Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You

Thomas Nelson Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You

Most of the time we only think about Mary, the mother of Jesus, at Christmastime. We remember that she gave birth to Jesus, but there is often little exploration beyond that role. In Heaven in Her Arms, Catherine Hickem takes a closer look at this woman of faith, to see what lessons she can teach women, and especially mothers, today.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Review 1 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For Mothers Especially....

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle of this book is Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means to You. When I first chose to read this book I have to admit I went in with some trepidation. Was it going to be a book of worship of Mary, the Mother of Jesus? Was it going to focus on glorifying her? I was pleasantly surprised that when I finished reading it, I not only had a better sense of who Mary was, but I also found myself glorifying God the Father, not Mary :) This is a wonderful book for anyone to read, but as a mother myself, I found it particularly relevant. It made me relate to the issues I have as a parent, the emotions. I loved this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical and Uplifting

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
SEWilson
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heaven In Her Arms
By Catherine Hickem
One of the single most fascinating people of the Bible, to me, is Mary, the mother of Jesus. In different seasons of my life, I have thought about her life, her heart, and her willingness to forsake everything in order to partake in the plan God had for her life. Catherine Hickem's book, Heaven in Her Arms is a fantastic, intimate look at the life and heart of Mary. Hickem takes her readers on a journey, to the very heart of who Mary was. We see early on, that God chose Mary as participant in his plan of Salvation based not on lofty heritage, but based on the righteous condition of her heart. I deeply appreciate the eloquent way in which this book examines Mary's response to the angel's news that she was to give birth to the Son of God. She was not without fear or questions- in fact, she was very honest about both of those things. But, her fear did not consume her and her questions were an honest response to quite shocking news. I agree with the author when she writes that she is grateful that Mary asked God questions. "She was able to quickly comprehend the situation she was in and authentically put her concerns before God." Oh, that I am able to do that in difficult situations, as well! It is through asking God honest questions that we authenticate our relationship with Him, seeking deeper truths about who God is. The book continues to examine every aspect of Mary as the mother of Jesus, including the facts that Mary knew being a mother would be difficult, she knew to be there when things got tough, she would have to let her Son fulfill his purpose, she knew to stay connected and she knew to be a woman of prayer.
Every aspect of Mary's life that Hickem writes in this book is directly applicable to moms today. Sure, the times are vastly different, but many things remain the same. This book spoke directly to my new mommy heart, and both challenged and comforted me on this journey. Each chapter helped me to look at my relationship with my own mother in a different light, as well as my newest role as a mother to my little girl. Raising children is a difficult task, that's for sure. But somethings are just as true today as they were when Mary received the life- and world- changing news that she was to bring the Savior into this world. I honestly didn't expect to get so much practical advice and insight from this book as I did. I initially thought it would be more of an exegetical look at the scriptures involving Mary. What a wonderful surprise it was to be so blessed and challenged through reading this! I'd give this book 4 out of 5 stars- a good read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A must read for mother

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mary's relationship with God and Jesus. Raising Jesus as a little boy to the man He was. Catherine is kinda expert when it talks about motherhood. The book no just talks about being Mary's mother to Jesus but, it talks about why God do choose Mary to bear our Saviour! It shows the intimacy with which God longs to participate in the life of a mother. It shows the intimacy with which God longs to participate in the life of a mother... speaks about how we need to look at Mary as a parenting example and how the Lord has given us the privilege of our children to lead us closer to Him. Every mother should read this. I recommend this not just to mothers but to every Christian as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Parenting/Bible Study Book

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Inman, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“God has met me in those difficult places and has answered prayers few thought He would answer. Sometimes He made me wait until He had put all the pieces in place so He could give me His best answer. Sometimes He has said no when I made a request, but only because He had a better yes in store."
The rare chance that there were few minutes of alertness after a full day’s of travel on deputation have been spent reading, “Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You” by Catherine Hickem. The book proved to be, in a very real, Scriptural based manner, an in depth study of the life of Mary, from the very first glimpse of her in the Bible as the angel Gabriel gives her the great news of her privilege to carry God manifested in the flesh: the Savior the world had longed for, to the very last mention of her as she waits in the Upper Room to be filled with the Holy Ghost alongside Jesus’ disciples. Not only does Hickem give great insight into Mary’s life, she also relates these ‘life principles’ to all women and mothers today.
I throughly enjoyed this book, an ‘easy read’ that is filled with honest confrontation of issues in our world today as well as experiences that Hickem has personally experienced as a psychotherapist. The study guide in the back of “Heaven in Her Arms” would make this volume a wonderful choice for a ladies’ group, book club, or prayer team as it is an outstanding reference on parenting and womanhood. I wholeheartedly recommend this to all women, married or single, with a few reservations: there are a few underlying implications of the trinity and a “sinner’s prayer”. As my IBC professors would say, “Eat the meat and spit out the bones:” there are so many succulent, meaty things in this book-eat up but don’t choke!
(I received this book free from Booksneeze.com, required only to write my honest opinion, be it positive or otherwise.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heaven in Her Arms

