Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook

Master Books The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook

Many people don't agree with Ray Comfort, and many people write in to tell him so. Here, he's collected a vast number of questions on many diverse topics, from evil to evolution, abortion to atheism, and answers them with biblical responses. 176 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Review 1 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Defense of the faith on display

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife bought this book for me for Christmas and I enjoyed it very much. I've watched Ray witness on video and TV and you get the same feeling and tone in this book. Most of the defense comes from questions asked on Ray's site for atheists and it makes for interesting, sometimes amusing answers to some honest and some angry questions. Ray uses logic, humor, and evangelical bluntness to his answers, sometimes avoiding answering some questions directly by pointing out the illogic of the question instead. It's a good book to read to study how to defend your faith, but I would recommend Jason Lisle's book The Ultimate Proof for Creation first because it shows the logical fallacies and how to spot them to be able to logically and Biblically refute them. Ray's book is a great example of what it looks like to answer logically, but Jason's book will show you step by step how to do it. I still recommend this book, however, because it shows Ray's heart for the lost, his desire to equip the believer, and his love for God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ray Comfort is one of the most Biblically sound teachers out there today and this Q and A book gives his usually solidly Biblical answers to numerous often asked questions. As with most of his books, this one by Comfort is sure to feed the Believer new and old as well as offend the God-hater and Gospel-compromiser.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Got Questions?

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got questions? Here is a book of many answers regarding the Christian faith. Ray Comfort has compiled some of life's toughest questions he has received and offered his Biblically based answers. Most of these questions were from atheists and most of the answers were aimed directly at atheists. Ray Comfort wants to equip believers with the Biblical truth and facts that they can use to defend their faith. This book covers topics such as: Humanity: Rights and Suffering, The Bible: Biblical and Theological Issues, Science: Scientific Thought and Evolution, Philosophy: Beliefs and Worldviews, and Religion: God and Atheism. Questions about the Holocaust, Hell, Hitler, human origin, healing, and more are addressed. I really appreciate Mr. Comfort's heart for the lost and his love for our Savior. In almost every answer, he drives it home with the Gospel message, emphasizing repentance. However, I don't think his sarcastic approach (used to make a point) works effectively for everybody. One thing is certain: he doesn't sugarcoat anything. He is sincere; he even shares that he's not afraid of dying but he's afraid of the process of dying. (pp.108-115) He shows genuine concern for people's souls and their eternal destiny. He is humble; he doesn't claim to know all the answers. Yet he is confident when he gives answers based on God's Word. Mr. Comfort tells it as it is... comforting to hearers or not :).
~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not A Good Read

Date:June 18, 2011
Divided into five different sections: Humanity, the Bible, Science, Philosophy, and Religion. Ray Comfort answers questions from atheists base on Biblical truths.
This book has been written to help equip Christians who may not have an answer when confronted by those who question their faith.
In this book you will learn the answers to questions/statements such as:
“Evolution proves there is no need for God’s existence.”
“I’ve tried to praying, and it doesn’t work!”
“Do you ever doubt the existence of God? And if so, why?”
“Do you really believe the Holocaust was God’s punishment of the Jews?”
My thoughts- I was very interested to see what Ray Comfort had to say in this book. I have seen him on his show with Kirk Cameron and I was not impressed. I couldn’t wait to read this book to see if my opinion of him could be changed.
Unfortunately, I was unable to enjoy this book. I thought the questions were very good, but I felt that Ray Comfort failed to completely answer many of the questions. Most of the time it seemed as if he completely avoided the question.
Once in chapter three he said he was impressed by Charles Darwin and later in the chapter he said Charles Darwin was a raving man. It was only when I looked back at the two different passages that I discovered that the first time he was being sarcastic. I would think it may be difficult for some people to realize the sarcasm unless they were really studying this book.
I would not recommend this book. If you want to be able to defend Christianity, it would be best to just study the Bible, so you would know exactly what to say. There is also no harm in telling the person that you need to find the answer and you would get back to them.
Disclosure of Material Connection- I received The Defender’s Guide for Life’s Toughest Questions by Ray Comfort for free from Master Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

“Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions"

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mahez007
Location:Chennai, India
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions” by ‘Ray Comfort’ from Master Books is an interesting book on apologetics. This book is written in a conversational style and it deals with topics such as:
 Humanity: Rights and Suffering
 The Bible: Biblical and Theological Issues
 Science: Scientific Thought and Evolution
 Philosophy: Beliefs and Worldviews
 Religion: God and Atheism
Ray does a fabulous work of answering some tough questions that are thrown at Bible believing Christians by atheists. His style makes the readers think and ponder over answers written by him. There is no single defined pattern of answering the questions. Ray’s style of answering differs with each and every question. And, this works to his advantage. Ray scores in many areas and ducks at some others. The book is good in bits and pieces.
Particularly I enjoyed his answers to the questions like --
 Are you afraid of dying?
 Are you honestly affirming the case that all the ingredients to produce life were present on earth before life existed?
However, while answering a question on evolution, he goes to the extent of quoting that “the American public school system is a failure.” (pp81). Here, rather than dealing with the subject of evolution, he fluctuates to the different issue altogether in his answer.
Anyone fond of apologetics could give it a try. One will gain some insights on how to answer some sheepish questions fielded at ‘believers’ by so called ‘atheists’. May not be the Ray Comfort’s best but worth a read.
I would give this one three out of five stars.
Please note that I received this book from New Leaf Publishing Group through its book review bloggers program in exchange for an honest review. Also be informed that the opinions I have expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good guide but it's much like his other works

