Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook

Tyndale House Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook

An airborne Boeing 747 is headed to London when, without any warning, passengers mysteriously disappear from their seats. Terror and chaos slowly spread not only through the plane but also worldwide as unusual events continue to unfold. For those who have been left behind, the apocalypse has just begun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1471%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Review 1 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joan Russell
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have probably bought about 20 of these to get people started on the series and mine is practically in shreds from loaning out. It's the best fictional books EVER!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this book down till the end.

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
awed by Christ
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written. I loved the bible references. Got me hooked on this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
patty
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the bookis well written and interesting. I have read most of this series and continue to tell others about the books.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

okay

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace Joyner
Location:Phila
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Started reading the beginning of the book and it seems like it divides the world into the good White people and the wicked Black/colored people which really isn't what the Bible says.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Biblical

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Desarie
Location:Young Harris, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved the series, but after intense bible studies I find this gives false hope to people who would like to "ride the fence" in their walk with Christ as they believe they have a second chance after the return of Christ. There is NO second chance. We either accept Christ before He comes again or we are lost. This series is of couse fictional.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flossie
Location:Forrest, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left Behind is a Christian Classic. Very well written. I enjoyed this book and the rest of the series.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME! LIFE ALTERING!

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Connie M Rennard
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the book (series) that God used to lead to my salvation in Him! It may be a hypothetical story but it is based on scripture! God is not the author of confusion so I KNOW that this is what He wanted me to read and know. This is a must read for all! God Bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Halifax, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am rereading this series. It is a glimpse into what I believe will soon be reality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting hypothesis of the Apocalipsis

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rodrigo
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've already finished the book and what I would say is that it is a really good exercise of imagination. May be the Apocalipsis won't be exactly as it is presented in the book (for instance, the Rapture before the second visit of Christ, the prophecy of a massive attack to Israel from Russia), but anyway, it is nice to start imagine vividly how could it would be, in order to live today with biblical wisdom.
Thanks for the authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where it all started

Date:August 17, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book that started it all. Left Behind is probably the one Christian book that even those who don't read Christian fiction have at least heard about. As I said before, though I personally don't agree with all the books' interpretations of prophecy, Left Behind does present on question every Christian should examine: Am I ready for Jesus to come back?
The four main characters of this book certainly weren't. Rayford Steele is a pilot who only barely tolerates his wife's faith; his daughter Chloe is more concerned about college life an her future than religion. Buck Williams is a rising reporter; Bruce Barnes is a pastor who doesn't believe what he preaches. They weren't ready...will you be?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What if you were the one Left Behind

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins have teamed up to create this 12 book series about the return of Christ. The first book in this series, Left Behind, a New York Times best seller introduces you to Rayford Steele, an airline pilot and Buck Williams a newspaper writer and their experiences of witnessing the rapture and realizing the truth behind the millions of people disappearing. Rayford Steele has lost his wife and son, both devout Christians and while Rayford attended church occassionaly he did not understand and was flirting around with one of the airline attendents. Not until his son and wife disappear leaving him and his daughter behind does he start to realize what has happened.
The first book in the series follows both Buck Williams and Rayford Steele as they search for the truth behind the disappearances and to find Christ and spread His love before it is to late. But with so much happening in the world will they be able to hold on to their faith and be able to introduce Christ to their family and friends that were left behind as well as avoiding the anti-christ?
This book will keep you reading from start to finish and is a good work of fiction that will keep you interested in the story and invested in the characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What would you do if you missed going to heaven?

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The premier book in the best-selling Left Behind series offers readers the opportunity to explore the option of what earth would look like and how people might respond if they missed the Rapture, (the taking of all believers to heaven). In the book, the main character Rayford Steele, has lost his wife to the Rapture, and thus begins the free-for-all quest of searching for other family members. Other characters emerge and attempt to begin a relationship with the God who had already called His people home, all the while fighting to survive a world lost in utter chaos. This book is an interesting perspective on the possibilities of life after what Christians call the Rapture.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Left Behind: Book 1

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The series begins with “Left Behind.” This book starts just before the rapture of the church takes place. On an airplane in mid-flight we meet Rayford Steele, Hattie Durham, and Cameron “Buck” Williams. Rayford is the plane’s pilot. Hattie is a flight attendant. Buck is a journalist. Panic arises when sleeping passengers wake up to find loved ones missing, but their clothing is still in their seats. Back on the ground Rayford realizes his wife and young son are gone, their pajamas laying in their beds. He frantically tries to reach his daughter Chloe who is off at college. Hattie tries to find her family. Buck is trying to get the story. By now reports are coming in of strange stories and theories. Pregnant women are suddenly barren. People are missing all over the globe. Is it aliens? Some kind of biological warfare? Rayford knows the truth, even if he doesn’t want to admit it. His wife had tried to tell him a million times, but he wouldn’t listen. Christ had come back for his church and he, along with millions of others, had been left behind. He and his daughter Chloe find a pastor, Bruce Barnes, who had also been Left Behind, but he has answers. While the whole world goes crazy trying to figure out the events, rising politician Nicolae Carpathia is there to ease the world’s grief and keep order. He quickly rises to power, but Buck can see that Nicolae is not the peaceful, humble man he claims to be, and he tries to convince Hattie Durham, Carpathia’s new personal assistant, to stay away from him.
What’s great about these books is that, though there are many, the sub-plots never get confusing or overbearing. You get to follow several of the characters from their points of view without ever feeling lost. The characterizations are wonderful. They come to life so easily that you will have no trouble feeling for them, or hating them in some cases. This is probably one of the most important pieces of literature for the Christian world, but the truth is, even without that stamp of importance, it’s great literature! This is a great story with great characters, and everyone should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend of mine told me some time ago that I needed to read this series and now I understand why! So perfect for this time in the world's history. Rayford a pilot for Pan Continental married to Irene has now focused his attention on his flight attendant Hattie Durham who is much younger than he is. Cameron (Buck) Williams journalist, a rising star in the writing world, aboard a flight Rayford and Hattie are serving. Buck is known for capturing the world in words and one of his greatest pieces involves his now friend Dr Rosenzweig an inventor whose purpose is to make Israel the most profitable country on earth. During the flight passengers vanish while in air causing Hattie, Buck and Rayford and the other passengers that are left behind wondering what had happened the only things remaining from the disappeared passengers are their clothes and personal belongings. Upon landing they discover other people missing including family members, friends and others too numerous to count. Rayford is led to the church of his wife and meets Bruce, one of those left behind. Together they search for truth and answers. Excellent character development and dialogue make this book the start of an must read series. This book took me about 10 hours to read and went very fast. It held my attention to the end and I am eager to read the next book in the series. I was challenged in my faith and was entertained. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.