Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook

WaterBrook Press Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 2685%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith blooms in a lilac garden in Jane Kirkpatrick

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryBethWrites
Location:Poplarville, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Award-winning author Jane Kirkpatrick takes readers for the journey of a lifetime – the lifetime of Hulda Klager, wife, mother, gardener and amateur botanist – in her fictionalized biography “Where Lilacs Still Bloom.” Based on the life of the woman who developed hundreds of new lilac cultivars, the story carries us from 1889 to 1958.
Klager lived in a small town in Washington, between the Lewis and Columbia Rivers. The currents of the rivers provide some of the currents of her life as she seeks to balance the pulls of duty, faith and dreaming of new plant varieties. For Klager, the garden is a metaphor for her spiritual life and the tasks necessary to develop and maintain a strong, productive plant mirror the work of growing as a person.
Within her world, Klager was a little bit of an oddity. Her eighth-grade education shouldn’t have set her on a course as a botanist. The demands of her life shouldn’t have left time for dreaming of new cultivars. The losses she sustained should have made her hard and bitter.
Instead, we find a strong woman who charts a course and follows it. Her faith guides her and sustains her. Her generous heart gives away the fruit of her labors so that Klager lilacs can be found all over the country.
This isn’t a “read it once” kind of a book. Klager’s faith in action will bring you back again and again. The testimony is quiet and subtle, more Mother Teresa than pulpit-pounding preacher. “Where Lilacs Still Bloom” is easy to read, but provides much to consider. It offers a quiet respite for the reader, an oasis of peace in an often un-peaceful world.
Check out “Where Lilacs Still Bloom” by Jane Kirkpatrick. Your heart will be glad you did.
“Where Lilacs Still Bloom” by Jane Kirkpatrick
Published by Waterbrook Press
ISBN 978-1-4000-7430-3
Disclosure: This review is based on a review copy provided by the publisher with no constraints placed on its content. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very inspiring book

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lena
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reminds one every life is unique and a seemingly simple life lived well is beautiful and blessed by God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful story of sharing beauty!

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Beauty matters... God gave us flowers for a reason. I think so we’d pay attention to the details of creation and remember to trust Him in all things big or little, no matter what the challenge. Flowers remind us to put away fear, to stop our rushing and running and worrying about this and that, and for a moment have a piece of paradise right here on earth. God offers healing through flowers and brings us closer to Him.”
Where Lilacs Still Bloom is an historical fiction book based on the life of German immigrant, Hulda Klager. She is a farm wife with only an eighth grade education, but she sees plants, especially flowers, as they could be with “bigger blooms, hardier stalks, richer color, and finer fragrance.” Her father first sees her passion and encourages her. “Don’t deny the dreams. They’re a gift given to make your life full. Accept them. Reach for them. We are not here just to endure hard time until we die. We are here to live, to serve, to trust, and to create out of our longings.” Hulda tries to balance her love and commitment to her husband and four kids while she quietly strives toward her first goal of a better apple. However she realized that dreams are better when shared and there begins an amazing story of faith and family, losses and restoration... and a lilac with twelve petals.
I really enjoyed this book by Jane Kirkpatrick. She let us know right up front which characters where historical and which where there to let the readers see Hulda’s humble character, her compassion for people, and her pleasure at freely sharing her knowledge and her plants. There was so much in this book - beauty, pain, joy, loss with many lessons or advice tucked in between the stories told...
Life lessons: “God knew that we’d need beauty and fragrance to help us through the difficult days so He gave us flowers and let us learn on our own how their cycle of living and dying is like a garden rhythm, giving us hope each spring.”
Marriage advice: “A husband needs his partner to take pleasure in his interests, to know that he provides. Her generosity of spirit adds to his confidence and to her own security.”
Parenting advice: Kids need to know “that their parents love each other. The best gift we could ever give them... That and a good time with us all together in one place.”
Now enjoy an amazing story and be inspired to plant, cultivate, and nurture plants AND people in your life!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Blogging for Books, Waterbrook Multnomah Publisher’s book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where Kindness and Gentleness Bloom with Love!

