Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook

Moody Publishing Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook

Children need daily quiet times with the Lord just as adults do. These forty-eight thoughtful devotionals are excellent tools to help introduce elementary school-aged children to Bible doctrine. They're just the right length to hold a young one's attention, and the lessons are made memorable by illustrations, questions, hymns, and suggested Scripture readings. Recommended for ages 5 to 10.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Review 1 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-have for God fearing home with young child.

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
donald goh
Location:SINGAPORE
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is doctrinely sound and it is good for early catechism for children. Bible lesson is illustrated with stories that easily understood by children of elementary age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have used this book with children for 25 years.

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:El Segundo California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no better book that I have used with chilren, not just for the purpose of relating Bible stories, but for the teaching of Christian doctrine. 48 one to two page devotions teach Bible doctrines from the most simple: there is only one God, to the more complex, such as the trinity. Simple enough for many five year olds to grasp, but interesting enough for any age.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
GREAT! Encourages reading of the scripture and summaries to apply it and offers thought-provoking questions. Perfect length for kids of all ages (my boys are 5 and 7 and were both engaged).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jana Miller
I searched for something that would appeal to me 5 and 8 year old and be true meat and not milk...I found it! This was an excellent teaching book on the foundations of their faith. I haven't found anything that would come close to this. Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kari Mcghee
This is a great devotion for young children. It teaches basic Bible doctrine in a very clear and simple way. I love that it includes illustrations, questions, scripture reading, a hymn, and prayer too. It's a complete devotion yet not too long either. It holds my children's attention very well....and usually has them begging for "one more story, one more story!" before bed. I highly recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Beaulac
Excellent daily reading, but best done with and adult or older sibling. Strikes me as being geared more for the 8-10 age range rather than the younger ones. My 9-year-old son looks forward to doing them with me each morning. A Bible teaching, reinforced with a short story/example, backup by Scripture references. It finishes with 3-4 review questions, a related prayer, and short song. Well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Krissy Mclean
We have really enjoyed this little book!!! It really does include all that you would need for a "thorough" and enjoyable devotion time with your family. From the story to the Bible passage to the questions and ending with a hymn...you're not lacking anything at all!! Great little book that we'll get many years use out of!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anne
This is the best devotional book for my children that I have ever bought. I wish they came out with more books. I am almost finished with the book. The topics are easy for my children to understand but also very thought provoking. It brings deep spiritual topics to their level that they can comprehend. This book is a great investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
ben harward
This book and Marian Schoolland's Leading Little Ones to God stand alone as excellent devotional books for instruction in doctrine for young children. I recommend it as a gift for all newborns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Deanna Dresher
My kids and I loved this book. It was written at a level they can understand, and we loved singing the songs at the end of each devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Barbara
It doesn't get any better than this. We used this as a daily devotional for our home education. It was so good I purchased a copy for my mom [she is in her 80's!]. My 1st grade daughter loved it, I loved it and plan to do it again during the summer. It covers all the major points of salvation and our relationship with God and Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Devotions for the Childrens Hour - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jonathon
This is a great book that thoroughly covers the basic doctrinal issues at a child's level in order to lead them to Christ. We love to use it for family time. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.