Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook

Thomas Nelson Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook

Beth Wiseman's Amish novellas are now available for the first time in one collection.

Healing Hearts Levina Lapp and her husband Naaman are alone for the first time in 30 years. When Naaman left to visit cousins in Ohio, Levina wasn't expecting him to be gone a year. Now that he's back, will they be able to move beyond this estrangement and fall in love again?

A Change of Heart Leah is a writer in a community that does not encourage such fruitless endeavors. She lacks the skills necessary to be a good Amish fraa. Aaron knows these things about Leah, but his heart is captured by this spirited young woman.

A Choice to Forgive Lydia has loved two men in her life. Daniel disappeared one Christmas Eve long ago, leaving only a note saying he wanted to live in the Englisch world. And Elam, Daniel's brother, to whom she has been happily married for 15 years. When Elam dies, Lydia gives up on ever loving again. But she is shocked when Daniel wants to return to the Order and her life.

These novellas previously were published in An Amish Love, An Amish Gathering, and An Amish Christmas.

Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Review 1 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing Hearts

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three absolutely beautiful stories of healing from past hurts. Beth wiseman really knows how to captivate her readers. I had previously read the fist two stories in another novella and a change of heart as a Stand alone book and posted my reviews for those already so this review is for Healing Hearts. I love this story from the very moment I started reading it. It gripped the romantic in me from page one. I really enjoyed the portrayal of teenage love between two adults who had been married for all those years. I understood the issue of the mistrust that Levina experienced as well. The story's twist involving the sheriff was also a beautiful and refreshing touch, it was at moments funny the way he defied his wife all weekend long. I was sad at the price he paid for it. A responding yes. I highly recommend this wonderful Collection of stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book to help hearts heal

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandma Edith
Location:Piqua, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an outstanding trilogy about people who have faced very serious relational issues in their lives and how God brought them through to victory. I was very impressed. I gave it to a grand daughter who is having some issues with healing in her life. I trust it will help her resolve some of the relational issues in her life. I have told many people about the book and hope it is read by many. I love the Amish books and these are beautiful examples of people working out their problems with God's help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy all her books.

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice Walen
Location:Glenfield, N. Dak.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She is a very good writer and makes you feel are there with them taking part in the family,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. A very wholesome book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tales to reach your heart

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These three, wonderful, Amish stories will surly find a place in your heart.
"A Choice to Forgive" is about loss, love and starting over. A mighty change from within transpires when past memories become reality. "A Change of Heart" is about learning to accept who we are and enjoying the gifts with which we have been blessed. Recognizing new feelings of the heart can change the world around us. "Healing Hearts" entangles forgiveness, understanding, and love mixed up with misunderstandings, misjudgments, and the deep desire to rediscover that which was lost.
Great reading for Christian Romance lovers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Healing Hearts" is an excellent read!

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela King
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In true Beth Wiseman fashion, "Healing Hearts" delivers a trio of excellent novellas that capture your attention and wisk you away to simpler times. Hope and forgiveness are the main themes that run throughout each story as the main characters are challenged both physically, spiritually and emotionally. Personally, I love when a good story has a strong Christian undercurrent, as these three stories all have in common. I recommend this book to anyone who wants a heartfelt book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolutely fantastic!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Healing hearts, by Beth Wiseman. In this novella we find three stories of Amish families and their struggles, their faith and their ability to overcome. The first of the three stories we find Levina Lapp who's husband has had to leave, but she didn't expect him to be gone as long as he was. Now that he's back Levina has to rediscover who her husband is, and draw close to him once again. The second of the stories we meet Leah, she doesn't seem destined to ever be married as she doesn't fit in with the status quo of what a good Amish wife looks like, yet it would seem that God does indeed have some one for everyone! Finally the third of the three stories is about Lydia, who found her heart broken years ago, but manages to move on and marries Elam. But tragity strikes and Lydia finds Elam taken away from her, but the one who broke her heart years ago seems to be looking for a second chance.
I love Beth Wiseman's Amish novels. They never disappoint, she is one of the few extremely talented writers in Amish fiction! It was a treat to receive and read this book! It'll be a book that I'll be passing on to friends and will be enjoyed by many. Another excellent book by Beth Wiseman!
This book was received in exchange for an honest review from booksneeze
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What an enjoyable time I had with this book! For someone who doesn't prefer novellas, I had a hard time pulling myself away from the ones in this anthology. Each one had a beautiful love story that was unique in it's own way, and I found myself smiling, laughing, and cheering on all of these sweet Amish characters. I also thought this book painted a clear picture of what it truly means to forgive, and how, if we give all our cares over to the One who can use all things for good, He'll give us a song in our heart, a joy in our step, and a peace like we've never known.
Next to Cindy Woodsmall, Beth Wiseman is my favorite Amish storyteller. Seriously, she gets better with every new release. Her stories have a way of getting into my heart every single time, and I can't ever seem to put them down! I'm always anxious to see what she'll come up with next, and believe me, it's worth the wait every single time. :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3 Charming Stories