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where Lilacs Still Bloom
by Jane Kirkpatrick
Synopsis:
German immigrant and farm wife Hulda Klager possesses only an eighth-grade education –and a burning desire to create something beautiful. What begins as a hobby to create an easy-peeling apple for her pies becomes Hulda’s driving purpose: a time-consuming interest in plant hybridization that puts her at odds with family and community, as she challenges the early twentieth century expectations for a simple housewife.
Through the years, seasonal floods continually threaten to erase her Woodland, Washington, garden; and a series of family tragedies cause even Hulda to question her focus. In a time of practicality, can one person’s simple gifts of beauty make a difference?
Based on the life of Hulda Klager, Where Lilacs Still Bloom is a story of triumph over seemingly insurmountable odds and the power of a generous heart.
REVIEW:
We just returned from a 2,200 mile road trip that included a visit to Hulda Klager’s Lilac Gardens! One of the reason’s I love books by Jane Kirkpatrick is that she writes about real people and real places.
Upon arriving at the Lilac Gardens you are greeted with a beautiful rose garden in front of her home. Jane writes, “I’d planted. I saw progress and even decided to shape a garden plot at the front of the house and make it like a flatiron. That way when I’m working in that plot, I’ll imagine I’m really getting my ironing done.” It is unbelievable but when you look at the rose garden, it does look like a flatiron!
Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens "Flatiron rose garden."
As you walk towards the back of the home at Lilac Gardens, Shasta Daisy’s greet you and you are reminded of Hulda’s inspiration behind crossbreeding from Horticulturalist Luther Burbank. Jane writes, “I’d read of his crossbreeding a Chrysanthemum leucanthemum that grows wild in the West with Bellis perennis, a small English daisy with larger flowers and shorter stems.”
Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens, "Shasta Daisy"
Touring Lilac Gardens makes Jane Kirkpatrick’s book come alive! Although you must remember that it is Historical Christian Fiction, Jane’s writing and characters are so real that it is hard to remember some of the writing is fiction!
Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens, "Home and Garden Paths"
I highly recommend the book, “Where Lilacs Still Bloom” by Jane Kirkpatrick! You will not be disappointed!
To visit Jane Kirkpatrick’s website, click the link!
http://www.jkbooks.com/Books/WhereLilacsStillBloom.html
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press in exchange for my honest review.
God Bless Your Day Today!
Kelly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Based on life story of an amazing woman

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatrick
This is a novel based on a real lady’s life work and life story. Hulda Klager was an amazing woman, who with only an eighth grade education, learned to breed her beloved lilacs for the characteristics she desired. The author visited Hulda’s garden before starting to write this book and I’m sure that is the reason behind the title.
The setting is Woodland, Washington, where Hulda and her family lived between the Lewis and Columbia Rivers, both of which flooded regularly to the detriment of Hulda’s gardens. The story picks up in 1889, when Hulda was a young mother expecting her fourth child, and goes through 1958, though Hulda lived to be nearly 97 when she died in 1960.
The bulk of the story is about Hulda’s attempts to grow first a crisper apple, then a deeper hued daffodil, and for most of her life, the creamy white, and red, lilacs with 12 petals. Her life struggles are with the rivers overflowing, necessitating starting over so many times, some people judging her for trying to change things God had made, and the family health needs and losses along the way. Hulda loved her family deeply and ministered to them with flowers through the sad times.
There were fictional characters added in to the story that were hard to follow or figure out how they were ever going to connect to the story. Eventually, the connection was made—people Hulda loved and taught and healed through her flowers.
Hulda spent her life fulfilling her father’s wise words of advice: “We are not here just to endure hard times until we die. We are here to live, to serve, to trust, and to create out of our longings” p. 8-9.
To me, this book was not an exciting “can’t put it down” type of book, but was a “friend” I could pick up and learn from, enjoying the good times, crying with the sad times, and exulting in the successes of Hulda’s experiments with nature.
Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging True Story

