Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Cherished - eBook

Thomas Nelson Cherished - eBook

Kelli London once dreamed of being a songwriter. As crazy as it seemed, she hoped that God would use the lyrics that came to her while she slept. She dreamed about Brian too, that the love that they shared would be a forever kind of love. But choices she'll forever regret upended her hope and turned her dreams to dust. When those dreams come knocking once more, she's forced to deal with the pain of the past.

Heather Anderson's life has spun out of control--first an affair with a married man, then a one-night stand with a drummer of a popular Christian band that left her devastated. Broken and alone, she cried out to the only One who can save her. And He did, but that's just the beginning, because now she must leave behind the only life she has ever known.

Two women with shame-filled pasts form an unlikely friendship. What does God's forgiveness look like for them? Will they ever believe that He loves them...and can still offer them a life where they are cherished?

Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cherished - eBook
Review 1 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Warms my heart every time I read it...

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so real that it tugs at my heart strings. In this book three people have messed up and are forced to deal with their abortion, abandonment, and adultery. In the end, after songs and secrets and sacrifices are revealed, they all realize they are forever treasured by God. This book is spectacular.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent example of God's grace

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I think one of the biggest issues we deal with as Christians are our feelings of shame, unworthiness and inadequacy. Being human we have all had failures in our lives, many of them moral failures and we allow those failures to make us unworthy of God's love and forgiveness. Kim confronts this head on and leads us on a journey to that acceptance of God's forgiveness and self-forgiveness. This is a moving book that had me in tears a few times. Kelli and Heather have different pasts that have brought them to different places but with the same outcome - they are both overcome with shame. God brings them to a place of grace and I loved the vessel that God used as a mentor in their lives. It helped me realize that God will use even the most unlikely people to be His vessels of ministry to others. In this case an older woman steps in to be Heather's mentor and ends up mentoring both of them but she is the most unlikely person to mentor Heather (the best friend of the wife of the married man that Heather had an affair with...). It turns out to be the most amazing spiritual support system and just what they all needed.
Seeing how God made something beautiful out of the situation was a excellent example of God's grace. I love how reading books by Kim Cash Tate is like having a Bible study while you are enjoying a story - she weaves spiritual truths into everything in a beautiful way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story of restoration

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Cherished - this very word sums up this book - for in the pages of this story the true story of God's love and how much we are each cherished unfolds in a beautiful story of love, redemption, restoration and forgiveness.
Kelli London and Heather Anderson are both haunted with decisions that have left their dreams and lives in shattered remains. Yet, the two form an unlikely friendship that sets the two on a path that will reveal to them their true worth in the Father's eyes. With each others help and encouragement these women face their past mistakes and deal with the devastating pain that has sent rippling shock waves through their lives. In this time of friendship and this journey to healing they discover the depth of God's love and the power that self-forgiveness and forgiveness of others bring. In this they experience true restoration.
Truly a great and easy read. Kim Cash Tate's writing style draws the reader into the story and lives of the characters. The story quickly unfolds in the readers head as the characters and situations unfold.
Thanks to B&B Communications for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story to be Treasured

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim, the author, definitely has a winner here in this book. She brings the characters alive. So much so that I felt a part of their lives. She shows that God has a plan for everyone. It is just that you have to open your heart and follow the path he has cut for us. Prayer groups, circles or buddies is much encourage in this story. Some say prayers just aren't answered as fast as the author has portrayed. But I say they can I have experienced it in my own life. It is just that you really need to be careful how you pray because God has a great since of humor, not answering quiet how you had meant him to. But it is the path he has chosen for us and is up to us whether we choose it or not. This book really opened my eyes then my heart to be more open to God and ask him to lead me on the path set for me. An important fact in this book is being willing to forgive. Not just each other but ourselves. It is a beautiful story one I will treasure.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ramblings
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the book “Cherished” by Kim Cash Tate to review. This book brings to life two characters, with seemingly nothing in common, and brings them together in a very unexpected way. Now, to be very honest, I started reading this book and really was not enjoying it. I was about three chapters into it and not really sure I wanted to keep going. However, the description on the back of the book sounded so good I determined to forge head. By chapter six, I was unable to put the book down. While it starts off slow, it rapidly picks up steam and leaves you breathlessly turning the pages to see what happens next. In retrospect, the reason the first few chapters feel slow is because they are laying important ground work for the rest of the novel. The two main characters are Kelly; a wannabe song writer with a secret, shame-inducing past and Heather; a woman who slept with a married man and followed it with a one night stand with yet another Christian man. I cannot say how these two come to know each other because I feel it gives too much away. However, this book leaves you wanting book 2. I am not sure if the author is planning a sequel, but if she does, I will snatch it up. Hidden in the page of this fictional book is an example of pure, true love so amazing it inspires you to forgive and live your life differently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cherished by Kim Cash Tate

