Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Review 1 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Founders' Key

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Midland, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With 2012 being a critical election year in the direction our country will be heading, my interest in our country’s founding documents has piqued. In the book, “The Founders’ Key,” author Dr. Larry Arnn (president of Hillsdale College) explains that the connection between the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution is both relevant and as necessary for proper government today as it was when the founding fathers instituted the democracy. Between the two documents, we have inspired beauty in the freedom-heralding Declaration of Independence and commanding guidelines in the regulation-setting Constitution. Modern policies have made efforts to divorce the one from the other, upholding the Declaration but ignoring the Constitution. Through real-life examples, the author expressed the ongoing shift towards liberalism as legislators have redefined key elements in the Constitution.
Besides writing a commentary on the Declaration and Constitution and where our country could be headed should we continue to separate ourselves from the original purposes our founding fathers had when creating the governmental system, the author of this book includes a section for further reading at the back highlighting five of the Federalist Papers written by James Madison as well as the complete texts of the Declaration and Constitution. I found this section very helpful for easy cross-referencing the source document to compare phraseology on a particular subject. Overall, I am quite impressed with this book. It was a bit heavy reading to get through at times and took me longer than I would have liked to complete. However, the content is vital to getting our country back on track. Get out there on election day and do your civil duty and VOTE for the candidates who will best uphold the principles this country was founded on!
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of “The Founders’ Key” through Book Sneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Founders' Key

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
McDawg81
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are a fan of limited government, this is a book for you!
I have long been a fan of Hillsdale College, and the work they do to promote the accurate historical framing of our country. Dr. Larry P. Arnn, president of the College, presents a vivid yet clear and compelling understanding of the unity between the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.
This fantastic work is evenly divided between the study of the two founding documents presented first and then followed by foundational documents, such as selected writings from the Federalist Papers, to support the claims presented in the first section.
Dr. Arnn starts by discussing the source of our rights, and the apparent disharmony among the two documents, as being from “Laws of Nature and of Nature's God”. This is the document that locates Sovereignty in the individual and depicts Government as an alien force making rebellion against it a natural act. Did you know that in the Constitution was a list of charges against the King? Just one of the charges says, “He has erected a multitude of New Offices, and sent hither swarms of Officers to harass our people and eat out their substance.” Isn’t a good thing that isn’t’ going on today? (My tongue is firmly in my cheek!)
The country that our founders envisioned is vastly different from the country we have today. The question for us is how do we behave as a strict Constitutionalist, and start ourselves on the road back to their vision. We may feel that Government is too involved in this or that, without Constitutional authority, but how do we go about rolling back these programs? How do you end Medicare? Whatever your thoughts, it is not a delineated power within the Constitution.
Arnn ends his treatise with these words: “Because the principles that our country serves, and the institutions by which it serves them, have a beauty hardly matched in all history, they sound a call that all can answer. In their attraction and in our response is the hope for a free people. That is the Founders’ Key.”
Before you vote in November, read this book!!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Contitutional Law, Founding Principles and Danger

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE FOUNDERS’ KEY
The Divine and Natural Connection Between the
Declaration of Independence and the Constitution and
What We Risk by Losing it.
Larry P. Arnn © 2012
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-59555-472-7
With Notes, Appendices and Suggested Further Reading
Dr. Arnn discusses why the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution do not contradict each other as progressives, academics and journalists claim.
Our system of checks and balances by the three branches of our government, were designed to prevent the abuses of power that fostered the Revolutionary War. However, our government now has a fourth branch, the Administrative branch. Some present day leaders want to change the Constitution because this Administrative branch is not authorized under our Constitutional system.
This huge Administrative bureaucracy is a source of our nation’s out-of-control spending, loss of freedoms and loss of control by we the people. Consequences will increase if we the people do not regain the representative government our founders created.
The author reminds us that we the people were intended to control the government as well as the government control certain human behaviors. At present we have no real control over the fourth branch, the Administrative system. This branch makes laws (regulations), supplanting the role of Congress. This branch administers penalties (fines) the function of the judicial branch.
Our Declaration and Constitution are unique in world history. Larry Arnn’s arguments for not changing these documents are well reasoned, fully researched and corroborated by our Founders writings.
The last half of this book contains copies of the Declaration, Constitution and various Federalists papers documenting the truths Dr. Arnn presents.
Dr. Arnn, the President of Hillsdale College, teaches history, the Constitution and other classes. He has been published multiple times.
Hillsdale College regularly supports educational lectures and seminars on national and world problems, and refuses government funding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Important read for Preserving our History

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda I
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
President of Hillsdale college, Larry Arnn, wrote The Founders' Key at a crucial time in American history. This book is chalked full of the connection between the Deceleration and the Constitution. The book is a small book to begin with, but it is only part chapter book and part important papers form our history such as The Declaration of Independence, The Constitution, and a few selected federalist paper. This book is an excellent starting text for people just getting more involved in government knowledge. Dr. Arnn refers back to these 2 intricate documents and shows how "man is placed in nature, above the beast and below God." (which I don't think could be better stated.) Dr. Arnn refers to many events in American history and pulls them apart to show how it is all related. My favorite being the information about "limited government" actually made me laugh out loud.
I must start by saying that I currently wanted to be more knowledgeable about our government and I am getting there but I was far from knowledgeable when I started reading this book. What first attracted me about this book was that it was short but yet a quick read. I easily get side tracked when reading books that have a political nature. Not this one! It keeps you moving along through out history. The second big appeal was that the major documents were posted in the back of the book (which takes up about half of the book) and it was so easy to flip back and forth and better understand what was being said. I agree whole heartedly that if these are not "preserved" as the author states, they "Founders' Key" will be lost.
I reviewed this book for the Thomas Nelson book review program in return for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An intellectual read