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where Lilacs Still Bloom, by Jane Kirkpatrick, is based on the true story of Hulda Klager, a German immigrant with a passion and God-given talent for hybridizing lilacs to form new varieties. Although her father doubted that a husband would support such a departure from the expected role of a housewife, Frank Klager and Hulda's entire family lent not only their support, but their physical labor to assist Hulda in her dream. While Hulda's life was not easy, facing regular flooding that threatened to destroy what she had invested so much of her life into, and outliving her family members, she took joy in the flowers and the skills God had given her and strove to use those talents and beauty to enrich the lives of everyone she came in contact with. Her generosity with her time, her talent, and her treasure touched thousands of lives, and in time, came back to her full-circle as others returned the love she had so generously dispensed.
I have read several of Jane Kirkpatrick's novels, and I have enjoyed them all. This one was no exception, although it did take me several tries to get invested in the story. The book employs several different viewpoints to complete the story, and I had trouble keeping them straight until I had read enough to become invested in the individual characters. Especially, because it isn't until late in the book that the stories begin to weave together. Having read the Author's Notes at the end of the book, I understand the purpose for including these additional fictional characters to enhance Hulda Klager's story, but it did take longer for me to understand where the story was going with them added in so early on in the book.
Once I got past the initial confusion, however, I really came to love Hulda. She was so driven and had so much passion for her flowers, yet was self-aware enough to see that her family needed her too. So many of us struggle with the balance of family versus work or hobbies, and Hulda recognized that her priorities may not have always been straight, and she worried that she was neglecting her family for the sake of her flowers. Yet, that very family worked hard to ensure that she could continue her work: weeding, planting, taking over house chores, rescuing the flowers from the floods, encouraging her to continue to stretch and grow, and celebrating her successes with her.
The love story of Frank and Hulda was so sweet. Hulda's father had told her not to share her passion with her husband, because he felt Frank would discourage her. Frank was honest in that he didn't want the flowers to take her away from him, yet did everything he could to aid her work. The simple things he did for her, (with no spoilers, for it was mostly the surprise of them that made them so sweet), demonstrated a pure, sweet love for his wife, and the partnership was a subtle yet enriching focus point for the story.
There is a lot of sadness in this book, and knowing that it's a true story makes it that much sadder. If you are a reader who doesn't like to cry with a story, then you probably don't want to try this one. But, even with the sadness, life goes on, and Hulda finds a way to continue living, and continues to find people and work worth living for.
I give this book 4 stars; once I got into the story, I couldn't stop thinking about it. I am certainly not a horticulturist, yet I found the story engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very interesting

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ellie Placek
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Jane Kirkpatrick was excellent as usual. Her work is so good and full of historical information which makes it even more interesting. She holds your interest. She is an excellent author. We have so many interesting places near us and I don't realize it until I have read about them in her books. This book was no exception. I always look forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

lilacs everywhere

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "Where Lilacs Still Bloom" by Jane Kirkpatrick for free from bloggingforbooks.com. I chose this book because of the cover and lilacs are my favorite flower. This novel went waaaay more into lilacs than I thought it would. This is a book for garden lovers. I am more of a garden liker. It's a good book, but it is very horticultural. The book stars Hulda, a German immigrant who makes it her life's work to grow a beautiful garden better than originally intended. She starts with apples and making them crisper, then moves on to flowers, namely lilacs. She eventually creates 257 new types of lilacs. Her main goal is to have a creamy white with 12 petals. Kirkpatrick follows Hulda's life while life happens and she creates life in her garden. The part that surprised me and impressed me the most was how she always thought her garden was just a little thing, but no one else ever did. No one told her it was silly, stupid, or not worthwhile. The only argument she got was when a local man accused her of playing with God's plan. Hulda is a true story and it is a very impressive story. She is a hero of her time. A time when woman weren't considered valuable, she did what was exceptional. She never let society stop her from doing what she loved. I like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating story of perserverance!