Date:September 27, 2011
Cherished by Kim Cash Tate was an absolute delight! It’s obviously a follow-up novel (to Tate’s Faithful), but I had no problems at all picking up with the characters and the storyline. It stands alone quite well.
The plot features Kelli and Heather, two women in their mid-twenties, who both have quite a bit of baggage from their past. When God brings them together to be mentored by Cyd, God begins to show off in some pretty big ways!
To me, the best aspects of the novel were the more spiritual ones (though the entire books was fantastic!). The mentoring relationship between Cyd and Kelli and Heather was inspiring and had me really considering the relationships in my life. There were constant reminders to rest in God’s timing and trust Him to care for you in all circumstances. Additionally, themes of forgiveness, unconditional love, accountability, faith, and trust were interwoven throughout the story. It’s often difficult to weave spiritual themes into a story without it being trite or cheesy, but Tate succeeded in producing a believable and realistic story.
I especially loved the fact that it made me think about my own life in light of the themes that Tate brought to light.
The only thing that threw me a bit from time to time was some of the conversational language. Slang words and phrases (that are quite natural when spoken) seemed a bit forced when written in the dialogue.
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed Cherished.
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and FIRST Wild Card Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cherished - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Middle of the Road

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by Kim Cash Tate - it was also my first time reading an e-book version (not my favorite way of getting into a good read - I'll always be a print book fan). The story drew me into the intertwined lives of her main characters. This story could very well be the story of any one of us - we all make life choice mistakes, some more serious than others, but we've all made them. This is a light read with heavy messages. The story weaves it's way around the three main characters, who've all made poor life choices with lasting consequences - each of the characters deals with them in unique ways that are not always healthy ways. These characters form an unlikely friendship. They learn what God's forgiveness really is and that once they can learn to forgive themselves that anything is possible. This story shows how, if we humble ourselves before God, He will allow us to experience great healing in our brokenness before Him. My only disappointment with this story was the number of 'coincidences' and too many instantly answered prayers. Yes, God can instantly answer prayers, but that's not always the case. Overall, there was feeling of unrealistic expectations in the speed of answered prayers. It's a good read nonetheless.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of God's unconditional love

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you wonder whether your dreams matter to God? Do you think that your dreams can’t be restored? Do you measure your worth by what you’ve done or haven’t done? Kelli London had a dream for her life, but bad choices and life altered her plans. Believing that God had removed His blessing, Kelli discarded it and moved on with her life and away from God. Heather Anderson chose a path of adultery with a string of affairs that left her broken and alone. Kelli and Heather drifted from God and believed He would no longer bless their lives or fulfill their dreams.
Through the love and prayers of family and friends, they discover God’s unconditional love and forgiveness as well as their truth worth in the arms of Jesus. Kim Cash Tate’s story, “Cherished”, is a story of God’s unconditional love and forgiveness of sins many believe can never be forgiven. Our worth in God’s eyes is greater than we imagine and something each of us longs and hopes for.
Tate’s characters become instant friends. Her story is more than fiction, but one we can all relate to in some way. You will easily get caught up in their lives and by the end of the book, you will find it hard to say goodbye. Tate’s story will grab you and teach you some things about God’s character that you didn’t know or had forgotten. Don’t be surprised to find yourself in one of the characters. Once you pick it up, it will be hard to put it down.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from B8B Media Group, Inc., as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grace and Forgiveness Personified

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Location:Concord, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Author Kim Cash Tate dives into the deep end of God’s forgiveness and human relationships in Cherished. Just as it looks like Kelli’s once-dead dreams of becoming a songwriter can be resurrected, her past returns to haunt her. When the woman who almost broke up her best friend’s marriage needs a friend, what will Kelli do?
As someone who needs forgiveness and who longs to feel cherished, I devoured this book. The depth of God’s forgiveness is amazing, but we sadly forget that fact all too often. Tate used the beauty of human relationships to mirror the beauty of our relationship with God. It’s always reassuring that happy endings are possible.
This e-book was provided to me completely free of charge by Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze program in exchange for a review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good novel on sexual purity and forgiveness

