Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Measure of a Lady

Bethany House The Measure of a Lady

Rachel van Buren arrives in Gold Rush San Francisco with two wishes: to protect her younger siblings and to return east as soon as possible. Both goals prove more difficult than she could imagine as her brother and sister are lured by the city's dangerous freedom and a missionary-turned-gambler stakes a claim on her heart. Rachel won't give up without a fight though, and soon all will learn an eloquent but humorous lesson about what truly makes a lady.
Average Customer Rating:
4.229 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Measure of a Lady
Review 1 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply GREAT!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this story! At first I had some doubts.... BUT Deeanne's writting just HOOKED me! LOVED IT! Funny (Johnnie especially!), HOT romance... heck, overall just one GOOOOD story! - WITH a GREAT message- truly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeanne Gist is such a gifted author and I highly recommend this book! It's plot is unique and well written. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good :)

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
amazed
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was engaging and delightful. I found I was laughing and enjoying the characters immensely.
A drawback was that I found there was a bit more sensual content in it than there needed to be. In a romantic novel you expect kissing and holding and the like, but some of it was a little pushing it. After reading a few other of Deeanne's books, it seems like it is her style to include some content. It's not BAD, it's just a bit more than I expected. Although, it's not as much as other books of hers that I've read.
I was, also, a bit disappointed in how it was the impression that if you're good; you're "bad" but Rachel’s determination to be as pure and respectable as possible is admirable. Even though it was disappointing, it was easy to see the way non-christians see us. The point was well made that Christian's often live in our own little bubbles where we don't associate with "sinners" even though Jesus himself did.
I have a lot of respect for Rachel van Buren's character. She was trying so hard to be a light in the dark where she was, but didn't realize that her actions and attitude towards the other women of the town wasn't a loving example of who she is in Christ. She was unchristlike, rude, and demeaning towards the women.
Thankfully she sees how her actions are not changing anything, but in fact making it worse. She realizes that she isn’t being a good example of Christ’s love and that she’s judging them and setting herself up on a podium. She sees how she needs to stop looking at the speck of dirt in another's eye, when there is a plank in her own and to stop judging them because she has no idea what they are really like. (Matthew 7:1-6) She was seeing the woman at face-value, but when she gets to know them she realizes that they are no different than she is, they just made different choices and mistakes. She realizes that she can love them and accept them, but not accept their sin and follow the lifestyle that they choose. In the end she is able to find a way to help them and show them who Christ is, without judging them and making them feel worse than they already do.
Also, her love and devotion to her family is honorable and she tries to teach them and help them grow in the only way she knows how.
I found the book overall was a good read and had some good lessons in it. All in all a good book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Diaz
I can see where some of the other reviewers are coming from, as I was a little uncomfortable with some of the sexual tension, though mostly because I felt like I was intruding. I was also disappointed with the ending regarding Lissa, but not everything can end happily. All in all, though I really enjoyed this book. I really enjoy the attention to detail that this author uses and the actual anecdotes used. While I liked the first book better, I still liked this book and don't feel like I was cheated at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
This was the first book I've read by this author, and I really enjoyed it. I won't say that I didn't feel uncomfortable with the sexual aspect of this book, which in my opinion didn't need such heavy emphasis and description. We can read that kind of romance in secular fiction. Still, it was extremely well written, and for that I give it 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
rebops
I've waited a while to review this book because at first I was too annoyed. After 1 year I'm ready. Rachel is labeled as a "sunbonnet", a good girl and classy lady by the townsfolk from the moment she stepped foot off the boat. The people let her know they thought she was "better" than the prostitutes. She was to be a good example and set herself apart so as not to be caught up in the nasty behavior of the rest of the town. For the rest of the book she was then scolded for being goody-goody and trying to protect her siblings. The young sister chooses the wrong path and she's treated like a victim of Rachel. I know the author was trying to tell us to take the plank out of our own eye and not look down on others, but the sinners were glorified in this story and the Christian was the bad "guy". I won't recommend this book to anyone.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Candi Faulk
Just finished this one & like the others I couldn't put it down! Took it in the car when we would go places. I love the way Deeanne writes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
I found this book to be a little trying, with the constant back and forth, that Rachel fought in her mind with her teachings on what is expected of a lady. And how her siblings turned their backs on her at times, as she tried to help bring them up in the gold rush era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
I would highly recommend this book!As a 13 year old it teaches some great morals.It is a very good christian romance! Bravo Gist!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emilee
I really enjoyed Gist first book, A Bride Most Begrudging. I can't say that about this book. She is a great writer but I was a little uncomfortable with some parts. The setting was depressing and although it had a lot of historical facts, which I like,it seemed dark and a little sad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