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fans of historical fiction and flowers (especially lilacs) will adore this book!
This fictional story is based on the real life of Hulda Klager, who immigrated to America as a young child from Germany in 1865. I was amazed at how much I learned from reading this book, and was surprised that I had never heard of Hulda prior to this story. Hulda Klager experimented as a hybridizer, while raising a family. She spent hours carefully tending her precious lilacs, who were her “second family” and sometimes took precedence over humans.
I was amazed at just how ahead of her time she appeared to be and how brilliant she was, though she never had a formal education in science or botany. I did feel sorry for her family at times, while reading this story, because her zeal and passion for science sometimes overshadowed her relationships. Though her husband obviously felt neglected at times in this story, I thought it was sweet how he tried to support her and even surprised her by helping her obtain some of her most expensive plants. Hulda went on to create many varieties of lilacs, earning herself the title of “The Lilac Lady”.
This would make an excellent read for anyone interested in science, botany and famous women in history. The author even has some authentic Hulda Klager lilacs in her own garden! A fantastic story of dedication and perserverance, blending interesting facts, characters and relationships. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely fantastic

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The endearing and captivating prose of Jane Kirkpatrick vividly brings to life the whimsy of lilacs and the lives that they inspired in this story of love, loyalty, faith, friendship, and flowers. The novel follows the path of Hulda, of German descent, raising her family during the early 1900's in Washington State. Cross breeding plants was Hulda's passion, and she enjoyed bringing her family into her flowery dreams of improved apples, lilacs and daffodils.
The story is not all about Hulda, however. It reaches for a saga type nuance by bringing in new characters, such as Shelly and Bill Snyder in Baltimore, and Shelly's overbearing mother-in-law. Flowers are incorporated their story, too. The neighbor girls, their families, and Hulda's daughters all bring new characters to add to the all-encompassing feel of togetherness and community. And there was Fritz, the most loyal and dear son a mother could hope for.
And of course there is Hulda's husband Frank, who had an endearing way of say ""I submit" often. After horses trampled Hulda's precious garden, Frank empathized but said "But you'll make lemonade of it, after all, I submit. Yes, indeed, that's what I submit."
Imagery and metaphors - such as walking on lily pads when speaking to someone who was grieving for a loved one - graced the pages, and the spirit of Hulda's passion shone with glistening hope as I read and devoured this story. There is no way my simple words can express the level of emotion I felt while reading this story, which was fraught with ups and downs of a family, from happy moments to tragic events all happening to Hulda as she strove for that perfect creamy white twelve petal lilac. The story of Hulda Klager touched my soul as I cried during the floods and the deaths that Hulda had endured during her very long life. Touching upon the questions of faith versus nature versus God's creation, the tone of the book was such that I could not put it down. Where Lilacs Still Bloom is the epitome of a page turner.
Most of all refreshing and touching, Hulda was indeed a real person, and the author brilliantly brought this special person back to life. I was so enamored with the story that I wept right along with Hulda, just as if she were my own grandmother. I would be remiss if I didn't pay homage to the lilac: the fragrance of the flower that I can still recall after leaving behind my lilac bush seventeen years ago. I still think of that very lilac bush from time to time. I wish the lilac would bloom in Texas, but I will have to settle for the memories, which will now include this fantastic and mesmerizing novel.
With both historical details and factual details regarding flowers, Where Lilacs Still Bloom incorporates many elements which makes it indescribable. This book goes to top of my list as the Best of 2012. I can hardly contain myself as I want to go and buy all of Jane Kirkpatrick's books immediately. Where to begin?!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this honest review. I thank them wholeheartedly for this amazing experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

