrong in coveting a married woman, but if Darlene can be forgiven for her mistakes, so can he. I wanted some hope for Dave at the end of the novel, but there wasn’t any. Perhaps Beth will write another novel about Dave’s redemption?
Beth’s debut into the contemporary market is strong, and hopefully a sign of better things to come. Her characters are just as realistic and relatable as those in her Amish novels, and she continues to address controversial issues that some authors shy away from. While perhaps the number of topics that come up in this novel might seem a little overwhelming – self-harm, adultery, death – the novel ended on a hopeful, uplifting note. I think the only major pitfall of Need You Now is that the novel has a large cast, and some of the characters seemed less credible than others. A few characters could have benefited from some further development, but perhaps this had to be sacrificed for the sake of the main storylines. But hopefully this is something that Beth can improve on in later novels, of which I’m sure there will be many. Fans of Beth’s Amish fiction will likely enjoy this foray into a new genre, and those who can’t bear to pick up a novel with the bonnet on the front will now also get the chance to enjoy Beth’s challenging yet uplifting stories.
Review title provided by Thomas Nelson.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2012
In her first contemporary novel Need You Now, Beth Wiseman introduces readers to the Henderson family. Hoping to find peace in a simplified lifestyle, Brad and Darlene move their family to Round Top, Texas. Once there, though, the adjustment is more difficult than any of them anticipated. Brad is working overtime trying to make partner at his accounting firm. Darlene starts working outside the home for the first time. Chad is drinking and hanging out with a bad crowd. Grace is struggling to make friends and begins cutting.
I was impressed with how Beth tackled a number of really difficult issues in Need You Now. Adultery, cutting, divorce, anger at God—they are all shown fairly realistically and in light of God's grace. In fact, I've never read another book that addressed the issue of cutting, and I think this could be very enlightening to teenagers and parents alike.
While Brad, Darlene, and their children were the focal point of the book, I enjoyed "meeting" their neighbor Layla and Grace's friend Skylar. Their stories really interested me and I wish that they would have been featured more throughout the book.
I enjoyed Beth's writing style and found the story to be intriguing and captivating overall. Unfortunately, though, I felt that there were so many story lines that it was pretty unbelievable. It seemed that Brad and Darlene had a nearly perfect marriage (after 20 years, no less) and within a few weeks everything was falling completely apart. It just didn't ring true with me. The secondary characters in the book also had some pretty drastic issues that came to light in the book, and it just seemed a bit unrealistic that everyone in this small town would have such horrible problems to deal with all at the same time.
Overall, I enjoyed the story, but I'm not sure this is a book I would rush out to buy. It's definitely worth your time to read and prompted a lot of interesting conversation at our house. I'll be interested to see what Beth's other contemporary novels are like. [3 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson via The B&B Media Group and FIRST Wildcard Blog Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book, good job by the authors

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When big-city life threatens the safety of one of their children, Brad and Darlene Henderson move with their three teenagers from Houston to the tiny town of Round Top, Texas.
Adjusting to small-town life is difficult for the kids, especially fifteen-year-old Grace who is coping in a dangerous way.
Married life hasn’t always been bliss, but their strong faith has carried them through the difficult times. When Darlene takes a job outside the home for the first time in their marriage, the domestic tension rises.
While working with special needs children at her new job, the widowed father of one of Darlene’s students starts paying more attention to her than is appropriate. Problem is, she feels like someone is listening to her for the first time in a long time. If Darlene ever needed God…it’s now.
Experience a family’s triumphant defeat over lies, betrayal, and loss while still clinging to the One who
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Special Need's Children

