Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2

Bethany House Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2

Annabelle Grayson has been given a second chance at life, but she can't claim it with the cloud of her past hanging over her in Willow Springs. After her husband dies, she advertises for a trail guide to accompany her to land waiting for her in Idaho--and a most unlikely candidate applies for the job.Matthew Taylor is a man on the run, with consequences of past mistakes pursuing him at every turn. Meeting Annabelle Grayson the first time was unpleasant enough, but when she crosses his path again, her presence in his life--and what she reveals--is devastating. If given a single wish, Matthew would turn back time and right a grievous wrong. If given a second wish, he would make Annabelle Grayson pay.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Review 1 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 stars. Not a bad book, really!

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
'Only What we do for God will last'- Revealed, by Tamera A.
Well, I have to say that Tamera Alexander is becoming one of my favourite authors; she writes VERY well -- just so you know, if you haven't read any of her books.
Revealed is a story of hope. A story that is 'revealed' through the heart of hurting souls, who slowly get a glimpse of God's hand in their lives, as He washes away their sins and cleanses them in His unending Fountain of mercy and grace. It left me wondering wherever could we have been without the Lover of our souls. Not to mention that the BEAUTIFUL love story will satisfy the romantic 'souls' out there! And that's one thing I LOVE about Tamera's stories. You get both God and a passionate love story!! Despite the fact that I confess, some little parts of it left me confused, but overall, this is GOOD and, even VERY good book. Book 3 follows the adventures of um, shall we say a special man we meet in this one, CANNOT wait!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
mcguired84
Location:kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revealed (Fountain Creek Chronicles Book 2)
Tamera Alexander
ISBN Number: 978-0-7642-0709-7
Bethany House Publishers
330 Pages Paperback
4 out of 5 points
Revealed is an historical romance fiction about a woman named Annabelle Grayson who can not seem to get past her former life in Willow Springs. After her husband passes away, she sends out an advertisement for a trail guide to help her get to Idaho. Matthew Taylor is a man on a run, with a bad past as well, when he meets Annabelle it was bad, then he meets her once more it is worse. Matthew wishes for a time turner and to right a wrong. He wants to make the woman pay.
What makes this book a good read is the characters who grew into their characters throughout the story. As Annabelle and Matthew got to know one another they seemed to realize their first impressions of each other was very very wrong. This book has been set apart from other's of it's kind, as the character's are more the believeable. The faith is so deep into the story that it does not have to be read in the words as it is expressed.
One of the best things that I loved is how it is easy to learn to love oneself, before you can learn anyone else. Once again Tamera provided a story that shows God's love and foregiveness. They learn to except God's wisdom. It is hard to put down after you begin to read it. I will recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction or to anyone who loves to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow start.