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What it Means for You is written by Catherine Hickem, a licensed psychotherapist, an author, speaker, coach, and counselor with years of experience. This non-fiction story is a look into the heart and life of Mary. Why exactly did God choose Mary to be the mother to His son? Did she share the same anxiety and fears that any other mother faces? How did she deal with those fears and anxiety? All of these questions (and more) are presented in this book. By looking at how Mary dealt with her fears and insecurity we can learn how to emulate her and to develop our own close relationship with the Lord. Heaven in Her Arms is absolutely fantastic for any mother or mother-to-be.
I initially chose this book because its synopsis stated things that I was currently dealing with and knew I would be feeling as we made a big move and career change. "Heaven in Her Arms will touch your heart if you are facing fear and uncertainty, wondering about leaving your plans behind, feeling a need for community and the support of other women, or wanting to deepen your life of faith." But after reading the book, I felt my expectations fell somewhat flat. I didn't really think that it did as this quote promised. It was a good book despite that fact, but just not what I was hoping to get out of it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heaven In Her Arms

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heaven In Her Arms
I was somewhat skeptical when I found out the author of Heaven In Her Arms, Catherine Hickem, was a psychotherapist, what with all the compromises that profession seems to make to the world. However, I was pleasantly surprised that she spoke the truth in love for all women while paying particular attention to the lessons mothers could learn from Mary the mother of Jesus. I began to see Mary in a way I never had before when my only experience of her has been from superficial summary of Catholic dogma or in secular glimpses akin to viewing the Pieta as a just a study in sculpture. It was a welcome analysis that inspired introspection.
That being said, I did find a couple of her ideas went a wee too far, as if God goes around making poor circumstances just so He can then make the best of them. For instance, while we both agree God is in control, I find it difficult to think of Him as simply haven chosen “surrogate” wombs for those children that are eventually adopted. (Though Hickem did not state this explicitly, she definitely leaves herself open to those interpretations.) I also feel that while her epilogue reminder that, “No other woman will ever be as important to your children as you,” gives mothers an adequate sense of the seriousness of their impact, it comes too close to encouraging an inflated sense of identity. Ironic, since she just finished exhorting us to develop our faith and grounding our identity in Christ for ourselves and not just for our children. I also think it ultimately gives justification to those who are unable to appropriately cling to their wives because they have yet to cut the apron strings (or even the cord!), so to speak. Undoubtedly, Mary was important to Jesus, but His “wife” was more important as He gave His very life for her. And it should be that we as mothers train up our children, especially our sons, to cleave to their spouse and recognize that our direct influence lasts but a short time while a marriage lasts for life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read for all moms

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much, it made me look at my role as a mother in a deeper way - it helped me see God's desire for me and my relationship with my children. It's made me draw deeper into knowing 'who I am in Christ'. Pondering and deeper thought recurs often throughout this book.
I also enjoyed digging deeper into Mary - not just the Mary of the Christmas story - but how Mary should be our role model for womanhood. Hickem takes the Scriptures we know of Mary and digs deeper - showing that she wasn't just a character in a bible story, but that she was a real person, with real fears, real emotions, real struggles, real questions. The author did a great job in not only introducing Mary to the readers, but helped detail her inner thoughts and struggles that shaped Mary, so that we could see the incredibly important role she played in shaping Jesus as her son and as the Messiah.
Before reading this book, I hadn't thought too deeply about Mary and her role before, but after reading this book, I see that God is using this as a way to teach women today powerful lessons to be the women He created us to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heaven in Her Arms

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Canton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heaven in Her Arms
Heaven in Her Arms
Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What it Means for You
BY: Catherine Hickem
This book is written in such a way that it can't help but bring all Mothers and Ladies closer to God. I must admit one of the very first things I learned is how much Mary is focused on at Christmas time but what about the rest of the Year. Before One can die they must first be born. "God wanted His Son, the King of kings, to come from a humble woman so that the entire world could relate."
Ladies, we have a Heavenly Father who loves us so much that He actually restrains Himself on Our Behalfs. A good example is the Birth Of Jesus . The timing had to be Perfect and God knew who He wanted to Carry Jesus. God is very detailed after all He is a God of Perfection.
He has chosen everyone's hair, eyes, color of skin, knit us together in our Mothers womb [ Psalm 139] and chose our birth year.
Ladies it is God who Qualifies each and every one of us. This book is written in such a way that brings the reader to a closer intimate relationship with Her Heavenly Father. But the Author takes it one Step further in the reader's Spiritual Journey by adding a Study Guide at the very end.
"Show me a woman who keeps her focus on Christ the Mary did on her God, and I will show you someone who has 20/20 spiritual vision. This type of sight enabled Mary to maintain passion for her faith, purpose for her life, and a heart for her God. We see Mary giving God her life to do with as He desires." "It is an amazing moment when women realize they do not have to live under the limitations of their past or their heritage."
Needless to say the book came just in time For Mother's day. Don't wait for someone to buy You the book. Go ahead Ladies pamper yourself by purchaisng this book after all you'r worth it. There really is only one you. Aww the Wealth of Knowledge, Wisdom that is found with in the pages of this book.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsXOP7aQeqQ&feature
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, please mention as part of every Web or retail site review that BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of Heaven in Her Arms By: Catherine Hickem.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book for women!