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelli has a past she'd like to forget. Music used to be so important to her. She had written that special love song so long ago. But that was before all the hurt and pain.
When Kelli's brother asks her to sing that song at his wedding, all of Kelli's hurtful past comes into the present.
Kelli had just received her two masters' degrees, communication and public relations, and was looking for a job in Texas. Her family convinces her to move back to their hometown, St. Louis. And it is there she sees Brian again, after all those years.
Brian was now a very popular Christian rapper. In high school he was Kelli's boyfriend. When Kelli became pregnant Brian had “abandoned” her to pursue his higher education. He had dreams of a successful career in biochemistry. Kelli wasn't ready to be a mother so she did the unthinkable.
Now their lives cross again. When Kelli tells him of their child, Brian is devastated. It takes Kelli a long time to deal with Brian's asking for forgiveness.
Add Heather to the plot, a young woman who had been caught having an affair with a friend of Kelli's family. Then she is seduced by a “Christian” musician who promises to help her break into the music industry. Then Heather get's saved.
These stories are woven through events in the Christian music industry to create a good novel. Several characters must deal with forgiving those who have hurt them severely. Others must trust God with their future, whether it be in the music industry or not.
And Kelli and Brian must deal with the fact that God seems to be bringing them back together to create beautiful music. Will they be able to combine the mistakes of the past with their music today to help heal others?
A major theme in this book is sexual purity. The consequences of sexual impurity are well portrayed in the characters of Kelli, Brian, and Heather. But another theme is forgiveness and new life in Christ. Tate has done a good job showing how God can and will use broken people who are willing to let Him form their future.
Tate is African American. While this book may be aimed at African American readers, it was a great read for this Pacific Northwest Caucasian. It was fun reading about their church life and family celebrations. It was great to read about the family solidarity and support.
This is a book for all ages. Teens and college age readers will certainly get the message of the importance of sexual purity. Older readers will find satisfaction in reading about the broken lives healed by God.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Feel Good Book

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
vtkid
Location:Vermont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Truly a work of fiction....a 'feel good/sappy romance'.
Sure, there's a couple heavy topics: abortion, adultery BUT how easily the characters deal with these topics is unrealistic=fiction.
Having said that, I did enjoy it...sometimes it's nice to read
a happy story where everyone does exactly what they should and all end up happily ever after.
Fantasy is nice, while living in the real world. It can take you to a place you will never really experience in this life..
So if you need a bit of a boost, a smile, or a bit of romance....pick up Cherished!
* I received a complimentary copy from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

...it promises nothing and yet delivers so much.

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
A Phone Tree Book Review
-
Cherished by Kim Cash Tate is a delightfully insightful read from start to finish. Filled with lessons on everything from frailty to faith, it promises nothing and yet delivers so much.
Picking up where Faithful left off, Cherished invited me into the lives of two women – Kelli London and Heather Anderson.
Bruised and raw after losing sight of God, both women seemingly search for forgiveness, redemption, restoration and direction in their lives. Not only do their paths cross in an “only God” kind of way, but their paths bring them full circle, past to present, leading them on to a place of grace before the One who loves them best of all.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone in need of healing and forgiveness. Sincerely, I believe that the way Tate uniquely weaved Scripture into “real life’ can help the “irredeemable” get to the heart of God’s love. This book is a must read for all those who may have lost their way due to unforgiveness, bad choices, wayward beginnings, and/or guilt and shame.
Phone Tree Rating: 5/5 Stars *****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Need to Forgive?

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rain
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Description
Kelli London once dreamed of being a songwriter. As crazy as it seemed, she hoped that God would use the lyrics that came to her while she slept. She dreamed about Brian too, that the love they shared would be a forever kind of love. But choices she'll forever regret upended her hope . . . and turned her dreams to dust. When those dreams come knocking once more, she's forced to deal with the pain of the past.
Heather Anderson's life has spun out of control-first, an affair with a married man, then a one-night stand with the drummer of a popular Christian band that left her devastated. Broken and alone, she cried out to the only One who can save her. And He did. But that's just the beginning, because now she must leave behind the only life she's ever known.
Two women with shame-filled pasts form an unlikely friendship. What does God's forgiveness look like for them? Will they ever believe that He loves them . . . and can still offer them a life where they are cherished?
My Thoughts
Cherished, is one of those books that remain with you, even after you've read it. The simplicity and vividness of Kim Cash Tate's writing is so captivating. The message behind the story is one of redemption, restoration and forgiveness. If you know someone who has struggled with sins of the past and wondered if they were worthy of forgiveness, then Cherished would be a great gift. God is using Christian authors such as Kim Cash Tate to minister His redemptive, healing power through storytelling.
Cherished would be an engaging read for all.
I highly recommend this book! Seriously!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story of redemption and love