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to review Beth Wiseman’s Healing Hearts, a collection of 3 stories previously published in An Amish Christmas, An Amish Gathering, andAn Amish Love.
The first story, A Choice to Forgive, centers around mother and widow - Lydia Smucker. Lydia has loved two men in her life. Daniel, who disappeared one Christmas Eve long ago, leaving only a note saying he wanted to live in the Englisch world. And Elam, Daniel’s brother, to whom she had been happily married for 15 years. When Elam dies, Lydia gives up on ever loving again. But she is shocked when Daniel wants to return to the Order and her life. Daniel is finally able to make known to Lydia the truth about what happened that Christmas Eve in hopes that she can and will at least forgive him. I will not tell you if she does or not, because that would ruin the outcome of the story for you. However, I will tell you that the story reminds all of us how important trust, honesty and forgiveness are in our lives. They just might mean the difference between which path our lives take and lead.
A Change of Heart is the second novella included in the collection. Leah is a writer in a community that does not encourage such fruitless endeavors. She lacks the skills necessary to be a good Amish fraa. Aaron knows these things about Leah, but his heart is captured by this spirited young woman. See how Leah’s stories influence the people around her, and touch some hearts close to her in unexpected ways!
“Healing Hearts” Levina Lapp and her husband Naaman are alone for the first time in 30 years. When Naaman left to visit cousins in Ohio, Levina wasn’t expecting him to be gone a year. Now that he’s back, will they be able to move beyond this estrangement and fall in love again? Even though the story focuses mostly on Levina and Naaman’s marriage and the trials and attempts to get it working again, I found it interesting how Naaman’s visit away from wife and kinner had and would impact the lives of so many people. This story is not just a reminder of how love and trust are important aspects of a strong marriage and family. Healing Hearts also reminds readers that God has a purpose for events and things that we do with our lives, even though such things are not understood at the time they happen.
I don’t want to add too much more to the summaries listed above in case I accidentally give away the endings for those of you interested in reading Healing Hearts. I was drawn into reading all 3 stories as soon as I started each one. I hope that you will be too if you choose to read this book. I couldn’t put it down and finished it in 2 days.
Once again, Beth Wiseman demonstrates through this collection of stories how well she writes and shares such aspects as love, trust, forgiveness and Faith with her readers. She’s definitely one of the top Amish fiction authors on my reading list! I’m glad I chose this book to read and review!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Healing Hearts

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bullwifey
Location:Longview, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a set of 3 novellas that were great! They are set up in one book form. Beth Wiseman, as usual, presents a great story with forgiveness and healing woven through out. I couldn't wait to find out what happened with each character, and it usually had a twist to it that made you smile. I know there is so much to the Amish community that I do not desire to live with(I couldn't have this blog in most communities!) but Beth brings out the forgiveness and humility that is their way--which I believe is really more God's way than we would like to admit. Our Lord does very plainly say---friendship with the world is enmity with God. I don't desire the rigidness that I see in some communities, but their walking in the fear of the Lord is very sound and biblical. Thanks Beth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mixed review on Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MariaM
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This e-book is actually three stories in one book. Each story is based on a theme or lesson to learn. The first story is on forgivemess. A young Amish widow who is reunited with her long lost first love who had disappeared one night before their engagement and was later shunned by the village. She went on to marry his brother, made a family and life together. Unfortunately, the husband died. Months later, her first love returns and complication ensues.
I did find the story to be a page turner, and could not put it down at all. I finished within a couple of days. Unfortunately, I found the ending of the story to be very predictable and trivial with the female character to be juvenile for her 32 years. Since then, I have not read the other two stories for this reason.
At the end of the book there was a Group Discussion guide for reading clubs. It did have interesting questions to pounder on while reading the story and answer when you have completed reading the story. Especially since the questions asks you how would you apply in your life the lesson learned in the story. I thought that was a nice touch.
This was my first Amish story and I had always wondered what it was about this genre that has become so popular. I don’t know if this is the book that would have me interested in other stories of the same genre. For me, I feel it is a mix review.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Healing Hearts: A Collection of Amish Romances - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Romance

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Countrysunset
Location:Bloomingdale, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Combine faith, love, and alot of forgiveness and you have a wonderful mixture for "Healing Hearts."
This book contains three Amish stories that all deal with having enough faith and forgiveness to move on and let love and happiness into their lives.
The first, "A Choice to Forgive, " has Lydia moving on after the death of her husband of fifteen years and coming to terms with the deception that he went to his grave with concerning her first love, his brother.
The second, "A Change of Heart," weaves a tale that shows that not only good home-making skills are necessary to bring and keep a young couple happy anmd closer to their faith. The stories Leah creates by her mind and pen put her family and the one she loves on the right path.
And lastly, "Healing Hearts," tells the story of a man and his wife coming to terms with a voluntary separation that showed them how much they really mean to one another. Following their hearts brings love and forgiveness into their lives and happiness for their future.
This was a very enjoyable book for me. I love Amish romance and this one is just overflowing with it. The underlying tone of forgiveness runs through these stories and I believe it is a very important lesson that is to be learned in these trying times of today. Beth Wiseman does a really wonderful job at creating her characters in these stories and I really enjoy how easy they are to get to know. It was just an all-around good book!!
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a sweet collection of Amish romance.
This book was provided to me by the publishers through Booksneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.