Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook

Thomas Nelson Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.476 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
17 out of 2181%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
Review 1 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for igniting a flame to win the lost

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
alannahp
Location:New Brunswick
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initially, I had mixed feelings about this book but after digging in deeper to the message, I must say that I appreciate Floyd's level of thinking. This book gives a challenge to all believers to live out the Great Commission found in Matthew 28 in their daily lives. After reading, I felt challenged to evaluate my own views on evangelism with the ideas Floyd presented.
The author's passion for the lost generation is contagious. Floyd mentions several key parts of the Great Commission such as:
-Being honest with yourself
-Understanding the urgency in winning the lost
-Keeping constant communication with Christ
-Waking up your church from its slumber
-Reaching the next generation now
I strongly recommend this book for believers searching to build the Kingdom. It will challenge you to think outside the box to win souls for Christ as well as ignite a fire in you to see the Kingdom of God grown in a marvelous way.
*Note: I received this book free for review through Book Sneeze. I am not required to write a positive review, only an honest one.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

God gets the glory, not the author

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
mzzterry
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission" by Dr. Ronnie Floyd
It was about a year ago that I received the book "Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission" by Dr. Ronnie Floyd" as part of a blogger review program that I participate in. I did not find the book to be interesting, even though I firmly believe in the Great Commission, Matthew 28:18-20
"And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen.
I thought I would enjoy this book, the author is even a member of the same denomination as I am so I thought we would think alike. His basic ideas were fine, biblically based even, but the way he chose to play these out was not at all appealing to me.Dr. Floyd served as leader of the International Mission Board of the SBC. He is also pastor of a mega-church. I felt the author used himself as an example way to many times. I was turned off by his portrayal of his ways, his office, his church so I chose to put the book down and not finish it.
I still believe in the Great Commission and sharing Jesus and his grace,mercy and love with ALL of the world. I believe you can learn more by reading the Bible. You can live out the Great Commission by living your life in the pattern Jesus set for us, and just leave this book on the shelves.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great to read

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading this book, I highly endorse and recommend it as Greear leaves me with a hope for evangelicalism and the church as a whole that there will be a recovery of the gospel as the center of Christianity.
I highly recommend this book. This book is beneficial in two main areas: One it is thrilling to read how the gospel transforms lives...
This book has been like a sledgehammer to my soul, and it will take me months and years to sort out what God would have me do next. Many readers will find some of the content challenging, but they should not let this put them off reading through the whole book,This book could reawaken countless numbers of Christians to exalt God for who he is, and is even recommended for the non-Christian who believes that this particular faith is a usual, boring one. It is no exagerration to state that this book will point one to the fountain of joy: God Himself. Therefore, I would recommend this to all who are Christian Hedonists and all who desire to become one! When I first began reading this book, I was skeptical. I thought that this would turn out to be another Christian-themed self-help book, If you are struggling with your desire for God, first go to Him in prayer. Than go to His Word. Then go to your pastor, your family, and friends. Then read this book.If you are struggling with your desire for God, first go to Him in prayer. Than go to His Word. Then go to your pastor, your family, and friends. Then read this book.
It is certainly his most practical book to date and will be my companion for many years as I continue to battle for a heart satisfied in God alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Motivating, Thought-Provoking

