Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Waking Hours - eBook

Thomas Nelson Waking Hours - eBook

All towns have secrets. Some have demons. Welcome to East Salem, a sleepy town with a history older than America where things are just a bit off; where the supernatural bleeds into the everyday. And where a tragic murder mystery is underway. A high school girl is found dead in the town park; and where forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris wants answers. All the suspects were teenagers who were at the party with her the night before--who he last spoke with on their last high school date forever ago. Yet his celebrity status opens doors barred to Dani--so they form an awkward alliance. They soon realize that there's more to the mystery than murder. And more to the evil they are facing than a mere human killer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waking Hours - eBook
Review 1 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Pounding Suspense

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waking Hours was an incredible read! The book swept me into the story from page one and I could not put it down. I am ready to barrel through the rest of the trilogy and am counting down the days to the final book. Ms. Wiehl uses such fantastic writing to make the reader feel like they're witnessing the story. It was so good at times I felt like I was watching a movie. The suspense was intense and the story had my hands sweating and my heart pounding. Definitely on my top 10 list of best books ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like "This Present Darkness" You will Like This

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Darkness Rising" is the second book in the East Salem series and the sequel to "Waking Hours". It is supernatural thriller that has a Frank Peretti ring to it. There are angels and there are demons and people carrying out their plans.
I always like to read books that are in a series in order and in this case I highly recommend reading book one first.
In this book, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and private investigator Tommy Gunderson continue in the quest to find the truth of what is happening at St. Adrian's Academy. As they delve even deeper into the mysteries that surround the school, they discover that the truth is far more encompassing than they thought. Supernatural influences have had a stronghold for generations. Dani and Tommy are wondering who they can trust and battle with demons in a showdown of good verses evil.
The thing that I didn't like about the book is that it goes too deep into medicine and psychology for me. Someone with more understanding in those fields would enjoy it much more.
This is the second book of a trilogy. The last book, "Final Tide" is due out in September of 2013.
I do recommend this book. It is skillfully written, engaging and absorbing. Even though the subject is heavy there are moments that made me laugh. And yes there is romance as the relationship between Danny and former classmate, professional football player, and now Private I Tommy Gunndersonwho Dani hires for $1.00 per year, is growing.
I received this bookthrough Booksneaze. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waking Hours Kept Me Reading 'til the Wee Hours

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A departure from the style and genre of the successful Triple Threat novels written with April Henry, the first book in this new series written by Fox News Correspondent Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson is no less of a thrill.
It's probably no surprise that there is a supernatural undertone throughout this book since it is set in a sleepy East Coast town named Salem, and at first glance that concerns me (thinking the book is going to be a rehashing of tales from similar settings). Fortunately the plot doesn't end there. This has a real element of suspense with just a bit more than a touch of the supernatural evil that is popular in publishing today.
I really enjoyed the book, and though it is not quite as good as Lis' other series, it has me waiting for the sequel--which by the way the book ends, looks to be even better than the first in the series. I am giving this book a strong 4 stars.
See for yourself what the book is all about (no spoilers):
The DA has called Forensic Psychiatrist Dani Harris in to help unravel the mystifying case of a gruesome
murder that apparently took place at a high school party. The twisted circumstances surrounding the case leave everyone including Dani wondering how a seemingly normal teen could have pulled it off.
Tommy Gunderson, former NFL player and local boy come home is having his own set of unexplainable circumstances across town at his very secure estate. How could his state of the art security system have been breached by an elderly woman mumbling what seems to be Latin phrases, and where did she get the strength to attack him like that?
Soon Tommy's own problems are eclipsed when a boy he has been helping is accused of the party murder. Insistent on proving the boy's innocence, Tommy inserts himself into the case and back into the life of Dani, the girl he found quite interesting back in High School.
When Dani and Tommy team up to figure out what really happened they are going to get much more than they bargained for...with the case and with whatever it is that is going on between them. And just how does the attack at Tommy's house fit into the answer?
Have you read this book? Are you thinking about it? Leave a comment and tell me what you think.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Annes Gems
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hold on to your hats and your seats...Lis Wiehl grips you from the first page until the last paragraph! Intense, gripping and you seriously can't put it down!
"Welcome to East Salem. A deceptively sleepy town where ancient supernatural forces are being awakened."
This story starts off with a local high school girl being brutally murdered and forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris is on the case. This go from weird to completely shocking. Then enter former NFL linebacker, and former love interest to Dani Harris, Tommy Gunderson. As they are investigating the murder it seems as though all of the suspects are teenagers and one in particular is very close to Tommy. As Tommy is looking into the murder he doesn't always like what he is finding out.
"It will take an astute analysis and forensic skills to solve the crime. But Dani and Tommy suspect there's more to the mystery than murder, more to their growing friendship than chance...and more to the evil they're facing than a mere human killer."
Fantastic book from beginning to end...a definite must read!
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Mystery Read

