Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook

Abingdon Press River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook

Following her mother's funeral, and on the verge of her own midlife crisis, widow Anna Larson returns to the home of her youth to sort out her parents' belongings, as well as her own turbulent life. Her relationship with her daughter is in shambles, and the tension between Anna and her vicious mother-in-law escalates daily.

Anna's unique family home sits on a picturesque coastal tributary and is filled with years of memories. For the first time since childhood, Anna embraces her native heritage and river roots. But Anna soon learns that more than just her past resides along the banks of the Siuslaw River. By transforming her old family home into The Inn at Shining Waters, Anna hopes to create a place of healing-a place where guests experience peace, grace, and new beginnings.

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Review 1 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the coming full circle in this story....embracing and not denying who you are! Looking forward to the sequel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazy
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good reading - I'm looking forward to book #2!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Melody Carlson - enough said

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna left the river to live with her husband, and then life happened, and she didn’t return until her mother died. As her tale is unveiled, it becomes increasingly clear that the river offers a peace and relaxation that she hadn’t known in quite some time. As she comes to terms with her heritage, she also starts to find healing.
Melody Carlson has a way of telling a story that keeps you engaged from first page to last. Her stories of women are insightful and honest, while still being gentle and comforting. Since she also writes books for teen girls, her ability to transcend time with her characters is engaging. She has a depth of insight into people that would be hard to convey in person, and yet she is able to write story after story about people in a way that makes you wish you knew them.
This book is the first of a new trilogy called “The Inn at Shining Waters.” I cannot wait to read the next one, so that I can spend more time with Anna. These are great stories with a touch of faith injected that makes them even more real. Read them and enjoy!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kept my interest through the whole story.

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will pass this book on to friends and family. It was a good use of my reading time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A new series with promise

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Several years ago I read Finding Alice by Melody Carlson, a story about a young college student who exhibits signs of schizophrenia, but believes she is having visions. I finished the book thinking I would find more books by Carlson to read, but just never did until I got the opportunity to read an advanced reader's copy of River's Song, book one in a new series set in the northwest. I recently checked Carlson's website and found she is a prolific writer with modern day series and historical fiction series, both for women and children. The deep subject of Finding Alice appears to be a unique endeaver as the rest of her books appear to be lighter reading, and River's Song definitely fits the quick read category.
That said, River's Song is an enchanting read that took this midwestern reader to a new setting, somewhat reminsicent of 1950's and 1960's northern Wisconsin. Anna Larson has returned to the coast of Oregon to deal with her parent's closed up "Mom and Pop" store at the Siuslaw River's edge following her mother's death. For years, Anna has stayed away from her childhood home to shelter her mother from the reality that Anna is trapped in a joyless life orchestrated by her domineering, bigoted mother-in-law. For the first time in decades, Anna feels hope and peace as she spends time on the river. Quickly her life becomes populated with supportive friends, old and new, and with their assistance Anna decides to transform the abandoned store into The Inn at Shining Water. Carlson skillfully uses the relationship between Anna and the minor characters to unravel the story of Anna's heritage as a Siuslaw Indian, her tragic marriage to a rich, impulsive white man, and the bigotry she's faced at her mother-in-law's hand since her young husband's death. Being already deceased, Anna's mother and grandmother are two of the most richly developed characters in the story. You'll feel their presence and their values behind every one of Anna's choices.
I plan to read the next book in this series when it is published, and now that I've read more than one book by Melody Carlson, I'll be watching to see her other endeavors
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hauntingly beautiful

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
River’s Song–The Inn at Shining Waters by Melody Carlson is the first book in the River’s Song series. This first book details the story of Anna, a middle-aged woman who is seeking healing for the wounds life has caused her. This is one woman’s story of redemption, restoration and her long and winding journey towards home and towards peace. Hauntingly beautiful in its imagery, finely detailed in its descriptions and achingly gorgeous in the mood it sets, this is a story that will both break your heart and heal the break it causes. Though somewhat slow in its beginning, River’s Song shines brightly in the end. Resplendent with Native American history and complex in its characterization, River’s Song takes its readers on a long and difficult, but ultimately rewarding, journey towards the healing, and towards the home, we all ultimately hope to find.
Melody Carlson is truly a gifted writer and has scored a major winner with River’s Song. Highly recommended.
DISCLAIMER: I received a free copy of this book from Glass Road Productions for purposes of review. I was not required to give a positive review, only a fair and honest one. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful story of a woman coming home