Date:March 1, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to review "Our Last Great Hope: Awakening The Great Commission" by Ronnie Floyd because the description reminded me of the book "Radical" by David Platt, which I found to be very thought-provoking and inspiring. "Our Last Great Hope" is about what we as churches and individuals can do to work toward spreading the gospel of Jesus to those who haven't heard it - "fulfilling the Great Commission". I was hoping to glean more motivation to do what I can to share the gospel from this book. It did not disappoint me.
You can tell from the outset that Floyd is very passionate about the Great Commission. The first few chapters seemed to be directed more at what churches can do to help further the gospel, and I was afraid I wasn't going to get much practical application for myself since I'm not a church leader. But about halfway through the book Floyd starts focusing more on changes that individuals can make to more effectively reach people for the Lord. I loved the section on evangelizing our children, and the chapters on "talking Jesus more" and reevaluating finances to do more for God's Kingdom were challenging and offered just what I was looking for when I picked up this book in the first place.
One thing that bothered me at the outset was that I felt Floyd was focusing so much on how we haven't "fulfilled the Great Commission" in the sense that there are still people who haven't heard about Jesus. It was almost as if he was discounting all the work and energy some of the great Christians in history have put forth to bring people to Christ and saying it wasn't good enough.
As I continues reading, however, I understood more of what he meant - he's viewing the Great Commission more as a measurable goal (ie. every person on earth hearing about Jesus), as opposed to an ongoing work, which is how I always viewed it before. He speaks throughout the book about missionaries in church history as examples to be followed, so it became apparent as I read more that he was not discounting their work as I thought in the beginning.
I found myself trying to think of ways to save money to offer more to mission work, ways that I can get involved in spreading the gospel, and I was motivated to pray more for missionaries and those who don't know Jesus. Any book that gets me thinking more along those lines is very worth reading. I'd recommend this book to any Christians who are looking for some inspiration to get more involved in obeying Jesus last command to us to "go make disciples of all nations . . .".
Note: I received this book from BookSneeze for free in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An inspiring AND practical book

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastormatte
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never heard of Ronnie Floyd. Never read any of his books. Never listened to any of his sermons. Never heard his name mentioned before.
But Our Last Great Hope is one of the best books looking at the Great Commission that I have ever read.
The Great Commission is what we call the final words of Jesus in the Gospel of Matthew, when He says: “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
Ronnie Floyd does a fantastic job of presenting inspiring – yet practical – tips on how to become a person who lives out the Great Commission each day. He does a great job of challenging and firing readers up, yet he also does a great job of giving specific steps and ideas for what this can look like in day-to-day life.
Usually books are either one or the other. Maybe you’ve read something that presents a lot of good ideas and it really makes you want to change the world, yet when you’re finished reading you have no idea where you’re supposed to start.
Or else maybe you’ve read a book that presents a lot of practical, how-to tips, but it fails to really excite and motivate you to take action.
Our Last Great Hope is the best of both worlds.
Floyd talks about several main points that can move us to being people who are actively living out the Great Commission. He does a chapter on how to become a church that is more active in the Great Commission, he devotes a full chapter to how you can lead your family in a way that will transform them forever. He discusses the importance of the Great Commission in terms of world-wide missions, and he also talks about the role the Great Commission plays in your own personal relationships with people who need to know Jesus. The final chapters of the book are spent talking about finances, and how we have the opportunity to use our money to make an impact in the world. These ideas, and many more, are explained in the light of the Great Commission.
All in all I have been challenged, inspired, and also given several practical steps to put into practice in my own life. Floyd obviously has incredible passion for reaching people who don’t know Jesus, and that passion comes through in each page he writes.
As more and more Christians fall into complacent living, I strongly recommend Our Last Great Hope as a tool that will hopefully shake people up and stir them to take action in their own communities, as well as across the world.
Until I awake the Great Commission in my own life,
Pastor Matt
—–
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Personal story with advice

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
jroc
Location:tabusintac
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is based on the Great Commission given by Jesus in Matthew 28 that states “to go and make disciples of all nations”. As Christians we are all charged with this commission, but how do we go about doing that in today’s world?
Rev. Ronnie Floyd tells readers that we need to think differently about being Christian. He tells us that God wants us to have an active faith, which is more than just going to church, paying our tithes.
Rev. Floyd tells us that in the world today we are living in a time of emergency. As our scripture tell us to be awake and aware as we do not know the time when our Lord will come, but we must be awak. Rev. Floyd points out that we have not been awake with our faith, instead God finds us asleep. There are millions of people who do not know of God, let alone out Scripture.
This book is not about sitting back and learning theory, instead it is about taking action. Rev. Floyd writes in an easy to understand manner. The book reads much like you are listening to a conversation. Within the chapters he alternates between using a story like method and adding some historical facts. The one thing that kept me coming back to this book to read another chapter was Rev. Floyd’s style of writing.
This is something we must do, we do not have a choice in this. Once we decide to follow Christ we are charged with helping others to come to Christ. The book is filled with personal story. The reader is able to see that Rev. Floyd has struggled with the Great Commission. Rev. Floyd doesn’t pretend to have all the answers, instead he lays out a plan of enacting the Great Commission within our own churches.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book has great perspective.

