Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook

Tyndale House Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Review 1 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, especially for football players!

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vikki
Location:Virginia Beach, Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this book for a 23 year old male who had a full ride to a Virginia college to play football. He got very sick just before leaving in the fall and decided to turn down the scholarship. He regrets it every day. His family was furious with him. Recently his family moved to Texas. He was left here homeless and vehicle-less. We took him in and he read this book in 4 days. He hasn't read anything since High School. He said it made such an impact on him especially since all his family is in (and from) Texas. Said it gave him an entirely new perspective on the game, the fame, and his life. He said "READ it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book for Grade Eight Graduation

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Momof4
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Okay, I am not usually a football fan. But when I had the opportunity to review this book from Tyndale Publishers, I jumped at the chance...because I have two boys in my home that do love football.
After reading the back cover...I was hooked. Remember WHY You Play, by David Thomas is not just a book about football. It is a book about living out your christian life. The coach in this book is inspiring, he teaches the kids both football and faith IN ACTION. If you have a teen aged son, who just happens to be interested in football, get them this book.
This is a great book for a grade eight graduation...this book will inspire..it will challenge and it will teach kids to believe. Excellent book!
Thank you to Tyndale Publishers for providing me with this copy for purpose of review. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:December 15, 2010
Based on the back of the book (which had me tearing up within minutes of getting the book out of the mailbox!), I expected this book to be about an amazing high school football team with an amazing coach who was ultimately trying to teach kids life lessons and biblical truths that were more important than just playing sports. The back of the book describes an incredible game against a team of boys from a youth detention center. With no one to cheer them on, the coach asked parents of his players to "switch sides" for the night and cheer by name for the other team's players. The author, however, spends the majority of the book talking about the games leading up to a much-deserved championship game. It's obvious that the coach understands that there are greater things in life than football and uses his opportunity to influence his players to develop godly character. While I enjoy watching sports, the writing is a bit technical for my taste - talking about all the ins and outs of different plays and practice techniques. As much as I wanted to like this book, it fell a little flat for me. It was just different than I expected and only gave one chapter at the end to the story described on the book jacket.
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book for sports people

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
thesheep
Location:Singapore
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Remember why you play" is about a football team, Faith Christian Lions and their coach. The book started off with a defeated Faith Christian Lions in the previous season, and described how the team trained hard under their coach, to achieve success.
I was in a canoe team once. My coach was rather fanatical about canoe-ing. He insisted that I train on Sundays and not go to church; otherwise, he'd take me off the competition team. "Fine! Take me off the list," I said.
This book is testimony that success need not be achieved through giving up values and principles. It highlights principles such as character, discipline, and teamwork. I recommend it for sportsmen, sportswomen, people who have a competitive personality, coaches, and parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Inspirational tale of Faith and Football

Date:November 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review : Remember Why you Play ? Faith, Football and a Season to Believe- David Thomas - October 2010
Who enjoys films like Gridiron Gang , Forever Strong , The Longest Yard and TV Shows like Friday Night Lights ? . Remember Why you Play ? is for all those fans of the above inspirational though Longest Yard is a tad more comical movies. Remember Why you Play? takes us on a journey back to the year November 2008 when Faith Christian School opened their hearts and home base up to the lives of those at Gainesville State School - a maxi security correctional facility.
As we know by watching the movies , it starts with a coach at the correctional facility trying to give their boys something to work for and a rewarding experience of working as a team. In November 2008, the season of Football was finishing up , when Kris Hogan of Faith Christian School had an idea , why not invite the Gainesville Correctional school to play against their team the Tornadoes. For Gainesville , they had never ever won a game or scored rarely a touchdown and in this final game , they scored two touchdowns. Though this isn't what makes Remember Why you Play? such a touching story that in the end had my eyes watering. It was the fact that the coach Kris Hogan had organised half of his Tornadoes families and fans to sit on the benches for the team of Gainesville and cheer for them. For most of the kids on the team, they had never had anyone encourage them or praise them using their own names , some never had any encouragement.
This tale is so inspiring and it goes to show that a little effort can make a huge difference in somebody else's life even if we don't realise the huge impact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith, Football and a Fantastic Lesson