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to read a copy of Liz Wiehl's new book, "Waking Hours" before it is released October 4, 2011. I have been a fan of hers having read the "Triple Threat" Series.
The story takes place is East Salem, New York. It is a quiet town, but now supernatural forces are waking up. A girl is murdered and the way she is murdered is a mystery to this town. Intigued, forensic Physicatrist Dani Haris and former professional football player, Tommy Gunderson, set out to solve this murder (who have had secret crushes on each other since high school) the suspense lasts thorugh out the whole book. The only suspects are teenagers and none of them remember what happened.
The days are one thing, but the nights are something else for Dani Haris as she has horrible dreams...nightmares and wakes up at the same time every night.
I enjoyed "Waking Hours" but it is different from her other fiction books in that some things that happen are not given an explanation. We are not given a "natural" explanation so that leaves us to assume a "supernatural" explanation? For example, a knife is left under her pillow. There is no way a person could have gotten into her house and left it there. A demon? Perhaps? The final conclusion is up to you. I believe in the supernatural but I had a hard time trying to figure out if what happened was tied into an ancient evil or not. Could it also have something to do with the 12 plagues God put on the Egyptians as told in the book of Exodus in the Bible? I am not sure. It left me somewhat confused. Mabe that was the author's intent.
What I don't like is that Christians in many fiction books lately are not real strong Christians but compromise a great deal. For example in this book, Tommy's mentor drinks beer. I assume he is a Christian.
But on the whole I really enjoyed the book. I usually like a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book 1 of the East Salem Trilogy. It was fast pace at the beginning, but slightly slow down towards the middle. The suspense intrigued me right from the beginning. I kept on wondering actually who's the killer. I like the interaction between Dani and Tommy. Their relationship was slowly developed and naturally. The plot of the story is very good. The authors have done a very good job on weaving in the story of mystery and suspense with the supernatural element. And on top of it, adding the romance element into it. Just when I thought the mystery is solved, the ending made me feels a little confused, which means that I can't wait for the next book!
I enjoy reading it very much. I rate it 5 out of 5 stars.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
krickal
Location:lexington, tn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book takes place in East Salem, where a local high school gorl is brutally murdered in what looks to be some kind of ritual. All the suspects are teenagers that were with her that night but none of them can remember what happened. Forsenic psychiatrist Dani Harris is helping with the investigation. At the same time as this, an elderly lady breaches an alarm at former NFL player Tommy Gunderson's house. She is mumbling in Latin and attacks him. Then someone he knows is implicated in the murder of the girl, so he works with Dani on the investigation. They knew each other in high school and develop a growing friendship. But is there more to the evil they are facing than a human killer?
This is a really good book. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the next one in the series.
I recieved this book for free from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson
The book starts with a high school girl being brutally murdered in East Salem, a small town in New York. Dani Harris, a forensic psychiatrist, is called in to assist in the investigation.
At the same time of the murder an elderly woman wanders onto the property of Tommy Gunderson, a former NFL linebacker. What is so strange about that is his property has a state of the art security system. The elderly woman is mumbling words in Latin and is holding a disemboweled frog. She ends up grabbing him around the throat.
Someone Tommy works with at his gym is implicated in the young girls murder and he finds himself working with Dani to try to solve the murder. Dani wakes up at exactly 2:13 am every night with dreams about her deceased parents. Is this connected to the murder? They both feel something dark and evil is going on in the town. Will they discover what it is before there is another murder?
I found the book to be a good mystery. I did find it a little too involved with the psychology explanations. Also, it was a little hard to follow in some places. As a Christian, I know there are demons. This book brings it out into the open with the evil that is happening in East Salem.
This book was given to me by booksneeze.com for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hard to put down, but left some things unanswered.

