Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3

Bethany House The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3

Annie Zook, the Amish preacher's daughter, is caught between two worlds. Living with shunned friend Esther, Annie longs to return to her forbidden art and the idyllic days spent with Englisher Ben Martin, before her father ordered her never to see him again. Stunned when family secrets come to light, Ben determines to solve the mystery of his past. Will his future include Annie - or will the Brethren always stand between them?
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Review 1 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this third book in the series along with the books that came before. It's one of my favorite of her series on the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jaime Garrett
As normal Beverly Lewis has written an unforgettable story. Every book I've read by her has been fantastic. She is an excellent author and would recommend this book series to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Kovacs
It's a must read if you've read books one and two. I enjoyed it, although the end was a bit obvious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Herring
Loved it! Very interesting and kept one wanting to read more. Good story and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Scott Family Chiropractic
Fascinating look into the Amish culture. Sensitive, spiritual, touching and with a mystery too. The characters are so intriguing ! I couldn't wait to read the conclusion of Annie's story and once I start, I couldn't put the book down. A very stirring series. Read all 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Patterson
Beverly Lewis is an excellent writer. I've read the entire series on Annies people and other's she's written. it's amazing her gift of making things come to life. Would recommend the series to anyone. Has also given me an interest in the Amish life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marie
I read the whole trilogy of Annie's people. I'm sorry; but the series just felt so unreal and the characters were cloudy. As you read, you just don't connect with the characters. Beverly Lewis's writing is pretty unclear and you can't really imagine it. It makes your head feel weird. I do not recommend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erin
Actually, I found Ben's decision to become Amish pretty believable. Maybe that's just because I want to be Amish. =) Only complaint is the unanswered questions: Sam and Louisa, Zeke and Essie, Courtney...and I would have liked to find out more about Isaac's kidnapping. I loved the flashbacks and was hoping for more of them to clear up what happened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
rOSEMARIE mAXWELL
Hi,I loved the Brethren,Annie,s people series#3.I just ate it up!I,d like to read more about Ben, Annie and Louisa.I hope the series isn't finished.I was real scared about Ester going back to Zeke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Olivia
This book was good, I wish Ben didn't join the Amish church but it fit the story line so-GOOD WORK BEVERLY!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly
I really liked the second book of Annie's people series, but I was rather dissapointed with the third one. It lacked a true Christian feel, for one. And it's (plot) was completely odd. Why would Beverly Lewis make Ben Martin want to join the Amish church? It just did not make sense. Well, it was an okay book. But it could have been better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bethany
I absolutely loved this series, even more than Abrams Daughters. I was a little disappointed, however, with the end of The Brethren. The ending seemed a little forced and somewhat slow. I would have also liked her to expound on Sam and Louisa's relationship; nevertheless, this was a great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
C ROBERTS
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK (READ IT IN 2 DAYS DURING MY CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS) BUT WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED THAT THERE WERE A FEW UNANSWERED QUESTIONS. LOOKING FORWARD TO ANOTHER NEW SERIES - HOEFULLY SOMETIME SOON. IN THE MEAN TIME I'LL READ ABRAHAMS DAUGHTERS ALL OVER AGAIN!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Chicablue2
Overall, I was disappointed with this book. The romance between Annie and Ben felt forced, and the ending seemed illogical (especially Ben's decision). I would not recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2006
In the third book of the Annie's People series, The Brethren continues the story of Annie Zook and the people of the Amish community of Paradise. Annie has put away her paintings and is living with her friend Esther, who has been shunned for accepting Jesus and is worried about her husband Zeke who has accepted the responsibility of the death of his brother from long ago. Meanwhile Ben, the Englisher that stole Annie's heart, finds a secret about his past and goes back to Paradise to find answers. His discovery shakes up the entire community and brings new meaning to his and Annie's relationship.i really liked this book yet I felt the book was a little rushed at the end. I want to know what will happen to Louisa and Sam in the future. Her story didn't move that much in this book. It was interesting to find out about Ben's past, yet it felt somewhat predictable once you found out he was adopted. I did finding out more about the culture and the customs of the people. It's very interesting that the Amish can live in modern America and still have a completely different society. I've enjoyed reading all of Beverly Lewis' Amish books and I had been waiting for the conclusion of this series. The Amish lifestyle has always fascinated me. The thing that has always confused me about the Amish is what do they really believe in. After reading Lewis' books and especially this series, it seems that to have a personal relationship and admit that Jesus is your savior is considered vanity and grounds for being banned. They seem to only read from the Old Testament and even then only the bishops are allowed to really study it. Another series of Lewis' deals with a form of old medicine that can be considered as witchcraft. I understand most of their views about not conforming to the rest of the world and to keep life simple. What I don't understand is that it seems that the Amish are not really Christians if they don't believe in accepting Jesus into their lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2006
I was captivated by the first two books in the Annie's People series. The issues of mystery, romance, art, and worldy friendships were intriguing. Best of all was Essie's new-found faith!In this third book I feel Mrs. Lewis left so many questions unanswered, especially regarding Essie and Zeke. I would love to see another book exploring these two characters! Like the other reviewers here, I found the ending unsatisfying with many loose ends that need tying up. I did like the unusual twist regarding Annie's father's decision at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Barbara
I have loved reading Beverly Lewis' books. I couldn't wait to pick it up, and couldn't put it down. I was disappointed at the end. And have some questions about standing up for one's faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
jacqueline
I have read all most all of her books and I find myself so into them I can't seem to put it down. I feel it has so much to offer you in life. So we shout thank God for every thing we have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2006
I think this book is perfectly wonderful! I loved it - Beverly Lewis had me captured before I was finished with the first chapter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Brethren, Annie's People Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
SLO
I agree with the previous reviewer. There were some questions I had hoped would be answered that were not. Nevertheless, I truly enjoyed this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>