Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Jump In, Student Workbook

Apologia Educational Ministries Jump In, Student Workbook

Jump in to the world of writing--whether you're an aspiring writer, or hate the thought of pencil and paper! Full-color illustrations, writing helps, starters, and short, kid-friendly assignments make any of these lessons manageable and fun to do! Don't get bogged down in redundant reports over and over again; rather, Jump In fits itself to your student's writing style while ensuring that they gain ample experience writing reports, opinions, journaling, proofreading, editing and other writing skills. 248 pages, softcover student book.

Please note: there is a brief mention of abortion and "homosexual marriages" in the context of debate on one page.

Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jump In, Student Workbook
Review 1 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Warning! Adult Content.

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
csam
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I completely agree with 'Groundhog' and her review. I have found the same issues with my fifth grader. Just today she asked me what abortion is (from page 31). WOW...did that catch me off guard! I think it is horribly irresponsible of the authors and publishers to put such topics in writing curriculum. This is not Bible, Science or Civil Studies. This is not Jr. high or High School Curriculum. I am very disappointed because the layout of this curriculum is very simple and my child likes it. She also liked Spectrum Writing a few years back. It was also very clean and simple. I may just go back to combining 'writing' with English in the BJU series. Sorry, Jump In, you stepped over the line! BUT...thank you CBD for the warning - I wish I would have read it more thoroughly before buying. At least you did your part!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Warning: Mature topics randomly inserted

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Groundhog
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I saw this book online, I was very excited about it. And just to preface, I still feel like the structure of the book as far as teaching the writing process, is very well done.
However, I must, in good conscience, give warning to parents whose children are still on the "innocent" side of childhood. When you reach the chapters that teach about writing opinion and persuasion, this book suddenly inserts topics such as abortion and homosexual marriage. Abortion is actually mentioned multiple times in this book.
If you have a child who doesn't even yet know "where babies come from", this book will quite suddenly take you into territory your child was nowhere near ready for.
As a Christian parent, the subject matter of this book is quite concerning. This is a book that will mention giving Christian testimony, how inventions such as the telephone helped society with the example of a church phone prayer chain, and kids' magazine publications by Focus on the Family on one page, and then abortion on another. There are very "innocent" examples given such as "persuade your reader to believe there should be a skate park in your neighborhood" or "why every student should eat a chocolate bar each day" and yet, the topics of abortion or gay marriage tossed in as well.
Though maybe less shocking, I'll also mention that there is a passage from a book quoted, and it talks about a child being given to another mother who could nurse him. Again, if your child knows nothing of these things, it might not be something you're ready to discuss.
I have not gone through the entire book yet, as it is quite an undertaking, but I have gotten 2/3 of the way through it and had to cross through or re-write several sections for my 6th grader to be able to use it.
I know every child is different in terms of maturity, but I feel that it was irresponsible of the publisher to not make those mature topics known in either their description or their sample pages.
Again, if your child is ready for mature topics and you simply need help with writing style, this is an excellent book to help him/her through the creative process, but if you want your child to remain innocent a bit longer, you may want to skip this book for now, or do as I've done and insert your own preferred subject matter into those sections. Thankfully, the book is printed on heavy enough paper that you can line through those mature sections with a black Sharpie and it won't bleed through to the other side that you do want to use.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
marie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
We love it! It is very detailed and I would recommend it for any junior high student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great resource

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
kaylo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this has been wonderful. I have a reluctant writer and an eager writer and they both are enjoying it. My one son would try to put off writing until the end, but today asked to do it as one of the first things. We're not far into it, but that is enough already for me to be really happy about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BEWARE - THIS BOOK COVERS MATURE TOPICS!

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
kapaawahine
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book starts our simply enough then... WHAM! We just hit page 42 and all of a sudden (as my son was reading to us) the book began to discuss abortion and homosexual marriage. There was no warning whatsoever. I was shocked as this book was suited for elementary students. Those were topics I wanted to cover when the time was right, not when the author thought it was best. Boo!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This seems like a good program, but my daughter hates to write. My goal right now is to get her to simply write. I'm not concerned about whether is has an intriguing introduction, hooks the reader, etc. I just want her not to panic when she see's a blank sheet of paper. So, we're holding off on this program for now. Maybe in January or next year. Instead, I'm having her write down topics that interest her as they come up. Every day, she'll write in a journal for 10 minutes. I don't care what she writes about as long as she's writing, to get over that fear. So far it's working. This will be great to sharpen her skills later.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy for student to follow.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Candy Erk Manthey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has realistic and student directed activities which target the writing process in small bites without being threatening. The quidebook for teachers is useful but not as easy to follow. Takes some study to get the directions. I love the format of the Jump In for kids. Not a lot of time each day but practice they like.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good writing book

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
canoetippen
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have both of my children doing this program. ages 9 and 12. This program so far is great. well worth the money. not so sure on the teachers book. i dont know if it was really needed. so far i havent used it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daphne Powell
My daughter hates writing but with this book has actually enjoyed it. It's quick exercises and step by step ideas make it a must have for any reluctant writer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Theresa Cox
What an amazing book! This book puts the writing process into a child's view without being "babyish". It makes it fun, engaging, and easier to understand than others I have looked at. Using this product, along with the teachers book, will encourage your child to write instead of making it a chore. I highly recommend this! I would get the set though, so you have the teachers manual also. It will be a wonderful addition to your learning!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Alsworth
We have used many writing books in the past. This is the best, least painful writing book we have used.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy B
I purchased this for my 12 yr old son. I looked at several other writing programs but came back to this one because this is how I learned to write in school. I took my son out of public school at the end of his 6th grade year this summer and one of my concerns was his lack of writing ability. He hates writing but enjoys this so far!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marge Corrick
This is another fantastic addition to Apologia's line of home school materials. My son has always had a very strong opinion about writing, "I hate it". Since beginning the Jump In curriculum he has actually written. Although I don't believe I will hear, "I love writing", this program has made writing manageable for him and he does the daily work without complaint, and as Mom that is a major accomplishment! Thank you Apologia!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jump In, Student Workbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lori
Initially I was not that impressed by this workbook, but I have changed my opinion. After my ds, (reluctant writer age 13) started using this daily, I have witnessed his writing ability skyrocket. As a parent I am thrilled! This book is laid out in a very basic, step-by-step process that he has grasped very well. Writing was always easy for me, so it has been hard to teach. This book has filled in the knowledge in the areas that I couldn't fill before. I would highly recommend this book for any middle/high school struggling writer. I would also recommend the teacher's manual to any home school parent as it explains how to grade/evaluate writing. Both good books!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.