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this inspiring, easy-to read book, Catharine Hickem reveals to the reader the importance of the life of Mary in a refreshing, inspiring manner rarely found.
''Mary was there the day Jesus was born and she was there the day he was crucified. Her story is deep and rich and has myriad lessons for any woman—mothers, daughters, sisters, friends.
Mary’s story reveals that a woman’s heart is important to the Father.''
As I read this book, I was affected deeply by what a wonderful example Mary is to women today; to me.
I think it is important for Christians to read about Mary, and to realize how humble, trusting, prayerful, godly she was. Not to worship her as do other religions, but to see what God saw in her.
Before reading this book, there were things I hadn't even considered about Mary's life and heart. I never realized how Mary's world would have been turned upside down by the news the angel brought her! Yet she trusted God, young as she was, and continued in her close relationship with Him.
In this book, you will be inspired in your role as a woman! Whether you be a teenager, young woman, married woman, mother or grandmother, this book will prove a teaching tool and inspiration to you.
Enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing look at Mary

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all now that Mary was the mother of Jesus. We remember the scripture of when the angel appeared before her with the announcement of her role in Jesus' life. We felt her fear when she searched three days for Jesus only to find him in the temple in Jerusalem. Other than that, we probably never really thought much about her.
In her book, Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You, Catherine Hickman introduces us to the Mary who should become our model for womanhood.
Mary was real. Her emotions were real. Her questions, fears, and struggles were real. We should not look at her as merely a Bible character, but as a real mother.
Hickman explains that Mary was chosen has the mother of Jesus because of who she was. She was a child of God who loved her Lord. She was humble and obedient.
Hickman takes the scripture we know of Mary and digs deeper. She shows us how Mary questioned, prayed, praised, and obeyed. She explains how Mary needed support and found that support in Elizabeth. Regardless of how difficult it may have been for Mary to be the mother of Jesus, she was obedient to God. Her prayer life, her praises, and the wisdom she sought from the Lord should be an example to us.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The new, indepth look at Mary was refreshing and encouraging. I am happy to recommend this book for your reading.
I recieved a free copy of this book from Booksneeze for the purpose of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book on Motherhood I've Read

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book that has challenged me as a mother to dig beyond the surface, day-to-day struggles of motherhood to ponder God’s desire for me and my relationship with my children. Hickem shook the foundation of my understanding of God’s view of my role and responsibilities to his gifts to me – my children. She has given me much to ponder.
Pondering is a recurring theme and challenge given by Hickem. If I don’t know who I am in Christ, stand firm in that knowledge, and reflect that spiritual confidence to my children, I am not doing the job God requires of me. None of this is possible without taking time alone to ponder: time set aside, away from the frantic, to carefully consider life, my children and my impact on both.
The writing style is smooth, the chapters are short and the study guide is an excellent tool for pondering and discussion. I am now an eager student of Mary, mother of Jesus and deeply appreciate the challenges set forth by Hickem. I will read Heaven in Her Arms again and again and look forward to sharing this book in a small group setting. If you are a mother, I challenge you to read this book, and if you know a mother-to-be, it would be the perfect gift.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heaven in Her Arms: Why God Chose Mary to Raise His Son and What It Means for You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An adventurous journey into Mary's life

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heaven in Her Arms is a book that takes us on an adventurous journey into Mary’s life. We see her in three different roles throughout this journey: as a young woman, as the mother of Jesus and as the daughter of God. The one constant characteristic that we can find in all of these roles is her complete trust and obedience in her God.
The thing that I loved about this book is that the author does such a great job introducing us into Mary’s life, with all of the details that shaped her, with her inner thoughts and struggles.
Everything is so greatly brought to surface so that we can understand the incredibly important role that Mary had into shaping Jesus as her child and as the Son of God, the Messiah.
We also get to see what was so special about her that made God chose her, of all the women, to be the one to entrust His most precious Son to.
And even though she does not play a central role in the nativity story, she was the person that faithfully trusted and obeyed. So her role into the nativity story was rely on God and trust that everything will happen exactly as God planed it to happen.
I never thought about Mary in such a deep way before, but now that I read the book I can say that her story is one that I believe God is using to teach us, women, some powerful and important lessons that can help us become the women that He crated us to be. Mary teaches us how to fully live that perfect plan that God has for each of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.