Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Ransomed Dreams - eBook

Tyndale House Ransomed Dreams - eBook

Sheridan Montgomery leads a charmed life as the wife of Eliot, U.S. ambassador to Venezuela. But an attack on their lives cripples Eliot, and they retreat to a remote Mexican village. As Sheridan quietly cares for her husband, she sees her dreams slipping away. Luke Traynor shatters their reverie when he arrives to tell Sheridan of her father's heart attack and the evidence implicating him in a conspiracy. Sheridan returns to Chicago to untangle the web of her father's past and is forced to confront her feelings for Luke, a trail of deceit, and the truth about her marriage.Sheridan Montgomery leads a charmed life as the wife of Eliot, U.S. ambassador to Venezuela. But an attack on their lives cripples Eliot, and they retreat to a remote Mexican village. As Sheridan quietly cares for her husband, she sees her dreams slipping away. Luke Traynor shatters their reverie when he arrives to tell Sheridan of her father's heart attack and the evidence implicating him in a conspiracy. Sheridan returns to Chicago to untangle the web of her father's past and is forced to confront her feelings for Luke, a trail of deceit, and the truth about her marriage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Review 1 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED this incredible story

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
The opening scene of this book (in the prologue) captured me. Sheridan finds herself face down in the dirt, being held to the ground, and staring at her broken watch that reads twelve minutes, thirty-five seconds past ten o'clock. Her husband lays beside her, his shirt turning crimson red.
I couldn't put this book down. I loved the setting (mexico) and believable characters. Sheridan is so easy to relate to, and so human. She experiences conflicting emotions that I feel any woman would feel in situations she experiences - though many wouldn't admit to it.
The characters were real, the family relationships were complex, and the emotions were raw. I loved every second of this book and highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A poignant, touching read

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading this book and was captivated by it. The characters seem like real, flawed people who just want to do what's right but are thrust into the middle of a situation that seems impossible. The setting is a small, cozy town in Mexico. It's an intriguing story and I loved the characters... well, most of them. The main character, Sheridan, is living with a husband who is not at all the man she married and finds herself in love with someone else. The reader really doesn't know what choice she'll make until she actually makes it. A poignant, touching read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An okay book

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sheridan is married to an ambassador to Venezuela. When both are injured, they hide out in Mexico. Sheridan then goes to Chicago, where her estranged father is dying. She must deal with several relationships while there.
This is a decent book, but I was rather bored with the storyline. Don't know why but I had a hard time sticking with the book. I am glad all the secrets hinted at during the book were revealed at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continued to hold my interest. Well written. Wonderful relationships between characters although could get "testy" at times. I could just feel the locations the sisters went and lived: tiny Mexican mountain town, Chicago,etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanetM52
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was absolutely riveted to this book after I started it! The plot was incredibly woven in all the lives explored in this absorbing book. I may read it again, just to see the details as they work together (now that I know the ending). Fabulous read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Sheridan's life is changed when an assassin's bullet slams into her husband, kills her best friend and severely traumatizes her. 18 months later she face once again with dealing with parts of a painful past. Her husband is a shell of the person she married and she wonders how to go on. Facing a past she wish she could leave hidden, her dying father, a controlling sister and an uncertain future with a husband she wonders even knows she is alive is enough to send anyone curling in a fetal ball. Sally John has a way of taking real life family issues and using them to make us look at our own lives in a new way. She addresses real issues of trust being broken in a marriage, dealing with pain from the past and using God to deal with it. Her books are better than any non-fiction how to save your marriage book. They will help you to look inside yourself and wonder how you can learn from Sheridan's lessons. Excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Ransomed Dreams by Sally John is the first book in the Side Roads series. Sheridan Montgomery's life was shattered by an assassin's bullet that nearly killed her ambassador husband, Eliot, on their assignment in Caracas, Venezuela. Now they live in a remote village in Mexico trying to put back together the pieces of their lives. Eliot, who was a suave and eloquent gentleman is almost mute in his struggle with constant pain and the loss of independence. Sheridan gave up her charity work in fear that another bullet could come from any quarter. A year after the shooting, Luke Traynor arrives at their home to announce that Sheridan has been summoned home to Chicago by her sister Calissa because their father is dying. Luke cared for Sheridan in the days and weeks after the attack until she came to depend on him too much and asked him to never come back. John has rendered a world in which a life can be completely changed in a single moment and forces the reader to consider how their own life would survive. Sheridan, Eliot, and Calissa also seem to live with sunburned emotions; even the slightest touch causes flinching and pain. There's also a story of terrible family secrets, the lies we tell to conceal them, and how we move forward from our parents' history. Ultimately it's a story of hope and learning to thrive where God puts you. John's writing is multi-layered with fully fleshed characters and well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
