Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook

Thomas Nelson With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Review 1 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Solid Reminder of Biblical Truth

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
matreames
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Skye Jethani's book "With" is a simple premise...
Live With God.
The book focuses on the stages of life, "Life over God," "Life apart from God," "Life Under God," "Life from God," and finally "Life from God" The book does a fantastic job of showing how as we mature in our faith and we begin to take part in unity and communion with God, our mindset shifts and our life shifts.
Learning to live with God, where he is our source and supply is a central theme of The Christian life. The power of the cross was that is brought us back into functioning unity with God. Jesus poured His life out so we could Live with Him.
This is not a book that is going to teach you something NEW, but rather reinforce the things that are basic to the faith. It will encourage you and help you to shift your mind to life in a higher mode of life.
The reason to have this book is not because it will change your life, but rather because it keeps your life on point. This is a book that reminds you of th truth you are supposed to know in a fresh and imaginative way....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every believer

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Elmer
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
This book was recommended by a friend as "a book that changed my life". I picked it up - never heard of the author. Skye does an excellent job looking at 4 views of God that are prevalent. He uses scripture to illustrate each viewpoint and as he does it becomes clear that man has overall missed the desire of God - for us to pursue and know Him. The book is freeing and the truth in it will deepen your relationship with Him. Those that might be critical of the content could not have read this for personal evaluation in light of the gospel. The book puts in print what I have believed for years. God wants us to be WITH Him now. No strings attached. Free from the bondage of sin and the law to freedom to live for Christ!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read book

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wayne
Location:Western Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books I have read. It hits the nail on the head. I found myself constantly confessing to God I had Him wrong in my mind and was at fault in so many areas in my relationship with Him. Read it, repent, and be thankful our Father in Heaven wants to be "with" us at all costs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the most mind blowing books I've ever read

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff S
Location:Aiken SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skye Jethani's With: Reimagining The Way You Relate to God was my first book through the BookSneeze review program, and I'm honestly glad I found the program and this book on it. You see, this is one of the more mind blowing books I've ever read - which is saying something, considering I've read books such as Ted Dekker's Circle Series and most books Bill Myers has put out.
If you want to quit reading this review now, I'll leave you with this: READ THIS BOOK. You will NOT regret it.
Some details:
Mr. Jethani - an editor of a leading Christian magazine - uses the first half of the book to talk about the four basic ways most of us relate to God:
Life UNDER God is basically what I call "Talibaptists", though Mr. Jethani never gets CLOSE to using that word. These people believe that we must live life strictly by the Bible and that if we don't, we're doomed.
Life OVER God essentially uses the Bible as a divine "how to" manual, nothing more, nothing less. These are the people that keep the "self help" authors in business.
Life FROM God sees God as a divine bank account that can never run out. This is the consumer culture variant of Christianity.
Life FOR God sees life as a mission. These people will go to Outer Mongolia at the drop of a hat - and still miss the point.
In each of the first four chapters, Mr. Jethani delves into each of these first four ways of relating to God, and shows both their strengths (yes, they have them), and their critical weaknesses.
In the remainder of the book, Mr. Jethani describes a life WITH God, what it looks like, and why it is the epitome of a Biblical understanding of our relationship to God. While I've tweeted a lot of amazing quotes from this book, you'll just have to read it to see them for yourself, as well as the remaining treasure trove I simply couldn't tweet out for many reasons.
In my Kindle edition, the appendices began at roughly 80% or so, and included both a discussion on some "how to pray" techniques as well as a brief discussion guide for the book. Overall, the only weakness that I saw - though it was a bit glaring - was that when I hit the appendices, I was still looking for a more succinct summation chapter than the one we got.
Overall, a VERY strong book, and I would give it a 5/5 without any hesitation at all.
Now time for some legalese:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the <a href="http://BookSneeze.com">BookSneeze®.com</a> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s <a href="http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html">16 CFR, Part 255</a>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SIMPLE.