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
River's Song by Melody Carlson is the first book in the Inn at Shining Waters series. In 1959, Anna Gunderson has returned to her family home on Oregon's Siuslaw River. She's spent the last nineteen years under the thumb of her controlling mother-in-law who often belittles her for her Native American heritage and has stolen the affections of her daughter, Lauren, through expensive gifts. Anna has come home to deal with the estate of her mother who recently passed away, leaving the land to Anna. Once home, Anna quickly finds her soul healing after decades of pain and numbness, the rhythm of life on the river reminds her of all that she has lost and of whom she is, including a Siuslaw Indian. She quickly decides to stay on the river and turn the old family store into a bed and breakfast, the Inn of the Shining Waters, named after one of the legends her Grandma Pearl often told her. I'm more familiar with Carlson's young adult stories, and this was a pleasant surprise. Anna is such a gentle and beautiful soul, I found myself aching and furious for the abuse she faced at Eunice's hands. The story grows naturally, at a steady pace, as Anna finds herself and some joy in life again. Carlson parallels the story of Anna's great-grandmother, who was forced from her home on the river to a reservation where she couldn't show her true self and was mocked and belittled before finding her way back home and making a good life. Anna's story follows this path, and Carlson's storytelling is elegant and restrained. This is not a loud or thrilling story full of explosions and blood; it's a quiet, yet beautiful story of a woman finding her way home and wanting to share that joy with others. I can't wait to read the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

novel of midlife relationships

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anna Larson grew up on the Suislaw River in western Oregon. Her parents had established a store along the river, serving those living nearby. Now, in 1959, after the funeral of her mother, Anna returns to her remote childhood home.
Anna is sorting out her life. Anna and her daughter have been living with her mother-in-law, Eunice, even though Anna's husband died years ago. He had been wounded in WW II and the medical bills had been extensive. Eunice had convinced Anna there was no money left for Anna's independent living. Anna thought the only way to survive was to live with Eunice, a bitter and prideful woman. Anna had dutifully cooked and cleaned, maintaining Eunice's house.
She had even endured her mother-in-law's hurting comments about Anna's Indian heritage. Her grandmother had been full Indian, a heritage Anna ignored in her adult life. Anna's relationship with her college bound daughter is in shambles and the tension with her mother-in-law is rising. She decides to go to her childhood home to deal with her mother's possessions and perhaps sell the property.
Even as Anna is getting used to being on the quiet river she meets up with Hazel, a woman doing Indian studies. It seems Anna's grandmother may have been the last full blooded Siuslaw Indian and Hazel is passionate about discovering as much of the Indian heritage as she can.
As Anna enjoys the slower pace of the river life, thoughts of turning the old store into an inn begin to surface. Then Anna meets Hazel's son, Clark, a handsome man who may be interested in more than remodeling the building.
Carlson has created a good story of a middle aged woman trying to sort out her troubled life. I wish there had been more about the history of the Siuslaw Indians, since Anna re-embracing her heritage was one theme of the book. We readers hear a few personal stories but end up knowing nothing of the Indians, how they lived, etc.
I am a bit troubled by Anna's believing her mother-in-law's claim that there is no money for Anna after the death of her husband. In some respects Anna seems a little dumb. I do need to remember this would have been in the fifties and Anna had married right out of high school. Still, it seems forced that Anna had to live with her wicked mother-in-law.
Also, the Siuslaw River must be a beautiful place. I wish there had been more description of the area.
Some of the relationship issues are not solved at the end of the book so we will be looking for the sequel. It seems we will then learn why Eunice is so mean.
I received a copy of the book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for River's Song, The Inn at Shining Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I felt like I spent time at Shining Waters Inn

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have struggled with a teenager. If you have felt loss. If you have felt the pressure of someone bombarding you with a stronghold, you will relate to the life of Anna Larson. Anna is forty years old and has lost her mother. A mother that has made a huge impact on her life. Her parents raised her along the river and Anna has come back. She has come to say good-bye to her mom and this place, but there is something that grabs a hold of her and gives her all she has been missing.
I absolutely loved this story. It is the first of the series, "The Inn At Shining Waters". I cannot wait to see what happens next in this series. Melody Carlson knows how to add just the right detail and gives the message of hope through her characters and all they are facing.
Anna is remembering her childhood and has a vivid memory of the time she spent with her grandmother teaching her all about her Native American heritage. We see, Anna, face her fears and transform throughout this story as she begins to let go of that she cannot change and begins to embrace life as it should be. Enjoyed one minute at a time.
Hurry and place your order for this one. It's one you don't want to miss out on. I loved, Anna's character. It is so awesome to see God bring clarity to us in the midst of trial. Anna perseveres and I so enjoyed watching her grow.
This book was a gift from Abingdon Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.