Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set

Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set

No more hours of boring, endless repetition - your kids will actually thank you for this interactive math curriculum! Each level has two student workbooks, but the teacher handbook is the main component of the program. All instruction is provided through one-on-one teacher instruction, which is the biggest difference between Horizons and the self-guided Lifepacs.

Another big focus in Horizons is hands-on learning using a variety of manipulatives, which can mostly be found around the house: pencils, pipe cleaners, play or real money, thread, a timer, clock, yardstick, etc.

Novice home-educators should not be intimidated by the amount of teacher involvement as it is carefully laid out in the beginning of each year's teacher handbook. The teacher handbook also provides a variety of teaching suggestions and supplemental activities for additional practice.

The concepts covered in Horizons 2 include:

  • Two-digit Addition and Subtraction with Carrying and Borrowing
  • Multiplication Facts for 1-10
  • Place Value
  • Number Order
  • Sets
  • Correspondence
  • Cardinal and Ordinal Numbers
  • Graphs
  • Fractions
  • Measurement
  • Temperature
  • Estimation
  • Ratio
  • Perimeter
  • Volume
  • Decimals in Money
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Review 1 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
momto5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time using Horizons Math. My daughter really enjoys this curriculum. In fact, she has gone from saying she doesn't like math, to saying math is fun. I like the spiral concept and my daughter loves that she is constantly learning something new. My only complaint is the teacher's manual. It tells you what to teach but does not give you examples or pointers in how to teach a new concept. For the most part it isn't an issue as it's all pretty basic, but I worry as the concepts get more advanced. Sometimes a child may not grasp an idea and additional teaching insights and information would be helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colorful and thorough

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
TXmommy
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has used Horizons Math for the last two years and has done very well with it. And he wants to use Horizons 3 for next year! My son (age 7 when using Math 2) likes the varied exercises and the colorful pages and pictures. The workbook introduces new concepts in such a way that he is able to read and do the work with little help from me. The relatively short lessons are nice so he deosn't get too bogged down. Since this was the second year using Horizons, I made a few tweaks and decided the teacher handbook was a bit bulky for our needs. (Lots of teaching guidance and extra worksheets are included.) Others, however, may like it for the tips and suggestions on teaching and more hands-on learning. All in all, we have been pleased with Horizons!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Considering another curricula though

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Passion4Jesus
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not that anything is wrong with this, I just don't know if it is perfect for us. I am considering Jump Math instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
nancyH
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased the Horizons Math 2. I bought it for my daughter who is in Grade 2. It's challenging enough for her yet not frustrating, because the concept is repeated in many lessons.
I would recommend this math curriculum.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kim
This is an excellent program if your child is 'mathy'. It is colorful and interesting and the spiral learning is really great. What it is NOT great at is the concrete aspect of math. If your child is not 'mathy' then you should look elsewhere. After using Horizons 1, my 6 yo is doing great. My 7yo is struggling with some basic math concepts. I am switching to Singapore next year and I cried when I received the boys' books from Singapore math. They give so many ways to understand the concepts completely from concrete - pictoral - abstract. I might have stayed with Horizons for my mathy kids but Singapore looks to be so much more superior in complete understanding that I replaced all three boys' math curriculum with Singapore for K, and 2nd grade.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
IM
I would highly recommend this math program. My daughter does not like math yet she is doing VERY well with this program. The "multi-tasking" works well for her. Each section is just long enough for her to get it but not too long that she dreads it. She also likes the colorful pages. I also like the worksheets which help for extra practice. I plan to use Horizons for all my children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cari Silva
This is my 1st year as a home schooler. I am really excited about using Horizons Math. After reviewing the curriculum I strongly believe that my daughter will be challenged this year. I look forward to using more of Horizons products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
B Keene
Great curriculum! My second grader is a very active learner and Horizons really works well with that. The teachers books and extra test sheets and word sheets are wonderful. My favorite feature is how the previous lessons are briefly introduced on the next lesson to build a very solid math foundation. Great product!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Russell Ellwood
I like this material. It is a little more challenging than the average material. For my child who is a little advanced in Math. This is a good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Horizons Math, Grade 2, Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ann Seibel
I would highly recommend this curriculum. It is easy to use for both the teacher and student. Each lesson is well laid out and very thorough. The extras in the teachers book is key to the overall learning process. After researching other curriculum I can see why it is highly received. This is my third year with Horizons and I plan to continue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.