One woman's bold inventiveness with plants & life

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Washington State, German immigrant Hulda Klager takes her love flowers, her experience as a farmer's wife, and her limited education to become a bold, adventurous woman when such was absolutely not a normal occurrence.
Without the knowledge and consent of her husband (and such was definitely the thing to do at that period of time), she took her observations of variants in hue and shape, texture and size to begin her experiments in the cultivation of bulbs, shrubs, and apple trees. Her success in grafting apples to create an easier to peel and tastier apple resulted in a product that she loved - and so did her husband. From that point on, he became a supporter of her endeavors. At least as long as she got her household duties done, too.
Life was not without tragedy for her family. Death, flood, sadness. But Hulda was a woman of faith and trust in God.
"Beauty matters… it does. God gave us flowers for a reason. Flowers remind us to put away fear, to stop our rushing and running and worrying about this and that, and for a moment, have a piece of paradise right here on earth."
Where Lilacs Still Bloom is a biographical novel - that is it is closely based on the life of Hulda Klager and her work developing lilac varieties and her Woodland, Washington, garden.
Author Jane Kirkpatrick has written a gentle novel about a gentle lady who achieves much as a wife, mother, plant hybridization genius, friend and counselor.
Jane Kirkpatrick is a best-selling, award-winning author whose previous historical novels include All Together in One Place and Christy Award finalist A Tendering in the Storm. An international keynote speaker, she has earned regional and national recognition for her stories based on the lives of actual people, including the prestigious Wrangler Award from the Western Heritage Hall of Fame. Jane is a Wisconsin native who since 1974 has lived in Eastern Oregon, where she and her husband, Jerry, ranch 160 rugged acres.
I received a complimentary copy of Where the Lilacs Still Bloom from Blogging for Books on behalf of the author and publisher in order to render a review and my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Where Lilacs Still Bloom captivates

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's spring, and I'm enjoying my first real garden ever, and it's in the dream house I live in with my sweet husband. So, reading the back of "Where Lilacs Still Bloom" by Jane Kirkpatrick, it seemed like the perfect time to give it a try. At the center of the story are the flowers. Hulda, a German immigrant, lives in a small Oregon town. She has a talent for seeing the potential in plants...first she grafts two apple plants together to produce a new breed that is larger and easier to peel for pie. She next sets her sights on creating a creamy white lilac with 12 petals (they usually have four). Over the decades as her flowers evolve, she shares cuttings with dozens of visitors to start their own gardens. On the East Coast, a young new bride delves into horticulture to unlock a deeper connection with her new husband, a devoted horticulturalist. And in California, an aspiring writer develops a passion for plants to help her column readers better care for their gardens. The climax (and the flowers) bring the three women together, but the end of the book will bring tears to your eyes. Hulda's town is at the crux of two rivers, prone to flooding. When Hulda loses all her lilacs (and her belongings) in a devastating floods, offspring from the thousands of cuttings she shared over the years pour in. Along with her family, Hulda, now in her 80s, replants the lilacs. Just before her death, she uncovers her prized cream lilac with its 12 petals. You can't help but cheer for her. Based on a true story, this book captures you with its tenderness and perseverance. Kirkpatrick is new author to me, and I guarantee I'll read her stories again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Couldn't Get Into It

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I struggled with "Where Lilacs Still Bloom". I picked it up and put it back down at least five times. I started it, and it seemed like a book I would enjoy, but the story travels from one character to another and I found it confusing. There may very well be one of those "tie it all together" chapters toward the end, but I never made it that far. I had a similar experience with another one of Jane Kirkpatrick's books, so it may be that I just don't mesh with her writing style. Thank you to Waterbrook Multnomah for allowing me the opportunity to preview this book for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Characters Blossom "Where Lilacs Still Bloom"

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're lucky enough to live in the Pacific Northwest like I do, you may have already heard of the "Lilac Lady", Hulda Klager. Her magnificent garden, filled with lilacs she hybridized is a traditional trek for many springtime garden enthusiasts. Her story, however, was in need of just the kind of wordsmithing that Jane Kirkpatrick provides.
Hulda Klager was born in Germany, immigrated to the US as a baby and was only educated to the 8th grade. In a time when being a wife and mother was supposed to fulfill all a woman's desires, she dared to dream bigger. Her interest in plants and especially lilacs began her quest to create a lilac with more petals, better fragrance and sturdier blooms. In a time when women scientists were few and some still believed that hybridizing was interfering with God's creation, Hulda moved forward toward her goal with passion. Supported by her husband and family, Hulda brought forth lilac hybrids that are still being planted today.
Jane's story of Hulda's life is a type of hybrid itself. Fiction based on real events told with a terrific, believable voice and characters that are strong and vibrant. Even if plants are not your thing, you'll be moved by this story of family, faith, and generosity. If you are inclined to play in the dirt, however, you may just want to start figuring out where to plant your next lilac!
This book was provided to me for this review by Waterbrook Press as part of their Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Lilacs