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
stationary nomad
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very simple book, it has a simple message, it is written in a simple way. Even the diagrams in the book are simple, easy to draw on a napkin or white board.
But that doesn’t means that the message is not strong, powerful and hugely important.
As the back cover puts it “Stop living your life UNDER, OVER, FROM, and FOR God and start living in communion WITH him”.
After introducing the five positions that we relate to God, Skye details each of the four ways in which we try to control God, to bend him to our will. After showing these false positions he moves on to the true way, that is the way of love. He gets there through living with God, with Faith, and with Hope.
As Skye would place as the main thing to remember is that as Paul wrote to the Corinthians “faith, hope and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love” that faith and hope become meaningless when you come face to face with that which you have faith and hope in.
If when you meet Jesus after your mortal body expires you are stripped of your faith and hope, because that which you have faith and hope in is now realised, what remains? Love. And if you have not love then will Jesus be able to recognise you or are you going to end up in the position were he says that he does not know you?
At the end of the book is a series of discussion questions (titled Discuss WITH others). Don’t skip these, make sure you discuss these with someone else. Me, well, first read through I discussed them with Jesus. Its a great way to kick start your relationship living your life WITH him.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Good Things to Say about "With"

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
iainsmurray
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a pretty hectic reading schedule, what with being a full-time worker in ministry as well as being a full-time student. However, in spite of my schedule, I made time to read the book, With; Re-imagining the Way You Relate to God.
I was skeptical, going into the read, however, I soon realized that those feelings were completely unwarranted. Skye Jethani writes an incredible piece regarding our need to give up our carnal approach to God (life under, over, from & for God) in favor of a relationship which is truly spiritual; truly relational; this is life "with" God.
This book is something that we need, right now, as the church. Jethani's writing is honest, shocking (I say shocking only because, at some point, the reader will realize that they have been, or currently are inhabiting one of the four dysfunctional relationship styles which Jethani mentions, at length, within the first half of the book) and refreshing. In and through the chapters, we learn what we have done to move away from God, but more than that, we learn, in very practical ways, what it means for us to move back to God, to re-connect and re-commune with our Creator in a way that is completely Christ centered.
I highly recommend this book. Both enjoyable as well as thought provoking; Skye Jethani touches upon a subject which is crucial to the church as we move into the second decade of the 21st Century.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lele
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With, a book written by Skye Jethani, is an extremely engaging and interesting read. It probes deeper into building a relationship with God and categorise the different kinds of "wrong" relationships people form with God (mainly over, under, from and for God relationship) as well as the right kind of relationship that we should have With God.
This book is a page turner. It describes scenarios that I believe each and any one of us have come across and experienced. It helps me understand the times when I failed in building a healthy relationship with God and the times I relate wrongly to Him and his answers. I believed I have found the reason after I read this book and it is the wrong focus- the focus on self rather than God, on the environment, circumstances, obstacles, problems and difficult situations and other humans. We left out God in our equation and that's where we are stuck in finding the correct formula. Even when we thought we had the right answers, we might be wrong all along.
The latter part (last three chapters) of the book touches on the correct relationships with God on Faith, Hope and Love. Even though the book seems theoretical, I felt that it has answered many questions that linger long time in our hearts with concern to unanswered prayers, unhappy and unfulfilling lifestyles and why many people left the church though God is such a loving and wonderful character. It probes deeper, questions further and teaches one what the church alone and pastors cannot answer. For God is the One we should be pining after, or we are all headed in the wrong direction.
This is a good read. I definitely will recommend it to readers of the Christian faith.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say, the title "With" didn't make me want to read this book but I'm so glad I did! With is the name of a book by Skye Jethani and in it he points out four ways churches and Christians are in error in their attempt to follow or experience God.
The four ways are:
Life Over God
Life From God
Life For God and
Life Under God.
As I was talking with a friend about this he mentioned that it's all about balance, but the author points to the answer as life with God, which is a relationship with God.
I thought this book did a great job of mentioning the pitfalls that each of the four positions hold but I don't think that "life with God' is as clear cut as it seems. Still, an excellent book.
I was provided with this book by Thomas Nelson for free. I am not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great small group study

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What if changing the way you relate to God could change the way you view life and others? Skye Jethani, in his book “With”, defines four approaches to God that leave people unsatisfied. Life from God seeks His blessings and gifts but there is no interest in God Himself. Life over God focuses on principles rather than prayer and leaves no room for true ministry. Life for God seeks to accomplish great things in His service. Life under God offers blessing in return for our obedience.
None of these postures can satisfy us or God. Therefore, we need to live our lives with God. In “With,” Jethani reveals the error of the four postures and teaches how to live in communion with God the way God intended when He created Eden.
This book will change the way you think about your relationship with God and others. It will show you how trying to do great things for God and trying to be perfect will not bring about the abundance of blessings we are hoping to receive. God is not a gift-giver or a blessing taker based on what we do or how we act. A relationship with God is not a formula or a principle. In order to truly commune with God, we have to spend time with God because we want to and because He desires to share our company. We can’t go to Him because we want something out of the relationship other than the joy of His companionship.
With discussion questions in the Appendix, “With” is an ideal small group study. Skye Jethani is the managing editor of Leadership Journal, a publication of Christianity Today International.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze, Thomas Nelxon Publisher’s Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new look at an age old topic

