Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook

Tyndale House Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
Review 1 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun and fabulous read

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have got to say that Sandra Byrd has quickly become one of my absolute favorite authors. The more books of hers I read, the bigger the fan I become. Recently I read Don’t Kiss Him Good-bye, the third book in her London Confidential Series. The series is actually written for young girls, but I have to say that so far I have found them highly enjoyable. The series chronicles the life of Savvy Smith, an American teenager who has recently moved with her family to England. After a bit of a rocky start things are finally starting to look up. She’s got a best friend, she’s finally starting to fit in, and her “Asking for Trouble” column has been a huge success. The only thing wrong is that the May Day Ball is coming up, she doesn’t have a date, nor does it appear that she’ll be getting one either. That is, until she meets an attractive guy who just so happens to have a reputation for trouble…
Well, I won’t tell you what happens, but I have got to say that this book was truly fabulous. I love how real Savvy is. She’s always struggling to fit in, and yet just like a lot of young Christian ladies she also struggles with being the person that God wants her to be. In the end though, I think she doesn’t a pretty good job of making the right decisions and following the path God has laid out for her. If you know any young women, I would definitely suggest they read this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quick read that pack a punch of entertainment

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
Just when Savvy thought she was getting the hang of things. She has two pseudo friends, a column for the paper, and a secret admirer. But guess what? London’s version of the prom is coming up and Savvy doesn’t have a dress or a date. She makes a quick list of possible candidates, but it dwindles quickly, leaving her with one choice. A guy with a reputation for trouble. He’s cute. So can’t they go as friends? Savvy has to decide if she’ll follow her heart, the crowd, or her own advice.
Loved this one! I read it in an hour. These books are fun, quick reads that pack a punch of entertainment. In this volume, Savvy struggles with every girl’s dream: having a date to the ball. She finds the perfect dress, but Prince Charming is MIA. Her only option is a guy who’s a player. But when she tells him she just wants to be friends, he doesn’t seem to be listening. The story has a fabulous ending, but you’ll have to read it to find out what happens. This is the third book in the London Confidential series, which is about an all-American girl who’s learning to juggle fashion, friendships, and guys in her new home in Great Britain.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Renee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story about about American teen living in England is a light, descriptive read that keeps readers turning page after page. 15-year-old Savvy is faced with tough choices and decisions and must deal with family and boy troubles while figuring out who she is and trying to glorify God in everything she does. Tweens and teens will find this book relevant and engaging, and parents will be pleased with the truth found in its pages.
I extend a special thank you to Tyndale Book Publishers for presenting me with this book. The opinions in this review are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

don't kiss this book goodbye!

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
tonya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't Kiss Him Goodbye is the third installment of Sandra Byrd's London Confidential series(read the first two Asking For Trouble and Through Thick and Thin). Savvy Smith has been living near London, England for almost a year now beginning to settle in and feel like she is making friends. As spring arrives she learns of the annual May Day Ball and longs to be asked. Savvy makes a list of all her potential dates only to see they already have asked someone. All except for one that is, the mysterious and good-looking Rhys who seems interested in her but who also has a reputation for trouble. What will Savvy do? Follow her heart? Or follow what she knows to be true?
Each Savvy Smith book draws me in more and more. I have really begun to not only like Savvy but to care about and root for her to make the right decisions, intrigued how she is so easily torn between two worlds.
This is a light and fun read written so descriptively you’ll keep turning the pages.
I received this book free for review from Tyndale house publbishers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great series of books for tweens and teens

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series sounded cute and I thought this might be a great set of books to get Justice Girl (my 10 year old) for Christmas. While waiting we got the first 2 London Confidental books from our local library. I read the 2 books before reading book 3. This series is so cute I really enjoyed this great set of books that is full of great morals. I know I’ll be getting the whole series of books for my oldest. You and/or your tween/teen will love London Confidental and Savvy. I warn you though it might also make you want to hop the plane over to London :).
Thank you Tyndale for allowing me to review this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is classified as Juvenile Fiction/Religious/Christian. I am not a teenager, but I once was, so I read this book with two perspectives in mind. First would I have enjoyed this when I was a teenager? Second if I were the parent of a teenager would this be something I would feel good about them reading? The answer to both of the questions is quite simply, yes.
This is the third book in a series of which I have read neither of the first two books. Despite that I was able to pick it up and not feel as though I had missed anything.
The story itself chronicles a girl who is learning to adapt to a new environment as well as coming into her own as a young teenage girl. She runs into problems at school and problems with boys and the morale of the story is that you don't have to settle.
Plain and simple this book is an excellent example of trusting God & using his word to guide your decisions.
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Random Ruthie
This is a pretty good series for girls of all ages. It really feels like taking a little trip to London. This particular book deals with the pressures of dating in high school. Seeing through Savvy's eyes makes it easy to relate to and more realistic. Just like the first two books, in this third installment, Savvy relies on Biblical wisdom to write her advice column and solve her own problems. She provides a good example for teen girls facing the same situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
This is a delightful series for young teens and tweens. Although I didn't read the first book, I thoroughly enjoyed the second one, Asking for Trouble, which I reviewed here. Don't Kiss Him Good-bye continues the story of Savannah "Savvy" Smith as she adjusts to her new high school in the London area. Girl politics are universal, and Savvy meets her share as she tries to fit in. And then there's the issue of boys! Savvy must decide whether having a date to the May Day ball is more important than staying true to herself and her Christian beliefs. Sandra Byrd has written a wonderful novel that speaks truth in practical situations without being preachy. I highly recommend this book and this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye - eBook
This review is from#3: Don't Kiss Him Good-Bye.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
High school drama, strange siblings, cute boys, and great music - this book has them all! And a whole lot more!After a long day at school any teen girl will love reading this sassy novel about 15-year-old Savvy Smith and her new life outside London. It is full of what teen girls face on a daily basis along with a whole lot of biblical advice for dealing with tough situations and presented in a fun, fiction format.I really enjoy reading this series myself - as a grown woman! Sandra has a writing style that is fun, real, and enjoyable to read. This series deals with real life topics in a fresh way. They are light enough to read in just an a few hours, yet challenge the reader to do what is right even when it's not so easy to do.As a Mom I would recommend them to any teen girl in 7th grade and up. May I also suggest that you buy the set and use them - one at a time - as impromptu gifts for your teen girl every now and then. What a great way to encourage her and instill biblical thinking in her life!* * * * *Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for the courtesy of a review copy. However, all opinion expressed is mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.