These days, couples face problems and pull apart. I enjoyed this novel with the theme of a long-term marriage and forgiveness. As a wife of fifty-two years(!), I know that marriage is like a roller coaster: it goes up and it goes down. I believe that one of the secrets to longevity is to hang on until it levels out.Sally John, a best-selling author, took this premise, mixed in some cloak and dagger intrigue with a smidgen of temptation to illustrate how believable characters might react to some down-turns on their married roller coaster ride. The characters were carefully scripted, and the plot kept me curious. I must say that I had no idea where the story would lead or what decisions would be made.Thank you to Vicky Lynch at Tyndale House Publishers for my copy of this Contemporary Fiction. This is a good one. I recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Piccurelli, Author/Reviewer
I read the Advance Reader Copy of Ransomed Dreams sent to me by Tyndale House Publishers not knowing what to expect. This seemed to be different than Sally Johns other books, of which Ive read every one. The story takes place in a foreign country, while most of Sallys novels are set in either San Diego, or small-town Illinoise.In Ransomed Dreams, Sheridan Montgomery had been living her dream life as the wife of Eliot Montgomery, U.S. Ambassador to Venezuela. But it all changes in a split second, when an attack on their lives leaves Eliot crippled. As they retreat to a quaint Mexican village, hidden away from the life they once knew, Sheridans life comes almost to a standstill, as she cares for her husband daily.Luke Traynor, the government agent who saved Eliot and Sheridans lives bursts back into their lives with news of the heart attack of Sheridans father, and the evidence that implicates him in a conspiracy. Sheridan returns to Chicago to sort out her fathers past, but she is also forced to confront her feelings for Luke, a trail of deceit, and the truth about her marriage.Once again, Sally John doesnt fail to engage the emotions, as she tackles tough relationship issues; those that involve husband and wife, wife and prospective lover, sister to sister, and father and daughter. Sally isnt afraid to peel the layers of her characters, getting to the core, and laying them bare for the reader to examine and learn from.Reading Ransomed Dreams, or any of Sally Johns books, is truly an experience to behold, and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
All of Sheridan's dreams had been randsomed after a fateful day when her husband, Eliot, the U.S ambassador to Venezuela was shot. The bullet did not take the life of Elilot, but stole the dreams from their lives. All seemed perfect until that day, and then life was never the same. Eliot went into hiding, staying in his pain, as Sheridan slowly lost all hope of ever feeling love again. Sheridan keeps hearing her mother's voice telling her that Jesus is calling. Sheridan hears the call, and is wanting to move forward with their life, but Eliot is still lost in pain. We watch the Lord move in their lives through several people who give hope and life to them again. As Sheridan struggles with the fact that her whole life is now just taking care of her husband, she comes to realize it was God all along taking care of Him and she too. They find their way to life again, to love and begin to seek those dreams they once held dear. We see Eliot move from being stuck in his circumstances to overcoming them. Sheridan faces her sister that she hasn't seen since before the accident, she faces her father's death, and her mother's memories. Through all this healing begins, and those randsom's dreams are once again held within her hands. I enjoyed this book, although at times slow, and I did not feel close to the characters. I felt a distance from them as they were not developed a great deal. It speaks of hope, faith and love. It shows that God is always in control, even when all is quiet. It is in that stillness that we find Him.This book was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Sally John's novel, Ransomed Dreams, tells the story of Sheridan Montgomery, the wife of the U.S. ambassador to Venezuela, whose life changes in an instant when an assassin murders her colleague and seriously injures her husband. As Sheridan and Eliot, her husband, attempt to redefine normalcy in the wake of their emotional and physical handicaps, Sheridan's high-profile, politician father dies, triggering further scandal that shakes Sheridan's faith and her relationships.Although this novel opens with suspense and drama, the heart of the book focuses on the evolution of relationships through different seasons of life and the ways in which faith better equips us to persevere through relational difficulties. When relationships take the forefront in the novel, the elements of suspense fade, only to reappear later in moments of heightened drama, making the pace of the novel a bit uneven. I did, however, think that John tackles some interesting issues about marriage and commitment, making the book worth the read.I was given a review copy of this book by Tyndale, but the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mustard Seed Book Reviews