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beach Reader
Location:Jessamine Co., KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book with, Skye Jethani re-examines the common and long-held images of living a Christian life – and shows how they detract from rather than enhance the experience of following God. Because this is a new book (2011), it’s not a struggle to relate to what he says because we experienced the events of 9/11 and the religious fervor of that period. He will challenge you to examine your relationship to see if you truly know God, or are living with cultural images of Him, be they sacred or secular.
As he breaks down the ideas of living for, from, under or over God, Jethani replaces them with a reality that anyone can have – communing with God and finding significance in living with His love, forgiveness and acceptance. This is a practical “how-to” book that quietly, even politely shows the flaws in commonly held perceptions of what it means to live a Christian life and then lays out what is God’s idea. The end of the book comes back to the most basic tenet of Christian faith – God so loved the world that He gave. Jethani strips away the trappings that we create that complicate life more than God ever intended. There are no fluffy platitudes in his writing – he will point you toward an accurate image of God as the Creator who has “loved with an everlasting love” and who will have the last word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Insightful, Illuminating and readable are the words that I think best describe this book. Jethani has focused on five tiny words---under, over, from, for, and with---to illustrate the different ways most of us relate to God. Brilliant idea, I think.
The writing is clear, thoughtful, and even touching from time to time. He does not leaving you hanging with no recommendations for change and does go on in an appendix to give the reader a few ideas that he found helpful. Nothing new there; we know what needs to happen, but a reminder certainly isn’t out of order.
You will find yourself identifying people you know, stages that you may have gone through, or even find yourself in the midst of now. This book explains one of the major reasons for burn-out and disillusionment among Christians.
I liked the inclusion of Loyola’s examen and the brief explanation of that practice. Made much more sense and is doable in Jethani’s version.
There is also a study guide for private or group study. Good questions there.
The negatives? The chapter from must have hit a bit too close to home maybe, but the tone changes and I found myself getting angry at the author. Or it might just be me. You’ll have to decide for yourself.
I do recommend this book. Read it. Don’t put down for later, like I did. You will regret that when you do finally pick it up to read.
This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson from the BookSneeze site for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kontrol Itu Sebuah Ilusi

