Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Deadly Disclosures - eBook

Master Books Deadly Disclosures - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Review 1 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very dull

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judie
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get into this book. I found it very uninteresting. I have an eighteen year old that read it. He said he did not enjoy it, but finished it any way.I never finished it. This is just my taste. Other people may love it. The world is made up of different personility types. If you have a chance to try the book before buying then do so because you might love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lolo
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had never read any of the books by this author, but they have a clear spiritual message. I would recommend it to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story line

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Albert Tellers
Location:Minneapolis MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. It caught my interest from the beginning. Looking forward to reading other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME Suspense!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinah Harris is a down-and-out FBI agent who's survived a family tragedy - barely. Once a rising star in the Bureau, she now struggles to get through each workday until she can drown in her favorite wine. When her former partner pushes buttons and removes her from her day-to-day teaching job and gets her reinstated to agent status, can she keep it together to find the missing Secretary of the Smithsonian?
I love real characters. You know the kind I mean - the kind with the sort of flaws that we've struggled with personally, the kind that the guy down the street has or that we see in the carpool line at school. Dinah Harris is such a character.
Following a huge personal tragedy, she falls into a deep depression and tries to numb the pain with alcohol - which only adds an alcoholic's problems to her original ones. It doesn't help that she's been demoted to a teacher at the FBI academy and lost her dream position of star agent.
The story opens as her partner returns, having gotten permission for her to work the case of the missing Smithsonian secretary, and you can feel Dinah's pain as you read. Knowing that she was once totally different than she is now, you can't help but cheer her on through this rare second chance. As she makes mistake after mistake and you learn more of her story, you just want to hand her a box of tissues and give her a big hug.
If Deadly Disclosures were only the story of Dinah Harris solving a high-profile case, it would be a good one. What makes it even better is the other side of it - the shady political deals happening behind the scenes. While I'm about as political as a slug, I found this fascinating, mainly because I learned so much from this part of the story.
Thomas Whitfield, the Secretary of the Smithsonian, was a devout evolutionist - until the day he became a Christian. With Whitfield interested in Creationism before he disappeared, Dinah finds herself in a no-holds-barred search for the truth - as bodies begin to appear and her own downward spiral continues.
I feared that a story where the author had a distinct desire to teach something would be preachy, but Deadly Disclosures is anything but. With politicians and heads of organizations interviewed throughout the book, the information is shared at just the right pace for a newbie to understand, and, better yet, both sides of the issue are explained.
Cave uses natural dialogue and the twists and turns of the case to educate the reader about creationism. It is clear that she stands on a distinct side of this issue, but scientific information is shared to support all premises. Both sides of the issues are very well explained and inherent to the story, making it come across as a really well-researched suspense novel.
Now, with that technical stuff out of the way, this is a really awesome start to a great trilogy. It's fast-paced, action-packed, and a dramatic mystery that makes you feel for the main character even as you try to solve the mystery before she does. (I liked it so much that I read the whole series in two days. I can't wait for Cave's next book!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great debut novel from Julie Cave!

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shaun Tabatt
Location:Cottage Grove, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Disclosures is the first book in the Dinah Harris Mystery series published by Master books. As you may surmise from the series name, the main character is Dinah Harris. When we first encounter her in the story, she is a mostly washed up FBI agent, who is struggling with depression, alcoholism and is on the verge of suicide. The one thing that keeps her going, the routine that gets her up in the morning is her job. At one time Dinah was a highly respected FBI field agent, but after one of her cases goes horribly wrong, Dinah was removed from active field duty and now spends her days instructing the fresh off the farm FBI recruits. For better or worse, this was her day to day existence until a mysterious abduction thrusts her back into active field duty.