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristyn
Location:Birmingham, Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To say this book wrecked my world is an understatement.
This book changed my perspective on the great commission. I think as an American twenty-something, I realized how much the Great Commission seems out of reach. It seemed like something that people who are older than I am should be doing.
But the reality is this:
1) I am single.
2) I have little debt.
3) I am not tied down anywhere at this stage in life.
I think this is something I kept in the back of my mind, but Ronnie Floyd wrote words that changed something in my mind. He writes points that seem a bit repetitive as the book progresses, but a great book none the less.
And for that, I am thankful.
That there are people that take fulfilling the great commission as seriously as anyone else.
This is definately a book you need to pick up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Last Great Hope: Awakening The Great Commission, by Ronnie Floyd, is a book that desires to bring back into the minds of Christians the reality of the Great Commission.
Ronnie, within this book, address the need to continue following the directive of Christ: to carry the gospel message to all the world. He states that many have set this urging of Christ aside, even to the point where some have declared that it is not directed to those within this era of history.
His passion and concern for this topic, the Great Commission of Christ, is felt as each page is turned. His love for God and his concern for the lost is openly absorbed within each paragraph. He leaves no question as to the importance he places upon the Great Commission and the need for its continued observance.
For the Christian, this book will bring forth a renewed Spirit. For those seeking a relationship with Christ, this book will serve as a guide into the understanding of what it truly means to serve God.
All in all, this book is a recommended read, as it will enhance the life of anyone who opens their hearts as they open this book.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational, persuasive and encouraging

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SeekingExcellence
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a reminder of our purpose here on earth, if we call ourselves Christians. Our commission is to spread the news of God’s mercy and forgiveness, and his ability to rescue us. Yet we are distracted by our busy lives, entertainment, our fears, and by our many church-related activities.
Ronnie Floyd’s passion for the lost drives him to remove whatever roadblocks are in the way of their knowing God’s love for them. He steers us back to our highest priority; chapter-by-chapter he challenges our reasons for avoiding sharing the gospel, then gives us tools to carry out that task.
I was excited to read this book because I was anxious to learn good attitudes and practices for sharing this good news of the gospel. I have met very few people who seem hungry for spiritual things. Yet I want to give them a taste of what a joy this life on earth can be when they walk with the Lord, and know the promise of eternal life after physical death.
I tend to get overwhelmed by the concept of how much the world tends to naturally move away from God. But I am encouraged by Floyd’s reminder that we don’t work alone to bring light, and that the best remedy for spiritual dryness is action. An important part of our action is prayer, and we are given nine actions we can take to talk to Jesus daily.
I would have appreciated some more examples of how this pastor and others have helped people with crises and struggles. When our friends try to manage their lives apart from God, we can encourage them to find spiritual answers to their troubles. I like hearing about these accounts. I want to know what the turning point is when an unbeliever changes their mindset and begins to believe.
I love how the author constantly challenges the reader. “Think of the ways we allot our time and energy—our causes, our quests, our dreams, our hobbies and our pursuits,” he writes in Chapter 1. “How much eternal importance is in each one?” This reminds me of something I heard many years ago about taking a look at how you spend your time and money, and that will show you what you value most in life. A whole chapter in Our Last Great Hope covers the topic of evaluating everything financially.
I like the “Signs of Awakening” at the end of most chapters, gleanings from other authors and voices. For example, I am encouraged by a concept that the world is flat: no longer influenced only by a select few governments and businesses on the top, but also by all cultures and peoples, especially via the internet. I’m intrigued by the comment that as Christians we’ve been fleeing to the suburbs, leaving our inner cities to decline, and inspired to know about the Moravians in the 1700’s who prayed for a century.
I recommend this book. It will help you focus on what matters the most, and on being intentional about sharing your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very engaging and practical!