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After Chad gets into the wrong crowd in high school in Houston, Brad and Darlene Henderson make the decision to move the family to Round Top, TX, to her grandparents’ old homestead. Life starts out with a bang on the first day with a visitor from the snake world, sending Darlene into frenzy.
Brad and Darlene’s marriage seems to have the normal ups and downs, but their deep love and faith have always kept them going. All three children seem to be adjusting to the move on the outside, but brewing on the inside of Grace is another world–a world of cutting to cope with her feelings.
Darlene tries to make friends with Layla Jeger, her next-door rancher, but it’s a touch and go relationship on Layla’s end. Seeking outside friendships, Darlene takes on her first job away from home at the Evans House, a special needs’ school. As time progresses with her working outside the home, tensions in the home abound. About two months later they find out about Grace’s cutting.
Beth Wiseman, in Need You Now, brings out the stormy issues of childhood emotional problems and their families and how they each cope with the individual issues. The multiple points of view are great, as you see the same incident through the different character angles, which makes the story well-rounded and more real. Her story hits close to home, as Beth draws you into the emotions and circumstances of the characters. They could be your own family or the neighbor next door.
The development and descriptions of Grace’s cutting are well-developed and very informative. This issue is prevalent in the teenage world, and Beth’s book helps and encourages parents to be on the lookout and to be willing to get good outside help.
The strain between Brad and Darlene’s relationship is palpable throughout the blame-game scenario and subsequent silence between the two. This leaves Darlene vulnerable to another male’s perspective and understanding, which escalates into a sticky romantic relationship.
Beth interweaves the importance of praying and God’s intervention in response to those prayers in both the Henderson family and Layla’s life, even though it wasn’t necessarily a happily-ever-after as we define it. I commend the author in how she dealt with the circumstances in difficult, real-world outcomes.
This novel was a fulfilling read, yet was filled with difficult scenarios that deeply touched my heart. When an author can get you to grieve over fictional characters, she’s done an in-depth job of portraying real emotions in her characters!
Special thanks to Rick Roberson, The B&B Media Group, for sending me a review copy through FIRST Wild Card Tours. No monetary compensation was provided in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jumping To Conclusions

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
started reading this page turning book as Part One...and true to two part books it left you on a cliff hanger. Had to know the rest of the story...and a good story it was.
This book has it all, the great love of a family for each other..."Who do you love?". Also so not so typical teenage difficult problems, when Grace their middle child starts coping in a dangerous way.
This book also deals with marriage problems, even where there shouldn't be any. Also enjoyed how dealing with "special" children is highlighted on, and accepted. We are show the great accomplishments of these children and the people who care for them. Also be prepared for heartbreak!
You won't be able to stop at Part One, this book is a compelling page turner!
I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new direction for a great author!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Wiseman made my "favorite authors" list with her Amish stories -- the Daughters of the Promise and Land of Canaan series. But now she has shown that her talents are not limited to the Amish genre. Need You Now is an awesome contemporary story written with the same quality of characters and story line that we, her fans, have come to expect.
Darlene and Brad Henderson have moved with their three teen-aged children from the challenges of big-city life in Houston to the small town of Round Top, Texas. As they settle into Darlene's grandparents' house, it appears that everyone is adjusting well. Darlene, though, doesn't feel that she is needed as much at home and takes a job at a school for special needs children. Unexpected problems crop up that threaten Darlene's and Brad's marriage, and maybe even the lives of their children. Will the faith that has sustained the family through past problems be enough this time? They need God now, more than ever.
Beth's story provides poignant reminders of how easily danger can slip into a family. Seemingly innocent encounters leading to dangerous feelings. Children caught up in destructive behaviors. But truth, openness, love, and faith provide the means for fighting against those dangers and finding the way back to family.
Need You Now is a great read for fans of Beth Wiseman and fans of Christian romance. I hope to read many more contemporary novels -- and Amish novels -- from Beth Wiseman in the future.
I was provided a free copy of this book through B &amp; B Media Group for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story every parent needs to read!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems like at some point in our lives, we'll blame God for something that hasn't gone right in our lives. Perhaps it's the death of a child we didn't seem coming, or trouble with finances or an affair within our marriage. Yet often times God will place someone in our path when we struggle with the answers why to help us deal with this situation in ways they can verbalize and help us understand when God's ways can seem to overwhelming to comprehend.
In Need You Now by Beth Wiseman, The Henderson family is about to face the biggest challenge of their lives and their faith in God will be tested in ways like they never could imagine. Just when their lives seem to be settling down after moving from Houston to a rural small town of Round Top, Texas, the begin to see the facade that each of them have painted for one another.
With their youngest daughter Grace, just fifteen-years-old, she struggles with being labeled as the perfect child neither of their parents needs to worry about. Yet besides dealing with a boyfriend she left behind when they moved and trying to find new friends at her school, Grace has to find new ways of dealing with her out-of-control emotions. She turns to cutting, to release the emotions that are building up inside and a way to maintain control. Only thing is no one knows except a Goth girl at school named Skylar. Will she be able to stop in time before her family finds out?
Darlene Henderson has been the picture perfect role model of wife and mom, and now that her kids don't need her for anything else but a hot meal, she finds solace in getting a job helping special needs children. When Dave Schroeder, the father of the autistic girl she's been working with, begins to develop a much stronger interest in her that he could have imagined since his wife died, he begins to find new ways to come and see Darlene. Will she be willing to walk away from her own marriage to her husband Brad, even if he is seeing someone from work?
I received Need You Now compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review and think that Beth Wiseman has done an incredible job at identifying the signs of both affairs and teenage cutting in this remarkable fictional book. Even though the characters are fiction based, this could very well be the story of any family we know. I applaud her for informing her readers through this powerful story and show how often pray is our last resort to our problems when it should be our first line of defense. I highly recommend this book and rate it a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True to Life

