Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Blessings of Brokenness

Zondervan The Blessings of Brokenness

If your life is crumbling to pieces, you probably don't feel much like you're being blessed. Yet best-selling author Stanley believes that Jesus can use this "breaking time" to help you grow spiritually and learn to comfort others in the real world of suffering. By losing control of your life, you may actually gain something far greater---intimacy with Jesus himself. 128 pages, hardcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Blessings of Brokenness
Review 1 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for growth toward God's Will.

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hopediamond
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent book. I am re-reading it. It is a book that will touch your heart and soul and help you draw closer to God. I love it. It is a book that would be good for a study group or even just for individuals. It is a great book to help understand why we are going through certain things in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has helped many.

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hugs
Location:Noblesville, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so high on this book that I have given away over 50 copies. Brokenness is the only way God can change most peoples hearts therefore it is a real blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend this book

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Longmont, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book of Dr. Stanley's that I have read. I highly recommend it. I had some trepidation because of the word "brokenness", afraid maybe it meant being beaten down and demoralized so you will bend to God's will. Having listened to Dr. Stanley however, I was pretty sure my belief about brokenness was skewed by some past bad experiences I had and that I needed to read the book for my own spiritual growth, so forced myself to read it. I experienced more and more peace and freedom as I read the book. The examples of the people in the Bible he uses and how he explains how God worked in their lives was very helpful as I examined my own life, especially Moses as God has used Hebrews 11:24-28 to strengthen my relationship with Him in the past. As I read the book I came to understand how much more the people around me will be blessed and see Jesus in my life when I allow Him to remove all of the dead branches in me that aren't producing fruit for Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
The Blessings of Brokenness will help you cope with God's modeling process of you. He's modeling you to the character of Jesus Christ and anything that doesn't fit His will He'll take out of your life. Circumstances are God's tools to mold you. This book will help you see how God causes all things to work together for your good and His glory if you'll only trust Him. I recommend this book to all believers questioning why God's allowing certain circumstances in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lauren Alexander
This was a great book. A very easy read. Help us to understand how God can use the ugliness in our lives for his glory...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
V. Crane
A deeper Biblical knowledge of the meaning behind difficult times bringse a depth of peace from knowing the love of God.The path to this type of peace in times of brokenness is explained by Dr. Charles Stanley in a tender spiritual and intellectual manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ormand Hook
An excellent book. As a psychologist and a person that has suffered with some of the same mental anguish, this book covers life and repair from a truly Christian perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gale Carner
The best of the best to read when your dreams have been shattered or you lost a loved one. I have read this book several times when I have had situations that were very difficult.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bruce Wood
I'm sure that I would not have appreciated the deep truth that Dr. Stanley shares in this book had I not first personally experienced deep and painful brokenness. This has been one of the most helpful and encouraging books have I have read in my 30 years as a believer. To Pastor's and Counselor's: As a former lay-elder and teacher in a Bible-teaching church, I had been blinded by pride, resulting in a critical spirit that deeply affected our elder team. This book has been used to accelerate my restoration process. Praise the Lord for loving me enough to break me, forgive me and restore me! Get several copies for saints that are going through deep painful times or in desperate need of God's breaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Blessings of Brokenness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2000
Customer Avatar
Brenna Kate
A very encouraging book about why we suffer as Christians, and Stanley gives insight into how much we can gain through growth as a result of trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.