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With great urgency, Ronnie Floyd describes the Great Commission that Jesus left Christians as being the world’s “last great hope.” This book is a way of awakening individual believers as well as churches to the task of evangelism. He begins by inviting the reader to search their own heart towards the lost, and then gives practical ways that families and churches can partner together to further the Great Commission.
I found this book to be engaging and practical. The author’s passion for evangelism and Christian missions shines through this book, and this is contagious to the reader. It is a convicting book that can not be merely casually read, especially with the questions that the author asks the reader to ponder their involvement in the Great Commision. But it is also an encouraging book with practical and creative examples given of how one can help their families and churches be actively participating in evangelism, several from the author’s own life and experiences. It is a book that crosses denonimational barriers and focuses on what is truly important on believers, and I found that to be refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our Last Great Hope

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Every day we encounter scores of people headed to an eternity
without God. What will it take to wake us up to their desperate need for
a Savior?
While the earth's time clock ticks away,
well-meaning Christians go to church, pay their tithes, and pray for
foreign missionaries-going through the motions of Christian life as
millions face an eternity without God. If heaven is indeed for real, and
only those who have put their faith in Christ will be given entrance,
shouldn't we be making the most of every opportunity to share the
Gospel, the last great hope for all the world?Floyd calls us to live differently--living in a way that is markedly
different from those around us. He wants to see Christians forgoing much
of what we consider important that's against Biblical truth in order to
focus on Jesus and His word. He wants us to get outside the realm of
what is comfortable and focus instead on sweeping obedience.
The major themes that focus on Scripture serve to create an
influential and intensely challenging book. There is a very obvious
commitment here to teach Scriptural principles from the Bible and to
invite the reader to follow hard after Christ.
One small critique: the author should have employed more historical
examples and illustrations. That aside, I found that "Our Last Great
Hope" is a paradigm-forming resource with a message that Christians
desperately need to hear. Too many of us are living too securely and too
comfortably. The church could use a loving exhortation and Floyd
conveys it effectively.
I was given a courtesy copy of this book by the publisher in
exchange for a review. All views and opinions articulated are my own. I
did not pledge a positive evaluation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission
Ronnie Floyd
Book Description
Every day we encounter scores of people headed to an eternity without God. What will it take to wake us up to their desperate need for a Savior?
While the earth's time clock ticks away, well-meaning Christians go to church, pay their tithes, and pray for foreign missionaries—going through the motions of Christian life as millions face an eternity without God. If heaven is indeed for real, and only those who have put their faith in Christ will be given entrance, shouldn't we be making the most of every opportunity to share the Gospel, the last great hope for all the world?
Join pastor Ronnie Floyd as he challenges readers to face reality and begin a global movement to reach the lost. He says, "God is calling us to an awakening regarding his most urgent command found in Matthew 28:19 to go and make disciples of all nations. This Great Commission is the compelling charge given to us with divine authority by our Commander in Chief, Jesus Christ."
If the Great Commission was so important to Jesus, why have we relegated it to casual discussions and an annual campaign in our churches? An awakening has never been more needed. In this challenging book, Pastor Floyd discusses key imperatives such as:
--Get honest with yourself
--Wake up your church
--Understand the urgency
--Talk Jesus daily
--Reach the next generation now
--Minimize structure
The major themes that focus on Scripture serve to create an influential and intensely challenging book. There is a very obvious commitment here to teach Scriptural principles from the Bible and to invite the reader to follow hard after Christ.
I was hoping for a great book that would inspire people to share the gospel &amp; give them the tools with which to do it. Unfortunately, this wasn't it. I just didn't like it. I never got into it. I might give it a second shot.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our Last Great Hope by Ronnie Floyd