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
ariesaptaji
Location:Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Control is an illusion. Kontrol itu sebuah ilusi.
Saya tersentak ketika membaca kalimat itu dalam buku Skye Jethani, With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God. Beberapa minggu belakangan, khotbah yang saya dengar menekankan pentingnya “mengontrol lingkungan rohani” untuk mendukung pertumbuhan rohani. Seperti pada rumah kaca, dengan lingkungan yang terkontrol, orang dapat menumbuhkan kebun tropis di daerah bermusim empat. Begitu juga dengan kehidupan rohani kita. Jika kita mengontrol kehidupan rohani dengan prinsip-prinsip alkitabiah, tak ayal kita akan bertumbuh secara sehat. Seperti pohon di Mazmur 1, kita akan berbuah pada musimnya, dan apa saja yang kita lakukan pasti akan berhasil.
Semula saya manggut-manggut, rasanya tak ada masalah dengan jalan pemikiran itu. Namun, kalimat itu memunculkan pertanyaan: Benarkah kita memegang control sebesar itu atas hidup kita? Jethani mencucukkan jarum pada balon pengharapan yang menggelembung itu.
Jethani memaparkan bahwa berbagai hasrat untuk mengontrol hanyalah variasi dari pemberontakan kita terhadap Allah. Allah menawarkan hubungan persekutuan yang penuh kasih dengan manusia, namun, dimulai sejak peristiwa di Taman Eden, manusia memilih untuk mengambil alih kontrol atas hidupnya. Parahnya, kudeta ini kerap terselubungi dalam bentuk ibadah. Alih-alih menjadikan hubungan dengan Allah sebagai tujuan utama, manusia mengembangkan sejumlah postur ibadah yang sejatinya bermaksud menggunakan Allah sebagai alat untuk mencapai tujuan pribadinya. Jethani menyebutnya sebagai hidup di bawah Allah, hidup di atas Allah, hidup dari Allah, dan hidup untuk Allah.
“Hidup di bawah Allah berusaha mengontrol dunia dengan memastikan berkat Allah melalui ritual dan/atau moralitas. Apa lagi cara yang lebih baik untuk mengontrol dunia selain mengontrol Allah yang menciptakannya? Hidup di atas Allah menawarkan pendekatan yang sedikit berbeda. Postur ini mendayagunakan hukum-hukum alam atau prinsip-prinsip ilahi yang disarikan dari Alkitab untuk menolong kita menghadapi tantangan hidup. Ingin terhindar dari musibah? Aturlah kehidupan Anda menurut prinsip-prinsip Allah. Hidup dari Allah terutama berkenaan dengan kelangkaan—tidak memiliki persediaan yang cukup. Timbunlah kekayaan, kesehatan, dan kemahsyuran secukupnya, dan Anda pun akan dapat mengisolasi diri dari malapetaka yang menimpa orang lain. Dan semua komoditas itu paling baik jika diperoleh dari Allah. Hidup bagi Allah, seperti tergambar pada diri anak sulung dalam perumpamaan Yesus, berusaha memeras kemurahan Allah melalui pelayanan yang setia. Asalkan kita mencetak pencapaian yang cukup mengesankan bagi Allah, Dia pasti akan memberkati dan melindungi Anda,” tulis Jethani. Semua postur ini memiliki satu kesamaan: Manusialah yang memegang kontrol, dan Allah hanya menjadi alat untuk mencapai tujuan. Semuanya melumpuhkan dan mematikan.
Adakah visi hidup yang lain? Bagaimana kita dapat dimerdekakan dari hasrat untuk memegang kontrol ini? Skye Jethani menyebutnya sebagai hidup dengan Allah. Ini berarti kembali ke visi Allah mula-mula, mengundang manusia ke dalam hubungan pribadi dengan-Nya, ke dalam pengenalan dan pengalaman pribadi akan Dia. Hubungan pribadi dengan Allah inilah yang semestinya menjadi sauh rasa aman terkuat, sukacita tak tepermanai, kepuasan hati terdalam, dan sasaran pencapaian tertinggi. Segala sesuatu yang lain—dalam dinamika iman, pengharapan, dan kasih—hanyalah sarana untuk mempererat hubungan dan pengalaman pribadi dengan Allah tersebut, agar kita menjadi makin serupa dengan gambaran Anak-Nya.
Tentang hubungan dengan Allah ini, saya sangat tertolong oleh analogi pemain sirkus yang dikutip Jethani dari pengalaman Henri Nouwen. Seumpama pemain akrobat di sirkus, iman adalah ketika kita memilih untuk melepaskan pegangan, melepaskan kontrol. Pengharapan adalah ketika kita berakrobat di udara menantikan sang penangkap menjemba kita. Dan kita mengalami kasih secara indrawi ketika kita telah tertangkap dan berayun-ayun bersama dengan sang penangkap.
Sang Penangkap dalam hidup kita tidak lain adalah Allah. Dialah Pemegang Kontrol Utama. Dan Sang Penangkap itu adalah Kasih. Kasih tidak berkesudahan. Kasih tidak pernah gagal.