The seemingly unlikely abduction victim is Thomas Whitfield, secretary of the Smithsonian. As Dinah and her partner Ferguson begin their investigation of the alleged crime, it seems that nobody is willing to admit to any conflicts with Thomas Whitfield or want of doing him harm. However, the deeper they dig, the higher the number of people who are getting threatened or harmed along the way to protect some unknown secret. Dinah and Ferguson are unable to catch a break in the case until they meet Andy Coleman, president of Genesis Legacy, a Christian apologetics organization. Andy shares with them the story of how he and Thomas Whitfield got to know each other on the debate circuit, Thomas making the case for evolution and Andy making the case for creation / intelligent design. Through an unlikely meeting in the aftermath of the horror of Columbine High School, the direction of their relationship begins to change and Andy is able to tell Thomas about the faith that underlies his belief in a creator and intelligent design. Through this and a series of follow up conversations, Andy shares the gospel with Thomas, who eventually repents and accepts Christ as his Lord and Savior. Along with this new found faith, comes a rejection of his former beliefs in evolution. While this would be highly unpopular within the circles Thomas runs in, Dinah and Ferguson struggle to come to terms with whether or not it’d be enough to get him murdered.
There are still many more exciting twists and turns in the story that I could share, but I’ll end my spoilers for now as I want readers to be able to fully enjoy the story for themselves. All thing considered, Deadly Disclosures is a great piece of fictional writing. The book moves along at a fast pace, which made it really hard to put down. I actually finished the entire novel in about 48 hours. The story that unfolds around the creation / evolution debate felt like it was pulled from the headlines. The interchanges with Andy Coleman throughout the story provide an excellent summary of the case for creation / intelligent design over evolution. There are also several clear articulations of the gospel in the story that take place between Andy Coleman and Thomas Whitfield and eventually between the Colemans (Andy and Sandra) and Dinah. Although Deadly Disclosures is a work of fiction, it does a great job of taking on some raw life issues (tragic loss, depression, alcoholism, etc.) and showing that Jesus Christ is all sufficient, able to heal the deepest of wounds and deliver from even the deepest of hurts. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Deadly Disclosures and would highly recommend it, both as an excellent fictional story and for its presentation of the creation / evolution debate and its presentation of the gospel. Readers who enjoy Deadly Disclosures will also want to consider The Shadowed Mind (Master Books, 2010) and Pieces of Light (Master Books, 2011), books two and three in the Dinah Harris Mystery series.
Author Information:
Julie Cave credits her parents for introducing her to books at a young age, which fostered an enduring passion for reading and writing. As a child, her favorite authors were Enid Blyton and C.S. Lewis and it wasn’t long before she began copying them, writing short stories for anyone who would read them. At fifteen, two things happened which would shape her future: she heard a creation science speaker at her church which cemented her faith in God; and she finished her second novel-length story and realized she had fallen in love with writing novels. After school, she completed a health science degree, got married, and worked in banking and finance. All the while she wondered how she could combine her love of writing and her strong passion for Christian apologetics and evangelism. One weekend at a church camp, a friend asked, ‘What if the guy in charge of the Smithsonian Institution went missing?’ The result – and the answer to that question – is Julie’s maiden published novel, Deadly Disclosures. Since then, Julie has written and released the other two books in this trilogy, The Shadowed Mind and Pieces of Light. Julie has two daughters and lives in Brisbane, Australia with her family. She divides her time between being a wife, a mother and an author.
Disclaimer:
This book was provided by Master Books for review. The reviewer was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deadly Disclosures

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally read mystery genre. So it took me longer to read this book compared to what I normally read. But it did not take away from this amazing book.
As I got to reading the story was very intense. Dinah Harris is a FBI agent. Due to the loss of Dinah's husband and young son was in a deep depression and turned to alcohol for comfort. She battles with the fact that she has no desire live anymore.
Due to her abuse of alcohol she was responsible for the death of a young man that was an informant in a gang investigation. Because of her actions she is removed from active duty and put to work at teaching a class for the FBI.
She is pulled back into active duty even though it is very apparent that she has a drinking problem. She is asked to assist in a very high profile case of the death the Secretary of the Smithsonian Museum. The case turns into a real puzzle because they know someone within the system has to be involved.
The author goes into great detail about the case. She also has an amazing skill when she goes into explaining the tension between the two issues and groups, Evolution and Creation.
I you enjoy mysteries this is definitely the book for you.
I give this a book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure:
I received a copy of this book for review from the author. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent mystery/suspense!