In an attempt to review this book, I am a little bit at a loss for words. For those of you who know the other books that I read, recommend and love, I can tell you that the humor is something similar to that found in novels of my beloved favorite author Mary Connealy. The drama is amazing and the characters rip out your heart.Easily, this novel is powerful, funny, and full of thought-provoking plot. Throughout the entire story, I felt like I was right there along with our protagonist. In so many of the situations, while she worked to finding a solution to a current dilemma, I would have just sat down and cried. Through these three hundred pages, author Deeanne Gist has really woven together a story that makes you think about what you do in your own walk with Christ and realize the bits and pieces that might need a little more tweaking and a bit more Bible Devotion.There are people who will not appreciate this book because it may make them uncomfortable. But it does it in a way that is really attempting to show what is the purpose behind our God breathed lives and I praise this book fully for what it is capable as accomplishing as a tool for good.I highly recommend this book to young women and older women alike. Especially those entering the romantic scene. For younger girls however, I would not say to avoid the book, but to read it and be able to discuss it with a mother, sister, or older friend.The writing is incredible and will leaving you thirsting for more. At one point I had to put down the book while I was highly frustrated with a few particular characters and then I found myself irritated with my husband because of misplaced anger. A book that can lead on into my own life is obviously powerful enough to make me think.*grin*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
OLGA
I listened to this book on my Ipod. I had never read or listened to any of her books. I had mixed feelings about this book not because of the sexual parts but because of what happens to the younger sister Lissa. I do not want to give the storyline away but I hated what happens to her at the end; it kind of leaves you hanging about her. I did not like her character at ALL; she was so whinny and spoiled she wanted an easy life and I did not like her love interest either. I felt so bad for Rachel; she tried so hard and still lost her younger sister. I am not saying that everything always ends perfect but it could have been a better ending about Lissa. I loved Parker he was great and he showed a lot of compassion for the family.I will read more of this author. I liked the way she wrote. I just wished she would have given the younger sister a different ending.This is a series so maybe we will learn more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angel
I found the book very entertaining, but I could only rate it 4 stars due to the sensuality that runs throughout it. On one hand, the sexual tension makes the book more realistic, while retaining a message of abstinence. On the other hand, I'm not sure it's a good idea for people to be filling their heads with the sensual content in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Mccants
The Measure of a Lady was the first book I read by Gist. I was amazed at the reality of emotions she revealed.I think it is sad that some of the comments were negative. I am sure she will continue her writings as the Lord leads.Unfortunately, we live in a world of sin which is exploited before us everywhere we turn. As Christians, we have the responsibility to share with our daughters and other women about the passion between a man and a woman. We continue to let the world reign in this area. Let's put on the armor and go into war, knowing that our Savior makes a way.He made us sensual beings for the bonds of marriage, but satan always takes what is pure and makes it evil.God bless Deeanne!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Munson
I enjoyed this book very much. I have never read any of Deeanne Gist's books and found this to be a really interesting story. I like the fact that it is situated in the 1800's Mostly, I have read Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller's stories. I enjoyed those books because of the extensive research that was done and that they were written in the pioneer times. I have learn so much that was never brought out in our history classes at school. After reading all of their books, I didn't know what author to choose next. So, I chanced this one, and have thoroughly enjoyed this book. Actually, I started with the first one, A bride most begruding, and then went onto to reading this one. Both were good. I highly recommend them.Jean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Poliana
No wonder this book won the Christy award for Best Romance of 2007!!!It has adventure,comedy,drama and a line of romance that will take your breath away!!Deeanne even incorporate on the book true facts that happened during the gold rush in san francisco.Read it! you won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
DeeAnn Gist's "The Measure of a Lady" took my breath away. It has short, digestible chapters with several stopping points in each so that you can put the book down if you must. But you won't want to put the book down. This novel's fascinating storyline of three teenagers who traveled with their father from New Jersey to San Francisco during the California gold rush brought many things to my mind that I'd never thought of before. What would happen to children who lost their parent during the treacherous voyage? How would they survive? Why did women in the Wild West become prostitutes? This novel answers those questions and more. The female lead, Rachel, is a character study in the behavior of a "prim and proper" Christian lady. Her legalistic thinking is challenged in her new home. Johnnie, her male counterpart, is incredible. He is strong, thoughtful, intelligent, rugged, and oh-so romantic. I am so glad to have this title in my personal library. I will read this book over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
David A Peterman
this fairly new author has definitely captivated my interest. After reading her first book, The Bride most Begrudgingly, I could not help but get her second book. She did not disappoint as the story was captivating once again! Great story, detailed characters that you love! keep them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Esha
This is one of my absolute favorite books! In response to those who say this book is highly sensual, let me say that it is not. My mother read this book and loved it as well. The plot is incredible, as is the lovely hero of the novel-Johnnie Parker. Overall, this book is worth ever cent and will be one of my favorite books forever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Measure of a Lady
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda
Reading is, and has always been, my favorite pastime.. This is an interesting story with lots of history. However, I am a widow and I had to put the book down due to the sensuality in several places. I read Christian fiction in order to avoid this. I will not buy any more of her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>