Namun, jika kita membayangkan pengalaman “berayun-ayun dalam pegangan Allah” sebagai hidup yang serbabahagia, serbasehat, serbamakmur, serbasukses, kita kembali terpelintir. Kita masuk ke dalam siklus pemberontakan lagi: berusaha mengontrol hasil dari hubungan kita dengan Allah.
Kehidupan Martin Luther King Jr. menyodorkan sebuah contoh yang menggugah. Di luar rencananya, ia terpilih sebagai ketua pemboikotan warga kulit hitam. Segera saja berbagai surat dan telepon penuh kebencian menyerbu rumahnya. Sampai suatu malam, sebuah telepon ancaman pembunuhan membuatnya serasa lumpuh oleh ketakutan. Suara si pendakwa menggedor sengit ke dalam jiwanya, mengintimidasinya agar menyerah. Apa yang membebaskannya dari cekaman ketakutan? Suara Sang Gembala yang meneguhkan, “Berdirilah untuk kebenaran. Berdirilah untuk keadilan. Dan lihatlah, Aku akan menyertaimu sampai akhir zaman.”
Dengan peneguhan itu, ia bangkit dalam iman, dan bergerak mematuhi khotbah Yesus di bukit: menolak untuk melawan kekerasan dengan kekerasan, melainkan memilih untuk merengkuh dan mengasihi musuh. Apa buah yang dipetiknya? Ia ditembak mati dalam usia yang masih sangat belia: 39 tahun.
Dunia menyebutnya sebagai kematian yang tragis. Mereka yang sinis dapat menuding: Tuhan mengingkari janji—mana penyertaan dan perlindungan-Nya? Akan tetapi, dunia tidak tahu: tubuh dapat binasa secara mengenaskan, namun jiwa orang benar senantiasa aman dalam pelukan kekal Allah. Maut tak berdaya memisahkan kita dari kasih-Nya. Dalam semuanya itu, kendatipun dunia memandangnya sebagai kekalahan, bersama dengan Allah kita menjadi lebih dari orang-orang yang menang.
Jadi, satu-satunya “kontrol” yang paling masuk akal untuk kita lakukan adalah: melepaskan hasrat untuk mengontrol dan berayun ke dalam pelukan Kekasih kita.
Kembali ke rumah kaca. Ketika Daud berbicara tentang pohon, ia tidak berbicara tentang pohon di rumah kaca. Ia berbicara tentang pohon di alam bebas, dengan cuaca yang tak terkendali. Ia berbicara tentang sungai yang mengalir secara leluasa. Kalaupun mau berbicara tentang kontrol, bukan alam lingkungan yang dikontrol; si pohonlah yang perlu “dikontrol.” Pohon itulah yang harus “percaya” dan “berserah”: mencengkeramkan akarnya kuat-kuat dan tak sudah-sudah menyerap sari-sari kehidupan yang ditawarkan tanah, dialirkan sungai, dihembuskan angin, dipancarkan matahari. Dengan percaya dan berserah, ia berubah: bertumbuh, makin kuat, tahan banting menghadapi cuaca yang tak terduga, dan berbuah pada musimnya—apa saja yang diperbuatnya berhasil.
Skye Jethani menyebut perakaran yang kuat itu sebagai hidup dengan Allah. ***
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book! Must read!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“With” by Skye Jethani is absolutely fantastic. This book is a very clear description of what Christianity really should be about and how we often get it wrong.
Jethani uses prepositions to identify and describe the five postures of relating to God and life. Four of the postures are incomplete. They include Life OVER God, Life UNDER God, Life FROM God, and Life FOR God. The fifth posture, that Jethani Biblically argues to be the only one that will truly fulfill us, is Life WITH God.
I loved this book because it is the best summary I have read on what it truly means to have a relationship with God. Jethani clearly explains human tendencies and makes it easy for us to recognize and evaluate our own spiritual perspectives and behaviors, especially when those perspectives are wrong and have shifted away from a true relationship with God.
Jethani makes it clear that the four incomplete postures are attempts at “using” God and putting Him in a position of being the means to our “treasure.” They put principles, rules, self, or missions as the center of life. Instead, we need to live a life WITH God, with Him being our center, our Treasure.
Bottom line: this book is well-written, clearly communicates the most central topic of our existence, and is a MUST READ for anyone who desires the truth about God and our world. A life lived WITH God, that’s the goal!
This book was provided for free to me by BookSneeze.com in exchange for this objective book review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