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
AudOneinAK
Location:Kenai, AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful read of a woman with determination, brilliant mind, a love of God's creation with a scientists curiosity that drove her to explore and experiment for years with nothing more than an 8th grade education, what her dad had taught her and what she learned from trial and error and years later from reading.
What makes this book so good is the fact that it is a true story. That this family really lived these struggles for all these years. I find it sad that it took so very long into their marriage for her to realize how very much her husband understood and loved her and her drive and heart. I think she missed out on a LOT by hiding so much of herself from him for so long. (Or rather, thinking she was).
I am very thankful that I was sent this book by Blogging for Books for my review. Because otherwise I might never have read it and I would have missed out on a real treasure! I have lived in Lynnwood, WA. and have family that lives in Woodinville, WA. It was great to read history about that area! I am going to recommend they read this book ASAP!!
http://cabinfeverreading.blogspot.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You will learn a lot about flowers

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sweet story based on the life of Hulda Klager. She was a "simple" farm wife who had a passion for flowers. She understood them and realized she could create new breeds by cross pollinating them. I enjoyed learning about her legacy and the various types of people she influenced over the years. She had many tragedies but her flowers gave her and so many others beauty and hope. Two things stood out to me in her life. One was the relationship she had with her husband. It was precious and inspiring the love and companionship they had. It was rare for a man to support his wife the way he did back in that time period. The second was how many people received her lilac blooms over the years and how they sent them back to help establish her garden again.
There were parts that were quite slow in the book but overall I enjoyed learning about her life.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow read

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn
Location:Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hulda Klager has a big dream. She wants to create a creamy white lilac with more petals than others. She experiments with grafting and hybridization. Her experiments put her at odds at times with her family, but she's got a faith that helps her to see her dreams through the seasonal floods and family trials.
This book is based on the true story of Hulda Klager. I thought it moved pretty slow. Overall, her triumphs and her struggles fascinated me. I learned way more about plant hybridization than I ever knew before. Sure it's fiction. And it's told beautifully. But, overall, I thought it dragged a little too much for me.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook/Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Rating - 3 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Where Lilacs Still Bloom | a novel
by Jane Kirkpatrick
About the Book
From the Publisher:
One woman, an impossible dream, and the faith it took to see it through.
German immigrant and farm wife Hulda Klager possesses only an eighth-grade education—and a burning desire to create something beautiful. What begins as a hobby to create an easy-peeling apple for her pies becomes Hulda’s driving purpose: a time-consuming interest in plant hybridization that puts her at odds with family and community, as she challenges the early twentieth-century expectations for a simple housewife.
Through the years, seasonal floods continually threaten to erase her Woodland, Washington garden and a series of family tragedies cause even Hulda to question her focus. In a time of practicality, can one person’s simple gifts of beauty make a difference?
Based on the life of Hulda Klager, Where Lilacs Still Bloom is a story of triumph over an impossible dream and the power of a generous heart.
“Beauty matters… it does. God gave us flowers for a reason. Flowers remind us to put away fear, to stop our rushing and running and worrying about this and that, and for a moment, have a piece of paradise right here on earth.”
My Thoughts About the Book
It isn't always easy to review books, specifically when I have to base my review on the advanced reading copy which I received. Odd paragraph breaks, missing quotation marks, and other grammatical errors made for a distracting read, but I'm fairly sure that these things will be corrected in the final selling copies.
As for the rest of the book: It was an interesting read, but nothing that makes me all that crazy about it. Basically, although there was nothing wrong with it, it was not over-the-top-awesome.
Mrs. Klager honestly seemed to have a rather sad life, but perhaps this observation comes simply from the fact that all the sad things which happened in her eighty-year life were condensed into the two hours it took me to read through the book. However, it did seem that a lot of people died in the book. I was also bothered by the fact that Mrs. Klager's garden seemed to be something which kept her away from her family. (Of course, the author couldn't help some of this, as she was fictionalizing actual events.)
As for the gardening side of the book - I did enjoy this part. When we lived in Minnesota our family had a lilac bush in the yard, and it was always one of my favorite plants. (Still is, in fact - which is why I picked up the book in the first place) The beauty of hundreds of plants blooming together is something which I'd like to do more than imagine. Someday, sometime, it would be fun to see the Klager gardens, in which case I would probably reread the books.
If you like reading about gardening or just various people and their struggles and joys, you'll enjoy this book. If not...well, I don't know.
My Rating (Based on My Thoughts About the Book)
Seven out of Ten Stars.
A Little Note About My Thoughts About the Book:
I received a free advanced reading copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good look at the history of horticulture...