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our Last Great Hope begins with a challenge from the author: if Christians truly believe the saving grace of God is meant for all humanity, that heaven and hell exist, and God desires to be in relationship with all who are lost from the path Home, then what are Christians doing to fulfill the Great Commission in their daily lives?
Mr. Floyd’s book is a well-written, impassioned plea to consider Christ’s charge of the Great Commission. Relying on academic and cultural studies, Floyd exposes the decline in Christianity currently taking place in American society, and confronts the Church (and Christians) to take notice—and respond.
Consider the following statistical projections (pages 62-65):
* At present the population of the United States = 308 million
* 25% of Americans (75 million) identify as Christian
* 75% of Americans (233 million) either have not heard, or say they have heard the message of the Gospel and rejected Jesus Christ as the only way to Heaven
* At present the population of planet Earth is quickly approaching 7 billion
* 750 million people worldwide identify as Christian
* 38% (2.6 billion) say they have heard the message of the gospel of Jesus and rejected it
* 50% (3.5 billion) of the world’s population has yet to hear the gospel story
By sharing personal examples, Floyd offers advice on how to remove three of the most common stumbling blocks in sharing one’s faith and turn apathy into urgency, anxiety into compassion, and fear of rejection into a trust-building conversation.
Starting with the personal sphere, the author presents tips and practical steps in thinking through the demonstration of the Great Commission in one’s life, then through one’s family, and ultimately by way of one’s church to reach the community at large. Floyd provides strategies for engaging people locally and globally with the Good News of the gospel and how to think outside the box when attempting dialogue with people who may not readily identify a need for God in their life.
I highly recommend Our Last Great Hope to anyone searching to understand the great commission, questioning the purpose of evangelism, or looking to breathe new life into any church’s outreach efforts.
(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Great Commission

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OUR LAST GREAT HOPE, Awakening the Great Commission by Ronnie Floyd – The message of this book is a command given to us by Jesus, to go into world and spread the Gospel to all the world. I like the points Floyd brings out in the chapter titled, Awaken The Church, that the church today is more interested in entertaining us instead of keeping God's command of spreading the Gospel. We as Christians need to be sharing the Gospel with all the people, hear in America and in other countries around the world.
The main point of this book is to get Christians to evangelize and support mission at home and overseas, to spread the Gospel to all who have not heard the Good News. Also, to awaken the church that they are to be spreading the truth of the Gospel.
We need to be praying for our mission workers and that the unsaved will be opened to the truth of Jesus Christ.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Our last great hope

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was fortunate enough to read the Last Great Hope by Ronnie Floyd. It is a challenging book that is mostly about evangelism, though he touches on other things as well. He encourages evangelism and mission trips, has ideas on how the whole family can get involved, entire churches, etc. He rightly says that this is not an option; the great commission is a command and we are supposed to go out and make disciples.
I enjoyed this book, though at times it came across as guilt inducing. Still, he's right to proclaim a sense of urgency.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson in their Booksneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Well written, but with a rough start.

Date:September 12, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In a hopeless world, Dr. Ronnie Floyd of Cross Church says that acting upon Christ’s command to teach the Gospel in “our last great hope.” For Floyd, the Great Commission is much more than a gospel passage, but rather an ingrained way of life, a lifestyle he wishes to share with others through his 2011 book. Encouraging Christians to examine their own personal lives and motives and determine why they have not reached out to more people for the sake of Christ. Perhaps one has become placid in his or her faith, or they have simply fulfilled all of the “requirements” of salvation and see religion as a private practice. In order to combat these downfalls of mission work, Dr. Floyd instructs readers to give of themselves in a selfless and outlandish fashion. Through tithing, humbling one’s self before God, and even adoption, one can fulfill Christ’s call to spread the Gospel. However, though these actions are noteworthy, Dr. Floyd reminds all readers that Satan will work at any lengths to stop the spread of the gospel. Through careful prayer and fervent application, Floyd reminds readers that the Great Commission is the last hope for a dying humanity.
As one who struggles with spreading the gospel of Christ, this was an informative read. Thought it is probably geared more towards pastors, the text is written in “normal language” so those outside the ministry can apply the book to their lives. I especially appreciated the emphasis on prayer and tithing, actions that all believers, not just ministers can participate in. Through careful prayer and giving of myself, it is evident that there is nothing standing in my way to spread the good news of Christ. Overall, Dr. Floyd offers a simple, yet complex way of examining how all Christians can engage in the act of spreading the love of Jesus.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging to a true believer...