Date:August 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a chick book packed with not only a wonderful storyline but also with a powerful message. Have you ever thought that God couldn't possibly love you or forgive you for what you've done in your past? I mean, He's not that big, is He? He is and no matter the past, you can be redeemed.
The storyline is about those who struggle with smaller issues. Kim gets down and dares to dig deep into some tough issues that we often like to forget exists. Heather, who likes one night stands and affairs with married men, has found herself kneeling at the foot of the cross and finding who the new Heather is. However, she still has to deal with the devastation caused by choosing to sleep with a married man.
Kelli loves to write songs. One night, that changed. Since that night and the choice she made, she hasn't heard a song in her head since. Giving up on her dream to be a songwriter and being with Brian (a.k.a. Alien, a Christian rapper), she tries to find a job elsewhere in communications. However, just like Heather, she is still trying to deal with the choices she made that haunt her and cause her to feel so unworthy of God's love, grace, and forgiveness. She wrestles with forgiving Brian for his response to their choice.
Together, these girls search for their true worth in Christ. They know they are loved unconditionally by Christ and have even made a list describing who the "new" them are. They are children of God.
I definitely recommend this book. It's a fun read, almost like a chick lit book. It's a great reminder that God is big enough to forgive us despite our mistakes and sin is sin. It all has consequences. But along with those consequences is forgiveness if we choose to repent and accept it.
_______________
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <[...]> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <[...]> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christ based story

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy Brandt
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cherished by Kim Cash Tate
A novel of unconditional love
What is unconditional love? This novel by Kim Cash Tate portrays two main characters, Heather and Kelly. Both girls have gone through tough times, leading totally different lives. These two gals end up being the best of friends and find love. Love in their lives, love of family, love of Christ, love of each other.
Read how Kelly's large family gets involved with both of their lives, even if they don't really want to. Heather's smaller family plays an important roll in her life too.
Both gals have boyfriends. Kelly has a current boyfriend and a past friend/boyfriend with a complicated background. Heather has many boyfriends and needs to get past that part of her life. Can she do it?
This book is wonderful. I love the portrayal of the Gospel and of Christ. I love the character who is so strong in her faith and leads the gals in their own faith. I love the song writer who portrays the Gospel in his songs and has to stand up for what he believes. It truly is a faith based book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cherished by Kim Cash Tate

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saturday, August 20, 2011
Cherished by Kim Cash Tate
I received a free copy of Cherished by Kim Cash Tate from Thomas Nelson. It was a Women of Faith novel that continues with characters from the setting of St. Louis, MO. This time the story centers on Kelli London, younger sister of Cedric and Lindell who were in Tate's novel Faithful. Kelli has grown away from the Lord while living in TX. Song lyrics used to come to her in the past, and she shared a special relationship with Brian Howard. Now Brian is a Christian rapper, and while attending a songwriter's conference she came face-to-face with Brian again, and all her hurt feelings when their relationship ended come flooding back. Brian never dreamed of having a future in Christian music like Kelli did. He was interested in pursing science to the highest academic level. Yet, he feels God has called him into the ministry for a special purpose. They learn the importance of forgiveness and how to use their spiritual gifts to help others. A subplot in this novel includes the continuation of Heather Anderson's story. In Faithful, Heather had an affair with a married man from church, and she is on a downward spiral, farther away from God. While at the songwriter's conference she has a one-night stand with a drummer from a Christian rock band. Cedric's wife Cyd begins a Bible study together with Heather and Kelli to help them see that God loves and cherishes them, and has made them a new person when they committed their life to him and turned from their sin. I absolutely loved this book! I loved that it continued with characters from Kim's first novel. And it is about real modern day life! So many people can see themselves in Kim's characters, and how she shows that God cherishes each one of us and reaffirms that nothing can separate us from His love is amazing! I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cherished