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This story is about a high school girl, who was found brutally murdered in the town of East Salem. They call in forensic psychiatrist, Dani Harris, to help the DA unravel the mystery behind her death. All the suspects are teenagers who were at a party with the girl—yet no one remembers what happened. Could one of them be a vicious killer? Along with this murder, Dani is also dealing with her own night time traumas, of waking at 2:13 every evening, from a dream filled with water, blood, or destruction. Weird things are happening around the town, as well--like the deer caught in the high rise electric lines.
She also has to deal with her emotions over her parents death, as well as those for Tommy Gunderson, an NFL pro football player, whom she had gone to high school with, and they had unspoken feelings for each other back then, but hadn't seen each other since. Tommy comes alongside her to help unravel this mystery.
I have read all of Lis Wiehl's other books, and this is the first book, I believe, that she has had published under Thomas Nelson. I really enjoyed all her other books, and looked forward to this book. I thought the book was very well written. Had me interested from the start. I probably shouldn't have read it right before bed, because it was spooky! I liked it when it just dealt with the physical aspect of solving the crime, but didn't care when they went into the spiritual spooky aspect of the story, where there is a night time visitor that passes through the walls of the house, etc.
I did enjoy the book, and I had my nose in the book, every chance I could! I just wish they would have given solid answers to some of the spiritual spooky stuff--unless that was their intent? Still am confused a bit. . .
I received an advanced reading copy of the book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze program. I am not required to write a positive review, just an honest one. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Location:Northern Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was the ritualistic murder of a lonely high school girl in New York's tony Westchester County the work of a sinister band of teens, a supernatural force of evil, or a collaboration of both? The only thing certain when Waking Hours opens is the identity of the victim and the fact that eerie, downright creepy events quickly and continuously unfold that may or may not be connected to her death.
I had committed to provide a review of Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson’s first novel in the East Salem series by today, October 3. Because I was out of town when my copy arrived from the publisher, I had very little time to read the book.
NOT a problem. Waking Hours--a blend of suspense and supernatural stories, with a dash of romance--grabs the reader at once and doesn’t let go until the very last word. Even then, it’s quite clear more trouble—and adventure—is yet to come in future installments in the series. I say bring ‘em on. Both main characters, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris and former football star Tommy Gunderson, are witty, intelligent, and fallible enough to feel real. Wiehl and Nelson have done their homework, and the psychological, forensic, and geographic details create scenes both visual and intense.
If you like to read before bedtime, you might want to keep a copy of People magazine or something similarly frivolous nearby to clear away the heebie jeebies before you turn out the lights. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

waking hours review

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received "Waking Hours" by Lis Wiehl (e-book) for free from http://www.booksneeze.com/. This is a pretty awesome book. I really hope it turns into a series. The site says it is, that it is #1 in the East Salem series. I have read some of the other series by Wiehl, the Triple Threat Series. I like it, but it rings a little too similar to Patterson's Women's Murder Club. However, East Salem doesn't seem like anything else I have read. Wiehl takes a turn for the paranormal. It is about a court psychologist, Dani, employeed to help find criminals and her sidekick ex-NFL standout turned PI, Tommy; and the two together must solve a ritualistic murder of a teenage girl in East Salem.
Personally, I think this book is 10 times better than her Triple Threat Series. It is original, funny, smart, romantic (which is weird since there technically is no romance at all), and addictive. This is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Thriller start to a great new series

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like your books exciting and keeping you on your edge of your seat, this is the series for you to start. I have liked Lis Wiehl's other series Triple Threat and I was excited about reading this first installment of this new series and I was not disappointed. The book starts out with an elderly woman being found at the home of Tommy Gunderson and she ends up attacking him with strenth that is much more than she should be able to muster. Later that night a girl is found murdered but even though there are many witnesses know remembers. The rest of the book is a mystery with alot of twist and turns , enough to keep you turning the pages till the very end. I love thrillers and this is a THRILLER of the highest kind. Great book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Start to a New Series

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading the first book in Lis Wiehl’s new "East Salem" series. Yay, Lis! I’ve read and enjoyed all three books of her other series, but with those I had some concerns. For this series, Wiehl has a new co-author, Pete Nelson. Perhaps that made all the difference. Or maybe Wiehl started this new series in order to take her stories in a different direction. Either way, I really liked this book.
"Waking Hours" is a supernatural thriller/mystery. When a gruesome murder takes places in East Salem, New York, forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris is called to assist the DA. Tommy Gunderson, an old friend from high school, formerly a pro-football player, now studying to become a private detective, is also drawn into the case when one of the teenage boys he mentors is called in for questioning.
Dani invites Tommy to be her assistant and the two go to work together in an "X-Files" kind of way. Tommy is a growing Christian who suspects there’s a spiritual battle going on, not just a physical crime. Dani is all science. If you can’t see it and prove it, it shouldn’t be a concern.
Because of the gruesome nature of the murder and supernatural elements introduced at the beginning of the book, I at first thought, I’d walked into a horror story. But it doesn’t go that direction. The supernatural element is almost a side story—and will be continued in the next book. The mystery itself gets solved satisfactorily within the human realm.
I’m happy to recommend "Waking Hours" to you and will be watching for the next book in the "East Salem" series! Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Suspense

