Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy

Thomas Nelson KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy

This classic King James Version Reference Bible has a wealth of study helps. Over 60,000 center-column references guide you to related verses for further study and understanding of the Bible, and a concordance enables you to locate key verses and concepts. Book introductions, explanatory notes, and full-color maps furnish background information to enhance understanding of the Scriptures. Attractive bonded and genuine leather covers, gilded page edges, and a presentation page make it wonderful for gift giving. This Bible is a beautifully packaged resource for comfort, wisdom, and inspiration.
  • Over 60,000 center-column references
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Full-color maps
  • Concordance
  • Translation and explanatory notes
  • Bible book introductions
  • Presentation page
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gift box
  • How to Use This Reference Bible Notes
  • In-text subject headings
  • Burgundy Bonded leather binding
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Review 1 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

grandaughter happy

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
holly59
Location:alliance ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have ordered several Bibles, always happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This Bible is good.

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Uncle Pret
Location:Warwick, RI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a good solid KJV Bible this is it.
It's priced right; it's thin (1"); it's a right size (6"x9").
It's got Book Intro's, C.C. References, Maps, & a Concordance.
& surprisingly, it's got good explanatory notes, fair margin space in & out, & it's Symth sewn!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:bucks county, pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the center-column references, the size is perfect and it is just what I was looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Mis-Printed Bible

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaC
Location:Post Falls, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this Bible for the large print. When I got it, I started flipping through it and quickly realized something was wrong. All but just a handful of Psalms was missing, as was part of Job and Isaiah. I called CBD and told them what happened. They rushed another copy out to me, but it had the exact same problem. I called them and strongly urged that they recall this Bible and contact past customers. I don't know if they did, but they seemed sincere in wanting to do so. Please use caution if you purchase this Bible, and confirm all books are fully accounted for.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for a new believer.

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kady
Location:South West VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was given as a wedding gift to a couple who are
also our neighbors along with a Bible reading guide to
encourage them to get into the habit of dailt reading
God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, wasn't exactly what I expected

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this Bible. It is a good size, a little bit "slim" which makes the type rather small, but not so small as to be unreadable. Lovely color, and the name imprinted on the front (in silver, to match the edging on the pages) looks great. The references inside are also nice (I particularly like the maps). And I am pleased that this Bible doesn't have finger-tabs on the edges. My only issue was that the preview photos shown on the website were not exactly like the product I received. Those preview photos were part of the reason that I ordered this specific Bible, so that was a bit of a let-down. Still, CBD told me that they were going to update the photos, so no one else should have the same problem. They also offered to help "make it right" since I didn't get exactly what was advertised, but I am very pleased with the product I received so I didn't feel the need to exchange it. Overall, a great Bible at a fantastic price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible for the money

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terry
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money this is a great Bible. I just wanted a KJV for reference and this is the perfect Bible for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Have Jesus Will Share
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased several of these to give away. From what I observed; the quality was very good and the value is as well; I really would like to see this price on leather Bibles with larger print size; perhaps 9 or 10. This ministry gives away Bibles and in dire need of a good quality low priced larger print Bibles. Bibles that are given away; go to those in jail or prison; many of those in jail or prison need a larger print. Bibles are also given to the poor, or elderly, and those that have experienced a set back in their lives and they have to be able to read God's Word daily; "Faith comes by hearing" and the idea is to get them into the Word and they have to be able to see it in order to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very nice

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
flying j girl
Location:marengo, ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this bible yesterday and its very nice ...its a good size... I was looking for a smaller bible to carry around and this one fits the bill I have a thompson chain but its to big its good for home studys....This bible is durable well made and a good price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Edition

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
JHarty
Location:Cabot AR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I did not give this edition a perfect score is that I feel the presentation would be better in a two-column-per-page format: One column for the text and one for all references. As it is, the references tend to blend into the text (they are placed at the end of each verse) and they are in a slightly smaller type (12 point, I would guess.)
Other than that somewhat picky caveat, I recommend this great presentation of the KJV!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Bible

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BloodBoughtChad
Location:Menifee, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, for the price this is a great Bible. The binding seems very good, it is sewn not glued.
For me the print size is just right (if you prefer large print this is not a good candidate).
The paper is very nice (not to thin, not to thick).
The one thing it does not have is the original 1611 preface (which is available for free download in other places).
The KJV turns 400 years old this May, and is still bearing fruit. The same cannot be said for all the hundreds of modern translations.
In summary, I am very happy with this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ernest Smith
Great Bible! Exactly what I hoped it would be. I never realized how hard it was to find a KJV Bible with in text subject heading and center-column references. I only wish this was available also in Extra Large Print for when I am doing lay preaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phillip Glidden
The only thing I see so far is in Jeremiah 2:22, they mispell soap. They spell it sope. Otherwise I like the bible. I find it very useful in my study.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah Bernal
I love this bible! It's the perfect size to carry with you or put in your purse. The only draw back I have is that I had gotten it engraved and the print is crooked and small =/Other than that, this is a great bible! Perfect for gift giving!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jose Luis Villa
Very good, it has the right size and an afordable price. just a little displeased with the point size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leroy Cash
I have several Bibles that I use. I have ordered many of these Bibles for gifts. It is a wonderful way of getting God's word into someones hands. I pray it will get them all started in the right direction with no turning back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
April Wilder
Just as promised 100% satisfied. This was a gift for our srs for graduation they seemed to really enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Carter
Love this Bible. I use it a lot and give it as gifts to new Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tasha
This bible is perfect for those who actually utilize center-column references. It comes with over 60,000 center column references. I appreciate the translation and explanatory notes since it helps add clarity to the passage. The book introductions are brief and basic. It gives you just enough background information without a lot opinion or commentary...this is great. It has a How to Use this Reference Bible section in the front. This is helpful for those who may be a beginner or someone who has never used a center-column reference system before. Also, it only has 1 page presentation page which is very basic. One feature that is really nice (for me at least) is the Capital and Small Capital Letter text. For example, in the New Testament, if an author quotes scripture from the Old Testament, the quoted scripture/text stands out with Capital and Small capital letters. I love the In Text/Subject Headings. Most bibles have the top page headings which help but typical there are others stories/issues on the same page. The In Text/Subject Headings are very helpful for beginners such as my 11 yr old son. We both have this bible. By the way, the pages are not super thin. The pages are heavier than most bibles which is great if you plan on highlighting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Reference Bible, Bonded leather burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kenny
This is the best reference bible I've used so far. With over 60,000 entries in the center-column reference, it is by far the most complete I've seen. Very nice for Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.