Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Witness - eBook

Tyndale House The Witness - eBook

From Monte Carlo to Morocco to Egypt and into Petra, Marwan Accad is pursued by authorities for murders he did not commit. Tracked by advanced intelligence-surveillance technology, his every location is eventually found out, His closest friend and ally hides him, only to have his family put in mortal danger; his brother and business partner help cover his tracks, but only for a brief time. Is it possible that this is an inside job, trying to kill him and set him up for the murders he didn't commit? Marwan races against time to find his pursuers and their motives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Witness - eBook
Review 1 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent --suspense with gospel message

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pamela Stovall
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Characters were realistic showing the questions that people might experience in coming into a relationship with the Lord. The mature characters showed wisdom and love. This was a fast action, suspenseful novel that wove in salvation and the hand of God realistically. Good read that you don't want to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lily
Location:Central Coast, CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very enjoyable to read, very suspenseful, and hard to put down. Some people might be upset by so much reference to Christian themes, but that is why I bought the book. It would make an excellent movie!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it!

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book. Heartily recommended. Teenage sons like it as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
popcorn
Location:Mo
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent book. I had difficulty putting it down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
An adrenalin laced story that leads to nothing but truth. While the chapters are laced with death, deception, and hot pursuit, the end of the story is redemption. Pity there's not a sequel.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Witness

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This book pulled me in from the beginning. It was high adventure and a little bit of romance thrown in. Very well written and easy to read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Witness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet01
Location:Chillicothe, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book. Couldn't put it down. Kept me in suspense. Would like to read more suspense books like this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read.

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dodie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a page turner. I couldn't put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Winner.