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a teenage girl is found brutally murdered it has all the scenes of a ritualistic killing. This is the scene setting up the plot for Lis Wiehl’s first book in her newest trilogy. When a local boy is picked up as a suspect, this brings two old friends together, Forensic psychologist Danielle Harris and former football star Tommy Gunderson. With Dani helping the locl police and Tommy helping Dani they soon find out there are more involved in this than first thought. With supernatural happenings going on, a group of teenagers now all suspects and Dani having nightmares waking her up every night at 2:13 am the reader is taken on a journey with many twist and turns throughout. As the investigators dig further into this case the plot thickens as suspects list narrows and Dani and Tommy may be in more danger than they realize.
I have read the previous series by Lis Wiehl and I feel like she has made an excellent start to this second series. The plot is suspenseful, thrilling and with that little bit of supernatural thrown in makes it a combination one cannot resist. The supernatural aspects are not so far out in the plot to make it seem unreal. The characters all stand out in the book and even the secondary characters lend to the plot. Excellent book to the starting of this series and now cannot wait till the next one is out to be able to continue on.
I received this complimentary copy from the publisher through the Book-sneeze Bloggers program. No compensation was received and a positive review was not required. All thoughts and opinions are strictly my own views of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book met all my expectations!

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rocknb61
Location:Chocowinity, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waking Hours by Lis Wiehl with Pete Nelson
"All towns have secrets. Some have Demons. Welcome to East Salem. A deceptively sleepy town where ancient supernatural forces are being awakened."
That introduction grabbed me from the beginning. And I was not disappointed! A local high school girl is found murdered. The manner of her death is quite shocking and the only suspects are teenagers who don't remember anything that happened. Forensic psychiatrist Dani Harris is intrigued by the circumstances surrounding this death. Dani is also bothered by dreams that awakened her every night at 2:13.These dreams are filled with blood, water & destruction. Are these events related? Then let's add former NFL linebacker Tommy Gunderson. Someone close to him is implicated in the girl's murder and he finds himself working closely with Dani to solve this mystery. She also happens to be the only girl who could resist his charms back in high school. An awesome mystery full of suspense, romance and the supernatural. Reminds us that the battle between God and Satan is not over. Highly recommend this book and am looking forward to the next one in the series.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was up late reading this one!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
NewChristianBooks
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
A gruesome murder has rocked the affluent, quiet little New York town of East Salem. A teenage girl is killed, apparently in a violent and bizarre ritual during a party. The only suspect is another teen—but the more prosecutors dig into the case, the more confusing it becomes. Forensic psychologist Danielle Harris is assisting the DA’s office in solving the crime—when she gets an offer of assistance from the last person she’d expect.
The author, Lis Wiehl, is a legal analyst for Fox News. She teamed up for this book, the first in her East Salem series, with Pete Nelson, author of Left to Die. It’s a winning combination. The writing, plot and characters all deliver in this story of a small town and a big murder.
The plot is full of twists and turns, with a few red herrings thrown in just to confuse you. The large cast of characters in this story keep you on your toes. The simmering romance between Dani and former football star Tommy Gunderson makes things interesting. As in her previous novel, Heart of Ice, Wiehl depicts psychopathic characters with stunning accuracy.
Satisfyingly creepy without being over the top, the book explores the struggle between good and evil—not just in the physical realm, but in the supernatural as well. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Waking Hours - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing & Thrilling!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
RonieK
Location:North Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waking Hours is definitely one of Lis Wiehl’s best endeavors yet! I loved the story, and while I wouldn’t call it a fast-paced thriller, it’s definitely a thriller with a pace that keeps you reading. The plot line was enthralling with the way the spiritual and physical were interwoven. At times, I felt the author(s) intruded a bit in the story by having the characters randomly jump to conclusions that did not feel natural course of thoughts. However, this never detracted from the story for me. Maybe in a way, I’m glad they skipped some of the mundane things that drive me nuts in other thrillers (and invariably slow down the story). Altogether, very well done story. Definitely going on my shelf (after I buy the book when it releases) as I anxiously await the next book in the East Salem series!
**I received a galley copy in exchange for an honest review.**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.