Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Resolution for Men - eBook

B&H Books The Resolution for Men - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.971 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Resolution for Men - eBook
Review 1 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for all men.

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
GMR1
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been through this book a few times now. The Resolution for Men is a biblical approach for building strong Christian men. You'll learn how and why to break the chains of past sinful behavior and how God wants you to live your life and lead your family. I really recommend going through this book as part of a small group and using the discussion questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book and recommend it to all men. It has great principles that many men lack and our society has taken away. Also watch the movie, Courageous, which goes with the book. It will make an impact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A life changer

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael
Location:Quebec, Qc
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finished to read this book too late but it's a treasure to have. I bought 4 additional copies to give to friends and church. I added a challenge at the end of the book to buy a copy of this book and to give it to another one. This book must be in every families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT READ!!!! Challenging yet Rewarding!!!!

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Drill SGT
Location:Raymond, NH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want to become a MAN that God designed you to be??? This book will open up all areas of your life and challenge you to really see where your heart is, how to lead your life/family, and to be a MAN and lead those in your life. Stop taking the responsibilities of being a man lightly and step up to the plate. Take on the challenges of life and STAND UP for what a Godly Man is suppose to look like and stop following the ways that men are being portrayed in today's media. If you don't take this challenge WHO WILL......better yet WHO IS GOING TO BE AN EXAMPLE FOR OUR FUTURE GENERATIONS????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good book in raising awareness.

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pathfinder
Location:Beijing, China
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have watched the movie "Courageous" (2011) from which this book is based from. The importance of this book is that it raises the awareness of the husbands responsibility of being a man, protector, teacher, godly husband and dad. If you are interested in taking a step forward into becoming more godly in your relationships I recommend watch the movie first and then read this book. Another resource I would recommend is "Disciplines of a Godly Man" by R. Kent Hughes. I have also found this to be a great resource in helping me to change myself so that I can become who God has called me to be in Jesus Christ. It is hard work to fight against bad habits and damaging ideologies, but well worth it if becoming a better follower of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I expected from a quality supplier!

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Belle, West Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I wanted, when I wanted it and at a great price. What more can I say, except thanks! Mike.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book on manhood I've read thus far!

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becoming a real man and practicing Biblical manhood are topics which I've blogged about and have read multiple book titles concerning within recent times. If you have been paying attention to my previous work, yes this will be the third book I've read which addresses the question "what makes a man, a real man?". However, I originally started reading this due to my appreciation for the movie Courageous, and me being curious about what they actually had to say about manhood came later. Then I also realized that one of the authors for The Resolution was Randy Alcorn; yup this is also my third Randy Alcorn book too!
The Resolution is as I previewed, a book about being a man in a Biblical sense. This goes over a variety of topics like how to treat a lady, how to treat your children, the importance of teaching your children about Jesus Christ, the great need for you to be a prayer warrior, why it's important to work hard, the importance of integrity, and other topics. This book goes over various verses and parables which are designed to inspire the reader to pursue Biblical manhood and to flee from what the popular, unsaved, cultural idea is for being a man. But the big question one must ask is... are the ideas which each author present throughout the book correct and let alone are they even possible? The Resolution, prior to actually reading the book itself, sounded pretty cool; keep in mind this was after watching Courageous.
I thought it was so cool that I actually bought the plaque from my local Christian bookstore and had my Pastor along with a Bible Study buddy co-sign it. After completing the book, I am glad I signed the Resolution because this is an extraordinary book which ought to be beneficial for all men; at least the ones who take it seriously. Are there some ideas which in extreme application equate to legalism? Yes, but frankly all theological book have that danger for the reader thanks to our sinful flesh. Even though the other two books on manhood I read earlier were good, there was something about The Resolution which was an even stronger eye opener. The way the authors presented this book was full of scriptural references, deep descriptive language for readers to imagine, ideas and questions which most men can relate to, and the lack of a need heavily rely upon personal anecdotes or gimmick scenes from the movie. Certain chapters really hit me hard, and actually have inspired me to look at life differently. I am glad to have read this and if you're a guy (whether young or old) reading this review right now I strongly advise you to read this too. I now take Joshua 24:15 much more seriously now, and for my need to become the man God wants me to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book speaks to the heart of men

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shar
Location:Northwest Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movie "Courageous" should be watched prior to reading this book for context but is not essential. This book is great for personal instruction but also is a great study for use in small groups of men of all ages. It speaks strongly to God's call written on the hearts of men! I witnessed great conviction in my husband and the men he has influence on after he studied this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making you a man and leader of your home

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
mike
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to really review this book? My wife has been asking me to step up and be the man of God. So the church was starting this couple’s class and I said I would do it with her. Not knowing that in return I was going to get slapped around by each lesson in the book. I needed everything that the book gave me guidance in my walk with the God, guidance with my wife, guidance with raising my daughter and becoming the leader that I knew I could be. If you think that you have a strong grip on your walk with God or in your marriage or even raising your child then I dare you to put it to the test with this book. Thank you Jesus for the beating that this book gave me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Forgiven
Location:Fort Knox KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is hard because it doesn't pull any punches. It was refreshing and a slap in the face at the same time. I loved it and it made me think. I have not finished it yet, but what I have read so far is inspiring. It is long past time when Christian men need to stand up and lock shields.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tony
Location:Vernal, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was loaned to me by an a friend at work. I am going to purchase another copy for myself and a friend. This book is written, easy to understand and supports what I am taught in my Church. I recommend it for all people. I plan to use some of what is taught in it at Mutual (Young Men & Women). This book is for all Christians, yes even Mormons like myself.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Lovell
Location:Auburn NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book shortly after the movie came out and felt led to facilitate a Sunday School class using it. I have gotten so much more out of it after reading it a second and third time. The authors hit on what God expects of a man on so many levels!
I look forward to Sunday morning and our discussions.
It's a great book with a great message. We as men need to wake up, be intentional and put passivity behind us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its a great read for both group and individuals

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh
Location:New York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Resolution. I believe every church should incorporate this book in their Men' s groups. Especially the young men who are seeking to be men of God and desire to take on the role God created them for. " as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading for all fathers

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
tommieaj
Location:Zephyrhills, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very insightful. Must reading for every man that is a father, husband, and family leader. Explains what God expects of you as the head of your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An absolute oustanding book from start to finish

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gerald Burley
Location:Mason, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched the movie Courageous first and was very impressed with the production. Our local church had also shown this movie and had a great turn out for it. I than ordered the book and started reading it, once I got started I did not want to put the book down. I found that staying focused I can look straight ahead into a life marked by faithfulness and trust in GOD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A much needed challenge.

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Reeves
Location:Lisbon, Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe as men we need to not only win the hearts of our wives and the respect of our families but also treasure those things as an ongoing purposeful focus in life. This book is an excellent tool to guide men Biblically in ways call us to task and be active in ways we likely don't even realize that there is neglect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changer

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
aarontd0688
Location:Massillon, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed this book. My marriage needed this book. And with our first child due in December, it will be more important than ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lyle Beabout
Location:Hilton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next to the Bible, this is the best resource in becoming a great husband and father with Biblical courage and resolve to lead your family to godliness. I would recommend this book to every husband/father I know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tool

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
T14bear
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I started reading this, while waiting for my copy of The Resolution for Women. I wanted to be able to support my husband in his decision. I was not disappointed. Well worth the time and effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Resolution for Men - eBook
This review is fromThe Resolution for Men.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read for any man!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
kjac
Location:Valley Springs, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read for any and every man, will take you on a much needed journey to find out who you are and how to be the man, husband, father, mentor, and friend God called you to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>