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne Lang
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. It drew me into the story and kept me right to the end. I hope there will be more novels to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave Wilson
Marwan Accad is not your average work-a-day joe. As an elite security expert, the former special forces soldier makes his living jetting around the world protecting the uber wealthy and politically connected. But when a business meeting in Monte Carlo erupts with gunfire and bloodshed, this uncommon mans life really gets complicated.In The Witness, novelist Josh McDowell chronicles Accads exploits in avoiding the police who falsely accuse him of murder, and the actual killers who want to silence him to keep their criminal activity from coming to light. His flight takes him to France, Morocco and Egypt, and sets in motion an unexpected journey of spiritual discovery.The books chapters are short, the pace is brisk, and the thrills plentiful enough to please fans of authors like Tom Clancy and Robert Ludlum. In addition, McDowell does a good job of portraying Accads growing struggle in dealing with past tragedies, present dangers, and eternal realities. This security expert in insecure as it dawns on him that he will stand before a holy God at the end of his life. A life that will be ending soon if he is caught by his murderous pursuers.For all his strengths, The Witness has its share of weaknesses too. The characters are rather two-dimensional, even for this literary genre. And McDowell doesnt immerse his readers very deeply into the sights and sounds of his exotic locations.In the end, The Witness is a good story that casts a spotlight onto the Good News.The publisher was kind enough to provide me with a complimentary copy of this book. I, in turn, was kind enough to provide a complimentary review of said book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hearthside Homeschool
Marwan Accad owns a private security firm and is in the middle of a private investigation when the tables are suddenly turned and he is the one under investigation. Framed for murders he did not commit, and unable to determine who to trust, he finds himself on the run through Monte Carlo, Morocco, Egypt, and Jordan. Running for his life forces him to face his own mortality, and he questions if a man who has witnessed and caused so much death can ever find life beyond this world.The Witness by Josh McDowell is the first fiction book I have read by this author and I must say, I was impressed. It read like an action movie from the start, even throwing in a bit of romance, and I could view it vividly in my mind all the way through. The questioning of what happens after death and the search for Biblical answers by the main character was somewhat realistic, considering his circumstances. I must admit though, being familiar with McDowell's non-fiction works was detrimental to the flow of the story as I was momentarily taken out of this world when I recognized some of the author's catch-phrases. The use of the phrase, "evidence that demands a verdict" was particularly jarring, as McDowell has written a book by that title. Despite that, I enjoyed the book and found it to be an easy, enjoyable read that I have no problem recommending to those who enjoy this genre. Disclosure: I received this book from Tyndale at no cost, for review purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Miller
The action in The Witness begins right with the first chapter, with murder, pursuit and attempted assassinations. The reader follows Marwan through Europe and into North Africa as he tries to escape those who hunt him. The action scenes grip you and dont let go. Marwan is a believable hero and a sympathetic character.The writing style was very unique but put you right inside Marwans thoughts and actions. I wanted more out of the female lead but still found her likable. But I have to say, author Josh McDowells secondary characters were by far the strongest, from the villains to the trusted friends.The setting is rich, taking you all over the countryside and Cairo. From the pyramids to camel rides, this book feels like a journey itself.I loved the tension and the chase of the police, always on Marwans tail. However, there were some elements to the plot I doubted as realistic and struggled with. Sometimes, the sense of urgency and danger disappeared completely, which diminished the pursuit and the lives at stake.The mystery and the suspense were top-notch, however, and I finished the book within a few days. This is a great summer read for anyone looking for an escape and a moving tale of friendship and Gods love.This book was provided to me by Tyndale in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
First book I have read by this author but it won't be the last. Outstanding book. Adventure and suspense. One of the best books I have read this year. A good list of characters and Lemieux a traitor to law enforcement did not get his just due at the end of the book. I hope McDowell writes more with these characters. Highly recommend this great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Marwan Accad, a security agent, is the only witness to Rafeeq Ramsey's murder. After some investigation, he becomes the prime suspect in the murder. Marwan goes on the run in a chase covering both sides of the Mediterranean. From Monte Carlo to Casablanca to Cairo, he relies on his brother Ramy and his friend Kadeen to keep him hidden from French Inspectors Goddard and Lemieux. Along the way, Marwan has to use false identities and he meets Dalia Nour who sends him into a whirlwind romance. The descriptions are excellent and the action is amazing! From page one, the reader is thrown into Marwan's race to clear his name. Obviously, there is a lot of violence involved, but it's not graphic. There are also minor drug and alcohol references. When it comes to Marwan and Dalia's romance, again, nothing is graphic, but there is innuendo. Overall, a great read if you love action and adventure! Tyndale House Publishers provided this book for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Author Josh McDowells latest book The Witness is definitely not a light read. With a storyline that involves murder, suspense and a man on the run for his life youll be on the edge of your seat reading this book. Be prepared theres a lot of action in this book and sometimes it gets a bit graphic. There's so much suspense and action that at times, I felt myself getting nervous trying to keep up.If youre not planning to be up all night, dont start this book at bedtime!The storyline is written about a main character who is not a Christian, so his actions arent going to be those of integrity for most of this book. This is a man who is running for his life from the police as well as the assassins who are after him and has to live by a barbaric, survival mentality. In the midst of all the chaos Marwan finds himself falling in love which complicates his life even more. The ending is a bit abrupt and made me wonder if there will be a follow up to this book? If so, Im sure readers of The Witness will be delighted if a second book is written about Marwan and his life with Dalia.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Witness - eBook
This review is fromThe Witness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
I received this book from Tyndale Publishing for free, in return they ask for my opinion of the book. This is the first time I have read anything by Josh McDowell and I cannot wait to read more from him. The Witness grabs your attention right from the start and makes it nearly impossible to put the book down. The book moves at a good pace and takes you to places like Casablanca, Morocco, North Africa. While going through all of these places a love story is happening with it. On top of that there is a real transformation of the main character. He is a non believer but his best friend is a believer and a bible smuggler in Casablanca. The book was accurate with the different places and languages. Gave in depth descriptions of places and events that really happened in history.Marwan Accad, the main character, really came to life for me and I felt sympathy for his situation.he gets framed for murder, chased by police and assassins. He and his brother own a private security company together. Their parents were killed years before and so its always just been the 2 of them. Marwan finds out information about a mans wife and within seconds of giving him the information the man is gunned down and they try to kill Marwan. He goes to his best friend and his family for help and they help me but everyone he comes in contact with he puts at risk in this cat and mouse game. Things are not what they seem and people are not who they seem. Marwan meets a wonderful woman along the way and begins to fall in love. Also Marwan starts to question his lack of faith and feels the tugging to have a relationship with Jesus. Marwan evolves through the whole book. This book kept you guessing until the end, definitely could not predict where things were going. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thriller books and or conspiracy books. I cannot wait to see what Josh McDowell has coming out next!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.