Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2

In addition to being a young mom, Becky Miller is a daydreamer. Most recently, she's been envisioning herself in the happy endings she sees during her weekly movie nights with husband Kevin. But her real life feels more like a broken filmstrip, spinning out of control!

When Becky and her family decide to purchase a rundown farmhouse, Becky pictures a slower, simpler lifestyle in the pastoral countryside. Of course, it doesn't quite work out like she imagined...

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Review 1 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I thoroughly enjoyed Renovating Becky Miller.

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Wakarusa, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky is a busy mom with lots of energy, but finds she spreads herself a little thin. I enjoyed Becky & her imagination as she eased into each chapter as a different character in a popular movie. And I could identify with her desire to be creative in her dream farm house, while having to be frugal & 'get-it-all-done'. The struggles she faced & the honesty with which her character dealt with them were refreshing. She is not portrayed as perfect, but as a normal mom, trying her best to live life as a Christ follower, flaws & all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very enjoyable

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Marina, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the story line, and from what I understand from people who have remodeled a house, it gives an accurate account of the trials that come with such an adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good scriptual events

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I could have done without the fantasy feature at the beginning of each chapter. Pretty good story line - appropo to today's obsession with growing churches -- leaving the spiritual aspect behind. Looking for numbers isn't scriptual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
PaisCharos
I enjoyed this just as much as the first one, if not more. Through her adventures in this book, Becky learned more about her, her family, and the value of her friends than she ever dreamed possible. A lovely tale - I only wish there had been a third!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
Great book! I have not read the first book but this one really spoke to me on many different levels. It was as if she was writing about my life (and many other women's lives I know). She does a good job showing how busy we get as wives and moms and get our priorities out of line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
I didn't find this one as engrossing as "Secret Life," and I'm not sure why. I guess the plot didn't seem to move as well as it did in the last one. It just seemed to be page after page of regurgitations of the same conflict before it was finally resolved, or resolved in a manner that left too many loose ends. For example, I found myself identifying strongly with Lori as a perfectionist who sometimes battles depression, so I wanted to hear much more about her, and was disappointed that her struggles weren't explored more. I also felt that some of the conflicts, like the solution to Dylan's behavior problems, were not well-developed. However, that said, there's a lot to like here, including the Lori subplot, more time spent with the Bible study gals, and the Grandma Rose situation--we had a similar situation in our house once, and so this was easy to comisserate with. As someone who loves movies, I also enjoyed the fact that all of Becky's daydreams came from movies this time. Maybe books are up next? :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kassy Paris
Reading books written in first person is not usually my first choice, but I found Renovating Becky Miller so enticing that I forgot it was in first person.Sharon Hinck drew me into the book by opening each chapter with a daydream Becky Miller was indulging herself in. In each chapter, Becky loses herself in a movie she and her husband have seen on their weekly date nights.Becky Millers life is not easy. Shes a mother, a wife, has a part-time job at her church working with the womens ministries, and is disabled, just to add a little icing to her cake of a life.Already harrying, Beckys life is complicated by the purchase of a new home for her family. What looked like the perfect solution to a cramped home life turns into a renovation nightmare for Becky and husband Kevin.Will their marriage survive? Will the family survive? Will Becky remain sane, or will she lose herself in one of her daydreams and never come home?I kept turning pages of Renovating Becky Miller partly because I had to know what Sharon would use as her next chapter opening, but mostly because I became engrossed in Beckys life. I laughed and I cried and now I have to go back and find the first book in Sharons series about Becky Miller, The Secret Life of Becky Miller.By the way, I guessed most of the titles of the movies Sharon uses as chapter opening scenarios, but in case you dont recognize them, there is a list of them at the end of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Fedele
Becky's back and better than ever in this second book about superhero wanna-be Becky Miller. Becky takes on more than she can handle, thinking that her optimism and enthusiasm will solve it all. Becky has the best of intentions, wanting to be a person able to do it all, but she unexpectedly finds that her set-backs help her to move forward again in a more reasonable fashion. <br /><br />Injured in a car accident at the end of the first book, <I>The Secret Life of Becky Miller</I>, Becky is forced to slow down her own agenda and override her persistent need to be everything for everyone. She exudes good cheer and an overly helpful nature throughout the second book as well, apparently not realizing that she does have limitations on what (and whom) she is actually able to fix. But when the flood from her own rising problems threatens to drown her, Becky still doesn't have the common sense to get out of the water. She finds herself continuing to do laps in water that is way, way over her head.<br /><br />Becky exemplifies the scripture from 2 Corinthians 12:9, "But he said to me,`My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.' Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ's power may rest on me." (NIV) This novel reminds us that despite our best efforts, we still need to rely on God for our true strength. Becky ultimately learns this lesson - again - that when her strength is insufficient, then God is able to work it out in his perfect way and in his perfect timing.