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Our Last Great Hope" by Ronnie Floyd was an emotionally written, well-timed book. The idea of awakening the Great Commission is something that needs to be spoken of and taught about on a more consistent basis. The life of Jesus Christ was not something that was lived so that we would put it away and never speak of it. The gospel of good news is to be discussed, dissected, and ultimately we should dedicate our lives to its truth and saving grace. When Ronnie Floyd writes about the responsibility that lies within a true understanding of the gospel, he writes with such fervor and zeal that you believe that you can take on the world for the cause of Christ. This book is an example of what a true dedication to the cause of Christ will do inside the willing heart of a believer. Christ died on the cross not because He desired to be famous, but for the sins of the entire world. This includes those who hear the gospel and choose to ignore it, those who never hear the gospel proclaimed, and those who have heard the gospel and say that they believe it. The aim of this book is not just to pump up those who are in that final group, but to challenge that final group to take their beliefs and put them into action. This was a good read and challenging to me as a believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Call to Evangelism

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
IntelMin
Location:Belleville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the initial book reviews of Our Last Great Hope by pastor and author Dr. Ronnie Floyd, I was somewhat reluctant to actually endeavor to read this work. Most of the reviewers portrayed the book as difficult to connect with and just missing the mark of greatness or better (or worse) yet not being able to make it past the introduction. Despite the relatively unfriendly remarks by fellow blog reviewers, I decided to make my own decision as to the merits of Dr. Floyd’s effort.
Unlike the individual who found the introduction to lack a connection to the reader, I found the opening salvo to Our Last Great Hope to be rather timeline and biblically centered. The topic of evangelism must find its roots in the Great Commission as well as the commands throughout scripture to declare the message of God’s salvation to the lost. With that said, Floyd rightly begins his discussion of this rather important aspect of the Christian walk by sharing his own experience as grasping that concept. The grand nature of sharing the gospel to a world replete with individuals lost in the morass of sin is daunting to say the least and must not be taken lightly. He reminds us of the church’s lack of effort over a long span of her history when it comes to sharing the gospel. Thankfully, many churches are re-evaluating their evangelistic efforts taking note of the command to share the gospel in their local communities, their towns, their nation and finally to the entire world.
Dr. Floyd opens his book with a salient reminder of the need for personal introspection most notably the need to focus our every effort on God. Are we trying to win the favor of man? If so, we must take note of the words of the Apostle Paul in this matter who reminds us “For am I now trying to win the favor of people, or God? Or am I striving to please people? If I were trying to please people, I would not be a slave of Christ.” True evangelism is focusing the lost on the message of the gospel, a message centered in the truth of God’s word. If God’s word and focusing on him are not first and foremost the center of our efforts in our daily life, if knowing Christ intimately, passionately, and sharing Christ constantly are not the hallmarks of our lives as Floyd so eloquently reminds us, then we need to stop before we start and reorient our lives to focus on God.
Additionally, Dr. Floyd makes note of disturbing trends in the church. Basing his statements on recent research by the Barna Group, “we are a church in crisis.” As noted by Dr. Floyd, our collective spiritual muscles are out of shape as we have for far too long been sponges and for that matter we have been dry sponges. What is needed is a renewed passion for the things of God evidenced by a zeal for studying scripture, a passion for the lost, the unabashed preaching of the gospel, rejection of Universalist ideals, a renewal of discipleship within the church, as well as being salt and light to a lost world. The church has succumbed in recent years essentially fallen asleep at the wheel. Dr. Floyd rather starkly reminds us to quit hitting the snooze button and to instead get out of our spiritual death beds and be about the Lord’s work as a great harvest of human souls awaits.
The urgency of the message we have been commanded to share is the next topic of discussion for Dr. Floyd. He rightly reminds the reader of the importance of adhering to sound doctrine in a time where increasingly the church has acquiesced to non-biblical concepts. Heaven and hell are real and matters of eternity are to put it simply, matters of eternal importance. We as believers must not lose sight of the fact that “true and complete theology instills a sense of urgency.” In an effort to demonstrate the urgency of evangelism, Dr. Floyd shares some rather startling facts. According to recent research there are 11.646 people groups in the world. Of these people groups, “6.734 groups contain less than 2 percent evangelical Christians.” Even in our own country, according to “projections of the North American Missions Board, more than 233 million Americans do not have a saving relationship with Jesus Christ.” Those statistics are sobering.