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remember Why You Play, by David Thomas, is the inspiring story of the Kris Hogan and Faith Christian Lions, a high school football team who made a difference for the kingdom and in the lives of many through a remarkable act of kindness and love for some young people the world had written off as unlovable.
This book is more than just a story about one special game. David Thomas takes the reader with him as he shares an entire football season with Coach Hogan and the exceptional young men on his team. Kris Hogan is more than just a football coach. He has dedicated his life to raising up young men for Christ, teaching them to be strong husbands, fathers, and leaders for the Kingdom. He uses the platform of football as his ministry, and is committed to making a difference in the lives of others, through the power of Christ. Through the simple act of “adopting” the Gainesville State Prison Tornados, the students, family and staff of Faith demonstrated Christ’s love to all in that place. More than that, it created a ripple effect, spreading further than anyone could ever have imagined and having a greater impact than anyone dreamed. I honestly spent the majority of the second half of the book in tears, touched beyond measure and inspired to make a difference myself. I loved this book. I believe that it would be a great read for anyone who needs to be reminded that we CAN make a difference in the world, just by making the simple choice to love someone like Christ loves us. It is a little heavy on the football details, but being the wife of a football fanatic, those details were easy to read through to get to the meat of the book. I highly recommend this book, and am encouraged to follow the story to see how God continues to use this story to bless others and create a change in our world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get ready to be inspired

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
colorado sports nut
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was inspiring in many ways. An engaging story about a Christian high school football team and an incredible leader in Coach Kris Hogan. Any athlete, coach or sports fan will be blessed and inspired by this story. In today's out of control sports culture, we need shining examples like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
josey bozzo
Location:Lynchburg, Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Remember Why You Play is an excellent read. If you or someone you know enjoys football then I would recommend this book. Actually, even if you don't like football, you would still enjoy this story. The story is very moving and encouraging. It follows the Faith Christian football team through the 2007 season game by game. That was very interesting for me. It literally took you game by game of their undefeated season all the way to the championship game. At first it was difficult for me to follow the play by play. But then it became exciting. It was as if I was watching a fast paced game in person. Even though almost the entire book centers around that one season, it's the final chapter that is the main purpose of the book. The Faith Christian 2008 season ended with a game against Gainsville State School which is a maximum security correctional facility. The students at that facility didn't have anyone on their side. Faith Christian changed that. The people of Faith Christian embraced the Gainsville team in a way that is rarely seen today. And because of what they did, it has had an effect not only on the students of Gainsfill State, but across the world. This book really shows how simple acts of love and kindness can be life changing. It also shows that anything can be used to show people God, even something like football.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow what a great book!

Date:November 5, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book Remember Why You Play by David Thomas, is awesome. It is not only well written but it is very engaging and give you a lot to think about in your own life and the people whom you influence. This book is about a football team from a Christian school in Texas and how the coach is teaching his athletes to be great men of God, and that it is about more than a game it's about people and relationships. I highly recommend this book. Thanks to Tyndale House for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TOUCHDOWN!!!

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i love the game of football.
it's the ultimate team sport. it's the best sports metaphor for life. it's great theatre; it's got attitude, action, drama, suspense, heartbreak, redemption, retribution, etc.
football is a beautiful game.
football is the best.
David Thomas is a sports columnist and senior writer for the Fort Worth Star - Telegram in Fort Worth, Texas, and author of the book Remember Why You Play: Faith, Football, and a Season to Believe.
Thomas followed the players and coaches of Grapevine, Texas' Faith Christian School football team for a season. he records their ups and downs, stories, struggles, victories, and lives.
this book is required reading for football fans and it's a fantastic read for anyone who loves a great story.
you'll laugh. you'll cheer. you'll cry.
David Thomas' book is wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.