Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4

Major Jeremiah McHenry is retiring from the army and returns to Medora to make a new life and find a wife. Will he be able to convince the feisty newcomer Amethyst O'Shaunasy that he is the kind of man she's been looking for? Jacob Chandler, meanwhile, is still waiting until he cancourt Opal Torvald. Can he prove to Opal that she will make a fine preacher's wife?
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Review 1 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical details

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
faith
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was anxious for this book to arrive as the storyline is very interesting and I wanted to know what was happening next with the characters. This book has interesting historical details and good christian values.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary
This series, with the exception of Pearl, was donated to the church library. We have what we laughingly call our reading clique in that we 'line up' for books such as these. Everyone who has read the series thoroughly enjoyed it. We've just learned that Pearl will be donated so we can find out more of her story. As church librarian, I'm always on the lookout for good authors, & Lauraine Snelling is one I've whole heartedly recommended to friends in other towns. I've not yet read one of her books that I didn't enjoy. This is a good series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri Knapp
5 star rating!!The Dakotah Treasures Series was incredible and hard to put down. Wish there were more in that series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
mary sullivan
This whole series was great but in this 4th book I wanted Opal to marry Atticus!!!!!! Jacob was so much older and he had a son half her age. I was disappointed that she picked him!!! That is the only thing I disliked about the series.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Coral
I loved the book and I am obsessed with this series! I don't care what all you other people think, I love the book and I think Lauraine Snelling did an excellent job on it as well as the other books =) Keep up the good work Lauraine! God Bless you for your excellent writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gina R
Too many "heavenly chuckles" to my liking.It makes it sound like GOD is some jolly ol elf sitting in the heavenlies......It really turned me off, and I fear gives the wrong impression as to who He really is. I also did not like the fact it was presumed Melody who committed suicide is in heaven. Another dangerous erroneous presumption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Olivia Gray
I really liked all of the books inthis series,but I felt that each book,except for Ruby,was to muchabout somone else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Cassie
An okay book, but nothing really special. A nice way to tie all of the ends together. I just feel that PEARL, OPAL and AMETHYST aren't really their own stories. It's too much about all of the other characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Laura
A wonderful finale to this great series. Amethyst was a great new character and I was happy they brought Jeremiah back. Hooray for Opal and Jacob! I loved them together so much. It is so very sad to think of this series as being over. :o(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amethyst, Dakotah Treasures Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In 1886 Eastern Pennsylvania her nasty father calls his daughter Amethyst Colleen O'Shaunasy an idjit for paying their bills; he ignores how much he wastes getting drunk. He haughtily informs Colleen that she is to bring home her eight year old nephew Joel, who apparently lives in Medora, Dakotah Territory under the care of preacher Jacob Chandler.<P>Taking the train west, Amethyst becomes ill in Minnesota; another passenger tends to her as it is the Christian thing to do. In Medora, she remains somewhat ill; the Hegland family takes her in to their home. Their other guest, Army Major Jeremiah McHenry has just retired from the military and returned to his hometown. As the two guests become acquainted they fall in love, but can Jeremiah persuade the easterner to stay as his wife as he knows she believes she must perform her dads task though honoring her father has always been difficult and besides she feels that even the kind former officer would turn female relatives into servants.<P>AMETHYST, the fourth Dakotah Treasures novel, is a superb Americana tale that brings to life a long-gone era due to the strong cast. Amethyst (dont call her Colleen as only her father uses that name) is a courageous individual who on her journey west meets caring people, a far cry from her verbally abusive father. Jeremiah knows she would make the perfect wife for him because she is a brave nurturing Christian woman whom he loves and believes loves him too, but he must overcome the relational lessons her father taught her. This is a terrific entry in a fabulous inspirational series in spite of the impossibly of honoring her no redeeming value dad.<P>Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.