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Based on the life of Hulda Klager, Where Lilacs Still Bloom tells the story of a woman with a passion for plants of all kinds - particularly lilacs. Her passion leads her to a fascination with hybridizing and selectively pollinating to improve the flowers and share their beauty with others.
While the scientific aspect of the book was both interesting and entertaining (people had some crazy ideas in the early 1900s, and I loved the author's portrayal of social concerns revolving around scientific issues), the rest of the story was somewhat... well, lacking.
The main character, Hulda, frequently keeps things from her husband who doesn't share her all-consuming passion for plants and doesn't always approve 100% of it. That really bothered me. That, and the way her gardening and hybridizing projects always seem to take equal or even greater precedence over her family. Everything that happens gets twisted around into an opportunity/excuse to work more in her garden, and I often felt like the garden mattered more to her than her family did.
On top of all that, the storyline itself was somewhat depressing. I really can't be more specific than that without giving something important away. I understand that it's based on a true story and all, but still, I like reading books that leave me feeling refreshed and uplifted at the end... not tired and depressed.
All in all, Where Lilacs Still Bloom, while providing a great peek into science's past, wasn't really a book I would want to read again.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my review. A favorable review is not required; my opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromWhere Lilacs Still Bloom.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring story,a must read for any gardener!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
hokustone
Location:Deerfield, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book “Where Lilacs Still Bloom” is a novel based on the life of a real woman who lived in the early 1900′s in the pacific north west of America. Usually I choose books that are works of fiction, but since I love lilacs I thought I would enjoy this book about a woman who loved lilacs so much she taught herself how to make hybrid blooms and create something different. I was right, I really enjoyed this book! The story of Hulda Klager’s life is a story of challenges and faith, hope and flowers, hard work and generousity.
I was about 3 pages into the book and I was hooked. You can read a preview of the first chapter yourself here http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/blog/2011/12/09/sneak-peek-where-lilacs-still-bloom-by-jane-kirkpatrick/
This is a story from the turn of the century, our country wasn’t as connected as it is now, but this one woman managed to bring people together from all across the United States and beyond just by dreaming of a better lilac and then working tward making that happen, and sharing what she was working on with everyone one who wanted to accept what she had to share. Her generous nature was a blessing to her community, and in times of extreme hardship, it came back to her a hundred fold. She lived her life the only way she knew how, with hard work and determination, loving family and with a passion for God’s beauty. What started as a wish for a bigger better apple so she could bake pies for her husband ended up nearly 100 years later as a world famous garden that still exists today. I think one of the best parts about this book is that after reading it I was able to go online to www.lilacgardens.com and find pictures and information about the home and gardens that are open to the public even 50 years after Hulda’s death.
I have a small collection of lilac’s in my own yard but I now have a dream to have one of Hulda’s Lilacs in my yard someday as well, I’ll have to travel to Washington to get it, but someday I’d love to have one. Rarely does a book inspire me as much as this one has. To learn about what this one woman and her family did in their lifetime make me want to try harder in my own life. I could never do what she did with flowers, but I can hope to live in such a way that my passion for God, my love for my family, and my hope for a beautiful garden will be remembered. I highly reccommend reading this book!
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>