With

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WITH – Reimagining the way you relate to God by Skye Jethani.
This book is an eye opener as to our relationship to God. Do we use God for our own purpose? Are we afraid of God because of His power and glory? Do we try to control God? Or do we just plain ignore Him? Hopefully after you read this book you will know where you stand with God. God is our friend and father, He want us to have all he has, all we have to do is to believe in Him and trust Him.
This book will open your eye to things that we have been taught from the time we started Sunday School to now. God is our friend, our best friend and He wants us to live WITH Him. I recommend you read this book with a open mind and let the author show you where we can go wrong, he give a number of illustrations of the four things we do wrong. Good reading.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

with

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelb
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
REview for Book Sneeze (www.booksneeze.com) A Division of Thomas Nelson
With
Reimagining the Way You Relate to God
By Skye Jethani
After God
Under God
Over God
From God
For God
With God
Prespositions used to describe our relationship with God. I reccommend you do a word study on these greek prepositions, because you'll be blown away. Download a software such as Online Bible to help you do so. Available at: www.onlinebible.net Study greek word meanings has really helped me reshape and reimagine the way I look at relating to God.
Now on to the book...
Pros: Discussion guides which provide opportunitiesd to provoke fellowship with others and share what you're reading. Guide to communing with God. And a general opportunity to change your life. Neat looking, really simply drawn diagrams.
Cons: Wish it was longer. Otherwise it's pretty to the point. ANd Christ was pretty to the point.
About the author: Skye Jethani is an author, speaker, editor, and pastor. He serves as the senior editor of Leadership Journal, a publication of Christianity Today International. Leadership’s purpose is to equip pastors and church leaders for the challenges of ministry in a complex world. In this role, Skye not only has the opportunity to engage many of Christianity’s most influential leaders but also to translate their thoughts into practical help for those struggling to live faithfully in a rapidly shifting culture. (taken from huffington post)
I'd give it 4 stars and reccommend it to anyone looking for ways to see God in a more Biblical light.
My Blog can be found at webs.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"With" may be 2011's most important new book!

Date:August 16, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The question took me off guard.
"Did you ever serve in the military?" the woman had asked me.
"No I haven't," I responded.
"Oh. Well you have such good, straight posture, I thought you might have served in the military," she explained.
That was the first time I ever had someone mistake my posture for being the product of military training.
That interaction reminded me of how people take note of our posture, physically or otherwise. Our posture says something about us. And nothing says more about us than the "posture" we take in relating to God.
In his new book, "With" (published by Thomas Nelson), Skye Jethani uses four simple prepositions to describe the postures we usually take in relating to God. In doing so, Jethani provides some of the most profound biblical teaching about relating to God that I have read in years, resulting in what may well be the most important book for Christians to be published in 2011.
With biblical clarity and a seamless writing style, Jethani describes how many Christians, churches, and ministries have entrenched themselves in a posture of life under, over, from, or for God, with each posture resulting in missing the mark.
Jethani writes, "... many come into Christian faith with great expectations. They have heard stories of jubilation and salvation, of the power to overcome this world and experience the divine in inexpressible ways. But once inside the ancient halls of Christianity many are disappointed. Where is the light, where is the illumination? Our hearts seek God and the goodness, beauty, justice, and peace we've been told he provides, but he often remains hidden behind the shadow cast by an evil world."
Why?
Because of the faulty posture we take in relating to God.
Jethani adds, "My concern is that we are inoculating an entire generation to the Christian faith." Out of that concern, he goes on to unfold through the chapters of "With" content formulating the subtitle of the book that serves as our challenge: "Reimagining The Way You Relate To God."
It's not a difficult concept. Correcting your posture with God can be identified in yet another preposition: with.
Reading this book will impact you as you see yourself in one or, more likely, a few of the postures the author describes. But by the end of the last chapter, those who truly long for communion with God will be reimagining how they will relate to Him going forward.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reimagining the Way You Relate to God

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instead of life over, under, from, or even for God, what leads us into freedom and restoration is life with God.
Why are American Christians, who have more access to biblical teaching than any other people in history, failing to experience the freedom of the Christian life? Why are pastors, those closest to the work and ministry, burning out at an alarming rate? Why do many church members, who give large amounts of their time and wealth to Christ and his kingdom, secretly question the legitimacy of their efforts? And why are spiritual seekers dismissing the validity of the Christian message?
Is it possible we've misunderstood the call of the Christian life?
With explores the narrative of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation, and the stories of faithful women and men throughout history, to show that we were created to be with God, and that restoring this connection is his mission. When we neglect this calling in favor of a life over, under, or even for God, we will not know the freedom Christ intended. But a life lived in rich communion with God cultivates faith, hope, and love in a way that transforms both us and the broken world we inhabit.
Are you married? Then engage your marriage with God and learn to love your spouse as God has loved you. Are you single? Then be single with God and devote yourself to him. Are you a mechanic? Then commune with God in your work and repair cars as an act of devotion to him. Are you an office worker? Then welcome Christ to your desk as you serve your employer. . . In other words, the fullness of Christian life can be lived anywhere, in any circumstance, because God is with us. No condition of life is more honorable than another, because nothing God does lacks value.
Jethani gives us the moving example of the African slaves brought in chains to our country, and specifically of a slave in Maryland called "Praying Jacob." No one had worse circumstances than the slaves, but more hope in Jesus. As Praying Jacob said to his owner, "I have two masters--Master Jesus in heaven and Master Saunders on earth. I have a soul and a body; the body belongs to you, but my soul belongs to Jesus." Jethani advises us to encourage our hope through regular corporate worship and snatched moments during the day when we can commune with God.
Life With Love starts with love that quelled a prison riot and focuses on filling ourselves with God's love by practicing silence and solitude that we might more fully commune with God. God's love binds us to him in a way that lets us see Him as He is and to see ourselves as we truly are: Beloved of the Creator.
At the end of the book are two short appendices. The first, Communing With God, are some practical exercises and references. The second are group study questions. And finally, the notes. My constant quibble with end notes is the inability to easily find them while reading. Because they are labeled only by chapter number and not name, you must first locate the chapter you are in, find its number, then the note. How difficult would it have been to include the chapter name in the notes?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not for those who hold to their man-made religion