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
High five to Beth Wiseman for writing a page-turning winner! What a treat! I really enjoyed this book. Like life, the plot has many surprises; we never know what to expect. With a new move, a husband working long hours, a family of three teens, and a new job, Darlene, the protagonist is hard put to keep her plates spinning. No wonder she begins to crack. Each believable character adds dimension to this interesting tale.
A Reading Group Guide is included.
Thank you to Audra Jennings at B&B Media Group and Thomas Nelson Publishing for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cutting edge contemporary novel

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need You Now is Beth Wiseman's first contemporary Christian novel. If you have enjoyed her Amish genre novels, then you will definitely enjoy this!
"When big-city life threatens the safety of one of their children, Brad and Darlene Henderson move with their three teenagers from Houston to the tiny town of Round Top, Texas.
Adjusting to small-town life is difficult for the kids, especially fifteen-year-old Grace who is coping in a dangerous way.
Married life hasn't always been bliss, but their strong faith has carried them through the difficult times. When Darlene takes a job outside the home for the first time in their marriage, the domestic tension rises.
While working with special needs children at her new job, the widowed father of one of Darlene's students starts paying more attention to her than is appropriate. Problem is, she feels like someone is listening to her for the first time in a long time.
If Darlene ever needed God . . . it's now.
Experience a family's triumphant defeat over lies, betrayal, and loss
while still clinging to the One who matters most."
- Thomas Nelson Publisher
Beth Wiseman's groundbreaking contemporary novel not only delves into the complexities of marriage and family, but also our need to seek God's will in all we do. After moving the family into Darlene's late grandmother's home, the family slowly adjusts to small town life - or so they believe.
Need You Now opens the door to numerous issues which are plaguing our society. Beth gives us a peek into the world of cutting as a way to cope with stress. It is so skillfully written into the story that you find yourself praying for the character. As the concern for their daughter rises, Darlene and Brad find themselves drifting apart from each other... but for different reasons. Darlene begins receiving inappropriate attention from a single dad, while Brad lies to her by omission.
I had a difficult time putting this book down to go and do my chores. (Who needs a clean house, anyway?!?) Beth has given the characters depth to where you feel as though they are your friends. I love it when a book draws me in. But as the saying goes, "All good things come to an end." So there lies the problem. Need You Now made me smile and cry as the Hendersons walked through this time in their lives.
Pull up a chair and read this great novel that will stay with you long after you finish the last page!
I received a complimentary copy of Need You Now from Thomas Nelson / Handlebar Marketing and their BookSneeze program for this review.
Now, on to the GIVEAWAY!
To enter this drawing to win this great read,
follow me on GFC and/or Twitter and leave a comment below.
The giveaway will end on 11:59 PM on April 30, 2012.
I will use random.org to choose a winner on May 1, 2012.
Good luck and happy reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of the book Need You Now by Beth Wiseman