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
youthpastor
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dr. Larry P. Arnn, President of Hillsdale College, obviously spent much time gathering historical information for his new book "The Founder's Key, the Divine and Natural Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution and What We Risk by Losing It." This timely book reminds Americans of the importance of both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. He explains how the two are tied together and support each other, refuting those who believe the documents to be antiquated and in need of revision or tossed on the rubbish heap.
I especially appreciated Part Two of his book as it shares the "Declaration of Independence" the "Constitution of the United States" and the Federalist Papers of James Madison, all founding documents that I've been remiss in reading and or studying in years.
I consider the textbook style to be somewhat of a drawback. I found myself reading and re-reading certain sections to confirm that I followed his line of thought properly. For those who want an easy read on the topic, I'd look for another book. However, if you enjoy a thought provoking read that delves deeply into the ties between the Declaration of Indepence and the Constitution, then this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Founders' Key

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Founders’ Key by Larry P Arnn is not only a quick read but also is one I would recommend to anyone who wants to know more about the connection between the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.
I was surprised to see that the book included the Constitution, Declaration of Independence, and some of James Madison’s Federalist Papers for reference. I haven’t read these documents since college and it was nice to read back through them again and was a great help as I read through the book.
I definitely plan on reading this book again and I am sure I will pull more out of it then I did this time. The book centers on the connection between the Declaration and Constitution and how closely they are to each other. Mr. Arnn makes reference to how many in politics today try and lessen that connection.
Overall this book is a nice and easy read and I would recommend it for anyone who has an interest in the Founding Fathers or those who have no idea who they are. We all need to take some time and learn from our past so that we can grow in the future as they would have wanted us too.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Founders Key

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steven
There is a great deal of discussion and debate across the emotionally charged political landscape of America today in regards to the Constitution. Should it be changed? Should it be thrown out? Should it be amended regularly to accommodate the ever-changing fabric of society? Is it still relevant? Is it open to individual interpretation in its enforcement? What were the framers really thinking when it was first penned? Can we ignore it and still have some resemblance of organized and civilized government? While many find the Constitution outdated, questionable, and rigid, there are the same that lean toward another founding document, the Declaration of Independence, to provide a pattern for governance.
In Dr. Larry Arnn’s new book “The Founders Key; The Divine and Natural Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution and What We Risk by Losing It”, he brings an intense light upon the Progressive Movement in government today. “Progressives” are the new liberals, those on the opposite side of the aisle from the conservatives. This book is Arnn’s attempt to refute the Progressives position of greater freedom of thought when it comes to the basic purpose and principles of the Constitution and Declaration. In Chapter Two, Arnn gives a recent example. He , he relates a story that on October 22, 2009, a reporter asked then Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, "Where specifically does the Constitution grant Congress the authority to enact an individual health insurance mandate?" To which she replied, "Are you serious? Are you serious?" Pelosi’s response is representative of the thought that as times change, the government has to change.
There is a sense given by progressives that there is a need to extend the scope of government to some form of non-representative style. One that is less ruled by the people and more by those who were elected by those very same people to be their voices in government. Arnn describes the Progressive Movement of today as ready to embrace the expressed rights of the individual given by the Declaration, which are not law, while at the same time divorcing themselves of the Constitution, which being law, gives the principles of how these inalienable rights are protected. Former President Woodrow Wilson also carried a negative view of the Constitution. Since his days in office, the Constitution has weathered an increasingly hostile attack from the "progressives" in this country. Arnn writes, "They say every kind of negative thing against its meaning, its goodness, its relevance, its scope, its legality, its advisability, its comprehensibility, its connection or harmony with the rest of the Founding and especially with the Declaration of Independence. This practice has now persisted so long as to become tradition, nearly half as old as the Constitution itself."
The point of Arnn’s book is to show that the Constitution and the Declaration are inherently linked. The inalienable rights that are spelled out in the Declaration which were the genesis of the Revolution are cemented in the Constitution. Arnn argues that the Declaration is the “why” of freedom and the Constitution is the “how” of freedom. Arnn provides extensive and useful material from some of America’s most foundational writings: select Federalist Papers, the Constitution of the United States, and the Declaration of Independence. All are included in the back of the book so the reader can make easy reference.
The Founders Key is not an easy read. Although the actual book is only 123 pages (the remaining 75 pages are the foundational writings), it cannot be skimmed, rather, must be digested slowly. This book will not be enjoyed by all. That being said, everyone should read it. It’s truthful, insightful, and enlightening. A must read for those concerned about the direction and future of America.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Founders' Key: The Ingenious Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution, and What We Risk by Ignoring It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the political climate we are in

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dr. Arnn discusses the reason the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution work as a cohesive document.
Our tri-branch government was designed to keep balance amongst each political section. This process must be returned to and protected in order to heal our nation of its out-of-control spending, loss of freedoms and loss of the people’s control. Consequences will increase if we the people do not regain the representative .
Dr. Arnn contends we the common people are to control the government and each of its branches. Our Declaration and Constitution should not be changed. The book contains copies of the Declaration, Constitution and various Federalists papers.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, please mention as part of every Web or retail site review that BookSneeze® has provided you with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy. For example:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.