Date:November 25, 2010
Dinah Harris is an FBI agent struggling with alcoholism, depression, and dealing with her past. Recently put on administrative duty for messing up a case, she is asked to come back to full duty to invesitage the disappearance of Thomas Whitfield, the Secretary of the Smithsonian. Once Whitfield's body is found, the media coverage kicks up a notch, and Dinah is back in the media spotlight. Will she be able to set aside her personal problems long enough to solve this case? Or will she disgrace the FBI again?
A huge fan of mystery/suspense novels, I loved Deadly Disclosures by Julie Cave! The author portrays the main character differently than most heroines in Christian fiction, which often come off a little too perfect for my taste. Dinah is a realistic character with numerous problems.
The creation / evolution debate is at the center of this book. I found it interesting as I didn't know many of the specific details of this topic. The topic was explained in a way that was part of the story and not overly preachy. I did find it a little hard to believe that someone would be murdered over wanting to highlight creation as a plausible explanation of how the world was created. Perhaps I'm being naive, though.
I also liked the way everyday events and conversations with friends opened Dinah's mind to who God is. She really struggled with faith and understanding why all the Christians around her believed.
The story moved pretty quickly and there were several twists and turns that kept me hanging on to the very end. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Shadowed Mind.
I received a free copy of this book from New Leaf Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good story by a new author. Julie Cave knows where she's writing about. The battle between evolutionists and creationists. I spend a lot of time lately reading and watching a lot about what the Bible teaches about creation, so what Julie tells us in this story sounds very familiair to me and it's like reading a repetition. Because of that I could see where the story was heading and it didn't hold my interest well.
The story line was very well. It wasn't easy to find out who the bad guys were, so Julie did a good job on this.
The character of Dinah Harris was very good developed. She was a very human character and easy to compare with.
I hope to read more of Julie some day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Jones
WARNING! This book should come with a warning!If you begin to read this book at night, you will not get much sleep because you wont want to put this book down! The author's descriptions of Dinah Harris, the main character, practically leaps off the pages as you discover Dinahs interesting character traits! The action, adventure and suspense woven through the book create vivid images that make it hard to put down!Julie Cave builds this book around a character, Dinah Harris, an FBI agent with skeletons in her closet. Dinahs assignment to a high level, priority case leads through dangerous twists and turns that surprised me. Dinahs case: Discover what happened to Thomas Whitfield, secretary for the Smithsonian. He has seemingly disappeared into thin air! The discovery of Whitefields body leads Dinah on a treacherous investigation that eventually causes Dinahs life to be jeopardized! You will want to rush through this book to discover for yourself the answers to this mystery. HOWEVER, take the time to enjoy this journeybecause tucked away in this mystery is another mystery of faith that is REALLY ASTOUNDING! I have read this book twice now. I enjoyed the second reading even more than the first! While this book fits into the fiction category, through a little investigation of my own, I have discovered that it is closer to fact than you can imagine! The scientific reasoning and documentation in this book are accurate! The threats and dangers that Creationist in this book face are also portrayed in an accurate manner! This book has inspired me to continue to study and grow in my faith! No profanity or pornographic writing appears in this book. The main character does have character flaws, but the writer has dealt with them very tastefully. If you love well-written mystery with suspense you will love this book! *The only compensation I received from this company was a free book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Move over John Grisham, Julie Cave is in town!Normally, I'm not a huge fan of the suspense genre but Julie Cave outdid herself with Deadly Disclosures. This is the first book in the trilogy and the next book is due out in October - I can't wait! I was hooked from the start of the book and could hardly put it down. I think Julie Cave has definitely made a place for herself in the literary world. If you are into kidnappings, political crimes, suspense, mystery, murder...this book has it all. And if that's not enough for you, the political drama and undermining in this book basically mirrors many of the political headlines we read here in the U.S.FBI special agent Dinah Harris, is a very believable character who struggles with depression and alcoholism and is haunted by the mistakes of her past. She's gritty and sarcastic, tough skinned and sharp-tongued. While portraying a "tough as nails" exterior, Dinah is searching to be set free from her demons and doesn't even realize it. I became so engrossed in her character that I found myself willing her to live, as she dabbled with thoughts of suicide.When the secretary of the Smithsonian, Thomas Whitfield, disappears and the FBI becomes involved, Dinah is brought back in to work on the case even though her reputation as an FBI agent has been sullied by her past. Her partner, David Ferguson, knows that Dinah is the best in the field and that the FBI can't work the case without her. As they plunge headlong into investigating Whitfield's murder, people associated with him start dying and even Dinah ends up fighting for her life - the one she so desperately wanted to end.Deadly Disclosures will keep you reading long into the night!