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In With, Skye Jethani tries to show us that the best way for us to relate to God is to have a "Life with God." He begins by explaining four common ways people tend to relate to God and how they come up short:
Life under God - a focus on following rituals or commands to please God or avoid his wrath.
Life over God - best used to describe an atheist, but can also be a "Christian" who uses the Bible as mere instructions or helpful principles for getting through life or finding success.
Life from God - a "consumer"-like behavior in which we use God as means of getting what we want (prosperity and other blessings).
Life for God - a focus on devoting our lives to God's work (charity, missions, etc) and defining our value based on the results of these things.
His argument is that none of these things require a true relationship with God. They are merely an attempt to control our lives and God's input into our lives. They do not remove fear from our lives (in some cases they made make us fearful) and they do not give us any real control.
The second half of the book explains a Life with God. Through the words of the Bible (from Genesis to Revelation) Jethani points out that God wants a relationship with his creation. We were made for a relationship (Genesis) and we will ultimately be in relationship again (Revelation), but we don't have to wait. We can have that relationship now. There are commands that we have been told to follow (especially the command to love), but if this becomes your sole focus then you risk becoming like the Pharisees. The Bible does have many useful principle and lessons that God has given us, but if you focus on this you run the risk of removing God from the equation. God does give us blessings, but if you only ever go to God for your wants and needs then you are treating God like a vending machine. And there is nothing wrong with doing God's work, but if God has not specifically called you to missions and charity work then making this your only focus can leave you worn out and wondering about the significance of your life as whole. The only a relationship with God, through Christ, can give us the freedom from fear we are trying to obtain on our own, and a true relationship with God begins when our desire becomes not what God can give us or do for us... but GOD!
The only problem I had with this book is the tone that exists through the first half. Jethani sounds quite harsh at points and even judgemental. The best example of this is when he quotes a certain preacher (calling the preacher out by name) as saying "I believe God wants us to have nice things" as an example of Life from God. Jethani later calls the preacher "greedy," but any knowledge of this preacher would show that isn't true. This harsh and judgemental tone almost made me stop reading. It was becoming a distraction from the message. But thankfully I pressed on, because the point is valid. We are to love the Lord with all our heart, putting Him first. He should be our ultimate desire.
This book is an example of not throwing the baby out with the bath water. Get through the first half and its harsh tone and you will discover truths that were there all along. They've just gotten lost as we've become more and more focused on ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book on How to Relate to God Biblically