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a chance to read this book and was surprised how much I enjoyed it.
This book is about a family who goes through some struggles and has to rely on GOD and prayer to get some relief. The book is about a mom who has kids and to make extra money decides to take a job as a teacher. There she gets to meet some special need kids who she becomes close with and enjoys working as a teacher but realizes that her kids at home are struggling with things as well. Her daughter Grace cuts herself to get rid of the pain and her husband works long hours and is never home to make sure the family gets the money they deserve but because he is never there their marriage suffers as well. The mom Darlene also makes another surprising friend as well, her neighbor who used to be a famous celebrity but loses her daughter in a tragic way and had lost her relationship with GOD and with Darlene's help finds her relationship with GOD again.
The book is about family and love and praying and trusting in GOD when things go wrong because GOD is truly a caring GOD and when you put GOD first in your life then life seems to go more smoothly because GOD blesses you when you put him first in your life.
I like the author's statement when she says " Life can be a mess sometimes, and when that happens, our faith either get's stronger, or it takes a dive. I hope readers will close the book with a feeling of renewal and the certainty that there is no hardship that we can't conquer with GOD on our side. I hope this book will bring folks one step closer to Him."
Life may be tough and can throw us for a loop sometimes but if we do not talk to GOD and pray to him we may feel alone yet we never are. GOD is always there for us if we just reach out and call to him. And one thing I truly believe is, we may not always get what we want in life but we always get what we prayer for because GOD knows whats best for us and without him life would be crazy and with GOD we can get relief.
I only have one problem with the book and that is that people believe that when you die that Jesus or GOD takes you into heaven to be his angel that is not true at all. When you die, you are conscious of nothing. You are simply sleeping. You can find that in the scripture Eccl. 9:5: “The living are conscious that they will die; but as for the dead, they are conscious of nothing at all.” This misconception about GOD upsets me because GOD is a loving GOD who cares for each of us and would never do that. That's why I have a few scriptures I find comforting that show that GOD does not cause suffering. James 1:13 says " When under trial, let no one say I am being tried by GOD , for with evil things GOD cannot be tried nor does he himself try anyone." Another good scripture is Isaiah 25:8 which reads " He will actually swallow up death forever, and the Sovereign Lord Jehovah will certainly wipe the tears from all faces. And the reproach of his people he will take away from all earth for Jehovah himself has spoken it."
I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Sweet Grace

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I stayed up late to finish, "Need You Now", and closed the last page with tears. This novel is so different from anything I have read from Beth Wiseman that it took me by surprise. I love her Amish Fiction, but this one really hit home.
It opens our heart to home, family and finding solace in a world that surges on perfection. The characters were so real and the writing so easy to follow. It just flowed. Not just the words, but the scenes before me.
We hide our hurts just as this family does and through their trials we see God's grace.
I loved watching these characters grow and find their way in a place they once weren't too sure about it, but now feels like home. Beth Wiseman faces issues of marriage, friendship, trust and teenage reality head on in her latest gem.
I loved the story line and all that this book holds. The message is pure and without a doubt shows us how God can bring beauty to ash.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
Friends, I too am having a GIVE-A-WAY of, "Need You Now". Thanks to B&B Media Group, I have 2 wonderful copies for you!! Follow this link, GIVE-A-WAY OF NEED YOU NOW, and once there, all you must do is leave a comment with your email so I can reach you! The winner will be announced Friday, April 20. So, come on and leave a comment. You just might be a winner!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story that reminds us how much we need Him.