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Dinah Harris is a washed up FBI agent who has a major drinking problem. She should have been fired, but the powers that be, figured surely she couldn't cause too much harm in a teaching position. However her friend Agent Ferguson, believes that she is not washed up and still has great skills to offer in helping to solve a delicate case. The Secretary of the Smithsonian has gone missing and he needs to be found, and publicity needs to be kept low. Ferguson and Harris, work together trying to figure out why in the world anyone would kidnap a nice mild mannered man like Thomas Whitfield. They find the deeper they dig the more complex this case becomes. Not only that, the investigation quickly turns into a murder investigation when Thomas Whitfield's body shows up in the trunk of a car fixing to be crushed for scrap. They really are baffled to figure out why anyone would want the man dead, he seemed to have no enemies, but when people talk to the FBI about this case they have a tendency to wind up dead. Three of the people they have talked to about Thomas Whitfield have been found dead. How many people will die before they solve this case? And how high is the stakes in this case, it seems that the powers that be, have lots of control over the decisions being made about the case. Dinah will face her own demons from her past, will they destroy her? Has Ferguson wasted his time, effort and trust on a drunk? Julie Cave, has brought an exciting story, that follows along with the political climate of America. This book will have you on the edge of your seat as you realize that some of the things you are reading are just a bit too real for your peace of mind. Do not miss this book!!!This book was provided by the publisher for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
"Deadly Disclosures" is a well-written contemporary detective suspense novel. The story was fast-paced, and the world-building was excellent. The details about the setting and the job brought the world alive in my imagination.The characters were interesting and had realistic struggles. We didn't find out the details of why Dinah was so broken until late in the story, which made it difficult for me to bond with her, but enough information was dribbled out up until then that her actions were understandable and I cared about her.I felt that some parts of the ending were wrapped up a little quickly--there were a few minor details that I questioned as they seemed to contradict something said earlier or seemed a little convenient. However, I was reading a galley and these minor details might have been fixed by the final version of the book.The two main characters weren't Christian, but there were several Christian topics brought up during the novel. For example, a short TV debate between an atheist (the Secretary of the Smithsonian in his younger years) and a Christian was described during the murder investigation. Both atheist and Christian arguments were treated respectfully with no "straw men" arguments or quick conversions. Neither Christians nor atheists were portrayed as all good or all evil. Members of the secretive organization being investigated were shown doing good things and genuinely objecting to the murders. So, overall, I thought the Christian elements were handled very well and wouldn't bother most readers, but it is a Christian novel.There was no sex and no bad language. I'd highly recommend this novel as well-written, clean reading.I reviewed this book as a free review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deadly Disclosures - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Jones
Deadly Disclosures bridges a gap that often exists between well-written fiction and Christian fiction. This is a captivating, intriguing, suspenseful, and completely believable story that happens to have characters who, during the course of the tale, realize their need for a Savior.The story is set in Washington D.C. and has many of the same elements that made The DaVinci Code so popular powerful public figures in secret societies willing to do anything to further their cause. While both works of fiction deal with controversial religious topics, an important difference is that Julie Caves work presents factual historical events about a much-debated scientific and societal issue today creation vs. evolution.Cave presents the scientific facts in a fascinating way and brings to light the tension that exits between the two schools of thought.The plot is well developed with twists that will keep the reader guessing. The main character is as mysterious as the storyline and the reader will be just as anxious to figure her out and to know what it is from her past that haunts her. Cave has accomplished something that many authors have attempted and failed to teach in the context of a great story. Definitely a page-turner, this book will keep its readers up late into the night.Cave wraps everything up with a satisfying ending. The only thing the reader is left wanting is the next Dinah Harris mystery.The reader may still not be able to sleep once the last page is turned, however, because some of the issues raised in Deadly Disclosures may leave the reader a bit shaken, with much to consider and contemplate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.