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
IntelMin
Location:Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skye Jethani, pastor, author and senior editor of Leadership Journal, a publication of Christianity Today International, tackles what he believes are the four mainstream, yet biblically incorrect postures towards God. He labels the four typical approaches to relating to God as “Life Under”, “Live Over”, “Life From”, and “Life For” God. In opposition to these rather deleterious positions of spirituality, Jethani proposes a more biblically based option, namely the need to pursue a life “With” God. Jethani develops the foundation for his “With God” approach from the opening and closing periscopes of Scripture, the story of God walking with Adam and Eve in the Garden and the beautiful depiction of the New Heavens and the New Earth where God will once again dwell with his people.
This is an age where many utilize God as merely a means to obtain happiness, wealth, and security during their time on earth. As noted by Jethani, “At first glance the ‘Life Under God’ posture is incredibly appealing. It promises to take away our fears and garner diving blessing…it is actually an attempt to overthrow his (God) rightful place.” Such an approach can readily be observed in the church today when parishioners are informed if “they obey God’s commands, if they worship him, give financially to the church, and abstain from immorality, then he will bless their lives.” This sounds like a great sales pitch and unfortunately it is one many pastors utilize in an effort to fill their pews and to keep the money flowing into the church coffers. Unfortunately, this approach is antithetical to sound biblical doctrine as it is at the core hypocrisy. Jethani reminds the reader such superficial religiosity is what Jesus railed against throughout the Gospels. What Jesus wanted instead is a relationship.
“Life Over God”, at least its contemporary construct, can readily be traced back to the time of the Enlightenment, a period of time when the supernatural was jettisoned for the scientific method. As noted by Jethani, “Faith and religion have become marginalized and reserved for those few aspects of human existence science cannot (yet) explain and control.” He rightly notes this viewpoint has given rise to the New Atheist movement popularized by Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens to name a few. The result of this marginalization of God is the belief God has no bearing on the day to day affairs of man. Jethani brilliantly provides a number of examples where God has been pushed out of the public sector as well as the culture war for the fabric of society that is currently being waged throughout the world. Jethani rightly reminds us this incorrect approach to God and his word has crept into the church as well. We “search the Scriptures for applicable principles that we may employ to control our world and life.” Such a “Christian deistic” approach is not how God desires to related to his people. As noted by Jethani, Life Over God leads to life without God.
The approach of “Life From God” has its own pitfalls. Jethani cleverly describes this idea as treating God like a “divine butler, a cosmic therapist, a holy vending machine who dispenses the wares and wisdom they desire.” Unfortunately, this approach has its root in the pursuit of a twisted view of the American dream, one focused on the pursuit of temporal possessions rather than things of eternal worth. Such a narcissistic view places the focus on ourselves rather than serving the needs of others with the blessings we have been provided as taught throughout Scripture. Jethani avers this notion is simply a distraction that does not ultimately deliver us from our fears and pains. This bankrupt approach to life has clawed its way into the church. Jethani reminds us that God looks at us like the father in the story of the Prodigal Son. We are his children and he longs to bless us with what we need spiritually.
The final incorrect way of relating to God Jethani depicts is the “Life For God” system. Interestingly, Jethani notes this viewpoint is often best observed in the evangelical stream of Christianity. Those who pursue full-time Christian ministry or who depart their well-paying job for the mission field are viewed as the “super-spiritual” members of Christian society. Jethani rightly reminds the reader that even the most well intentioned pursuit of God’s mission can result in placing the mission ahead of God. He reminds us that “At the end of his Sermon on the Mount, Jesus gave a haunting description of those who have accomplished a great deal for God but did not ultimately desire Christ himself.” That is perhaps one of the scariest passages in all of Scripture!
Jethani redirects the reader to the proper approach to God, namely that of a real relationship with our Heavenly Father. Unlike the aforementioned four incorrect approaches, “Life With God is different because its goal is not to use God, its goal is God.” God, instead of being the cosmic sugar daddy or the source of blame, becomes the focus of every aspect of our lives. God is the treasure in a field that we sell everything to obtain. This is the essence of the Gospel message. Jethani correctly outlines the entire message of Scripture. He states, “from the beginning in Genesis straight through to the end of Revelation, God’s focus and desire has been to be with his people.” Life With God focuses our lives on God thus giving us hope no matter what may befall us in this life.
With by Skye Jethani is an excellent resource and evaluation tool for all believers. The concepts presented in this book are taken from the timeless truths of Scripture. Jethani provides the reader with the necessary truth in an effort to reveal the incorrect way many are living their Christian walk. With is a wakeup call for us all to seek God while He may be found! This book is way more than a self-help book, it is a map that redirects our lives to serving and seeking after our Heavenly Father.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for With: Reimagining the Way You Relate to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book rocked! Rarely do you come across a book that speaks specifically to the person who has grown up in a Christian home, that isn't a "how to" book. Jethani balances Biblical truth with life experience in a way that is relatable to anyone. What I most appreciated about this book is that Jethani wasn't afraid to point out the pros AND cons of different aspects of a Christian walk. Jethani speaks to the reader about different points each Christian explores along their personal journey with Jesus, and brings scripture in to not only support his points, but lift the veil on specifics taught along the way.
The beginning of this book presents 4 postures that allow for an incomplete relationship with Christ. The remainder of the book presents how scripture writes a story of God desiring to be WITH humans, and what that looks like. Jethani clearly presents the Trinity and how we relate to all aspects of it. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, specifically those working with college students.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>