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a number of Beth Wiseman's books, I really like her style of writing. She has a way of not only pulling you into the story but she makes you feel like you are a part of the story as well.
In Need You Now, which is totally different than any of her Amish stories, Beth accomplishes to make you feel for each of her characters and live their lives.
Written in contemporary times, about contemporary people who deal with the problems everyone else does, Need You Now, looks at and invites you into the lives of Darlene, her husband Brad, and their three children.
Brad and Darlene move their family out of the big city into a small town, Round Up, Texas, because one of their children was headed for big trouble and going down the wrong path.
The adjustment isn't easy for any of them, especially for their oldest daughter, Grace. And Darlene is starting to go a bit stir crazy, so she decided to get a part-time job; with her husband's blessing.
Darlene working, Grace coping in dangerous ways, Brad getting grumpy and out of sorts, Chad the teenage son, and Ansley, a special daughter... all lead to a story that will make you laugh, cry, pray, and thankful that God does work in mysterious ways to bring us through all of our times of difficulties and trials. Even though we may turn our back on Him, He is always there, waiting, for us to say, "Need You Now."
Thank you to The B & B Media Group and Thomas Nelson, who provided this book for review purposes. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Need You Now - eBook
This review is fromNeed You Now.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

thought provoking novel of family crisis

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darlene and Brad were concerned about the safety of their children so they moved their family from Houston to a small town, taking over the fixer-upper farm left to Darlene by her grandparents. The adjustment is difficult. Brad has a long commute. The kids have a difficult time adjusting to their new schools.
Darlene gets to know their neighbor, Layla, a middle aged woman managing a ranch by herself. Brad recognizes Layla as a movie star who left the Hollywood scene several years ago. As Darlene and Layla form a tentative friendship, Layla's hurt over the suicide of her bipolar teen-aged daughter comes to the surface. Layla is mad at God for the loss of her daughter and the marriage that could not be held together.
Darlene's own world begins to fall apart when she finds out that her middle daughter is a cutter, using a self-damaging way of coping with stress. The tension in her marriage increases. Then, when she overhears Brad's end of a phone conversation, she wonders if he is having an affair.
Darlene struggles with her relationship to God. She struggles with her feelings toward an attractive man who is obviously attracted to her. She feels she has lost her family's support. Who can she turn to? Even God seems far away.
Wiseman has written a great novel that kept my attention through to the end. The plot is thought provoking. Who would I turn to if my world fell apart? How would my relationship with God be affected? Would I question God's will? Would I accuse Him of punishing me with?
I learned about cutting and how many teens are turning to it as a means of using one pain as a way to distract from another. Darlene had taken a job (another source of tension in the marriage) and works with a high-functioning autistic girl. So I also learned about autism too.
Wiseman's characters are well done. I easily identified with their hurt and subsequent questions about God and His will for their lives.
The end of the novel might require you keep some tissues nearby, but don't worry, there is also glorious hope.
Thomas Nelson has made the first have of the novel available in e-book format for just 99 cents. You can go here to find out more. The entire novel will be available mid-Arpil.
Beth Wiseman is a noted author of novels about the Amish. This is her first contemporary setting. I do hope she writes more in this style. She was an award winning journalist when, through a personal crisis in her own life, her faith was so strengthened her agent suggested she write a Christian novel. She left journalism behind in 2008 to become a full-time writer of Amish fiction. She was the 2010 INSPY Award winner, 2011 Carol Award winner (American Christian Fiction Writers), and the 2011 Inspirational Readers Choice Award Winner.
To find out more about Beth and watch a video showing why she wrote this novel, go to her website.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>