Dr. Floyd next provides the reader with some very practical ways of doing evangelism beginning with our own families and then reaching out into our communities. In many ways, a point made clearly by Dr. Floyd, parenting is a form of evangelism and discipleship. As we build on this foundation, it is next essential to begin to become more active in community outreach efforts. Believers can make an impact in their community in a number of ways that do not necessarily include standing on the street corner doing evangelism. There are a number of outreach efforts already established through which churches can connect with in order to meet the physical and spiritual needs of people, especially in the inner city. Delivering furniture, being a Big Brother or Big Sister, providing food for a soup kitchen or being part of a prayer ministry are just a small number of ways we can do evangelism.
Our Last Great Hope concludes with reminders on the need to live the Christian walk in such a way that we “talk Jesus daily.” This is perhaps the aspect of evangelism most believers fail to practice the most. The idea of speaking to a stranger about salvation through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross is frightening to most Christians. This should not be so. Dr. Floyd points out many times in his own life when he found himself “shrugging off the promptings” he felt by the Holy Spirit. Dr. Floyd reminds the reader of the words of the Apostle Paul in Romans 10:14 which declare “How can they believe without hearing about Him? And how can they hear without a preacher?” Most Christians likely feel it is the pastor’s job to declare the gospel message to those who just might by the grace of God wander through the doors of their church. This is such a short-sighted view of what the Bible outlines as evangelism. It is the duty of every believer to share the promise of salvation.
Finally, Dr. Floyd ventures into an area that will prick the conscience of many believers, namely the area of giving. It is a sad state of affairs when a church spends more money on toiletries in a month for their parishioners than it takes to dig fresh water wells for villages in India that will provide fresh drinking water for years to come. Dr. Floyd rightly reminds us “The tithe is not a policy of convenience, or an option to consider, or an exercise for the super-spiritual. It’s for everyone, at all times – as is the blessing that comes from offering it. Remember that God’s shovel is bigger than yours; you will never out give him.” Ultimately, it is all about where we are placing our treasures. Are we storing eternal treasures by adding daily to the kingdom of God or are we more concerned with our bank accounts and the comfort of our congregations? Our Great Last Hope is a kick in the pants holistic overview of the need for evangelism. May we keep in mind the words of Jesus found in Luke 10:2: “The harvest is plentiful but the laborers are few.” May we labor to spread the promise of salvation to the 6,734 unreached people groups while we still have today!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Couldn't even finish this book

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In Our Last Great Hope by Ronnie Floyd, Floyd stresses the urgency that we christians need to be spreading the good news of Jesus to everyone we meet. I absolutely agree with that but I had a problem with his overly exhubert self important way of expressing it. For example In chapter 3 he writes; I have the opportunity to have an impact on eternity itself:
* Heaven is said to be perfect, yet I can make it even better
* Heaven is said to be infinite, yet I can make it larger.
What's on your calendar for today? Any agenda items more pressing than those?
I notice he didn't include scripture to back up his views on impacting eternity because it is not scriptural. I painfully made it to chapter five and realized that I did not need to waste my time finishing this book to know, I do not recommend it!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Our Last Great Hope: Awakening the Great Commission - eBook
This review is fromOur Last Great Hope.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's okay

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:Texas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is called Our Last Great Hope and it's by Ronnie Floyd. I only got as far as the introduction and I simply just cannot connect to it. I mean, Pastor Ronnie did good and everything. It also has great concept like giving us a story and then giving us advice to follow. So, I'll give credit for those two things. But other than that, I can't get far enough. It's not a bad book, but it's not that good either, it's in between.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>