At precisely twelve minutes, thirty-five seconds past ten oclock in the morning Venezuelan time, Sheridan Montgomerys world ceased to exist. Probably the best opening sentence I have read in years, its the opening sentence of the newest novel by Sally John titled Ransomed Dreams. Sally John has spun an exciting and intriguing tale that leads readers through the high-stakes world of international diplomats into the deep nitty-gritty emotions of family loyalties and secrets. Ransomed Dreams is as much about espionage as it is about the relationships with those who know you best. By approaching it all with a heart for Gods will, John has written a fabulous book that will have you racing to the end to see what happens, yet not wanting the book to end. The main character of the book, Sheridan Montgomery, has a powerful story reflected in the fantastic opening sentence. As a diplomats wife Sheridans life is interesting and very unique, but at the same time its very real for any modern Christian woman as Sheridan confronts her feelings about her marriage, her goals for her life and her identity as a sister and daughter. Sometimes its easy to forget that Christian authors truly do have a ministry, preaching the Word of God using fictional characters and exotic locations. Sally John has created in Sheridan a true voice for how a modern Christian woman should behave. Sheridan is extremely genuine in her struggles with Gods will for her life versus what the world would say Sheridan deserves. In the end though, Gods will does prevail and for that Sally Johns writing ministry is truly a blessing to her readers. Disclosure: I received this book complimentary as a blogger reviewer for Tyndale, but the opinion is all mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daveana
Sheridan has been living her dream, helping underprivileged women, floating through the circles of her U.S. Ambassador husband, Eliot Montgomery. When an assassination plot cripples Eliot, Sheridan must leave all shes worked for and flee to a secluded village in Mexico. As Sheridan cares for her invalid, distant husband, she falls into a world of bitterness and depression. When a past acquaintance enters their sheltered haven, Sheridan must return to Chicago and face her estranged, dying father. While there, Sheridan must untangle her fathers conspiracy and put the pieces of her life back together that have been shattered.From reading the back cover, I could practically guess the whole story line of this book. The characters were not well developed, very flat and 2-D. I felt that the book was very dry and at some points hard to get through. This book definitely didnt grab me and make me want to keep reading. If it wasnt for posting a review about it, I most likely would not have finished this title. I did however like the concept that John brought out about how our lives could change in an instant. In one second our lives could be totally opposite of how it was. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
First off I have to say I loved the cover, it has a rosary on the cover so i was sold right there. Then I started to read the book and it was so good I loved the whole package. With in the first chapter Sheridans life as she knows it is turned upside down. This book is about life changing moments and how they cope with them sometimes great sometimes bad. This book follows Sheridan through all the twist and turns in her life post trauma, and through the darkest days. She is a strong character that you will cheer for and pray that she comes to the light at the end of the tunnel. While this book doesn't come out till July I would add it to your summer reading list you will really enjoy it! This book is book 1 of a series by Sally John called Side Roads I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of the series!thanks Tyndale for giving me a copy of this book so i could review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
First off I have to say I loved the cover, it has a rosary on the cover so i was sold right there. Then I started to read the book and it was so good I loved the whole package. With in the first chapter Sheridans life as she knows it is turned upside down. This book is about life changing moments and how they cope with them sometimes great sometimes bad. This book follows Sheridan through all the twist and turns in her life post trama, and through the darkest days. She is a strong character that you will cheer for and pray that she comes to the light at the end of the tunnel. While this book doesn't come out till July I would add it to your summer reading list you will really enjoy it!thanks to tyndale for giving me a copy so i could review it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
bikerbabs
When I started reading Ransomed Dreams I didnt know what to expect. Id never read Sally Johns. The prologue starts off with a bang as the main character relives the terrorist shooting that has left her husband an invalid and herself a fearful recluse. From the very first chapter this story is totally character driven. It deals with broken things. Broken relationships. Broken dreams. Broken health. Broken trust. Eliot Montgomery, US Ambassador to Venezuela before the shooting, and his wife Sheridan, now live hidden away from everything and everyone they once knew, in a tiny Mexican village. Eliot lives in a half-drugged state most days, oblivious of his wifes needs and loneliness. Sheridan lives in fear of the world outside their tiny orbit, resentful of her husbands pain, and at odds with the path that God has set her on.When Sheridan receives a message from her older sister that their father is dying, she doesnt want to go, but the message indicates something morefamily secrets to be revealedso she reluctantly leaves her husband with friends from the village and goes to Chicago for the funeral. Ransomed Dreams is the story of one womans journey through the darkest days of her life, searching for answers from a God she has always conversed with, but now cant seem to hear. Its the story of forgiveness and love. It isnt filled with clichs or easy answers, but with pain, doubt, anger, temptation, and ambivalence, that only Christ can heal, bind-up, or allow the strength to endure. Ransomed Dreams is a story that grows on you as you delve deeper. There are times I didnt like the characters very much, other times I felt exactly what they were feeling. Sally Johns has a way of getting to the heart, cutting back layers one at a time until her characters are revealedbare, open, and needy. Which in reality is the moment Christ covers us with his redeeming love. Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave Wilson