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
patf
Location:AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very slow start. I wasn't good until the book was ending. Not like all the other Tamera Alexander books I've read. I still have #3 to read hope it's better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
One of my favorite books! I actually think this is the best of the three in the series, though they are all excellent. It is a beautiful story of compassion, forgiveness, and redemption. I actually think this novel would have been more aptly titled "Redeemed," but perhaps that would sound too much like Redeeming Love (by Francine Rivers). Ironically, this book has much in common with that one, both beautiful stories about the new creations we are when we are in Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Iris
After reading the first book, Rekindled, I just had to get the next one in this series. And this book did not disappoint! It was wonderful! I think I've found a favorite author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephanie M.
Two thumbs up! I really enjoyed this book! I excitedly purchased and began to read this book the same day I finished Rekindled. At first, I wasn't so sure I would like this story... I wondered if it would be disappointing after reading the excellent Rekindled... but I was very wrong! Far exceeding my expectations, this story is a powerful, touching, beautiful tale by a master storyteller. You will be engrossed until the very end, I promise! It's an uplifting tale of turning tragedy into promise and finding forgiveness and a new beginning. If you're reading Rekindled, you'll want to go ahead and get this one too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
The title Revealed is so perfect and sums up the story in so many ways.What made this book so amazing? The characters were not just flawed, but they grew throughout the story. Especially the hero. To me, this is the most powerful redemption story I've ever read. The tension between the characters was truly believable. As they got to know each other more they discovered that many of their assumptions about each other were not true, which meant they had to change things about themselves because of that revelation. Is that cool, or what?I don't want to spoil the story for you with too many details, but there was just so much healing and character growth in this novel that it sets it apart from most historical westerns. Sure, you still have the sleazy characters that you want to choke, and they were believable, too. But there is just more depth to this story than most. The spiritual threads were delicately woven throughout the book and not at all preachy, IMHO. And that first kiss perfect. The finger trailing the lip. The look in his eyes. The romantic waiting. The fact that he said he'd wait. So many things understood between them without a word. Oh, and her scary feelings of love (as a woman should feel) and the wonder of it all was fabulously done. She experienced how special things could be with Matthew.One of the things I loved best about this story was the theme of how you can't love others if you don't know what unconditional love is. Johnny rescued Annabelle from a horrible life and prepared the soil for her to experience true love for the first time in her life. I also loved how the author used Annabelle's concern for Sadie to reach Matthew as well. Their relationship was so well done, as was the guardedness on Sadie's end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2007
Once again Tamara Alexander provides us with a story you take to heart and love. With two of the characters from her first novel, Tamera weaves a tale of Gods love and forgiveness for even the most broken of lives. Matt Taylor and Annabelle Grayson are drawn together when he learns his deceased brothers pregnant widow needs an escort to take her to join the wagon train she had to leave when Jonathan died. She wants to continue the journey to Idaho to live on the ranch Jonathan claimed there. Matt agrees because he believes the ranch should be his, not Annabelles. Because of her past life in a brothel, Matt feels she isnt worthy to bear the name of his brother and even doubts the unborn child is Jonathans. Matt and Annabelle travel westward and during the trip, they learn respect to each other and to trust God to take them safely on their journey. Along the way Annabelle, with Matts unexpected help, is able to rescue a young friend, Sadie, from life in a brothel. The ending has a wonderful twist that wraps up the story in a most satisfying way. This is one that will be hard to put down once you start reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ashly Howard
I really loved this book. I was so excited to see the character from book one continue on. This book is a great story about how God and change people and how people are not always who they seem. Tamera Alexander also does a wonderful job showing us how God has the power to redeam anything. Great book. I was so happy to see the story about Matthew Taylor continue on into this book and cannot wait until book three is available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words can never hurt me.Matthew Taylor discovers that the childrens rhyme is devastatingly untruewords can wound the soul far more deeply than actions can injure the body. Matthew believes himself to be a righteous man, but Annabelle Grayson brings out the worst in him at every turn. Her past serves as proof to him that she can never change, and he refuses to consider otherwise. Matthew accuses Annabelle of being a conniving woman who is out for everything she can get, and he is slow to realize that extending forgiveness to others and accepting forgiveness for himself are both necessary to achieve true freedom.Matthews accusations grieve Annabelle, who longs to make the most of her second chance at life. Unfortunately, the only way for her to do so is to escape the small Colorado town where gossip keeps her past alive. She and her husband set out for Idaho, but his death forces her to return to Willow Springs. In a final, desperate bid to leave her past behind, she advertises for a trail guide to take her to Idaho and receives a shock when she meets the first applicant for the jobMatthew Taylor. Thankfully, a second man applies for the position. As Annabelle makes her way north with her trail guide, she seeks her young friend, Sadie, who disappeared several months earlier. En route, Annabelle discovers that life is not always as it seems, and past actions, no matter how hurtful, can be forgiven. Tamera Alexanders second novel in her debut Fountain Creek Chronicles series highlights her talent at featuring an aspect of Christian living, in this case, forgiveness, in a real-life context. The historical, western flavor of the novel comes through clearly and portrays the wilds of Colorado and of life on the trail with accuracy. Furthermore, Alexanders strongly drawn characters and realistic, compelling plot draw readers into the story and entice them to read just one more chapter. Watch for Remembered, June 2007.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Revealed is the second book in Tamera Alexander's Fountain Creek Chronicles and readers will be pleased to know that Tamera has written another powerful story of two broken people seeking redemption from their past. This is the story of Annabelle Grayson and Matthew Taylor, pivotal characters in Tamera's first book, Rekindled.After the death of her husband, Annabelle chooses to follow his dream and travel to Idaho and the land he had claimed. She wants to start afresh and locate her young friend, Sadie who has dissappeared. Annabelle advertises for a trail guide to accompany her on the arduous journey and is shocked to discover that Matthew Taylor, her late husband's brother, unwittingly reponds. Matthew despises Annabelle and wants nothing more than to expose her as the conniving and immoral woman he believes she is.Tamera's deft hand writes a tender and realistic story of two people struggling to move beyond their tainted past into a fresh and forgiven future. Annabelle and young Sadie's haunting past is sensitively portrayed as is Matthew's guilt and regreat over his broken relationship with his brother. Matthew's unforgiving prejudice towards Annabelle reveals a tendency in most of us to pass judgement on prior behaviour rather than on a person's current character and conduct. Revealed is a moving story which challenges you to consider how you view those around you in light of God's grace and forgiveness to us all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Revealed, Fountain Creek Chronicles Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In the late 1860s with the death of her spouse, pregnant Annabelle Grayson McCuthens feels alone as her life is filled with mistakes and regrets. She decides to leave Fountain Creek, Colorado to start fresh in a new home in Idaho in hopes of leaving behind her failures. She seeks to hire a guide to take her to her new beginning.Two men respond to her want ads. The younger one Matthew Taylor is running from his past just like Annabelle is. He applies for the position that he sees as a chance to start anew, but is stunned to learn if hired his employer is the Widow McCuthens, the woman he blames for his friends death though he admits he helped cause the wrong that will haunt him for ever.The second Fountain Creek Chronicles (see REKINDLED) is an inspirational tale starring two souls with much remorse over errors they made that cost them and others plenty. The irony of this superb Americana is that Matthew scorns Annabelle though he holds himself in contempt too. Readers will be hooked early on to learn why as Tamara Alexander provides an interesting Reconstruction Era tale.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.