<br /><br />Renovating Becky Miller by Sharon Hinck is wildly funny, poignant in many ways, and touching throughout. This is truly a fantastic novel by a fantastic author. And if you missed the first book, don't wait... get out there or get online and buy both of these little gems for your collection. You'll be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Becky Millers daydreams provide her with momentary escape from the situations in which she finds herself as she becomes the heroine of each exciting movie-vision. Then she bumps back to earth when she suddenly finds herself immersed in a real-life adventure similar to what she imagines. Beckys car accident left her with a permanent limp, but her busy lifestyle convinces her she doesnt have time for her daily therapy. In fact, Becky doesnt have time for much of anything except dealing with one crisis after another. When her best-laid plans fall through, Becky realizes she must bring her life under control, but she never imagines how God will help her accomplish her goal.With Renovating Becky Miller, Sharon Hinck delivers a second great mom lit book, because Becky is every woman who questions what God wants her to do and how best to fulfill Gods plan for her life. Hinck writes interesting characters who struggle with the real-life problems of busy women. She portrays Minnesotas Twin City area with accuracy and detail, including the huge Halloween snowstorm that occurred a few years ago. By the end of the book, youll want to invite Becky over for tea, because she youll feel as though shes a good friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Renovating Becky Miller by Sharon Hinck is an entertaining look into the life of a multi-tasker sure she can do it all and fix it all. You will laugh and angst and maybe even cry as you read this book. There could be times you wonder if Sharon actually peeked in your windows as she researched this book. . . . Becky Miller is wife of Kevin, mother of three, leader of the womens ministry at church, housewife, fixer and daydreamer. She tries not to even let the pain in her leg and cane she must use for walking slow her down. Becky goes out of her way to work for the church ministries and help anyone who seeks help. She can see the solution to all of the problems around her. But when her sister and mother-in-law both end up living with them in their new fixer-upper home she cannot find the way to fix them or herself.The love between she and Kevin is strained by the finances of renovation, the stress of extra family members in the house and small miscommunications between the two of them. Little things start adding up. And it is not until Becky realizes that she cannot do it all, and turns things over to God that He steps in and works His own perfect renovations . . . Within the pages of this book you may recognize yourself , your mother, your sister or wife. Life circumstances are real and for many of us almost a bit too close to home. This is a humorous, poignant look at marriage and motherhood. But more than that is the grace-filled truth of the beauty that God sees in each of us despite our faults and the way His Hands will fix all of our circumstances. Clear you calendar, because when you travel to this suburb of Minneapolis, you will not leave until you close the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mary DeMuth
Those who enjoyed rollicking through life with Becky Miller will enjoy Sharon Hincks honest and beautifully written sequel, Renovating Becky Miller. Hincks ability to get us behind Beckys paranoia, self-talk, and angst illuminates the readers need for inner renovation. I felt like I spent a month with a familya real, breathing, normal American family who struggled with following Jesus in the midst of sticky circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy Wallace
Ever wondered if God has Big Things planned for your life? Ever been too tired to care or too busy to wonder about it much? Then Renovating Becky Miller is a must-read!I fell in love with this book from the cinematic daydreams that segue perfectly into Becky's everyday life to the cast of characters I wanted to hang out with. I loved Becky's honest transparency and how easily I could relate to her. Not only that, but what God taught Becky in the pages of this book, He also taught me as I laughed, cried, and cheered for Becky and her family.This book is more relaxing than a Calgon escape and (dare I say it?) even more enjoyable than chocolate!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2007
First off I want to say I am a huge movie geek nerd. So is it sad that I recognized almost all the movie scenes prologues without even having to look in the back of the book? I absolutely loved those times when Becky uses her imagination. And she did all my favorites: Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Narnia, Indiana Jones, James Bond! (I'm showing my inner geek here) I felt this book was even better than the first. The writing is top notch with lots of humor and feeling. I really love how Becky does allow herself to get angry and frustrated at people even if its close family and friends. It makes her a more real and relatable character. I really could feel sympathetic for Becky in this book. It seemed that no matter what she did it wasn't good enough for anyone. She really stretched herself out thin trying to help both the church and her family. I agree with Becky about the church doing too much to help out others but not think about their actual members. Yes it is important that we need to witness to others but should church members have to suffer from being burnt out? I also felt Becky's pain about trying to have to please Kevin's mom all the time, and how she had to back down because Kevin's mom had the bad past background card to trump everything Becky did. Also at times I got frustrated with Kevin. It seemed to me he was being selfish at times just because Becky wasn't giving him the attention he wanted. It almost seemed providential that Becky hurt her leg again so that people could finally realize that they needed to show her more appreciation. It's really sad to think about how we take our moms for granted sometime.This is one of the best mom-lit books out there. It makes me wonder if this will be what my life will be like next time when I have my own family. I highly recommend this book for everyone (moms, movie lovers, home renovation experts). Here's hoping for a Becky Miller Episode III: Revenge of the Kids....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2007
If you are looking for fantastic mom lit, this book is it.In this installment Becky wrestles with a job that wants to be much more than the 15 hours a week she signed on for, three kids between the ages of nine and two, a mother-in-law who's moved in very reluctantly, the stress of selling a house, buying a dream house that becomes the money pit, her sister visiting, and a suddenly distant best friend ...add a leg that refuses to cooperate after an accident and her concern about the state of her twelve year old marriage. Her life is chaos and it seems everything she touches gets worse. And all she wants to do is fix things for people.Each chapter begins with Becky dreaming that she is in the middle of a movie. For me part of the fun was trying to figure out which movie as quickly as possible. (There is a list of the movies in the back - I got most right) A few I didn't get, but Sharon wove them into the story so that the movie clips didn't interrupt the flow. Instead, they actually helped move the story along and let us know how Becky was feeling.It felt good to laugh with a friend and then cry as she walked through struggles that felt an awful lot like mine. If you are a mom (or just married), I think you will really enjoy this book. If not, it's still a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Becky learned her lesson about doing great things for God in "The Secret Life of Becky Miller"...she's learned that the little things count...only is she counting too many little things in her life? Join Becky on her hilarious journey in the little things as she renovates, recuperates, and attempts to rejuvinate some relationships. But be warned...after the first chapter, you may need a nap!! LOL!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Renovating Becky Miller, Becky Miller Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Denyse Hurt
I was so excited to find that Ms Hinck had writted a sequel to The Secret Life of Becky Miller. I thought the first book did such a great job of wrapping up all the loose ends, I was not sure where this story would go. But let me tell you, Becky Miller was not finsihed. She had many more tales to tell. This book is great and I loved the change from the super hero intros of each chapter to the movie excerpts. They tie in so well. Great book. Extremely quick read! I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.