In a split moment, Sheridan Montgomerys idyllic life as an ambassadors wife is transformed by a vicious assassination attempt that leaves her friend dead, her husband crippled, and her world turned upside down. And thats just the first page of Ransomed Dreams by Sally John.What follows is less climactic, but very engaging. Sheridan tends to her invalid husband in an out-of-the-way Mexican village, hidden away from the attackers who were never identified or caught. She struggles mightily to move forward with her life, though it seems that prospects for a happy future are as remote as the backwards place they call home.When an enigmatic man who served as part of the Ambassadors staff shows up unannounced, Sheridan is dragged into a mystery surrounding her dying father, and enticed by an attraction which threatens her marriage.The author does a terrific job of breathing life into the central characters of Ransomed Dreams. Sheridan and her husband Eliot are confronted with their own sins and failings, and their difficult and halting progress will ring true with how most people deal with lifes troubles.As a man, Im probably not the target market for this novel. I found myself chafing a bit with the deliberate pace of the story, and wanting more of the excitement that Sally John used to start the book off. But I believe that women, in particular, will appreciate the journey that Sheridan and Eliot travel to find reconciliation and redemption.Special thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for the advance reader copy of the book. Ransomed Dreams will be in bookstores July 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
I really enjoyed this book. While the precipitating factor may vary, many will be able to identify with Sheridan and Eliot as they cope after life takes a sharp detour. Realistic struggles are portrayed in this novel and marriage vows are tested as Sheridan wrestles with her new reality and thinks, "I didn't sign up for this." With some additional family drama added in regarding her father's past, this book kept me eagerly turning pages to see how it all resolves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Asher
Eliot Montgomery III and his wife Sheridan are living their dream life. He is US Ambassador to Venezuela and she is involved in helping abused and battered women start a new life. It is opening day of their new Women's Shelter in Caracas. Eliot is getting ready to cut the red ribbon. Shots rang out. At exactly 12 minutes 35 seconds past 10 o'clock in the morning Venezuela time Sheridan's world ceased to exist. Her best friend is killed and Eliot is seriously wounded. She is lying face down on the sidewalk, injured but it's not life threatening.After the attack, the couple retreat to a small quaint village in Topala, Mexico, to hide from the world - a place far off the beaten path - no phone service or other modern amenities. One day, out of the blue, Luke Traynor arrives on their door step. How in the world did he find them and what does he want? No one is suppose to know where they are.This is where the novel becomes interesting. Sheridan's sister Calissa has hired Luke to locate Sheridan and bring her back to Chicago. Her estranged father has suffered a severe heart attack and is dying. She doesn't want to see her father and doesn't care if he lives or dies. She cannot forgive him for his treatment of her. She is afraid to leave Eliot and her safe world. Ms. John is an excellent writer. She puts the reader right in the midst of Elliot and Sheridan's world - you feel their pain, fear and their lost dreams. I found the book refreshing, intriguing, sometimes sad, sometimes uplifting. It is one you will stay up late reading so as not miss one minute in the daily lives of Eliot and Sheridan.Highly recommended.This book was provided by the publisher as a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ransomed Dreams - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Rayburn
In Ransomed Dreams, Sally John creates a story that touches readers. With the right balance of mystery, action, and emotion, she knows how to draw a reader in. At the heart of the story is the dream that Sheridan Montgomery gave up to care for her husband and hide in Mexico for protection. Shes restless and disappointed and struggling with how she feels about this loss. Shes desperate for happiness but unsure how to find it. In a society where for better or worse doesnt mean much, this book provides a refreshing example of a couple who works through some tough issues. From the exhaustion of a caregiver to the depression of a disabled spouse, to the temptation to leave with someone who meets emotional needs not met in the marriage, and the lack of support from family, Sally John has addressed real problems in a real way. Thats what makes this great fiction. It isnt about a perfect couple with a fairytale relationship. She shows the reader through the good days and bad days in a marriage thats in the sickness and the worse phase of the vows, the marriage that hasnt seen health or better in a long time.Ransomed Dreams is for anyone who has ever wanted to walk away from a difficult marriage, who has ever felt hopeless, or who has lost a dream. Its an inspiring story of faith and emotional healing. I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale for my unbiased and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>