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of the eBook, Cherished by Kim Cash Tate through the Thomas Nelson Publishing Booksneeze program. I am not required to provide a positive review, and all opinions are my own.
Brian and Kelli have a sorted past that ended with broken hearts and broken dreams. When Kelli's family convinces her to move home, she is forced to deal with the issues that she had been avoiding for seven years.
Personally, I loved Cherished. It is a book that is fully ground in Christianity but is not a typical Christian Fiction book. So many times, I feel a bit preached to when reading Christian Fiction. This story is about flawed, real characters dealing with issues that vary from abortion to adultery, to tarnished reputations and trying to find God's voice in all their situations. In addition to a great, easy to read plot, the book reminds readers about the importance of listening for God in all situations. Praying whole heartily, and trusting that there is always a bigger plan in motion. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to more from Kim Cash Tate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story that encourages the fallen now made new

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As soon as I started reading this story, I was hooked and had a hard time putting it down. Kelli London is a single woman who just graduated from a Texas college and is looking for a job. She is back to her hometown of Saint Louis with her family when her brother gets married. Kelli originally dreamed of being a songwriter but that dream died years ago when things didn't work out with her boyfriend, Brian, and she made choices that she has regretted ever since. Heather Anderson has also made some choices in her life that she regrets--an affair with a married man and a one-night stand with a Christian rock band drummer named Ace. Through Kelli's sister-in-law, the two women get together and form a friendship. Together, they discover how much God can work in their lives regardless of their past choices--and even have dreams come true.
This is the first book by this author that I've read, although she has written others. I liked how the author depicted the importance of discipling new believers and spiritual accountability so that Kelli and Heather had someone to help them grow spiritually. Throughout the storyline, the characters connected with God and each other as they faced life struggles. I also liked the reading group questions at the end. I found them helpful to think through some of the things I was reflecting on in my own life as I read Cherished. I think this book could be especially useful for someone who is struggling with some of their own past issues.
I was given a copy of this book through Booksneeze by Thomas Nelson at no cost to read for the purpose of reviewing this book. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Story about living in God's forgiveness

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrandtBookTree
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How can she believe God cherishes her when she can't forgive herself? 
Kelli London once dreamed of being a songwriter. As crazy as it seemed, she hoped that God would use the lyrics that came to her while she slept. She dreamed about Brian too, that the love they shared would be a forever kind of love. But choices she'll forever regret upended her hope . . . and turned her dreams to dust. When those dreams come knocking once more, she's forced to deal with the pain of the past. 
Heather Anderson's life has spun out of control—first, an affair with a married man, then a one-night stand with the drummer of a popular Christian band that left her devastated. Broken and alone, she cried out to the only One who can save her. And He did. But that's just the beginning, because now she must leave behind the only life she's ever known. 
Two women with shame-filled pasts form an unlikely friendship. What does God's forgiveness look like for them? Will they ever believe that He loves them . . . and can still offer them a life where they are cherished? 
This book dealt with some serious issues. It explored the practical side of living in the light of God's forgiveness, while never forgetting the seriousness of sin or the consequences of that sin.
As with most books, problems that would take years to solve in real life were solved much faster and I'm not sure if a typical Christian would have responded in the manner that the characters in the book did.
I found this book hard to get into and read but have read other reviews that show how much other readers loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cherished - eBook
This review is fromCherished.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story I couldn't put down!

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Creative Mommy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book explores the lives of two women who have strayed from their faith after devastating personal events. At the beginning of the story, they are not living the life God desires for them and are floundering in their careers. They come in contact with each other through a mutual friend/family member who encourages and mentors them. The two women become close friends with each other and learn through events in each of their lives to fully embrace God’s grace and mercy. They also begin to love God wholeheartedly and place their dreams in His hands. By the end of the story, there are amazing and unexpected things happening in each of their lives!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book as there is romance mixed with suspense in the plot. As you read, you feel as if the main characters could be your own dear friends and family. It encourages you to reflect on God’s grace and mercy in your own life, asking yourself if there’s anything in your past holding you back from loving God wholeheartedly now. My only criticism with the book is that there are quite a few sub-characters introduced in a short amount of time which may lead to confusion later in the story when they are referenced in the plot. The story is not thoroughly predictable, which makes for an enjoyable read you don’t want to put down.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.