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
JonInCA
Location:Lincoln, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am familiar with Ray Comfort’s ministry. It has its good points and its bad points. So I was eager to read this new book. The book is laid out by main topic then with “real life questions” that fall under each category. For the most part everything is logically laid out.
It is fair to say that, as I was familiar with his books before, there weren’t many new ideas here. That’s not to say it’s a compilation of things he has written elsewhere. It is fair to say that since I’ve read through a half dozen of his books (give or take) I have started to get a sense of what he has to say. There are a few times where he doesn’t do the best job of explaining things. Sometimes (and this happens to people of all different world views) he has problems seeing things from the other side. While his answer will help bolster the person who wants to believe it doesn’t do much for the person who is honestly questioning. Nothing as egregious as the banana thing he’s done in the past, but still it might be good to have had a non-believing friend look over the book to give feedback.
If the book is meant to be a guide to help a Christian answer questions in their own mind it does that job considerably well. If it’s meant to help a Christian discuss these issues with non-believers (or even those who are outright opposed to Christianity) it does fail in some places.
Overall I like this little book and would recommend it, especially if you’re unfamiliar with Ray’s work.
I received a copy of the Defender’s Guide to Life’s Toughest Questions for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review. The views are my own and have not been affected by that fact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Variety of questions, blunt, and conversational

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fairly short book (176 pages), I thought that The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions by Ray Comfort would be something I could read through in a couple of days and get a review turned out fairly quickly. Instead, I've had it in my hands for just over two months.
Obviously, for me, it hasn't been an easy read. But that doesn't describe it well either. I guess it is just that I needed to think about what I was reading, so I didn't go reading large chunks at a time. And life has been busy.
I was not familiar with Ray Comfort. Apparently, he co-hosts a televsion show with Kirk Cameron and is fairly well known for debating atheists. That comes through in this book.
Comfort does address a number of questions that many people would shy away from. Although I didn't always agree with his answers (not that I exactly disagreed either), he really did give me a lot to think about. And maybe something to say when I'm confronted with questions.
One section I did really like had to do with the topic of prayer. The "question" (actually a statement in this case) was "I've tried praying, and it doesn't work!" Ray talks about a couple of things in response, getting into understanding the will of God. He talks about two types -- the permissive will, and the perfect will. The first part, though, addresses the idea that God does answer prayer. One part I really liked: "So stop clicking your fingers and expecting God to come running like some sort of divine butler. It doesn't work that way." God does answer. It just isn't always "yes."
I love the wide variety of questions. I love the well thought-out answers. I mostly liked his fairly blunt style. I love that it felt like a conversation.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a fan of Ray Comfort, and this book is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Provides biblical answers to atheists.

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Wetumpka, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having this book for a week, I was beginning to wonder if I was going to have anything to say about it. That’s not, as you may think, that there is nothing to say about it; rather, it’s because the book was quietly lifted from my possession by my oldest son so that he could read it first. A preacher-in-training, he gives it his hearty approval.
When I sat down to read it, I saw why.
The Defender’s Guide for Life’s Toughest Questions is based on questions presented to Christians by those who don’t know God; more specifically, they are questions raised by atheists. Mr. Comfort has taken their questions and provided biblical answers so that if you are ever confronted by these issues, you will know how to respond.
One criticism that I’ve read about this book is that the answers aren’t in-depth enough. I don’t find that to be so. Please remember that Mr. Comfort is answering many different questions on a broad range of subjects in a limited amount of space; I believe that he has succeeded at what he set out to do. At any rate, this book is a starting place. If you need more information than he was able to provide here in the space he had available, you can always do more research.
Christians are called by the Lord to be prepared to give an answer to those who would ask us about our faith, our hope; Ray Comfort has done some of the work for you (at least on some of the questions you will face). Read this book and be prepared. Read it and be blessed.
I was provided with a free copy of this book by New Leaf Publishing for purposes of review; I was not required to give a positive review, simply an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read for how to answer

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for a good and strong apologetic book to read to help prepare you for some of life's toughest questions that might get thrown your way?
Ray Comfort of "The Way of the Master", offers you insights to questions that many may have or try to throw one's way (and throw one off one's way" via, "Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions".
Addressing topics such as:
* Humanity: Rights and Suffering;
* The Bible:Biblical and Theological Issues;
* Science: Scientific Thought and Evolution;
* Philosophy: Beliefs and Worldviews, and
* Religion: God and Atheism.
Ray Comfort offers both a layman, but also grounded look into questions covering these five topics that for some, may either leave one puzzled or just struggling on how to answer.
This is perfect to equip children who are leaving for college, for new Christians, or maybe you find yourself at a lost sometimes on how to handle those, sounds too tough to handle questions that may get thrown your way.
The way that this book is written, it's written in a conversational style that will leave you feeling more like you are having a discussion with Ray over a cup of coffee (or tea) and doesn't either talk down or even over one's head. What I enjoyed most about Ray's book, is Ray is not afraid to tackle those "scary" questions that for many, its just easier to just sweep under the rug and hope that maybe the next person will answer.
At the same time, this is not watered down so don't expect a quick read; Instead one will find a scriptural backed, solid reasoning and very "meaty" filled book that for as thin as it may look the book at first glance, seems a quick read, but will leave one at the end of the book, not only encouraged and prepared to handle those tough questions that will get thrown one's way, but for the reader, confronted and challenged to rethink one's positions on the many topics presented in a "Defender's Guide for Life's Toughest Questions".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.